Lobsters eat in Atlantic Canada

Lobster - served cold © Copyright Monika Fuchs, Canada Travel

"

So you eat lobster to New Brunswick style

Eating lobster is part of every trip through Atlantic Canada. If you don't try it at least once, you cannot say that you have got to know this region. Because lobster is a popular food in Canada's Atlantic regions. On Prince Edward Island, it was once the “poor people's meal”. It used to be brought to the table there every day. Lobster traps are placed in all regions of Eastern Canada that border the sea or the St. Lawrence River. How to get the crustaceans from the ocean on the dining table. In supermarkets, lobsters are packed in foil, frozen or still alive in water tanks. New Brunswick's residents boast of knowing best how to get the tender lobster out of its hard shell. And it's not that easy!

 

Petar's first lobster in the shell
Petar eating lobster

 

Lobster Tales in Shediac - here you can eat lobster

Even though my better half in this picture looks like he's not sure if he dare dissect a lobster with his bare hands, he embarked on the adventure. And he tasted it very much. Throughout Eastern Canada you are welcome to give tips for beginners who are eating a lobster for the first time. Often you get in restaurants even a description of how to do that. It is simply explained by the Lobster Tales in ShediacWhere the guests go out by boat, watch a live lobster being fetched from the sea, and then be shown in detail how to skilfully get to the tasty pieces of meat of the crustacean.

 

A lobster roll - typical for lunch
A Lobster Roll - typical for lunch © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

Lobster is served in different ways

Eating lobster doesn't have to be that difficult, however. On the contrary! In Canada, lobsters are cooked in a variety of ways. Lobster rolls are a type of lobster fast food, the lobster rolls that are usually served for lunch. To do this, simply add a lot of lobster meat to a dry bun, a leaf of lettuce and maybe a little mayonnaise, and a delicious and light lunch dish is ready. Especially recommended for beginners!

 

Lobster terrine
Lobster Terrine © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

Lobster terrine, or rather lobster soup?

If you prefer warm, decide for one Lobster terrinein which the lobster meat also floats already in the soup, or a lobster bisque, a soup that is prepared with lobster. These two dishes are perfect for a light lunch. But it is still different - and much finer!

 

Eating Lobsters "Naked Lobster" - a naked lobster at the Rossmount Inn in New Brunswick
"Naked Lobster" - a naked lobster at the Rossmount Inn in New Brunswick © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

What is a "naked lobster"?

Chef Chris Aerni im Rossmount Inn In the pretty resort of St. Andrews-by-the-Sea in New Brunswick, just a few kilometers from the Maine border, which is one of Canada's best chefs, serves its guests a “naked lobster” - a shelled lobster. Practical for everyone who wants to eat lobster in dignity and with little effort, and by the way, these are not just newbies. Old hands in lobster food also do this. Our companion Darrell, who grew up in New Brunswick and ate lobster from childhood, admits to me that he only ate his first lobster in his bowl when he was over fifty. By the way, Chris Aerni's delicacies are available every evening with other types of vegetables - depending on what the vegetable and herb garden of his inn or the surrounding nature are giving fresh greenery.

 

Inventive - Lobster Latte by Markus Ritter at the Europa Inn
Inventive - Lobster Latte by Markus Ritter at the Europa Inn © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

Or rather a lobster latte?

The lobster is served particularly extravagantly in the restaurant of the Europa Inn in St. Andrews-by-the-Sea in New Brunswick. Chef and inn owner Markus Ritter, who emigrated from Germany to Canada a few years ago, serves his guests a "lobster latte" - a foamed lobster soup that flows gently down the palate. If you want to be pampered, it is best to order the seven-course surprise dinner from Markus, in which he surprisingly reinterprets regional and local dishes. Quasi the kitchen of Atlantic Canada in a modern way! And don't be afraid! The dishes and ingredients are put together so well that you still feel good after seven courses. No wonder, since Markus Ritter worked for many years as a chef on cruise ships, where he perfected his craft.

 

additional information

 


Travel Arrangements:

Getting there:

Air Canada, Condor and Icelandair fly from Germany to various airports in eastern Canada.

Car Rentals:
Cheap car hire - book quickly and easily!

Hotels:

Hotels in New Brunswick * You can book through our partner booking.com.


Source: own on-site research courtesy of the Canadian Tourism Commission, Tourism Newfoundland, Tourism Nova Scotia and Tourism New Brunswick. Our opinion remains our own.

Text: © Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos: Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Lobsters eat in Atlantic Canada
Nach oben scrollen

» » » » Hummer essen in Atlantik-Kanada

Hummer essen in Atlantik-Kanada

"<yoastmark

 

So isst man Hummer nach New Brunswick Art

Hummer essen gehört zu jeder Reise durch Atlantik-Kanada. Wer ihn nicht zumindest einmal probiert, kann nicht sagen, dass er diese Region kennengelernt hat. Denn Hummer ist in den Atlantikregionen Kanadas ein Volksnahrungsmittel. Auf Prince Edward Island war er sogar einst das “Arme-Leute-Essen”. Früher hat man ihn dort täglich auf den Tisch gebracht. In allen Regionen Ostkanadas, die ans Meer oder den St. Lorenz Strom grenzen, werden Hummerfallen ausgelegt. So holt man die Krustentiere aus dem Ozean auf den Esstisch. In den Supermärkten wird Hummer in Folie verpackt, tiefgefroren oder noch lebend in Wassertanks angeboten. New Brunswicks Einwohner rühmen sich, am besten zu wissen, wie man das zarte Hummerfleisch aus seiner harten Schale befreit. Und das ist gar nicht so einfach!

