Luxembourg Specialties you should know

Luxembourg specialties - Kniddelen with bacon and onions

Luxembourg Specialties you should know

You should know these foods, when you travel to Luxembourg. Our trip to Luxembourg showed us, how important it is to know dishes from your travel destination before a trip. It was clear to us, that Luxembourg has culinary specialties. What we didn't know, however, were their names. It was only in on-site restaurants, that we realized, that we should have informed us about the foods of Luxembourg before we arrived. We didn't understand a word on the menu in the restaurants. Menus are written in the local language. Even if the country is multilingual and almost everyone speaks German or French.

 

 

There was Grompere Kichelcher. Kuddelfleck. Andouillette. Träipen. Kallefskaap. I could go on with the list. Just what is it? Some things could be deduced after getting used to Luxembourgish, but not everything. We couldn't have the waiter translate the menu every time. By the time he finished his translation, we had already forgotten, what the dishes were. Therefore, our restaurant visits turned out to be quite an adventure. What ended up on our plate was always a surprise. Therefore you should definitely get to know a few specialties of the country you travel to. That makes a trip a lot easier.

A Crime Story from Luxembourg

We have seen for ourselves, that Luxembourg has culinary specialties. A crime story I read recently reminded me of this. Tom Hillenbrand's investigator is the star chef Xavier Kieffer. He lives in Luxembourg. No wonder the cuisine plays a role in these crime novels. I literally devoured his thriller Bitter Chocolate. Not only does it present the capital's gastro scene and the upper and lower town in detail. He also describes dishes that the star chef and others serve in their restaurants.

 

Bitter chocolate

Bitter chocolate - Xavier Kieffer investigates. *

In volume 6 of his crime series, Kieffer meets his childhood sweetheart Ketti again, whom he has not seen for years. She now produces pralines in her chocolate factory near Brussels. At a meeting, she collapses before his eyes, mortally wounded. She was shot by strangers. Does her murder have anything to do with the fair trade chocolate, she grows in the Congo?

Hillenbrand weaves a story about the delicacy, which, however, leaves a bitter aftertaste due to the machinations of certain people. For this reason alone, this crime story is worth reading. You can order the crime thriller here* (in German).

You can get all the crime novels with star chef Kieffer in one collective issue * (German edition).

Do you want to cook the dishes? Then you need the cookbook Kachen: Luxembourgish specialties *.

 

I also used Hillenbrand's crime thriller to learn more about the country's specialties. The crime thriller is a culinary treasure trove. His protagonist Xavier Kieffer is a star chef. On his return from Paris, he decides to serve local specialties to the guests in his Luxembourg restaurant. You can hardly find a better teacher. Every instance he prepares his menu for the next day is an exciting part in the novel. I end up collecting his menu suggestions on a notepad, that I put next to my reading chair.

 

Crescent
Crescent

 

Luxembourg Specialties

Kieffer's breakfast usually consists of croissants or brioches with coffee. It immediately reminds me of our breakfast with view of the old town . His chases through the city and his visits to the Old town are like a déja vu. In my mind I follow his paths through the city. Even his visits to the government district and the hotels of the city evoke images of a city, as we got to know it, when we were there.

However, the matter of food gets more complicated with the main meals. The names of the dishes are not as easy to recognize as croissants or brioches. Some names can be derived from Luxembourgish into German after we get used to the pronounciation. With others, however, it is more difficult.

Glossary of Luxembourg Specialties

 

 

