From Montreal to Quebec City along the King's Road

If you purchase through a link marked *, we will receive a commission.
Churches in Quebec from Montreal to Quebec City

From Montreal to Quebec City along the King's Road

Most travelers take the highway to get there as quickly as possible Montreal to get to Quebec City. However, they don't know what they're missing. Because there is an alternative to the monotonous motorway journey, for which at least a full day should be planned. However, two days are better if you want to see all the attractions along the route in peace. The King's Road runs directly along the north bank of the St. Lorenz. You pass through idyllic villages and always have beautiful views of the river.

Map of the Kings Road from Montreal to Quebec City

Map thanks to hiking log, a road trip planner on iOS and Android

 

This highway is also the oldest road connection from Montreal to Quebec City. Even when the French were the colonial masters here, they traveled along this road that connected the three most important cities in New France: Quebec City, Trois Rivieres and Montreal. Not only is there a varied route on this road, but you are also following historical traces.

Trois-Rivières, for example, is recommended as an overnight stop on the route. There are other sights there that are worth visiting.

It's best to leave Montreal on Rue Sherbrooke and then follow it towards Repentigny.

 

Moulin Grenier in Repentigny
Moulin Grenier in Repentigny

 

The Moulin Grenier in Repentigny

One of the first sights is the Moulin Grenier in Repentigny. This is an old mill from 1820, which can also be visited during the summer months. The old grinder still works today.

Moulin Grenier
912 Notre-Dame Street
Repentigny, Quebec J5Y 1C8
Canada

Opening times: The mill is open on weekends in summer. Exact dates here.

 

Churches along the route from Montreal to Quebec City

Again and again the road leads through small villages with mighty churches whose facades look out onto the St. Lorenz River. Unlike in the English-dominated parts of Canada, the churches here stand out. Their pointed church towers dominate the villagescape of many of the towns we come across on the way.

 

At St. Lorenz
At St. Lorenz

 

Along the St. Lawrence River from Montreal to Quebec City

On the way there are always views of the St. Lorenz, as the King's Road largely follows the north bank of the river. The south bank is usually as close as in this photo, but at Lac Saint Pierre the stream even widens into a lake.

Mansions on the St. Lawrence River from Montreal to Quebec City

The region is also popular as a residential area for Quebecers. On our journey from Montreal to Quebec City, we repeatedly drive past elegant residential buildings with large, almost park-like gardens and see the river behind them.

 

The Cuthbert's Chapel in Berthierville from Montreal to Quebec City
The Chapelle of Cuthbert in Berthierville

 

The Chapelle of Cuthbert in Berthierville

On the route from Montreal to Quebec City you will not only come across large churches. The Chapelle des Cuthbert in Berthierville is the oldest Protestant chapel in Quebec and was built on this site in 1762. At that time it was still called Chapelle St. Andre after the patron saint of Scotland. However, today it is owned by the Quebec government and is a listed building.

Cuthbert's Chapel
461 rue de Bienville
Berthierville, QC J0K 1A0
Canada

The Chapelle des Cuthert is open for events.

 

 

Moulin seigneurial on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City
The Moulin seigneurial at Pointe du Lac Photo: Fralambert, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

The moulin seigneurial de Pointe-du-Lac

The Pointe-du-Lac mill dates back to 1765. Your grinder works to this day. In summer you can watch the miller grinding flour. If you have the time and inclination, you can even learn how to bake bread. Then you can take your home-baked bread with you for a picnic on the banks of the Sankt Lorenz or at the rest area in front of the mill. There are also hiking trails in the area that invite you to take a walk.

Stately mill of Pointe-du-Lac
11930, rue Notre-Dame Ouest
Trois-Rivières (Qc) G9B 6X1
Canada

Opening times: every day from 10am to 17pm, from the last Sunday in May to the last Sunday in October.

 

Le Manoir de Niverville on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City
Le Manoir de Niverville on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City Photo: Robert Cutts, CC BY 2.0 License, via Wikimedia Commons

 

The butcher's house of Niverville

In Trois-Rivières stands the mansion of the butcher of Niverville. It is the oldest building in the city and dates back to when this region was still under French rule. Today it is a museum where you can see how the bourgeoisie lived at that time. If you want, you can also view the exhibition with an audio guide that you can download onto your cell phone on site. The tour lasts about an hour.