 

Petar's erster Hummer in der Schale
Petar beim Hummer essen

 

Lobster Tales in Shediac – hier lernt man Hummer essen

Auch wenn meine bessere Hälfte auf diesem Foto so aussieht, als ob er sich nicht ganz sicher ist, ob er es wagen soll, einen Hummer mit bloßen Händen zu zerlegen, ließ er sich auf das Abenteuer ein. Und er schmeckte ihm sehr. In ganz Ostkanada gibt man gerne Tipps für Anfänger, die zum ersten Mal einen Hummer in der Schale essen. Oft erhält man in Restaurants sogar eine Beschreibung wie das geht. Ganz einfach erklärt wird es bei den Lobster Tales in Shediac, wo die Gäste mit einem Boot hinausfahren, zuschauen, wie ein lebender Hummer aus dem Meer geholt wird, und dann im Detail vorgeführt wird, wie man auf geschickte Art an die leckeren Fleischteile des Krustentiers gelangt.

 

Eine Lobster Roll - typisch zum Lunch
Eine Lobster Roll – typisch zum Lunch © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

Hummer wird auf unterschiedliche Art serviert

Hummer essen muss jedoch keinesfalls so schwierig sein. Im Gegenteil! In Kanada bereitet man Hummer auf unterschiedlichste Weise zu. Eine Art Hummer Fast Food sind die “Lobster Rolls”, die Hummerbrötchen, die gewöhnlich zum Mittagessen serviert werden. Dafür wird einfach eine Menge Hummerfleisch auf ein trockenes Brötchen gegeben, ein Salatblatt und vielleicht noch etwas Mayonnaise dazu, und fertig ist ein köstliches und leichtes Lunchgericht. Besonders empfehlenswert für Einsteiger!

 

Hummer-Terrine
Hummer-Terrine © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

Hummer Terrine, oder doch lieber Hummer Suppe?

Wer’s lieber warm mag, entscheidet sich für eine Hummer-Terrine, in der das Hummerfleisch ebenfalls bereits ausgelöst in der Suppe schwimmt, oder eine Hummer-Bisque, eine Suppe, die mit Lobster zubereitet wird. Auch diese beiden Speisen eignen sich hervorragend für einen leichten Lunch. Es geht aber noch anders – und wesentlich feiner!

 

Hummer essen "Naked Lobster" - ein nackter Hummer im Rossmount Inn in New Brunswick
“Naked Lobster” – ein nackter Hummer im Rossmount Inn in New Brunswick © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

Was ist ein “Naked Lobster”?

Chef Chris Aerni im Rossmount Inn im hübschen Ferienort St. Andrews-by-the-Sea in New Brunswick, nur wenige Kilometer von der Grenze zu Maine entfernt, der zu den besten Köchen Kanadas zählt, serviert seinen Gästen einen “Naked Lobster” – einen Hummer ohne Schale. Praktisch für alle, die Hummer in Würde und ohne große Anstrengung essen wollen, und das sind übrigens nicht nur Neulinge. Auch alte Hasen im Hummer Essen tun dies. Unser Begleiter Darrell, der in New Brunswick aufgewachsen ist und Hummer von Kindesbeinen gegessen hat, gesteht mir, dass er erst mit über fünfzig Jahren seinen ersten Hummer in der Schale aß. Chris Aerni’s Gaumenschmaus gibt’s übrigens jeden Abend mit anderen Gemüsesorten – je nachdem, was der Gemüse- und Kräutergarten seines Inns oder auch die umliegende Natur gerade an frischem Grün hergibt.

 

Erfinderisch - Lobster Latte von Markus Ritter im Europa Inn
Erfinderisch – Lobster Latte von Markus Ritter im Europa Inn © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

Oder doch lieber ein Lobster Latte?

Besonders extravagant wird der Hummer im Restaurant des Europa Inn in St. Andrews-by-the-Sea in New Brunswick serviert. Chefkoch und Innbesitzer Markus Ritter, der vor einigen Jahren von Deutschland nach Kanada ausgewandert ist, kredenzt seinen Gästen unter anderem einen “Lobster Latte” – eine geschäumte Hummersuppe, die herrlich leicht den Gaumen hinab fließt. Wer sich verwöhnen lassen will, bestellt bei Markus am besten das siebengängige Surprise Dinner, in dem dieser regionale und lokale Speisen auf überraschende Weise neu interpretiert. Quasi die Küche Atlantik-Kanadas auf moderne Art! Und keine Angst! Die Speisen und Zutaten sind so gut zusammen gestellt, dass man sich auch nach sieben Gängen noch wohl fühlt. Kein Wunder, hat Markus Ritter doch lange Jahre als Chefkoch auf Kreuzfahrtschiffen gearbeitet, wo er sein Handwerk zur Perfektion brachte.

 

Weitere Informationen

 


Reiseorganisation:

Anreise:

Air Canada, Condor und Icelandair fliegen von Deutschland aus verschiedene Flughäfen im Osten Kanadas an.

Mietwagen:

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!*

Hotels:

Hotels in New Brunswick* könnt Ihr über unseren Partner booking.com buchen.

Reiseführer:

Atlantikkanada Reiseführer* zur Vorbereitung Eurer Reise könnt Ihr bei Amazon.de bestellen.


Quelle: eigene Recherchen vor Ort mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch die Canadian Tourism Commission, Tourism Newfoundland, Tourism Nova Scotia und Tourism New Brunswick. Unsere Meinung bleibt unsere eigene.

Text: © Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.