Grompere Kichelcher potato pancake
Huesenziwwi rabbit ragout
hassle stain a traditional dish made from rumen
andouillette sausage made from offal
Träipen filled blood sausage
Kallefskapp calf's head
Graf Pati terrine made from liver, pork, bacon, eggs, wine and spices
Feststengszalot meat salad
gebotschte Gromperen fried potatoes
Biwwelamoud Boeuf à la mode or sauerbraten
Judd mat Gaardebounen a national dish, pork neck with broad beans and potatoes
Choucroute Sauerkraut
Verwurelte carnival pastries from Luxembourg
Hiecht mat Kraiderzooss pike with herb sauce
Chou Fleur Zopp cauliflower soup
cuddles flour dumplings
mummaart topped apple pie
squeeze fluid plum cake
Riesling paschtèit puff pastries with pork
Suet pudding kidney fat cake
Wäinzoossiss mat Moschterzooss sausages with mustard sauce and mashed potatoes
kachkei cooking cheese
Queen's bite Puff pastry patties with chicken fricassee
Boune slip Luxembourg bean stew
Consomme diablotins Broth with slices of bread topped with cheese and béchamel sauce
Frying Deep fried Nosel fish in batter
ganache Cream of couverture and cream
Gratin de queues d'écrevisse scalloped tails of crayfish
lobster Thermidor Lobster ragout baked with cream and mushrooms
Kanengche mat Moschterzoos Casserole with rabbit in mustard sauce
Loup de mer en croûte feuilletée Sea bass in puff pastry crust
Mousses d'ecrevisses au Cliquot Cream of crayfish refined with champagne
Ortolan au suc d'pineapple Bunting in pineapple juice
Bone marrow marrowbone
Paté a Jelli Pie with jelly
Poularde en vessie Chicken cooked in a pig's bladder
Rapes des Vosges Lorraine potato pancakes
Gribiche sauce cold sauce with egg, capers, gherkins, mustard and herbs
smear Luxembourg spread
Sole a l'Oseille Sole with sorrel
stuffy Luxembourg cottage cheese
Truite farcie braisee au porto Trout stuffed with port wine sauce
Coucou de Malin Mechelen cuckoo, chicken species from Flanders
Cremant Luxembourg champagne
Entrecote Bercy Stick with white wine shallot sauce, parsley and cress
Enjoy the Riesling Trout in Riesling
Gramigna short noodle
clap whipped cream
Chorone sauce Variant of Béarnaise sauce with tomato paste
Tarte Tatin Apple pie baked upside down
Vol-au-vents Puff Pastry Patties

 

 

Duck
Duck

 

Influences on the Cuisine of Luxembourg

Of course there are more specialties. But with these dishes you can get by as a traveler. On our trip we also learned that along the border with Germany you often find dishes, that have been inspired by the cuisine of neighboring regions. Along the border with France you will find dishes from the French cuisine in restaurants. The cuisines of Italy and Portugal also play a role in Luxembourg's gastronomic mix. Immigrants have left their mark. In any case, this guarantees restaurant menus that provide variety.

 

 

Hearty sausage specialties Luxembourg culinary specialties
Sausage - Luxembourg culinary specialties

 

Specialties that are popular

Judd mat Gaardebounen is one of the dishes that Luxembourgers like to eat. Wikipedia calls it the national dish. It is pork neck that is cured or smoked. It is served with broad beans. Bouneschlupp is popular, too. It's a bean soup with bacon and potatoes. This soup is not only known in Luxembourg, but also in Lorraine. We made the acquaintance of Kniddelen on our trip to Luxembourg. This is what they call dumplings made from flour, water, eggs and salt. They are served with a bacon and cream sauce or with applesauce. For dessert, people like to eat Quetschentaart. This is a plum cake. An omelette soufflée also tastes good as a dessert. Specialties from Luxembourg are dishes you can find in the country's homes as well.

 

Trout - Luxembourg culinary specialties from the region
Trout - Luxembourg culinary specialties from the region

 

Products from the Region

I find it exciting that Luxembourg produces a lot of regional specialties. There is, for example, the ham from the Ardennes or the pork in aspic. In the wine regions there is Rieslingpaschtéit, a Riesling pate. This is one of the national dishes of Luxembourg. It is a puff pastry pie, that is filled with pork and a layer of gelatin. This is made from Riesling wine. Rivers such as the Moselle or the Untersauer supply the fish, that restaurants in the river valleys have on the menu. These include trout, pike and crabs. If you want to make sure, that you buy products from the region for your souvenirs, look out for the “Produit du terroir” seal. Only products that are made in the region are allowed to carry this seal of quality.