Manor Boucher de Niverville
168, rue Bonaventure
Trois-Rivières
(Quebec), G9A 2B1
Canada

Opening hours:

From the beginning of June to the beginning of September daily from 10 a.m. to 17 p.m
on Saturdays and Sundays in September from 10 a.m. to 17 p.m.

 

Musée des Ursulines on the route from Montreal to Quebec City
Musée des Ursulines on the route from Montreal to Quebec City Photo: Fralambert, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

The Ursulines Museum

If you take two days to drive from Montreal to Quebec City, you will have time to visit the Ursuline Sisters Museum. They were one of the orders committed to the education of early settlers and Native American Catholics in New France. They also supported the mother country France to settle the colony in North America.

Musée des Ursulines
734 rue des Ursulines,
Trois-Rivieres, QC G9A 5B5,
Canada

Opening hours:

Labor Day (1st Monday in September) through June 23:
Wednesday to Sunday, 10 am to 17 pm | Closed from 12:00 p.m. to 13:00 p.m

June 24 to Labor Day (1st Monday of September):
daily 10 a.m. to 18 p.m

 

Want to see everything on the Montreal to Quebec City route?

Then you need an overnight stay. Trois-Riviéres is ideal for this. If you still have time, you will also find other sights in Trois-Rivières.

Hotels in the city center are:

 

 

 

Sanctuaire Notre-Dame du Cap on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City
Sanctuaire Notre-Dame du Cap on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City Photo: jockrutherford from Owen Sound, ON, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

The Sanctuary of Notre-Dame du Cap in Trois-Rivières

The Notre-Dame du Cap pilgrimage church in Trois-Rivières, which is also on the King's Road between Montreal and Quebec City, is very modern. It was only built in 1964. However, the original church from 1720 still stands on this site. Notre-Dame du Cap is the third largest pilgrimage site in Quebec. Both churches are therefore worth seeing. The new church, built by Pope Paul VI, is particularly impressive. received the rank of Basilica Minor. It has an unusual floor plan and beautiful stained glass windows. Their size is also enormous. It holds 1800 people.

Sanctuary of Notre-Dame du Cap
626 rue Notre Dame E,
Three Rivers, QC
G8T 4G9, Canada

Opening hours: 8am-18pm

 

The vicarage of Batiscan
The rectory of Batiscan Photo: Bernard Gagnon, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

The old vicarage of Batiscan

This pretty rectory was not only the home of the priest of Batiscan. This place was also important in the history of Quebec. Here, for example, French fur traders met their Indian suppliers and exchanged furs for European goods. Glass beads and other goods were popular with Native American hunters. Even Samuel de Champlain, the founder of Quebec City, is said to have traded here. The area also has an educational trail leading to the river and a shop selling local crafts.

Presbytery of Batiscan
340 rue Principale,
Batiscan, QC G0X 1A0,
Canada

Opening times: every day from 10am to 17pm, from the last Sunday in May to the last Sunday in October.

 

Domaine seigneurial Sainte-Anne on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City
Domaine seigneurial Sainte-Anne on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City Photo: Fralambert, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

The seigneurial domain of Sainte Anne

Madeleine de Verchères, the seigneur of Sainte-Anne-de-la-Perade, once lived in this house. She was something like the mistress of the seigneury and determined the fate of the people there. But there are other people who made this house remarkable. Elizabeth Hale, a 19th century painter, and Honoré Mercier, who had his second home here. The church of Sainte-Anne with its crypt is also worth seeing. It is especially beautiful here in summer when the garden is in full bloom.

Domaine seigneurial de Sainte-Anne
910 rue Sainte Anne,
Sainte-Anne-de-la-Perade,
QC G0X 2J0,
Canada

Opening hours: 2nd Sunday in June to 1st Monday in September: Tuesday to Sunday from 10 a.m. to 17 p.m.

