The Trans Labrador Highway through the Canadian wilderness to Labrador

Battle Harbor Labrador City

Battle Harbor Labrador City on the Trans Labrador Highway Photo: Dru Kennedy

The Trans Labrador Highway - a pristine wilderness route in northern Canada

It is comparable to such well-known wilderness routes as the Alaska Highway, the Top of the World Highway or the Dempster Highway in northwestern Canada - the Trans Labrador Highway, which connects Baie Comeau in Quebec with Labrador. The full length of the highway has been paved since July 5, 2022.

 

Tundra on Freedom Road
Tundra

 

The name "Freedom Road" and what it means to the people of Labrador

Incidentally, the highway was given the nickname "Freedom Road" by the residents of Labrador, who for the first time can use a road connection to the southern part of Canada and are no longer dependent on expensive connections by ship, plane or train. The section from Wabush on the Quebec border to L'Anse-au-Clair is also known as "Expedition 51°".

 

Blossoms along Freedom Road
Blossoms along the Trans Labrador Highway

 

Planning a trip on the Trans Labrador Highway - important considerations

Driving the Trans Labrador Highway is an experience that needs to be well planned, as there are few gas stations, places to stay and shopping along the way. And connection to the outside world via mobile phones, television and the Internet is rarely, if ever, available. Anyone who wants to protect themselves in the event of an emergency is better advised to use a satellite phone than standard mobile phones. The best way to prepare, however, is to always fill up the tank early, shop at any grocery store for the next few days for a picnic lunch, and maybe even dinner - depending on where you plan to stay. There are no luxury resorts and exclusively equipped accommodations on this route. Here it is all about finding a bed after driving through the wilderness and being served a hearty and warm meal.

Lodging along the route – mining and supply locations

The existing accommodations are located in the villages along the Trans Labrador Highway, which were founded to mine the mineral resources of the region or to harness the water and thus the energy wealth of the area. Little value was placed on beauty in these places. It's usually mining and supply locations that shouldn't be the destination of the Trans Labrador Highway journey, although there are interesting things to see there too. However, these are usually not natural beauties, but the results of human activities in the middle of the wilderness, which arose due to some economic considerations. Economic engagement in the middle of the wilderness usually only takes place when sufficient profit can be expected - such as when mining rich mineral resources or generating energy as in Churchill Falls.

 

A view of vegetation along the Trans Labrador Highway
A view of vegetation along the Trans Labrador Highway

 

A journey on the Trans Labrador Highway - the experience of solitude

A trip on the Trans Labrador Highway is made for the sake of travel, not to arrive at a specific destination. The route leads through tundra and taiga areas and through endless expanses. Wild animals are more common there than people. So you rarely meet other vehicles and people on the journey on the Trans Labrador Highway. This is an experience that is completely new to most Europeans. The views of endless expanses of tundra are breathtaking. As are views of the lakes, of which the circular Lake Manicougan in northern Quebec is just one of many.

The experience of solitude is what makes traveling the Trans Labrador Highway unique. Only a few roads in the world convey that. Even the Alaska Highway can no longer deliver this feeling today, as it is one of the main access routes to Alaska in summer. So if you are looking for the adventure of wilderness in the infinity of the Canadian north, you will find a real alternative on the Trans Labrador Highway.

 

The St. Lawrence River at Baie Comeau, the starting point of the Trans Labrador Highway
The Saint Lawrence River at Baie Comeau, the starting point of the Freedom Road

 

Combine this route with other tours along the east coast of Labrador and Newfoundland

Combine the Trans Labrador Highway with a tour of Labrador's east coast and the island of Newfoundland. In order to save expensive one-way fees for car rental, a trip starts in Halifax in Nova Scotia. The vehicle is returned there at the end of the journey.

 

Petar in a shelter built by indigenous hunters
Petar in an ancient aboriginal hunter's shelter – This is where Native American hunters once sought shelter from wild animals and the elements.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

How far is a drive on the Trans Labrador Highway from Baie Comeau to Labrador City?

A drive on the Trans Labrador Highway from Baie Comeau to Labrador City is 620 kilometers long. The duration of the journey depends on the road conditions and the driving speed.