Conclusion: Food in Luxembourg is Hearty

The food in Luxembourg surprised us. We expected to feel the influence of fine cuisine from France. However, this can only be found in the restaurants and hotels in the Europaviertel. However, this food has little to do with the country's specialities. Instead, specialties from Luxembourg are down-to-earth. You can definitely imagine how grandma or mother put Kniddelen on the family table. Or how Jupp mat Gaardebounen is served to a family gathering on festive days. The influences from neighboring countries also tend to come from home cooking. They go well with the dishes from the country's cuisine. Let our recommendations inspire you to try these specialties. Worth it. However, you have to bring your hunger with you. The portions are big. We wish you a good appetite!

 

 

What can you eat in Luxembourg?
Click on the photo and make a note of “What to eat in Luxembourg” on Pinterest

 

Besides, do you know?

 

Text Luxembourg culinary specialties: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline

Luxembourg Specialties you should know
Nach oben scrollen

Genuss Reisemagazin » Europa » Luxemburg » Luxemburger Spezialitäten, die man kennen sollte

Luxemburger Spezialitäten, die man kennen sollte

Luxemburger Spezialitäten - Kniddelen mit Speck und Zwiebeln
Luxemburger Spezialitäten – Kniddelen mit Speck und Zwiebeln

Luxemburger Spezialitäten, die man kennen sollte

Diese Speisen solltest Du kennen, wenn Du nach Luxemburg reist. Wie wichtig es ist, Gerichte aus Deinem Reiseziel zu kennen, zeigte uns unsere Reise nach Luxemburg. Dass Luxemburg kulinarische Spezialitäten besitzt, war uns vor unserer Reise klar. Was wir allerdings nicht wussten, waren ihre Namen. Erst in den Restaurants vor Ort stellten wir fest, dass wir uns besser vor unserer Anreise damit befasst hätten. Denn vor Ort verstanden wir kein Wort, das auf der Speisekarte stand. Speisekarten sind in Luxemburgisch geschrieben. Auch wenn das Land mehrsprachig ist, und fast jedermann Deutsch oder Französisch spricht.

Da gab’s Grompere Kichelcher. Kuddelfleck. Andouillette. Träipen. Kallefskaap. Die Liste könnte ich fortsetzen. Nur, was ist das? Manches war nach einer Eingewöhnung ins Luxemburgische abzuleiten, aber nicht alles. Wir konnten uns doch nicht jedes Mal vom Kellner die Speisekarte übersetzen lassen. Bis er mit seiner Übersetzung fertig war, hatten wir schon vergessen, was die Gerichte waren. Daher gestalteten sich unsere Restaurantbesuche als Abenteuer. Es war jedes Mal eine Überraschung, was schließlich auf unserem Teller landete. Deswegen solltest Du Dir auf jeden Fall ein paar Spezialitäten des Landes merken. Das macht eine Reise dorthin einfacher.

Ein Krimi aus Luxemburg

Dass Luxemburg kulinarische Spezialitäten besitzt, haben wir selbst erlebt. Daran erinnert mich ein Krimi, den ich vor kurzem las. Tom Hillenbrands Ermittler ist der Sternekoch Xavier Kieffer. Dieser lebt in Luxemburg. Kein Wunder, dass die Kulinarik in diesen Krimis eine Rolle spielt. Ich verschlang seinen Krimi Bittere Schokolade regelrecht. Nicht nur, dass er darin die Gastroszene der Hauptstadt und die Ober- und Unterstadt im Detail vorstellt. Er beschreibt außerdem Gerichte, die der Sternekoch und andere in ihren Restaurants servieren.

 

Bittere Schokolade – Xavier Kieffer ermittelt.*

Im Band 6 seiner Krimi-Reihe trifft Kieffer seine Jugendliebe Ketti wieder, die er seit Jahren nicht gesehen hat. Sie produziert inzwischen Pralinen in ihrer Schokoladenmanufaktur bei Brüssel. Bei einem Treffen bricht sie vor seinen Augen tödlich getroffen zusammen. Unbekannte hatten sie erschossen. Hat der Mord an ihr mit der Fair Trade Schokolade zu tun, die sie im Kongo anbauen lässt?

