Airboat and eco tours at the Big Cypress National Preserve

By airboat through the Everglades
With the eco-tour of Billie Swamp through the Florida Everglades © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
With the Eco Tour at the Big Cypress National Preserve

 

Big Cypress National Preserve Eco Tour

They are business-minded, the Indians in the Big Cypress National Preserve in Florida, you have to give them that. We are on our way to Billie Swamp Safaris in the Big Cypress Reserve, which is about an hour west of Fort Lauderdale in the middle of the Florida swamps. This is not the original home of the Seminoles. Before the arrival of white settlers, they lived along the coast, where they caught fish in the shallow waters off the coast and collected shells on the beach. In the course of the development of the coasts, which was always associated with the expansion of the tourist infrastructure in Florida, they were increasingly displaced into the humid and swampy interior, into the swamp area of ​​the Everglades, which occupy the entire interior of South Florida.

 

Home on the Big Cypress Indian Reservation © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Residential home on the Big Cypress National Preserve

 

Via the "Alligator Alley" to the Big Cypress National Preserve

We follow the fast Interstate 75, which is popularly referred to as "Alligator Alley", and turn north at the large-sized advertising posters that point to the offers that await us: Airboat rides in the Everglades, eco tours the swamps and Indian food. The Big Cypress National Preserve turns out to be a surprise. Along the street we keep seeing well-kept houses, which have nothing Indian about them, between simpler residential buildings. And in the center of Big Cypress we suddenly find ourselves in front of a huge retirement home that you won't find in any other Indian reservation.

 

With the eco-tour through the swamps of the Everglades © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Take the Big Cypress National Preserve swamp eco-tour

 

The rise of the Seminoles

When we inquired, we learn that the Seminoles still had 1957, when their tribe was officially recognized as such, had an annual budget of less than 15.000 dollars. Her rocket-like rise to one of the richest American Indian tribes began with tax-free sales of cigarettes on her reservation. They were the first Indian tribe to offer gambling on its territory in bingo halls, which is strictly prohibited outside. Today, they own several major casinos and have been the proud owners of the Hard Rock Cafes hotel and restaurant chain since 2007, which they bought for an astounding 965 million dollars. The income from these tribal companies will flow back into the tribe; how it is distributed, the Seminoles must give no information. However, a few years ago, corruption within the tribe flourished.

 

The heron is not disturbed in the Big Cypress National Preserve
The heron is not disturbed in the Big Cypress National Preserve

 

Successful company in the Big Cypress National Preserve

But obviously something sticks with the tribe too, because they can call themselves the owner of a new museum that presents the history of the tribe. And that the Seminoles are also business-savvy in tourism, we see at Billie Swamp Safaris, a company that offers airboat and eco tours through the swamps and shows visitors alligator battles and shows animals as rare as the Florida Panther. We choose the leisurely and above all quiet eco-tour with special vehicles through the swamp area, and our driver explains - with a lot of humor - animals and plants that we see along the way.

It doesn't matter that a few cattle or African water buffalos graze from time to time among the numerous cattle egrets, ducks and other water birds. We don't see alligators, but we can imagine that they are in the numerous watercourses and ponds. And our guide insists on having briefly seen one of the almost extinct Florida Panthers behind one of the bushes. Is it true? We cannot prove it because we have not seen him. We learn a lot from the history of the Seminoles. He tells us how the Seminoles successfully defended themselves in the war against the white invaders by using the special features of the site. It remains to be seen whether we believe everything he tells us, but we definitely have a lot of fun.

 

Alligators in the Big Cypress National Preserve
The alligators in the Big Cypress National Preserve are waiting for the next alligator wrestling

 

On the way with the airboat

Back at the camp, we watch the airboats go out into the swamps with a hell of a noise. And we are astonished to see that the local birdlife is not impressed by this noise. Completely motionless, a heron remains in front of us in the water, looking spellbound at his prey, and can not be irritated by the engine noise. Maybe he's deaf by now, who knows? We will have a freshly baked Indian Bannock Bread at the Swamp Water Cafe before heading back to Fort Lauderdale.

Source: own site research with the courtesy of The Greater Fort Lauderdale Convention and Visitors Bureau

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Airboat and eco tours at the Big Cypress National Preserve

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Nach oben scrollen

Airboat und Öko-Touren im Big Cypress National Preserve

Mit dem Airboat durch die Everglades
Mit der Öko-Tour von Billie Swamp durch die Everglades in Florida © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Mit der Öko-Tour im Big Cypress National Preserve

 

Big Cypress National Preserve – Öko-Tour

Geschäftstüchtig sind sie, die Indianer in der Big Cypress National Preserve in Florida, das muss man ihnen lassen. Wir sind unterwegs zu Billie Swamp Safaris im Big Cypress Reservat, das etwa eine Stunde westlich von Fort Lauderdale mitten in den Sümpfen Floridas liegt. Dies ist nicht die ursprüngliche Heimat der Seminolen. Sie lebten vor der Ankunft weißer Siedler entlang der Küsten, wo sie in den seichten Gewässern vor der Küste Fische fingen und am Strand Muscheln sammelten. Im Zuge der Erschließung der Küsten, die in Florida immer mit dem Ausbau der touristischen Infrastruktur verbunden war, wurden sie zunehmend verdrängt ins schwüle und sumpfige Landesinnere, ins Sumpfgebiet der Everglades, die das gesamte Binnenland Südfloridas einnehmen.