 

Moulin de La Chevrotiere on the route from Montreal to Quebec City
Moulin de La Chevrotiere on the route from Montreal to Quebec City Sylvainbrousseau, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

The Deschambault-Grondines watermill

We finally come across a watermill in Deschambault-Grondines. It dates back to 1802 and now houses a small museum. This deals with the history of the mill and repeatedly presents handicraft exhibitions.

Moulin de la Chevrotiere
109 rue de Chavigny
Deschambault, QC G0A 1S0
Canada

Opening times: The Moulin de la Chevrotiere is open during events.

 

Eglise Cap Santé on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City
Eglise Cap Santé on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City Photo: (WT-shared) ED01 at wts wikivoyage, Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

 

The Church of Cap Sante

This church is just representative of the numerous churches along this route. All of them are striking. They are large and tower over the villages in which they are located. Churches like this are definitely typical of the places along the King's route. It is worth seeing such a church from the inside.

 

Marais-Léon-Provancher on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City
Marais-Léon-Provancher on the King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City Photo: Judith Bourque, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

The Marais-Léon-Provancher Nature Reserve

Want to get a picture of the St. Lawrence River before it reaches Quebec City? Then you can, for example, take a walk along the banks of the river at the nature reserve of the marshes of Marais-Léon-Provancher. Take your time and don't forget your camera and binoculars, as you can also watch birds well here.

 

Are you traveling by motorhome from Montreal to Quebec City?

  • For example, a beautifully located campsite halfway between Montreal and Quebec City is the Park de Motorisés, 185 Av. Godefroy, Bécancour, QC G9H 1S1, Canada, Tel. 819-606-0200. There are other campsites in the area.
  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you can find information about it here, for example booking options.
  • Be sure to check our packing list for campers to see whether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.
  • Also, forget yours backpack not. There are beautiful hiking opportunities in the area.

 

Canada East Travel Guide

Canada East

Want to learn more about Ontario and the Montreal to Quebec City region? Explore the cities, each of which is different. The metropolitan city of Toronto is the largest city in the country. Montreal awaits you with a mix of French flair and British lifestyle. The capital Ottawa lures with world-class museums and the centers of power in Canada. Feel transported to 17th-century France in Quebec City.

Nature in eastern Canada is also impressive. Follow the banks of the St. Lawrence River and discover a world that is more reminiscent of the sea and extends far into the continent. Experience the coastal landscapes, the river valleys that criss-cross the interior and the rolling hills of the Appalachian Mountains. Let yourself be impressed by the difference in tides in the Bay of Fundy. Enjoy the landscapes of Prince Edward Island. Explore the coastal and archipelago region in Nova Scotia. Explore one of the most beautiful coastal roads in Eastern Canada on Cape Breton Island: the Cabot Trail. Or look forward to the residents in the fishing villages of Newfoundland and Labrador. Their hospitality is what makes this region so welcoming.

Order the Travel Guide Canada - East Here *, which Monika publishes as a co-author.

If you purchase via a link marked *, we receive a commission, which we use to run this blog.

 

 


Travel Arrangements:

Parking at the airport

Here you can reserve your parking space at the airport before your outbound flight.

Getting to King's Road from Montreal to Quebec City:

Compare and book flights here*Montreal has an international airport where direct flights from Germany as well as other countries in Europe land. The best way to travel from there is by rental car.

Rental car:

Cheap Car Hire - Book Fast and Easy! *

From Montreal to Quebec City by RV:

Book your motorhome here.

Hotels from Montreal to Quebec City:

Accommodations in and around Quebec * you can, for example, book through our partner booking.com.


 

from Montreal to Quebec City
Click on the photo and then note “Montreal to Quebec City” on Pinterest

 

Do you know this?

 

Source from Montreal to Quebec City: On-site research with support from Bonjour Quebec, for which we definitely thank you. However, our opinions remain our own.

