USA Road Trip - Tips from Travel Bloggers

Roadtrip on the Cabot Trail in Canada Copyright Monika Fuchs

USA road trip tips

Exploring unknown regions by car has been the epitome of travel for us for years. A USA Road trip means setting off on new paths to explore America. Especially in the USA and Canada, road trips are one of the best ways to get to know the country. Everyone does this a little differently, everyone sees the same region in a slightly different way. We were curious and asked travel bloggers what their favorite USA road trip was. We also recommend one

New York Roadtrip

From the Catskills to the Adirondacks, there's plenty to do in upstate New York. Check out these five great places to visit. There are many beautiful places to see in New York State, and this list will give you ideas on where to start.

 

Catskills on a New York road trip
Catskills on a New York road trip

The Catskill Mountains

The Catskill Mountains are in upstate New York, just south of the Pennsylvania border. They are home to some of the highest peaks in the state as well as several ski resorts.

 

Niagara Falls on a New York Road Trip
See Niagara Falls on a New York Road Trip

Niagara Falls

5 Common Cat Behaviours And What Th...
5 Common Cat Behaviours And What They Mean

Located in western New York, the Niagara River flows through the area, creating the famous falls. There are many fun activities here including hiking, biking, fishing and kayaking.

 

The Finger Lakes region on a USA road trip
The Finger Lakes region on a USA road trip

Finger Lakes region

The Finger Lakes region is home to more than 100 lakes, making it one of the largest freshwater lake systems in North America. It is also known for its wine production, with more than 1.000 wineries located throughout the region.

 

Mount Jo Adirondack's New York Road Trip
Mount Jo Adirondack's New York Road Trip

Adirondack Park

Adirondack Park in upstate New York spans nearly 2 million acres and includes the state's tallest peaks. There are numerous hiking trails as well as opportunities to spot wildlife such as moose, deer and bear.

 

Hudson River Valley on a USA road trip
Hudson River Valley on a USA road trip

Hudson Valley

The Hudson Valley is home to some of the most beautiful scenery in the United States. It is also one of the most popular tourist destinations in the country. Visitors come here to enjoy the area's natural beauty of lakes, rivers, mountains, forests and farmland.

Heike Bohm from Hallo Welt recommends a journey through the northwest:

Most vacationers travel along Highway 101 from San Francisco to Los Angeles on the west coast of the US. On the other hand, I chose the Pacific Northwest on my USA Road Trip: a round trip through the states of Washington and Oregon with a trip to Vancouver, Canada.

From Seattle to Vancouver

From Seattle, it was only for a few days to Vancouver. Back again we started our USA road trip. Our first stop was Mount Rainier, depending on the season a wonderful skiing or hiking area. Although we were there in August, we were able to enjoy the famous wildflower meadows on a hike.

 

Mount Rainier Copyright Heike Bohm USA Road Trip
Mount Rainier Copyright Heike Bohm

 

Past Mount St. Helens to the south

At Mount St. Helens, the largely destroyed nature of the volcanic eruption in Xnumx, still under a thick layer of ash, reminds one. In the visitor center you can visualize the natural spectacle once again.

 

Mount St Helens Copyright Heike Bohm USA Road Trip
Mount St. Helens Copyright Heike Bohm

To Crater Lake

The second deepest lake in North America, Crater Lake impressed me with its exceptionally blue color. When driving over the Rim Drive, once around the lake, which originated in the caldera of an extinct crater, one is always surprised by beautiful views.

 

Crater Lake Copyright Heike Bohm
Crater Lake Copyright Heike Bohm

 

Along the Oregon Coast

Along the great Oregon Coast we went back north. Here, in addition to the spectacular views, for example the Haystack Rock, I really liked the small village of Florence.

 

Oregon Coast Copyright Heike Bohm
Oregon Coast Copyright Heike Bohm

 

On the Olympic Peninsula we went back to Seattle with one of the typical ferries across the Puget Sound - by the way, one of the most beautiful cities I have ever visited.

practical Tips for a USA tour on the west coast You can find it on Julia's Journeyz.

Mandy Decker of Travelroads recommends a USA road trip from New York to Miami

My favorite road trip in the US? Definitely the 19-day tour along the East Coast - from New York to Miami - last year. It started right in my favorite New York City, where we spent great days with 4, before we took the bus to Washington DC. For us, that was the best way to travel relaxed between the two cities because you do not really need a car in the big cities.

