10 Viewpoints on the Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge, Yolanda.White84, Flickr

The Golden Gate Bridge

The Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco is one of the most photographed bridges in the world. However, you have to know where the best place to take them is. I visited these places during my travels California discovered. These are the top 10 Golden Gate Bridge viewing spots in San Francisco:

 

 

Crissy Field

This former airstrip in Presidio military grounds south of the bridge has been embellished with 2001. It now offers both walking and biking trails between Marina Green and Fort Point. From there, breathtaking views of the bridge open up. At Crissy Field there are also picnic areas and a small beach. This is very popular with families. Either take your picnic out of town or get some in the Warming Hut at Fort Point or the Beach Hut Cafe on Marina Green.
Distance to Golden Gate Bridge: 4,2 km from Marina Green.

 

Golden Gate Bridge © San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

The Golden Gate Bridge from a Boat

These boat tours also offer good photo opportunities on the bridge at the Golden Gate. And not only that. These boat tours also offer good views of the San Francisco skyline Alcatraz Island, the former prison island in the bay, and the surrounding region.

The Golden Gate by Boat

 

 

Fort Point

The bridge closest to the bridge is Fort Point, an American Civil War fortress. It can be reached via the Marine Drive. The fort never saw any warlike activity, but the bridge was built to preserve the fort.
Distance to the Golden Gate Bridge: 1,9 km

 

Golden Gate Bridge © San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

Baker beach

About a half-mile below the cliffs west of the Presidio, Bakers Beach also offers wonderful views of the Golden Gate Bridge. It can be reached by public transport (Muni bus 800). There are picnic tables and grills on the beach, as well as a parking lot and public restrooms. There is also a nudist corner at the north end of Bakers Beach.
Distance to Golden Gate Bridge: 1,9 km.

 

Golden Gate Bridge © San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

China Beach

In the Seacliff area is China Beach, a tiny sandy beach with a picnic area, a sundeck, public toilets, cold showers and unobstructed views of the Golden Gate Bridge. But: the beach is only accessible via a steep, tarred driveway or a natural staircase with around 100 steps. China Beach is one of Paroma's insider tips in San Francisco. You can find more of them here Hidden Gems in San Francisco. More beautiful hiking trails in and around San Francisco can be found at Passportsymphony.
Distance to the Golden Gate Bridge: 3,2 km

 

© San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

City Tours incl. Golden Gate Bridge

 

 

Lands End

From the starting point of the Eagle's Point walk on Lands End, near Lincoln Park, you also have breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge. There is also a tarred walk near the 17 near this popular hiking trail. Lochs of the Lincoln Park Municipal Golf Course. There are several benches and photo opportunities, from which one can enjoy the beauty of the bridge especially well.
Distance to Golden Gate Bridge: 4,8 km.

 

© San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

In addition to these vantage points, from which you have a clear view of the bridge, there are also a few insider tips that not everyone knows. However, these offer an equally beautiful view of the bridge, although it is not necessarily unobstructed to see it. Nevertheless, the views are impressive.

 

 

Lover's Lane in the Presidio

Lover's Lane is the oldest walkway in the Presidio, stretching a half-mile from the Presidio Gate at the corner of Presidio and Pacific Avenues in Presidio Heights. You walk through eucalyptus groves and also have a beautiful view of the Golden Gate Bridge through the trees. This finally disappears more and more from view, the closer you get to the main post of the Presidio.
Distance to Golden Gate Bridge: 3,5 km.

 

Golden Gate Bridge © San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

From the Viewing Deck of the Hamon Education Tower

The observation deck of the Hamon Education Tower at de Young Museum also offers dramatic views of the Golden Gate Bridge. It also has spectacular views of the city and the Pacific Ocean. Visiting the viewing deck, which is open daily until 16.30, is free and open to the public.
Distance to Golden Gate Bridge: 4,7 km.

 

© San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

Library of the University of California

However, it is important to be quiet here! At 530 Parnassus Avenue on Inner Sunset is the Library of the University of California, San Francisco. Her reading room also offers a breathtaking view of the Golden Gate Bridge.
Distance to bridge: 6,6 km.

 

© San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

Coit Tower

The slender tower visible from many parts of downtown is the Coit Tower. It stands on Telegraph Hill and offers 360 degree views of the city and the bay, including the Golden Gate Bridge. However, the view is best from the viewing deck, which can only be reached via an elevator, which costs entry.
Distance to bridge: 7,0 km.