Text from Montreal to Quebec City: © Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photos: Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline

What do you prefer? A leisurely ride on a coastal road like this, or a quick ride on the highway?
From Montreal to Quebec City along the King's Road

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs and Petar Fuchs are the authors and publishers of the Slow Travel and Enjoyment travel blog TravelWorldOnline Traveller. You have been publishing this blog since 2005. TravelWorldOnline has been online since 2001. Your topics are Trips to Savor and wine tourism worldwide and Slow Travel. During her studies, Monika Fuchs spent some time in North America, where she traveled to the USA and Canada - sometimes together with Petar Fuchs - and spent a research year in British Columbia. This strengthened her thirst for knowledge, which she pursued for 6 years Adventure Guide for Rotel Tours and then for 11 years as Study tour guide for Studiosus Reisen tried to breastfeed all over the world. She constantly expanded her travel regions, but curiosity still gnawed at her: “What is beyond the horizon? What else is there to discover in this city? Which people are interesting here? What do you eat in this region?” These are the questions she is now trying to answer as a freelance travel journalist (her articles have appeared in DIE ZEIT, 360° Canada, 360° USA, etc.), among others. travel writer and travel blogger answers in many countries around the world. Petar Fuchs produces the videos on this blog as well as on YouTube. Monika Fuchs from TravelWorldOnline is below Germany's top 50 bloggers in 2021 Other Information about Monika and Petar Fuchs. Recommendations on LinkedIn from tourism experts Further recommendations from cooperation partners and tourism experts Professional experience Monika on LinkedIn

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

Von Montreal nach Quebec City entlang der King’s Road

Kirchen in Quebec von Montreal nach Quebec City

Von Montreal nach Quebec City entlang der King’s Road

Die meisten Reisenden nehmen die Autobahn, um möglichst schnell von Montreal nach Quebec City zu gelangen. Sie wissen allerdings nicht, was sie verpassen. Denn es gibt eine Alternative zur eintönigen Autobahnfahrt, für die mindestens ein voller Tag eingeplant werden sollte. Besser sind jedoch zwei Tage, wenn Du alle Attraktionen entlang der Strecke in Ruhe anschauen willst. Die King’s Road führt direkt am Nordufer des St. Lorenz entlang. Dabei kommst du durch idyllische Dörfer und hast immer wieder schöne Ausblicke auf den Strom.

Karte der Kings Road zwischen Montreal und Quebec City

Map thanks to Wanderlog, a road trip planner on iOS and Android

 

Dieser Highway ist gleichzeitig die älteste Straßenverbindung von Montreal nach Quebec City. Schon als die Franzosen hier die Kolonialherren waren, zogen sie über diese Straße, die die drei wichtigsten Städte Neufrankreichs miteinander verband: Quebec City, Trois Rivieres sowie Montreal. Nicht nur, dass man auf dieser Straße eine abwechslungsreiche Strecke vor sich hat, hier folgt man außerdem historischen Spuren.

Als Zwischen-Übernachtung auf der Route empfiehlt sich zum Beispiel Trois-Rivières. Dort gibt es noch weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten, die einen Besuch lohnen.

Am besten verlässt man Montreal auf der Rue Sherbrooke und folgt ihr anschließend in Richtung Repentigny.

 

Moulin Grenier in Repentigny
Moulin Grenier in Repentigny

 

Die Moulin Grenier in Repentigny

Eine der ersten Sehenswürdigkeiten ist die Moulin Grenier in Repentigny. Dabei handelt es sich um eine alte Mühle aus dem Jahr 1820, die während der Sommermonate auch zu besichtigen ist. Das alte Mahlwerk funktioniert bis heute.

Moulin Grenier
912 Rue Notre-Dame
Repentigny, Quebec J5Y 1C8
Kanada

Öffnungszeiten: Die Mühle ist im Sommer an Wochenenden geöffnet. Genaue Termine findest Du hier.

 

Kirchen entlang der Strecke von Montreal nach Quebec City

Immer wieder führt die Straße durch kleine Dörfer mit m#chtigen Kirchen, die mit ihren Fassaden auf den St. Lorenz Strom blicken. Anders als in den englisch geprägten Landesteilen Kanadas fallen die Kirchen hier auf. Ihre spitzen Kirchtürme dominieren so das Dorfbild vieler Ortschaften, auf die wir unterwegs treffen.