Are there gas stations and shopping on the Trans Labrador Highway?

Yes, but they are quite rare. It is important to refill the tank in good time and to pack enough supplies for the journey.

What features can be seen on the Trans Labrador Highway?

There are many endless expanses, deep blue lakes and untouched nature to discover on the Trans Labrador Highway. There are also a few mining and supply locations that give a glimpse into the region's history. Also en route is Red Bay National Historic Site, an old 16th-century Basque whaling station. This is now a World Heritage Site. The old fishing settlement of Battle Harbor originally dates from the 19th century and is an open-air museum in the summer months.

How do I best prepare for a ride on Expedition 51°?

It is important to take enough food, water and petrol with you as gas stations and shops are scarce. A satellite phone can also be helpful in an emergency.

Can I combine driving the Freedom Road with other activities in the area?

Yes, a drive on the Trans-Labrador Highway can be easily combined with a tour along the east coast of Labrador or through the island of Newfoundland. It makes sense to start the journey in Halifax in Nova Scotia and return the vehicle at the end of the journey to save on expensive one-way fees.

 

The Trans Labrador Highway
Click on the photo and save "The Trans Labrador Highway" on Pinterest.

 

Do you also know:

 

Text: © Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Monika Fuchs as well as TravelWorldOnline and Wikimedia Commons, Public Domain

The Trans Labrador Highway through the Canadian wilderness to Labrador

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs and Petar Fuchs are the authors and publishers of the Food and Slow Travel blog  TravelWorldOnline. They have been publishing this blog since 2005. TravelWorldOnline has been online since 2001. Their topics are trips to Savor, wine tourism worldwide and slow travel. During her studies Monika Fuchs spent some time in North America, where she - partly together with Petar Fuchs - traveled to the USA and Canada and spent a research year in British Columbia. This intensified her thirst for knowledge, which she satisfied for 6 years as an adventure guide for Rotel Tours and then for 11 years as a tour guide for Studiosus Reisen around the world. She was constantly expanding her travel regions, but curiosity still gnawed at her: "What's beyond the horizon? What else is there to discover in this city? Which people are interesting here? What do they eat in this region?" As a freelance travel journalist (her articles have appeared in DIE ZEIT, 360° Canada, 360° USA, etc.), she is now looking for answers to these questions as a travel writer and travel blogger in many countries around the world. Petar Fuchs produces the videos on this blog as well as on YouTube. Monika Fuchs from TravelWorldOnline is among Germany's top 50 bloggers in 2021. Find more Information about Monika and Petar Fuchs here.

Der Trans Labrador Highway durch die kanadische Wildnis nach Labrador

Battle Harbour Labrador City

Battle Harbour Labrador City am Trans Labrador Highway Foto: Dru Kennedy

Der Trans Labrador Highway – eine ursprüngliche Wildnisstrecke im kanadischen Norden

Er ist vergleichbar mit so bekannten Wildnis Strecken wie dem Alaska Highway, dem Top of the World Highway oder dem Dempster Highway im Nordwesten Kanadas – der Trans Labrador Highway, der Baie Comeau in Quebec mit Labrador verbindet. Seit dem 5. Juli 2022 ist der Highway in seiner vollen Länge asphaltiert.

 

Tundra an der Freedom Road
Tundra

 

Der Name „Freedom Road“ und die Bedeutung für die Einwohner Labradors

Den Beinamen „Freedom Road“ erhielt der Highway übrigens von den Einwohnern Labradors, die damit erstmals eine Straßenverbindung in den südlichen Teil Kanadas nutzen können und nicht mehr auf die teuren Verbindungen per Schiff, Flugzeug oder Zug angewiesen sind. Bekannt ist der Abschnitt von Wabush an der Grenze zu Québec bis L’Anse-au-Clair auch unter dem Namen „Expedition 51°“.