Hillenbrand webt eine Geschichte um die Köstlichkeit, die durch die Machenschaften bestimmter Leute allerdings einen bitteren Beigeschmack erhält. Schon allein deshalb ist dieser Krimi überaus lesenswert. Du kannst den Krimi hier bestellen*.

Alle Krimis mit Sternekoch Kieffer bekommst Du hier in einer Sammelausgabe*.

Willst Du die Gerichte kochen? Dann brauchst Du das Kochbuch von Ketty Thull* mit mehr als 500 Rezepten aus Luxemburg.

 

Ich habe Hillenbrands Krimi außerdem genutzt, um mehr über Spezialitäten des Landes zu erfahren. Dafür ist der Krimi eine Fundgrube. Sein Protagonist Xavier Kieffer ist Sternekoch. Allerdings hat sich dieser nach seiner Rückkehr aus Paris dazu entschlossen, den Gästen seines Restaurants Spezialitäten zu servieren. Einen besseren Lehrmeister gibt es daher kaum. Es ist jedes Mal wieder spannend, wenn er seine Speisekarte für den nächsten Tag aufsetzt. Daher sammle ich schließlich seine Menü-Vorschläge auf einem Notizblock, der neben meinem Lesesessel liegt.

 

Croissants
Croissants

 

Luxemburger Spezialitäten

Kieffers Frühstück besteht meistens aus Croissants oder Brioches mit Kaffee. Es erinnert mich sofort an unser Frühstück mit Ausblick auf die Altstadt. Seine Verfolgungsjagden durch die Stadt und seine Besuche in der Altstadt sind wie ein Déja-Vu. Im Geiste folge ich seinen Wegen durch die Stadt. Sogar seine Besuche im Regierungsviertel und in den Hotels der Stadt wecken Bilder einer Stadt, wie wir sie selbst kennengelernt haben.

Komplizierter wird es allerdings bei den Hauptmahlzeiten. Die Bezeichnungen der Speisen sind nicht so einfach zu erkennen wie Croissants oder Brioches. Manche Namen kann man nach einer Gewöhnungsphase aus dem Luxemburgischen ableiten ins Deutsche. Bei anderen ist das jedoch schwieriger.

Glossar mit Luxemburger Spezialitäten

 

Grompere Kichelcher Kartoffelpfannkuchen
Hasenpfeffer Ragout aus Hasenfleisch
Kuddelfleck ein Traditionsgericht aus Pansen
Andouillette Wurst aus Innereien
Träipen gefüllte Blutwurst
Kallefskapp Kalbskopf
Graffe Pati Terrine aus Leber, Schweinefleisch, Speck, Eiern, Wein und Gewürzen
Feierstengszalot Fleischsalat
gebotschte Gromperen Bratkartoffeln
Biwwelamoud Boeuf à la mode oder Sauerbraten
Judd mat Gaardebounen Ein Nationalgericht, Schweinehals mit Saubohnen und Kartoffeln
Choucroute Sauerkraut
Verwurelte Karnevalsgebäck aus Luxemburg
Hiecht mat Kraiderzooss Hecht mit Kräutersauce
Chou Fleur Zopp Blumenkohlsuppe
Kniddelen Mehlknödel
Mummentaart Gedeckter Apfelkuchen
Quetschflued Pflaumentorte
Rieslingspaschtèit Blätterteiggebäck mit Schweinefleisch
Suet Pudding Nierenfettkuchen
Wäinzoossiss mat Moschterzooss Bratwürstchen mit Senfsoße und Kartoffelpüree
Kachkeis Kochkäse

 

 

Ente
Ente

 

Einflüsse auf die Küche Luxemburgs

Natürlich gibt es noch mehr Spezialitäten. Aber mit diesen Gerichten kommt man als Reisender schon weiter. Auf unserer Reise erfuhren wir außerdem, dass man entlang der Grenze zu Deutschland häufig Gerichte findet, die aus der Küche der Nachbarregionen übernommen sind. Entlang der Grenze zu Frankreich trifft man in den Restaurants auf Gerichte aus der Küche Frankreichs. Es spielen aber auch die Küchen aus Italien und Portugal eine Rolle im Gastromix Luxemburgs. Einwanderer haben ihre Spuren hinterlassen. Das garantiert auf jeden Fall Speisekarten in den Restaurants, die für Abwechslung sorgen.