 

Am St. Lorenz
Am St. Lorenz

 

Am St. Lorenz Strom entlang von Montreal nach Quebec City

Unterwegs öffnen sich überdies immer wieder Ausblicke auf den St. Lorenz, denn die King’s Road folgt in großen Teilen direkt dem Nordufer des Stroms. Meist liegt das Südufer so nahe wie auf diesem Foto, aber beim Lac Saint Pierre verbreitert sich der Strom sogar zu einem See.

Villen am St. Lorenz Strom von Montreal nach Quebec City

Die Region ist außerdem beliebt als Wohngebiet bei Quebecern. Immer wieder fahren wir auf unserer Fahrt von Montreal nach Quebec City vorbei an eleganten Wohnhäusern mit großen, fast parkähnlichen Gartenanlagen und erblicken dahinter den Strom.

 

Die Chapelle des Cuthbert in Berthierville von Montreal nach Quebec City
Die Chapelle des Cuthbert in Berthierville

 

Die Chapelle des Cuthbert in Berthierville

An der Strecke von Montreal nach Quebec City trifft man zudem nicht nur auf große Kirchen. Die Chapelle des Cuthbert in Berthierville ist die älteste protestantische Kapelle in Quebec und wurde 1762 an dieser Stelle errichtet. Damals hieß sie noch Chapelle St. Andre nach dem Schutzpatron Schottlands. Heute befindet sie sich jedoch im Besitz der Regierung von Quebec und steht unter Denkmalschutz.

Chapelle des Cuthbert
461 Rue de Bienville
Berthierville, QC J0K 1A0
Kanada

Die Chapelle des Cuthert ist bei Veranstaltungen geöffnet.

 

 

Moulin seigneurial an der King's Road von Montreal nach Quebec City
Die Moulin seigneurial in Pointe du Lac Foto: Fralambert, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

Die Moulin seigneurial de Pointe-du-Lac

Auf das Jahr 1765 geht die Mühle von Pointe-du-Lac zurück. Ihr Mahlwerk funktioniert bis heute. Im Sommer kannst Du dem Müller beim Mehlmahlen zuschauen. Wenn Du Lust und Zeit mitbringst, kannst Du sogar lernen, wie man Brot bäckt. Dann kannst Du Dein selbst gebackenes Brot mitnehmen fürs Picknick am Ufer des Sankt Lorenz oder auf dem Rastplatz vor der Mühle. Außerdem gibt es Wanderpfade in der Umgebung, die zu einem Spaziergang einladen.

Moulin seigneurial de Pointe-du-Lac
11930, rue Notre-Dame Ouest
Trois-Rivières (Qc) G9B 6X1
Kanada

Öffnungszeiten: täglich von 10-17 Uhr, vom letzten Sonntag im Mai bis zum letzten Sonntag im Oktober.

 

Le Manoir de Niverville an der King's Road von Montreal nach Quebec City
Le Manoir de Niverville an der King’s Road von Montreal nach Quebec City Foto: Robert Cutts, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

Das Haus des Metzgers von Niverville

In Trois-Rivières steht das Herrenhaus des Metzgers von Niverville. Es ist das älteste Gebäude der Stadt und stammt aus der Zeit, als diese Region noch unter französischer Herrschaft stand. Heute befindet sich darin ein Museum, in dem man sehen kann, wie das Bürgertum jener Zeit lebte. Wer will, kann sich außerdem die Ausstellung mit einem Audioguide anschauen, den man vor Ort auf sein Handy herunterladen kann. Die Führung dauert etwa eine Stunde.

Manoir Boucher de Niverville
168, rue Bonaventure
Trois-Rivières
(Quebec), G9A 2B1
Kanada

Öffnungszeiten:

Von Anfang Juni bis Anfang September täglich von 10-17 Uhr sowie
an den Samstagen und Sonntagen im September von 10-17 Uhr.

 

Musée des Ursulines an der Route von Montreal nach Quebec City
Musée des Ursulines an der Route von Montreal nach Quebec City Foto: Fralambert, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

Das Musée des Ursulines

Wenn Du Dir zwei Tage Zeit nimmst für die Fahrt von Montreal nach Quebec City, dann bleibt Dir Zeit für einen Besuch des Museums der Ursulinerinnen. Sie waren einer der Orden, die sich in Neufrankreich für die Bildung der frühen Siedler und indianischer Katholiken engagierten. Außerdem unterstützten sie das Mutterland Frankreich, die Kolonie in Nordamerika zu besiedeln.