 

Blüten entlang der Freedom Road
Blüten entlang des Trans Labrador Highway

 

Die Planung einer Reise auf dem Trans Labrador Highway – wichtige Aspekte

Die Fahrt über den Trans Labrador Highway ist ein Erlebnis, das gut geplant sein will, denn unterwegs gibt es nur wenige Tankstellen, Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten und Shoppinggelegenheiten. Und die Verbindung mit der Außenwelt über Handy, Fernsehen und Internet ist selten – wenn überhaupt – vorhanden. Wer sich für den Notfall absichern will, ist mit einem Satellitentelefon besser beraten als mit handelsüblichen Mobilfunkgeräten. Am besten jedoch bereitet man sich vor, wenn man immer frühzeitig den Tank wieder füllt, in jedem Lebensmittelladen für die nächsten Tage einkauft fürs Mittagspickinick und vielleicht sogar fürs Abendessen – je nachdem, wo man übernachten will. Luxus Resorts und exklusiv ausgestattete Unterkünfte gibt es an dieser Strecke nicht. Hier kommt es vor allem darauf an, nach der Fahrt durch die Wildnis ein Bett vorzufinden und ein herzhaftes und warmes Mahl serviert zu bekommen.

Unterkünfte entlang der Strecke – Bergbau- und Versorgungsorte

Die vorhandenen Unterkünfte befinden sich in den Ortschaften entlang des Trans Labrador Highway, die gegründet wurden, um die Bodenschätze der Region abzubauen oder um sich den Wasser- und damit den Energie-Reichtum – der Gegend nutzbar zu machen. Auf Schönheit wurde in diesen Orten wenig Wert gelegt. Es sind gewöhnlich Bergbau- und Versorgungsorte, die nicht das Ziel der Reise auf dem Trans Labrador Highway sein sollten, obwohl es auch dort Interessantes zu entdecken gibt. Nur sind dies meist keine Naturschönheiten, sondern die Ergebnisse menschlicher Aktivitäten mitten in der Wildnis, die aufgrund irgendwelcher wirtschaftlicher Überlegungen entstanden. Wirtschaftliches Engagement mitten in der Wildnis findet meist nur dann statt, wenn ausreichend Profit zu erwarten ist – wie zum Beispiel beim Abbau von reichen Bodenschätzen oder der Erzeugung von Energie wie in Churchill Falls.

 

Ein Blick auf die Vegetation entlang des Trans Labrador Highway
Ein Blick auf die Vegetation entlang des Trans Labrador Highways

 

Eine Reise auf dem Trans Labrador Highway – das Erlebnis der Einsamkeit

Eine Reise auf dem Trans Labrador Highway macht man um des Reisens willen, nicht um an einem bestimmten Ziel anzukommen. Die Strecke führt durch Tundra- und Taigagebiete und durch unendliche Weiten. Dort sind wilde Tiere häufiger als Menschen. So begegnet man auf der Fahrt über den Trans Labrador Highway nur selten anderen Fahrzeugen und Menschen. Das ist ein Erlebnis, das für die meisten Europäer eine völlig neue Erfahrung darstellt. Die Ausblicke auf endlose Weiten der Tundra sind atemberaubend. Genauso wie Ausblicke auf die Seen, unter denen der kreisrunde Lake Manicougan im Norden Quebecs nur einer von vielen ist.

Das Erlebnis der Einsamkeit macht eine Reise auf dem Trans Labrador Highway zu etwas Einzigartigem. Das vermitteln nur noch wenige Straßen der Welt. Sogar der Alaska Highway kann dieses Gefühl heute nicht mehr liefern, ist er doch im Sommer eine der Hauptzugangsstrecken nach Alaska. Wer also das Abenteuer Wildnis in der Unendlichkeit des kanadischen Nordens sucht, findet auf dem Trans Labrador Highway eine echte Alternative.

 

Der Sankt Lorenz Strom bei Baie Comeau, Ausgangsort des Trans Labrador Highway
Der Sankt Lorenz Strom bei Baie Comeau, Ausgangsort der Freedom Road

 

Kombiniere diese Route mit anderen Touren entlang der Ostküste Labradors und Neufundlands

Kombiniere den Trans Labrador Highway mit einer Tour entlang der Ostküste Labradors und durch die Insel Neufundland. Um teure Einweggebühren für die Automiete zu sparen, bietet sich ein Reisebeginn in Halifax in Nova Scotia an. Dort gibt man das Fahrzeug nach Reiseende auch wieder zurück.