 

 

 

 

© Galileo55,
© Galileo55, Flickr

The most beautiful View at the Entrance to San Francisco

However, if you approach San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge from the north on Highway 101, the view of both is initially blocked by the Marin Headlands. However, if you drive through the Waldo Tunnel between the Golden Gate Bridge and Sausalito, you have the first view of the city and the bridge at the southern exit from the tunnel.
Distance to Golden Gate Bridge: 5 km.

 

 

 


Travel Arrangements:

Parking at the airport

Here you can reserve your parking space at the airport.

Getting to the Golden Gate Bridge

For example, book yours here Arrival by plane, bus or train*. Lufthansa, United and others fly to San Francisco and Los Angeles.

Car rental to the Golden Gate Bridge:

Hotels in California:

Travel Guides

San Francisco Travel Guide * You can buy it here, for example.

If you purchase via a link marked *, we receive a commission, which we use to run this blog.

 

Do you know this?

 

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Copyright see details in the photos

10 Viewpoints on the Golden Gate Bridge

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs and Petar Fuchs are the authors and publishers of the Food and Slow Travel blog  TravelWorldOnline. They have been publishing this blog since 2005. TravelWorldOnline has been online since 2001. Their topics are trips to Savor, wine tourism worldwide and slow travel. During her studies Monika Fuchs spent some time in North America, where she - partly together with Petar Fuchs - traveled to the USA and Canada and spent a research year in British Columbia. This intensified her thirst for knowledge, which she satisfied for 6 years as an adventure guide for Rotel Tours and then for 11 years as a tour guide for Studiosus Reisen around the world. She was constantly expanding her travel regions, but curiosity still gnawed at her: "What's beyond the horizon? What else is there to discover in this city? Which people are interesting here? What do they eat in this region?" As a freelance travel journalist (her articles have appeared in DIE ZEIT, 360° Canada, 360° USA, etc.), she is now looking for answers to these questions as a travel writer and travel blogger in many countries around the world. Petar Fuchs produces the videos on this blog as well as on YouTube. Monika Fuchs from TravelWorldOnline is among Germany's top 50 bloggers in 2021. Find more Information about Monika and Petar Fuchs here.

4 thoughts too "10 Viewpoints on the Golden Gate Bridge"

  1. Wow, what great prospects. Really helpful so an overview. I often travel that, I want to take pictures and think forever, from where that works best. From your list I like Fort Point and China Beach the best. You can really remember that for a San Francisco trip :)

    Best regards,
    Nicole from PASSENGER X

    1. Dear Nicole,

      I am very happy if you like my tips for viewpoints on the Golden Gate Bridge. Of course, then the weather must also play. The bridge often hides in the fog.

      Best regards,
      Monika

    1. Hello Michaela,

      I know most of them from my own experience. That belonged to my job as a tour guide.

      Greetings,
      Monika

Comments are closed.

10 Aussichtspunkte auf die Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge, Yolanda.White84, Flickr

Die Golden Gate Bridge

Die Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco ist eine der am meisten fotografierten Brücken der Welt. Allerdings muss man wissen, von wo man sie am besten aufnimmt. Ich habe diese Orte während meiner Reisen nach Kalifornien entdeckt. Dies sind die 10 Top-Aussichtspunkte auf die Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco:

 

 

Crissy Field

Diese ehemalige Landebahn im Militärgelände Presidio südlich der Brücke ist 2001 verschönert worden. Sie bietet heute sowohl Spazier- als auch Radwege zwischen dem Marina Green und Fort Point. Von dort eröffnen sich atemberaubende Ausblicke auf die Brücke. Am Crissy Field gibt es außerdem Picknickplätze und einen kleinen Strand. Dieser ist bei Familien sehr beliebt. Entweder bringt man sich sein Picknick aus der Stadt mit oder holt sich etwas in der Warming Hut am Fort Point oder dem Beach Hut Cafe am Marina Green.
Entfernung zur Golden Gate Bridge: 4,2 km vom Marina Green.

 

Golden Gate Bridge © San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

Die Golden Gate Bridge vom Boot aus

Gute Fotomöglichkeiten auf die Brücke am Goldenen Tor bieten auch diese Bootstouren. Und nicht nur das. Von diesen Bootstouren gibt’s obendrein gute Ausblicke auf die Skyline von San Francisco, auf Alcatraz Island, die ehemalige Gefängnisinsel in der Bucht, und die umliegende Region.