Musée des Ursulines
734 Rue des Ursulines,
Trois-Rivières, QC G9A 5B5,
Kanada

Öffnungszeiten:

Labor Day (1. Montag im September) bis 23. Juni:
Mittwoch bis Sonntag, 10 bis 17 | Von 12:00 bis 13:00 geschlossen

24. Juni bis Labor Day (1. Montag im September):
täglich 10 bis 18 Uhr

 

Willst Du alles sehen an der Strecke von Montreal nach Quebec City?

Dann brauchst Du eine Zwischenübernachtung. Dafür bietet sich Trois-Riviéres an. Solltest Du noch Zeit übrig haben, findest Du in Trois-Rivières zudem noch weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten.

Hotels im Stadtzentrum sind:

 

 

Sanctuaire Notre-Dame du Cap an der King's Road von Montreal nach Quebec City
Sanctuaire Notre-Dame du Cap an der King’s Road von Montreal nach Quebec City Foto: jockrutherford from Owen Sound, ON, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Die Wallfahrtskirche Notre-Dame du Cap in Trois-Rivières

Ganz modern dagegen ist die Wallfahrtskirche Notre-Dame du Cap in Trois-Rivières, die ebenfalls an der King’s Road zwischen Montreal und Quebec City steht. Sie ist erst 1964 errichtet worden. Allerdings steht auch die ursprüngliche Kirche aus dem Jahr 1720 noch an dieser Stelle. Notre-Dame du Cap ist der drittgrößte Wallfahrtsort in Quebec. Sehenswert sind daher beide Kirchen. Besonders imposant ist die neue Kirche, die von Papst Paul VI. den Rang einer Basilica Minor erhielt. Sie hat einen außergewöhnlichen Grundriss und besitzt schöne Buntglasfenster. Gewaltig ist zudem ihre Größe. Sie fasst 1800 Personen.

Sanctuaire Notre-Dame du Cap
626 Rue Notre Dame E,
Trois-Rivières, QC
G8T 4G9, Kanada

Öffnungszeiten: 8-18 Uhr

 

Das Pfarrhaus von Batiscan
Das Pfarrhaus von Batiscan Foto: Bernard Gagnon, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

Das alte Pfarrhaus von Batiscan

Dieses hübsche Pfarrhaus war nicht nur das Wohnhaus des Pfarrers von Batiscan. Dieser Ort war auch bereits früher von Bedeutung in der Geschichte Québecs. Hier trafen zum Beispiel französische Pelzhändler ihre indianischen Lieferanten und tauschten Felle gegen europäische Waren. Glasperlen und andere Güter waren beliebt bei den indianischen Jägern. Sogar Samuel de Champlain, der Gründer Quebec Citys, soll hier schon Handel betrieben haben. In der Umgebung gibt es außerdem einen Lehrpfad, der zum Fluss führt, sowie einen Laden, der Kunsthandwerk aus der Region verkauft.

Presbytere de Batiscan
340 Rue Principale,
Batiscan, QC G0X 1A0,
Kanada

Öffnungszeiten: täglich von 10-17 Uhr, vom letzten Sonntag im Mai bis zum letzten Sonntag im Oktober.

 

Domaine seigneurial Sainte-Anne an der King's Road von Montreal nach Quebec City
Domaine seigneurial Sainte-Anne an der King’s Road von Montreal nach Quebec City Foto: Fralambert, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

Die Domaine seigneurial von Sainte Anne

In diesem Haus lebte einst Madeleine de Verchères, die Seigneurin von Sainte-Anne-de-la-Perade. Sie war so etwas wie die Herrin der Seigneurie und bestimmte die Geschicke der Menschen dort. Es gibt aber noch andere Personen, die dieses Haus bemerkenswert machten. Elizabeth Hale, eine Malerin aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, sowie Honoré Mercier, der hier seinen zweiten Wohnsitz hatte. Sehenswert ist außerdem die Kirche von Sainte-Anne mit ihrer Krypta. Hier ist es vor allem im Sommer schön, wenn der Garten in voller Blüte steht.