 

Petar in einem Schutzbau indigener Jäger
Petar in einem uralten Unterstand indigener Jäger – Hier suchten indianische Jäger einst Schutz vor wilden Tieren und den Elementen.

 

Fragen und Antworten

Wie weit ist eine Fahrt auf dem Trans Labrador Highway von Baie Comeau nach Labrador City?

Eine Fahrt auf dem Trans Labrador Highway von Baie Comeau nach Labrador City erstreckt sich über eine Länge von 620 Kilometern. Die Dauer der Fahrt hängt vom Straßenzustand und der Fahrtgeschwindigkeit ab.

Gibt es auf dem Trans Labrador Highway Tankstellen und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten?

Ja, allerdings sind sie recht selten. Es ist wichtig, den Tank rechtzeitig wieder aufzufüllen und ausreichend Vorräte für unterwegs einzupacken.

Welche Besonderheiten gibt es auf dem Trans-Labrador-Highway zu sehen?

Auf dem Trans Labrador Highway gibt es viele endlose Weiten, tiefblaue Seen und unberührte Natur zu entdecken. Außerdem gibt es einige Bergbau- und Versorgungsorte, die einen Einblick in die Geschichte der Region geben. Unterwegs kommt man außerdem zum Red Bay National Historic Site, eine alte baskische Walfangstation aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. Diese gehört heute zum Weltkulturerbe. Die alte Fischersiedlung Battle Harbour stammt ursprünglich aus dem 19. Jahrhundert und ist in den Sommermonaten ein Freilichtmuseum.

Wie bereite ich mich am besten auf eine Fahrt auf der Expedition 51° vor?

Es ist wichtig, ausreichend Verpflegung, Wasser und Benzin mitzunehmen, da Tankstellen und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten rar sind. Auch ein Satellitentelefon kann im Notfall hilfreich sein.

Kann ich die Fahrt auf der Freedom Road mit anderen Aktivitäten in der Region kombinieren?

Ja, eine Fahrt auf dem Trans-Labrador-Highway lässt sich gut mit einer Tour entlang der Ostküste Labradors oder durch die Insel Neufundland kombinieren. Es bietet sich an, die Reise in Halifax in Nova Scotia zu starten und das Fahrzeug nach Reiseende wieder zurückzugeben, um teure Einweggebühren zu sparen.

 

Der Trans Labrador Highway
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir „Der Trans Labrador Highway“ auf Pinterest.

 

Kennst Du überdies:

 

Text: © Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline und Wikimedia Commons, Public Domain

Der Trans Labrador Highway durch die kanadische Wildnis nach Labrador

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs und Petar Fuchs sind die Verfasser und Herausgeber des Slow Travel und Genuss Reiseblogs TravelWorldOnline Traveller. Sie veröffentlichen dieses Blog seit 2005. TravelWorldOnline ist online seit 2001. Ihre Themen sind Genuss Reisen und Weintourismus in aller Welt und Slow Travel. Monika Fuchs verbrachte während ihres Studiums einige Zeit in Nordamerika, wo sie - zum Teil gemeinsam mit Petar Fuchs - die USA und Kanada bereiste und ein Forschungsjahr in British Columbia verbrachte. Das verstärkte ihren Wissensdurst, den sie 6 Jahre lang als Abenteuer-Guide für Rotel Tours und danach 11 Jahre lang als Studienreiseleiterin für Studiosus Reisen in aller Welt zu stillen versuchte. Sie erweiterte ständig ihre Reiseregionen, aber trotzdem nagte die Neugier an ihr: "Was befindet sich hinter dem Horizont? Was gibt's in dieser Stadt noch zu entdecken? Welche Menschen sind hier interessant? Was isst man in dieser Region?" Auf diese Fragen sucht sie nun als freie Reisejournalistin (ihre Artikel erschienen u.a. in DIE ZEIT, 360° Kanada, 360° USA, etc.) , Reiseautorin und Reisebloggerin Antworten in vielen Ländern der Welt. Petar Fuchs produziert die Videos auf diesem Blog sowie auf YouTube. Monika Fuchs von TravelWorldOnline Traveller ist unter Deutschlands Top 50 Bloggerinnen 2021 Weitere Informationen über Monika und Petar Fuchs.