 

Wohnhaus auf der Big Cypress Indianer Reservation © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Wohnhaus auf der Big Cypress National Preserve

 

Über die „Alligator Alley“ zur Big Cypress National Preserve

Wir folgen der schnellen Interstate 75, die im Volksmund gern als „Alligator Alley“ bezeichnet wird, und biegen bei den groß ausgeschilderten Werbeplakaten nach Norden ab, die auf die Angebote hinweisen, die uns erwarten: Airboat Rides in den Everglades, Öko-Touren durch die Sümpfe und indianisches Essen. Die Big Cypress National Preserve entpuppt sich als Überraschung. Entlang der Straße sehen wir immer wieder gepflegte Häuser, die so gar nichts Indianisches an sich haben, zwischen einfacheren Wohngebäuden. Und im Ortszentrum von Big Cypress stehen wir plötzlich vor einem riesigen Seniorenheim, wie man sie sonst in keiner Indianer Reservation findet.

 

Mit der Öko-Tour durch die Sümpfe der Everglades © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Mit der Öko-Tour durch die Sümpfe der Big Cypress National Preserve

 

Der Aufstieg der Seminolen

Als wir uns erkundigen, erfahren wir, dass die Seminolen noch 1957, als ihr Stamm offiziell als solcher anerkannt wurde, ein Jahresbudget von weniger als 15.000 Dollar vorzuweisen hatte. Ihr raketenhafter Aufstieg zu einem der reichsten Indianerstämme der USA begann mit dem steuerfreien Verkauf von Zigaretten auf ihrem Reservat. Sie waren der erste Indianerstamm, der Glücksspiel auf seinem Territorium in Bingohallen anbot, was außerhalb strikt verboten ist. Heute besitzen sie mehrere große Casinos und sind seit 2007 stolzer Eigentümer der Hotel- und Restaurantkette der Hard Rock Cafés, die sie für erstaunliche 965 Millionen Dollar kauften. Die Einnahmen aus diesen Stammes-Unternehmen fließen zurück in den Stamm; wie es verteilt wird, darüber müssen die Seminolen keine Auskunft geben. Vor einigen Jahren sickerte jedoch durch, dass die Korruption innerhalb des Stammes goldene Blüten treibt.

 

Der Reiher lässt sich nicht stören in der Big Cypress National Preserve
Der Reiher lässt sich nicht stören in der Big Cypress National Preserve

 

Erfolgreiches Unternehmen im Big Cypress National Preserve

Aber offensichtlich bleibt auch beim Stamm etwas hängen, denn er kann sich Besitzer eines neuen Museums nennen, das die Stammesgeschichte präsentiert. Und dass die Seminolen auch im Tourismus geschäftstüchtig sind, sehen wir bei Billie Swamp Safaris, einem Unternehmen, das Airboat und Öko-Touren durch die Sümpfe anbietet und den Besuchern Alligatorenkämpfe vorführt und so seltene Tiere zeigt wie den Florida Panther. Wir wählen die gemächliche und vor allem ruhige Öko-Tour mit Spezialfahrzeugen durch das Sumpfgelände, und unser Fahrer erklärt uns – mit viel Witz – Tiere und Pflanzen, die wir unterwegs sehen.

Dabei spielt es keine Rolle, dass zwischen den zahlreichen Kuhreihern, Enten und anderen Wasservögeln ab und zu ein paar Rinder oder afrikanische Wasserbüffel grasen. Alligatoren sehen wir zwar keine, aber wir können uns vorstellen, dass sie sich in den zahlreichen Wasserläufen und Teichen aufhalten. Und unser Guide beharrt darauf, kurz einen der fast ausgestorbenen Florida Panther hinter einem der Büsche gesehen zu haben. Ob’s stimmt? Wir können es nicht beweisen, denn gesehen haben wir ihn nicht. Wir erfahren einiges aus der Geschichte der Seminolen. So schildert er uns, wie sich die Seminolen im Krieg gegen die weißen Eindringlinge erfolgreich zur Wehr setzten, indem sie die Besonderheiten des Geländes nutzten. Ob wir nun alles glauben, was er uns erzählt, sei dahin gestellt, aber viel Spaß haben wir auf jeden Fall.

 

Alligatoren im Big Cypress National Preserve
Die Alligatoren im Big Cypress National Preserve warten aufs nächste Alligator Wrestling

 

Mit dem Airboat unterwegs

Zurück im Camp beobachten wir die Airboats, die mit einem Höllenlärm hinausfahren in die Sümpfe. Und erstaunt sehen wir, dass sich die heimische Vogelwelt von diesem Krach nicht beeindrucken lässt. Völlig bewegungslos verharrt ein Reiher vor uns im Wasser, der gebannt auf seine Beute blickt, und lässt sich von dem Motorengeräusch nicht irritieren. Vielleicht ist er aber inzwischen auch taub, wer weiß? Wir lassen uns im Swamp Water Cafe noch ein frisch gebackenes indianisches Bannock Brot schmecken, bevor wir zurück nach Fort Lauderdale fahren.

Quelle: eigene Recherchen vor Ort mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Reise durch The Greater Fort Lauderdale Convention and Visitors Bureau

Text: © Copyright  Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Airboat und Öko-Touren im Big Cypress National Preserve

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Nach oben scrollen