 

USA Road Trip
Roadtrip from New York to Miami Copyright Mandy Decker

From Jacksonville through the southern states

In order to save time and the very costly one-way rental, we also took a domestic flight down to Jacksonville, Florida after 3 days in the capital. From there we finally started the actual USA road trip with the rental car: First with a detour to the southern states of the USA, with which I fulfilled a long-cherished dream. Savannah and Charleston were on the program and were the absolute highlights of our tour - the so-called old south not only has a lot of southern romanticism á la Gone with the Wind to offer, but is also very interesting historically and culturally. And the best thing is that you don't have to go far to the sea along the coast!

 

Savannah USA Road Trip
Savannah copyright Mandy Decker

From St. Augustine to Miami

Then we finally cruised through the Sunshine State of Florida in 8 days - from St. Augustine to the Kennedy Space Center, once across the country to Fort Myers Beach & Naples, on to search for alligators in the Everglades (my tip: Shark Valley ), on one of the most beautiful road trip routes, the US-1, to Key West and finally, of course, to Miami.

 

Key West, Fl
Key West, Fl Copyright Mandy Decker

 

The special thing about this USA road trip for me was the mixture of big city feeling, romance, history as well as nature and relaxation. My tips on what not to be missed on the tour? Clearly, New York, Washington DC, Savannah (!) & Charleston, a visit to the Kennedy Space Center & the Everglades as well as Key West.

Florida Keys vacation

Sabine von Reisekladde follows in the footsteps of Anne LaBastille and Henry David Thoreau

When we started our USA road trip through the New England states, I knew we couldn't leave this area without exploring the area where Anne LaBastille lived. Anne LaBastille is kind of a female Henry David Thoreau, only that she lived in our day and age. Both went into the woods to build their wooden hut without electricity and to live there. Thoreau did this for an experiment for two years. For Anne LaBastille it became a philosophy of life.

We already had a long drive behind us as we came from Niagara Falls on the border with Canada when we reached the Aridondacks in New York State.

 

New England Copyright Sabine Depew
New England Copyright Sabine Depew

Through the Adirondacks

We stayed at the Best Western Hotel Mountain Lake Inn on Saranic Lake. About ten miles from where the 1980 Winter Olympics took place: Lake Placid. Although we were still a little way from Lake Big Moose (Black Bear Lake), where Anne LaBastille lived with her sheepdogs, I could still sense the silence and nature that she must have experienced.

 

Street in New England
New England Road Copyright Sabine Depew

 

I remember the drive through the Adirondacks as one of the most beautiful drives through the New England States.

Three very different options for a USA road trip, showing how diverse the country is and what opportunities there are for getting to know the US. Thank you Heike Bohm from Hello World, Mandy Decker of Travelroads and Sabine from Reisekladde warmly for your very own most beautiful USA Road Trip. Maybe they will give you suggestions for your own travel on new routes through the USA.

If you're looking for information on how much a trip to the USA costs, check out this post by Manouk Bob from Bunch of Backpackers - Adventure Travel Blog: Costs of USA Road Trip

 

Do you like to travel by motorhome?

  • Do you want to rent a mobile home? Then you will find information and a selection of here booking options.
  • Check our packing list for campers to see whether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.

 


Travel Arrangements:

Getting there

Arrival by plane, bus or train*. KLM, Lufthansa, Air France, United and British Airways fly to various airports in the USA. You can rent a car there.

Car Rentals:

Cheap car hire - book quickly and easily!

Hotels:

Hotels in the USA* You can also book through our partner booking.com at this link.


USA road trips
Click on the photo and save the “USA Road Trips” on Pinterest

Do you already know:

 

Text: Monika Fuchs and the travel bloggers involved

USA Road Trip - Tips from Travel Bloggers

5 thoughts too "USA Road Trip - Tips from Travel Bloggers"

  1. The beautiful photos awaken memories. Our next trip to the US should definitely be a road trip without any forecasts. In the high season probably not feasible, but in the autumn certainly :-)

    1. Without pre-planning, we would never travel. We usually put together the points we really want to see before the trip, leaving plenty of time for us to do things we spot on the spot. That makes our trips flexible enough that we can make changes on the spot.

    1. That's right maTTes. There are some Florida tips on our blog that may help you plan

Comments are closed.

Nach oben scrollen

» » USA Road Trip – Tipps von Reisebloggern

USA Road Trip – Tipps von Reisebloggern

Roadtrip auf dem Cabot Trail in Kanada Copyright Monika Fuchs
Road Trip auf dem Cabot Trail in Kanada Copyright Monika Fuchs

 

Mit dem Auto unbekannte Regionen erkunden, das ist für uns seit Jahren der Inbegriff des Reisens. Ein USA Road Trip bedeutet, sich aufmachen auf neuen Wegen Amerika zu erkunden. Gerade in den USA und in Kanada sind Autoreisen eine der besten Möglichkeiten, das Land kennen zu lernen. Dabei macht diese jeder ein wenig anders, sieht jeder dieselbe Region auf etwas andere Weise. Wir waren neugierig und haben mehrere Reiseblogger gefragt, was ihr schönster USA Road Trip war. Hier sind ihre Antworten.

Heike Bohm von Hallo Welt empfiehlt einen USA Road Trip durch den Nordwesten:

Die meisten Urlauber fahren, wenn sie an der Westküste der USA Urlaub machen, den Highway 101 entlang von San Francisco bis Los Angeles. Ich dagegen habe mich bei meinem USA Road Trip für den pazifischen Nordwesten entschieden: eine Rundreise durch Bundesstaaten Washington und Oregon mit einem Abstecher nach Vancouver, Kanada.

Von Seattle aus ging es zu erst für ein paar Tage nach Vancouver. Wieder zurück starteten wir unseren USA Road Trip. Unsere erste Etappe war der Mount Rainier, je nach Jahreszeit ein wunderbares Ski- oder Wandergebiet. Obwohl wir im August dort waren, konnten wir auf einer Wanderung die berühmten Wildblumenwiesen genießen.

 

Mount Rainier Copyright Heike Bohm
Mount Rainier Copyright Heike Bohm

 

Am Mount St. Helens erinnert einen die, immer noch unter einer dicken Ascheschicht liegende, weitgehend zerstörte Natur an den Vulkanausbruch im Jahre 1980. Im Besucherzentrum kann man sich das Naturspektakel noch einmal vergegenwärtigen.

 

Mount St. Helens Copyright Heike Bohm
Mount St. Helens Copyright Heike Bohm

 

Der zweittiefste See Nordamerikas, der Crater Lake beeindruckte mich besonders mit seiner außergewöhnlich blauen Farbe. Bei einer Fahrt über den Rim Drive, also einmal rund um den See, der aus in der Kaldera eines erloschenen Kraters entstand, wird man immer wieder von wunderschönen Aussichten überrascht.

 

Crater Lake Copyright Heike Bohm
Crater Lake Copyright Heike Bohm

 

Entlang der großartigen Oregon Coast ging es dann wieder zurück nach Norden. Hier hat mir neben den spektakulären Aussichten, zum Beispiel der Haystack Rock, das kleine Örtchen Florence sehr gut gefallen.

 

Oregon Coast Copyright Heike Bohm
Oregon Coast Copyright Heike Bohm

 

Über die Olympic-Halbinsel ging es dann mit einer der für Gegend typischen Fähren über den Puget Sound wieder zurück nach Seattle – übrigens eine für mich der schönsten Städte, die ich bisher besucht habe.

Mandy Decker von Travelroads empfiehlt einen USA Road Trip von New York nach Miami

Mein Lieblings-Roadtrip in den USA? Definitiv die 19-tägige Tour entlang der Ostküste – von New York nach Miami – im letzten Jahr. Los ging´s direkt in meiner Lieblingsstadt New York City, in der wir 4 tolle Tage verbrachten, bevor wir mit dem Bus weiter nach Washington DC fuhren. Für uns war das die beste Variante, um zwischen den zwei Städten entspannt zu reisen, da man ein Auto in den Großstädten nicht wirklich benötigt.

 

USA Road Trip
Roadtrip von New York nach Miami Copyright Mandy Decker

Um zudem Zeit und die doch sehr kostenintensive Einwegmiete zu sparen, nahmen wir außerdem nach 3 Tagen in der amerikanischen Hauptstadt einen Inlandsflug runter nach Jacksonville, Florida. Von dort starteten wir auch endlich den eigentlichen USA Road Trip mit dem Mietwagen: Zunächst mit einem Abstecher in die Südstaaten der USA, mit dem ich mir einen lang gehegten Traum erfüllte. Savannah und Charleston standen auf dem Programm und waren die absoluten Highlights unserer Tour – der sogenannte alte Süden hat nicht nur jede Menge Südstaaten-Romantik á la Vom Winde verweht zu bieten, sondern ist vor allem auch historisch und kulturell sehr interessant. Und das Beste ist, dass man es entlang der Küste natürlich nicht weit zum Meer hat!