 

Deftige Wurstspezialitäten aus Luxemburg
Wurst – Luxemburg kulinarische Spezialitäten

 

Spezialitäten, die beliebt sind

Zu den Gerichten, die die Luxemburger gerne essen, zählen Judd mat Gaardebounen. Wikipedia bezeichnet es als das Nationalgericht. Dabei handelt es sich um Schweinenacken, der gepökelt oder geräuchert ist. Man serviert ihn mit Saubohnen. Beliebt ist die Bouneschlupp. Das ist eine Bohnensuppe mit Speck und Kartoffeln. Man kennt diese Suppe nicht nur in Luxemburg, sondern auch in Lothringen. Wir haben auf unserer Reise nach Luxemburg Bekanntschaft gemacht mit Kniddelen. So nennt man Klöße aus Mehl, Wasser, Eiern und Salz. Diese serviert man mit einer Speck-Sahne-Soße oder auch mit Apfelmus. Als Nachspeise isst man gern eine Quetschentaart. Das ist ein Zwetschgenkuchen. Gut schmeckt außerdem ein Omelette soufflée zum Abschluss. Spezialitäten aus Luxemburg sind Gerichte aus der Hausmacherküche des Landes.

 

Forelle - Luxemburg kulinarische Spezialitäten aus der Region
Forelle – Luxemburg kulinarische Spezialitäten aus der Region

 

Produkte aus der Region

Spannend finde ich, dass Luxemburg eine Menge an Spezialitäten aus der Region produziert. Da gibt es zum Beispiel den Schinken aus den Ardennen oder das Schwein in Aspik. In den Weinregionen gibt es Rieslingspaschtéit, eine Rieslingpastete. Das ist eines der Nationalgerichte aus Luxemburg. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Blätterteigpastete, die man mit Schweinefleisch und einer Gelatine-Schicht füllt. Diese bereitet man aus Riesling zu. Flüsse wie die Mosel oder die Untersauer liefern Fische, die die Restaurants in den Flusstälern auf dem Speiseplan haben. Dazu zählen Forellen, Hechte oder auch Krebse. Willst Du sichergehen, dass Du bei Deinen Souvenirs Produkte aus der Region einkaufst, dann achte auf das Siegel „Produit du terroir“. Nur Produkte, die in der Region erzeugt werden, dürfen dieses Qualitätssiegel tragen.

Fazit: Essen in Luxemburg ist deftig

Das Essen in Luxemburg hat uns überrascht. Wir hatten erwartet, den Einfluss der feinen Küche aus Frankreich zu spüren. Diesen findet man allerdings höchstens in den Restaurants und Hotels im Europaviertel. Mit den Landesspezialitäten hat dieses Essen jedoch wenig zu tun. Stattdessen sind Spezialitäten aus Luxemburg bodenständig. Man kann sich gut vorstellen, wie die Oma oder die Mutter Kniddelen auf den Familientisch stellt. Oder wie Jupp mat Gaardebounen einer Familienrunde an Festtagen serviert wird. Auch die Einflüsse aus den Nachbarländern stammen eher aus der Hausmacherküche. Sie passen zu den Gerichten aus der Küche des Landes. Lasst Euch von unseren Empfehlungen anregen, diese Spezialitäten zu probieren. Es lohnt sich. Hunger müsst Ihr allerdings mitbringen. Die Portionen sind groß. Wir wünschen Euch guten Appetit!

Kennst Du schon

 

Was kann man in Luxemburg essen
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir „Was kann man in Luxemburg essen“ auf Pinterest

 

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs
Fotos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.