Die Golden Gate per Boot

 

 

Fort Point

Der Brücke am nächsten kommt man jedoch am Fort Point, einer Festung aus der Zeit des Amerikanischen Bürgerkriegs. Zu erreichen ist diese über den Marine Drive. Das Fort sah nie kriegerische Aktivitäten, aber die Brücke wurde so gebaut, dass das Fort erhalten blieb.
Entfernung zur Golden Gate Bridge: 1,9 km

 

Golden Gate Bridge © San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

Baker Beach

Etwa 800 Meter unterhalb der Klippen westlich des Presidio bietet der Bakers Beach zudem wundervolle Ausblicke auf die Golden Gate Brücke. Er ist mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln (Muni-Bus 29) zu erreichen. Am Strand gibt es Picknicktische und Grills, sowie einen Parkplatz und öffentliche Toiletten. Am Nordende des Bakers Beach gibt es zudem eine FKK-Ecke.
Entfernung zur Golden Gate Bridge: 1,9 km.

 

Golden Gate Bridge © San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

China Beach

In der Umgebung von Seacliff liegt der China Beach, ein winziger Sandstrand mit Picknickplatz, einem Sonnendeck, öffentlichen Toiletten, kalten Duschen und ungehinderter Aussicht auf die Golden Gate Bridge. Aber: der Strand ist nur über eine steile, geteerte Zufahrt oder eine natürliche Treppe mit ungefähr 100 Stufen zugänglich. Der China Beach ist einer der Geheimtipps in San Francisco von Paroma. Hier findest Du weitere ihrer Hidden Gems in San Francisco. Mehr schöne Wanderwege in und um San Francisco findest Du bei Passportsymphony.
Entfernung zur Golden Gate Bridge: 3,2 km

 

© San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

Stadtrundfahrten inkl. Golden Gate Bridge

 

 

Lands End

Vom Ausgangspunkt des Eagle’s Point Spazierwegs am Lands End in der Nähe des Lincoln Park aus hat man ebenfalls einen atemberaubenden Blick auf die Golden Gate Bridge. Nahe diesem beliebten Wanderweg gibt es außerdem einen geteerten Spazierweg in der Nähe des 17. Lochs des Lincoln Park Municipal Golf Course. Dort gibt es mehrere Bänke und Fotomöglichkeiten, von denen aus man die Schönheit der Brücke besonders gut genießen kann.
Entfernung zur Golden Gate Bridge: 4,8 km.

 

© San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

Neben diesen Aussichtspunkten, von denen aus man einen freien Blick auf die Brücke hat, gibt es zusätzlich noch einige Geheimtipps, die nicht jeder kennt. Diese bieten jedoch einen ebenso schönen Ausblick auf die Brücke, wenn diese auch nicht unbedingt ohne Hindernis zu sehen ist. Beeindruckend sind die Ausblicke trotzdem.

 

 

Lover’s Lane im Presidio

Die Lover’s Lane ist der älteste Spazierweg im Presidio, der sich über eine halbe Meile vom Presidio Gate an der Ecke Presidio und Pacific Avenue in Presidio Heights erstreckt. Man spaziert durch Eukalyptushaine und hat überdies durch die Bäume einen schönen Blick auf die Golden Gate Bridge. Diese verschwindet schließlich immer mehr aus dem Blickfeld, je näher man dem Hauptposten des Presidio kommt.
Entfernung zur Golden Gate Bridge: 3,5 km.

 

Golden Gate Bridge © San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

Vom Aussichtsdeck des Hamon Education Tower

Die Aussichtsplattform des Hamon Education Tower im de Young Museum bietet ebenfalls dramatische Ausblicke auf die Golden Gate Brücke. Außerdem hat man von dort spektakuläre Ansichten der Stadt und vom Pazifischen Ozean. Der Besuch des Aussichtsdecks, das täglich bis 16.30 Uhr geöffnet ist, ist jedenfalls kostenlos und für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.
Entfernung zur Golden Gate Bridge: 4,7 km.

 

© San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

Bibliothek der University of California

Hier heißt es allerdings still sein! An 530 Parnassus Avenue in der Inner Sunset befindet sich die Bibliothek der University of California, San Francisco. Von ihrem Lesesaal hat man zudem einen atemberaubenden Ausblick auf die Golden Gate Bridge.
Entfernung zur Brücke: 6,6 km.

 

© San Francisco Travel
© San Francisco Travel

 

Coit Tower

Der schlanke Turm, der von vielen Stellen der Innenstadt aus sichtbar ist, ist der Coit Tower. Er steht auf dem Telegraph Hill und bietet obendrein einen Rundumblick auf die Stadt und die Bucht, einschließlich der Golden Gate Brücke. Am besten ist der Ausblick jedoch vom Aussichtsdeck, das man nur über einen Aufzug erreicht, der Eintritt kostet.
Entfernung zur Brücke: 7,0 km.

 

 

 

 

© Galileo55,
© Galileo55, Flickr

Der schönste Blick bei der Einfahrt nach San Francisco

Nähert man sich San Francisco und der Golden Gate Bridge jedoch von Norden her über den Highway 101 ist der Blick auf beide zunächst durch die Marin Headlands versperrt. Fährt man jedoch durch den Waldo Tunnel zwischen der Golden Gate Bridge und Sausalito, hat man an der südlichen Ausfahrt aus dem Tunnel den ersten Blick auf die Stadt und die Brücke.
Entfernung zur Golden Gate Bridge: 5 km.

 

 

 


Reiseorganisation:

Parken am Flughafen

Hier kannst du deinen Parkplatz am Flughafen reservieren.

Anreise zur Golden Gate Bridge

Buche zum Beispiel hier deine Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*. Lufthansa, United sowie andere fliegen nach San Francisco sowie Los Angeles.

Mietwagen zur Golden Gate Bridge:

Hotels in Kalifornien:

Reiseführer

Reiseführer für San Francisco* kannst Du zum Beispiel hier kaufen.

Kaufst du über einen mit * markierten Link, erhalten wir dafür eine Provision, mit der wir dieses Blog betreiben.

 

Kennst Du überdies?

 

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Copyright siehe Angaben bei den Fotos

10 Aussichtspunkte auf die Golden Gate Bridge

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs und Petar Fuchs sind die Verfasser und Herausgeber des Slow Travel und Genuss Reiseblogs TravelWorldOnline Traveller. Sie veröffentlichen dieses Blog seit 2005. TravelWorldOnline ist online seit 2001. Ihre Themen sind Genuss Reisen und Weintourismus in aller Welt und Slow Travel. Monika Fuchs verbrachte während ihres Studiums einige Zeit in Nordamerika, wo sie - zum Teil gemeinsam mit Petar Fuchs - die USA und Kanada bereiste und ein Forschungsjahr in British Columbia verbrachte. Das verstärkte ihren Wissensdurst, den sie 6 Jahre lang als Abenteuer-Guide für Rotel Tours und danach 11 Jahre lang als Studienreiseleiterin für Studiosus Reisen in aller Welt zu stillen versuchte. Sie erweiterte ständig ihre Reiseregionen, aber trotzdem nagte die Neugier an ihr: "Was befindet sich hinter dem Horizont? Was gibt's in dieser Stadt noch zu entdecken? Welche Menschen sind hier interessant? Was isst man in dieser Region?" Auf diese Fragen sucht sie nun als freie Reisejournalistin (ihre Artikel erschienen u.a. in DIE ZEIT, 360° Kanada, 360° USA, etc.) , Reiseautorin und Reisebloggerin Antworten in vielen Ländern der Welt. Petar Fuchs produziert die Videos auf diesem Blog sowie auf YouTube. Monika Fuchs von TravelWorldOnline Traveller ist unter Deutschlands Top 50 Bloggerinnen 2021 Weitere Informationen über Monika und Petar Fuchs.

4 Gedanken zu „10 Aussichtspunkte auf die Golden Gate Bridge

  1. Wow, was für tolle Aussichten. Echt hilfreich so eine Übersicht. Ich hab das oft auf Reisen, dass ich was fotografieren möchte und ewig überleg, von wo aus das am besten geht. Von deiner Liste gefallen mir Fort Point und China Beach am besten. Das kann man sich wirklich für eine San Francisco Reise merken:)

    Liebe Grüße
    Nicole von PASSENGER X

    1. Liebe Nicole,

      freut mich sehr, wenn Dir meine Tipps für Aussichtspunkte auf die Golden Gate Bridge gefallen. Natürlich muss dann das Wetter auch mitspielen. Die Brücke versteckt sich oft im Nebel.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika

    1. Hallo Michaela,

      die meisten davon kenne ich aus eigener Erfahrung. Das gehörte damals zu meinem Job als Reiseleiterin.

      LG,
      Monika

Kommentare sind geschlossen.