 

Savannah
Savannah Copyright Mandy Decker

Danach cruisten wir schließlich noch in 8 Tagen durch den Sunshine-State Florida – Von St. Augustine bis zum Kennedy Space Center, einmal quer durchs Land ins farbenfrohe Fort Myers Beach & Naples, weiter auf Alligatoren-Suche in die Everglades (mein Tipp: Shark Valley), über eine der schönsten Roadtrip-Routen, der US-1, zum fast südlichsten Punkt der USA nach Key West und zum Abschluss, klar, nach Miami.

 

Key West, Fl
Key West, Fl Copyright Mandy Decker

 

Das Besondere an diesem USA Road Trip war für mich die perfekte Mischung aus Großstadt-Feeling, Romantik, Geschichte sowie Natur und Entspannung. Meine Tipps, was man auf der Tour auf keinen Fall verpassen sollte? Ganz klar, New York, Washington DC, Savannah(!) & Charleston, ein Besuch im Kennedy Space Center & in den Everglades als auch Key West.

Sabine von Reisekladde ist auf den Spuren von Anne LaBastille und Henry David Thoreau unterwegs

Als wir unseren USA Road Trip durch die New Englandstaaten antraten, wusste ich, wir durften diese Gegend nicht verlassen, ohne die Gegend zu erkunden, in der Anne LaBastille gelebt hat. Anne LaBastille ist eine Art weiblicher Henry David Thoreau, nur, dass sie in unserer heutigen Zeit lebte. Beiden gingen in die Wälder, um ihre eigene einfache Hütte aus Holz, ohne Strom, zu bauen und dort zu leben. Thoreau tat dies zwei Jahre für ein Experiment. Für Anne LaBastille wurde es zur Lebensphilosophie.
Wir hatten bereits eine weite Autofahrt hinter uns, da wir von den Niagara – Fällen an der Grenze zu Kanada kamen, als wir die Aridondacks im Staat New York erreichten.

Neuengland Copyright Sabine Depew
Neuengland Copyright Sabine Depew

 

Wir übernachteten im Best Western Hotel Mountain Lake Inn am Saranic Lake. Etwa zehn Meilen von dem Ort entfernt, wo 1980 die Olympischen Winterspiele statt fanden: Lake Placid. Obwohl wir noch ein Stück vom Lake Big Moose (Schwarzbärensee) entfernt waren, wo Anne LaBastille mit ihren deutschen Schäferhunden gelebt hat, konnte ich doch die Stille und Natur erahnen, die sie erfahren haben muss.

Straße in Neuengland
Straße in Neuengland Copyright Sabine Depew

Die Fahrt durch die Adirondacks habe ich als eine der schönsten Fahrten durch die New Englandstaaten in Erinnerung.

Drei ganz unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten für einen USA Road Trip, die zeigen, wie vielfältig das Land ist und welche Möglichkeiten es gibt, die USA kennenzulernen. Wir danken Heike Bohm von Hallo Welt, Mandy Decker von Travelroads und Sabine von Reisekladde ganz herzlich für Ihren ganz persönlichen schönsten USA Road Trip. Vielleicht geben sie ja auch Euch Anregungen für eigene Reisen auf neuen Routen durch die USA.

Wenn Du Informationen dazu suchst, wie viel eine USA Reise kostet, dann schau doch mal auf diesem englischsprachigen Post von Manouk Bob von Bunch of Backpackers – Adventure Travel Blog: Costs of USA Road Trip

7 Responses

  1. Silvio
    | Antworten

    Die schönen Fotos wecken Erinnerungen. Unsere nächste USA-Reise soll unbedingt ein Road Trip ohne Vorplanungen werden. In der Hochsaison vermutlich nicht machbar, aber im Herbst sicherlich schon :-)

    • Monika & Petar Fuchs
      | Antworten

      Ohne Vorplanungen würden wir nie reisen. Wir stellen uns gewöhnlich vor der Reise die Punkte zusammen, die wir unbedingt sehen wollen, und lassen noch genügend Zeit, damit wir ggf. noch Dinge machen können, die wir erst vor Ort entdecken. Das macht unsere Reisen flexibel genug, dass wir auch noch vor Ort Änderungen machen können.

  2. maTTes
    | Antworten

    Ein Florida-Roundtrip ist auch sehr gut zum Einstieg :-)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Alles klar