Domaine seigneurial de Sainte-Anne
910 Rue Sainte-Anne,
Sainte-Anne-de-la-Pérade,
QC G0X 2J0,
Kanada

Öffnungszeiten: 2. Sonntag im Juni bis 1. Montag im September: Dienstag bis Sonntag von 10 – 17.

 

Moulin de La Chevrotiere an der Strecke von Montreal nach Quebec City
Moulin de La Chevrotiere an der Strecke von Montreal nach Quebec City Sylvainbrousseau, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

Die Wassermühle von Deschambault-Grondines

Auf eine Wassermühle stoßen wir schließlich in Deschambault-Grondines. Sie stammt aus dem Jahr 1802 und beherbergt heute ein kleines Museum. Dieses befasst sich mit der Geschichte der Mühle und präsentiert immer wieder kunsthandwerkliche Ausstellungen.

Moulin de la Chevrotière
109 Rue de Chavigny
Deschambault, QC G0A 1S0
Kanada

Öffnungszeiten: Die Moulin de la Chevrotiere ist bei Veranstaltungen geöffnet.

 

Eglise Cap Santé an der King's Road von Montreal nach Quebec City
Eglise Cap Santé an der King’s Road von Montreal nach Quebec City Foto: (WT-shared) ED01 at wts wikivoyage, Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

 

Die Kirche von Cap Santé

Diese Kirche steht nur stellvertretend für die zahlreichen Kirchen entlang dieser Strecke. Alle von ihnen sind auffällig. Sie sind groß und überragen die Dörfer, in denen sie stehen. Kirchen wie diese sind auf jeden Fall typisch für die Orte entlang der Route des Königs. Es lohnt sich, eine solche Kirche auch von innen zu sehen.

 

Marais-Léon-Provancher an der King's Road von Montreal nach Quebec City
Marais-Léon-Provancher an der King’s Road von Montreal nach Quebec City Foto: Judith Bourque, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

Das Naturschutzgebiet Réserve naturelle du Marais-Léon-Provancher

Willst Du Dir ein Bild vom Sankt Lorenz Strom machen, bevor er Quebec City erreicht? Dann kannst Du zum Beispiel beim Naturschutzgebiet der Sümpfe von Marais-Léon-Provancher einen Spaziergang ans Ufer des Stromes machen. Nimm Dir Zeit dafür und vergiss Kamera und Fernglas nicht, denn hier kann man überdies gut Vögel beobachten.

 

Du reist mit dem Wohnmobil?

  • Ein schön gelegener Campingplatz auf halbem Weg zwischen Montreal und Quebec City ist beispielsweise der Park de Motorisés, 185 Av. Godefroy, Bécancour, QC G9H 1S1, Kanada, Tel. 819-606-0200. Es gibt noch weitere Campingplätze in der Umgebung.
  • Willst Du ein Wohnmobil mieten? Dann findest Du zum Beispiel hier Informationen darüber sowie Buchungsmöglichkeiten.
  • Überprüfe auf jeden Fall mit unserer Packliste Wohnmobil, ob Du alles für Deine Wohnmobiltour eingepackt hast.
  • Vergiss außerdem Deinen Wanderrucksack nicht. In der Umgebung gibt’s dafür schöne Wandermöglichkeiten.

 

Kanada Osten Reiseführer

Kanada Osten

Du willst mehr erfahren über Ontario und die Region von Montreal nach Quebec City? Erkunde die Städte, von denen jede anders ist. Die Metropole Toronto ist die größte Stadt des Landes. Montreal erwartet Dich mit einem Mix aus dem Flair Frankreichs und dem Lebensstil der Briten. Die Hauptstadt Ottawa lockt mit Museen von Weltrang und den Schaltstellen der Macht in Kanada. Fühl Dich versetzt ins Frankreich des 17. Jahrhunderts in Quebec City.

Auch die Natur im Osten Kanadas kann sich sehen lassen. Folge den Ufern des Sankt Lorenz Stroms und entdecke eine Welt, die eher ans Meer erinnert und bis weit in den Kontinent hineinreicht. Erlebe die Küstenlandschaften, die Flusstäler, die das Landesinnere durchziehen und die Hügellandschaften der Appalachen. Lass Dich beeindrucken vom Gezeitenunterschied in der Bay of Fundy. Genieße die Landschaften von Prince Edward Island. Entdecke die Küsten- und Schärenregion in Nova Scotia. Erkunde eine Küstenstraße, die als die Schönste in Ostkanada gilt, auf Cape Breton Island: den Cabot Trail. Oder freu die auf die Bewohner in den Fischerdörfern von Neufundland und Labrador. Ihre Gastfreundschaft macht diese Region so einladend.

Bestelle den Reiseführer Kanada – Osten hier*, den Monika als Co-Autorin veröffentlicht.

Kaufst du über einen mit * gekennzeichneten Link, erhalten wir dafür eine Provision, mit der wir dieses Blog betreiben.

 

 


Reiseorganisation:

Parken am Flughafen

Hier kannst du deinen Parkplatz am Flughafen vor dem Hinflug reservieren.

Anreise zur King’s Road von Montreal nach Quebec City:

Buche zum Beispiel deine Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*Montreal besitzt einen internationalen Flughafen, auf dem Direktflüge aus Deutschland ebenso wie aus anderen Ländern in Europa landen. Von dort reist man anschließend am besten mit dem Mietwagen weiter.

Mietwagen:

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!*

Mit dem Wohnmobil von Montreal nach Quebec City:

Buche Dein Wohnmobil hier.

Hotels von Montreal nach Quebec City:

Unterkünfte in und um Quebec* könnt Ihr zum Beispiel über unseren Partner booking.com buchen.


 

von Montreal nach Quebec City
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir anschließend „von Montreal nach Quebec City“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du überdies?

 

Quelle von Montreal nach Quebec City: Recherchen vor Ort mit Unterstützung von Bonjour Quebec, für die wir uns auf jeden Fall bedanken. Unsere Meinung bleibt jedoch unsere eigene.

Text von Montreal nach Quebec City: © Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline

Was zieht Ihr vor? Eine gemütliche Fahrt auf einer Uferstraße wie dieser, oder eine rasche Fahrt auf der Autobahn?
Von Montreal nach Quebec City entlang der King’s Road

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs und Petar Fuchs sind die Verfasser und Herausgeber des Slow Travel und Genuss Reiseblogs TravelWorldOnline Traveller. Sie veröffentlichen dieses Blog seit 2005. TravelWorldOnline ist online seit 2001. Ihre Themen sind Genuss Reisen und Weintourismus in aller Welt und Slow Travel. Monika Fuchs verbrachte während ihres Studiums einige Zeit in Nordamerika, wo sie - zum Teil gemeinsam mit Petar Fuchs - die USA und Kanada bereiste und ein Forschungsjahr in British Columbia verbrachte. Das verstärkte ihren Wissensdurst, den sie 6 Jahre lang als Abenteuer-Guide für Rotel Tours und danach 11 Jahre lang als Studienreiseleiterin für Studiosus Reisen in aller Welt zu stillen versuchte. Sie erweiterte ständig ihre Reiseregionen, aber trotzdem nagte die Neugier an ihr: "Was befindet sich hinter dem Horizont? Was gibt's in dieser Stadt noch zu entdecken? Welche Menschen sind hier interessant? Was isst man in dieser Region?" Auf diese Fragen sucht sie nun als freie Reisejournalistin (ihre Artikel erschienen u.a. in DIE ZEIT, 360° Kanada, 360° USA, etc.) , Reiseautorin und Reisebloggerin Antworten in vielen Ländern der Welt. Petar Fuchs produziert die Videos auf diesem Blog sowie auf YouTube. Monika Fuchs von TravelWorldOnline Traveller ist unter Deutschlands Top 50 Bloggerinnen 2021 Weitere Informationen über Monika und Petar Fuchs.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert