Harvard campus tour

Harvard campus tour

Visit Harvard College with a Harvard Campus Tour

It is worthwhile when visiting Boston get to know Harvard University on a campus tour. We have taken part in such a tour during each of our stays in Boston and each time we have learned something new. A visit to Harvard College is especially interesting if you do a Harvard campus tour with students. They will tell you what their life on campus is like. They explain the history of the university, which is one of the oldest in the country. You will learn anecdotes from the lives of famous Harvard graduates. On top of that, they present modern teaching methods from Harvard University.

 

Book a hotel on the Harvard campus here

 

Hear the history of the college on a Harvard campus tour

The history of the university, which we learn about on the Harvard Campus Tour, is interesting. Harvard was founded in 1636 as America's first college by the Puritans under John Winthrop and has been one of the most important educational institutions in the country ever since. From the original 12 male students, the number has now grown to 18000 students. Even the Puritans felt the need for education. This was not a purposeless, noble pursuit of education, but your concern was to ensure the continued existence of the religious elite in New England.

Harvard was very much in the pedagogical tradition of Europe. Initially, the classical fine arts, Latin and Greek were offered. Later, when the ideas of John Locke and other enlighteners began to assert themselves, some students who did not like this tendency left Harvard and founded what later became Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut, in 1701. The leading personalities of the American Revolution grew up in the Enlightenment-friendly environment of Harvard: John Hancock, Samuel Adams, John Adams.

 

Statue of John Harvard
The statue of John Harvard is part of every Harvard tour

You will get to know famous Harvard graduates on a Harvard campus tour

Not only the statue of John Harvard introduced us to our guide at the Harvard Campus Tour. Other Harvard alumni of the past were famous writers and philosophers who settled in the town of Concord in the mid-19th century: Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau. Harvard University graduates also include six American presidents, including Theodore Roosevelt, Franklin Delano Roosevelt and John F. Kennedy. And the current teaching staff is also impressive: more than 30 Nobel Prize winners teach at Harvard alone.

On a Harvard campus tour you will find out how the university is financed

The guide on our Harvard campus tour explained to us what it costs to study at Harvard. The university is funded by an endowment currently valued at around $6 billion. This makes it the richest university in the world. Furthermore, the university finances itself through research contracts, in which scrupulous care is taken to ensure that the independence of the research is maintained. Harvard education doesn't come cheap. On average, a year at Harvard College costs between US$ 17000 and 25000, depending on the degree. Scholarships are available for students with less affluent parents.

 

College dormitories on a Harvard campus tour
College dormitories on a Harvard campus tour

Did you know that you can even complete an online course at Harvard University?

On our Harvard Campus Tour, we found out that Harvard University even has free online courses. The exciting thing is that these Harvard University online courses are very different. You can take fee-based courses from all possible majors. These range from art & design to business courses to data science, programming and social sciences. What I find even more interesting is that there are also free online courses at Harvard. It's about topics like Beethoven's 9th symphony and the orchestra of the 19th century, but also about culinary topics like science & cooking: from haute cuisine to soft matter science. The current Harvard online courses you can find under this link.

Your Harvard Campus Tour begins at the Harvard University Visitor Center

The Harvard University Visitor Center is located at 1350 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02138. There, students welcome visitors from around the world, answer their questions and offer a Harvard campus tour. However, you have to register for the tours. This is possible once a week on Friday. You can also find more information on the website of the Visitor Center.

 

 

 

 

Do you like to travel by motorhome?

  • Do you want to rent a mobile home? Then you will find information and a selection of here booking options.
  • Check our packing list for campers to see whether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.
  • Near Boston is the Lorraine Park Campground, 133 Jenkins Rd, Andover, MA 01810, United States. However, there are others in the region.
  • A  Campsite guide for the region (in English) * you can also order here.

 


Travel Arrangements:

Getting to Boston Massachusetts

Arrival by plane, bus or train*. KLM, Lufthansa, Air France, United and British Airways fly to Boston. You can also rent a car there.

Car Rentals:

Cheap car hire - book quickly and easily!

Camper Rentals:

Compare motorhome prices here.

Hotels in Boston Massachusetts:

Hotels in Boston* You can also book through our partner booking.com at this link.


Harvard campus tour
Click on the photo and save the "Harvard Campus Tour" on Pinterest

Do you also know:

Source Harvard Campus Tour: Research on site. We financed this trip ourselves. In any case, our opinion remains our own.

Text Harvard Campus Tour: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline

Harvard campus tour
Nach oben scrollen

Harvard Campus Tour

Harvard Campus Tour

Mit einer Harvard Campus Tour das Harvard College besuchen

Es lohnt sich, bei einem Besuch in Boston die Harvard University auf einer Campus Tour kennenzulernen. Eine solche Führung haben wir bei jedem unserer Aufenthalte in Boston mitgemacht und jedes Mal etwas Neues erfahren. Ein Besuch des Harvard College ist vor allem dann interessant, wenn Du eine Harvard Campus Tour mit Studenten machst. Diese erzählen Dir, wie ihr Leben auf dem Campus aussieht. Sie erklären die Geschichte der Universität, die zu den ältesten des Landes gehört. Du erfährst Anekdoten aus dem Leben berühmter Harvard Absolventen. Obendrein stellen sie moderne Unterrichtsmethoden der Harvard University vor.

 

Buche hier ein Hotel am Harvard Campus

 

Auf einer Harvard Campus Tour hörst Du die Geschichte des Colleges

Interessant ist die Geschichte der Universität, die wir auf der Harvard Campus Tour erfahren. Harvard wurde 1636 als erstes College Amerikas von den Puritanern unter John Winthrop gegründet und gehört seit damals zu den wichtigsten Bildungseinrichtungen des Landes. Von den ursprünglich 12 männlichen Studenten wuchs die Zahl auf inzwischen 18000 Studierende. Schon die Puritaner hatten das Bedürfnis nach Bildung. Dies war kein zweckfreies, hehres Bildungsstreben, sondern Ihnen ging es darum, den Fortbestand der religiösen Elite Neuenglands zu sichern.

Harvard stand ganz in der pädagogischen Tradition Europas. Angeboten wurden zunächst die klassischen schönen Künste, Latein und Griechisch. Als sich später die Ideen John Lockes und anderer Aufklärer durchzusetzen begannen, sagten sich einige Schüler, denen diese Tendenz nicht passte, von Harvard los und gründeten 1701 die spätere Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. In der aufklärungsfreundlichen Umgebung Harvards wuchsen die führenden Persönlichkeiten der amerikanischen Revolution auf: John Hancock, Samuel Adams, John Adams.

 

Statue von John Harvard
Die Statue von John Harvard gehört zu jeder Harvard Führung

Berühmte Harvard Absolventen lernst Du auf einer Harvard Campus Tour kennen

Nicht nur die Statue von John Harvard stellte uns unsere Führerin bei der Harvard Campus Tour vor. Andere Harvardschüler der Vergangenheit waren berühmte Literaten und Philosophen, die sich Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts im Städtchen Concord niederließen: Ralph Waldo Emerson und Henry David Thoreau. Zu den Absolventen der Harvard University gehören außerdem sechs amerikanische Präsidenten, u.a. Theodore Roosevelt, Franklin Delano Roosevelt und John F. Kennedy. Und auch der jetzige Lehrkörper kann sich sehen lassen: mehr als 30 Nobelpreisträger unterrichten allein in Harvard.

Auf einer Harvard Campus Tour erfährst Du, wie sich die Universität finanziert

Die Führerin auf unserer Harvard Campus Tour erklärte uns, was ein Studium in Harvard kostet. Die Universität finanziert sich aus einer Stiftung, deren Wert derzeit bei etwa 6 Milliarden Dollar liegt. Damit ist sie die reichste Universität der Welt. Des Weiteren finanziert sich die Universität durch Forschungsaufträge, bei denen peinlich darauf geachtet wird, dass die Unabhängigkeit der Forschung gewahrt bleibt. Die Ausbildung an Harvard ist nicht gerade billig. Durchschnittlich kostet ein Jahr Harvard College je nach Studium zwischen 17000 und 25000 US$. Für Studenten mit weniger wohlhabenden Eltern stehen Stipendien zur Verfügung.

 

Studentenwohnheime auf einer Harvard Campus Tour
Studentenwohnheime auf einer Harvard Campus Tour

Wusstest Du, dass Du sogar einen Online Kurs der Harvard University absolvieren kannst?

Auf unserer Harvard Campus Tour erfuhren wir, dass es sogar kostenlose Online Kurse der Harvard University gibt. Das Spannende daran ist, dass diese Online Courses der Harvard University ganz unterschiedlich sind. Du kannst gebührenpflichtige Kurse aus allen möglichen Studiengängen belegen. Diese reichen von Kunst & Design über Business Kurse bis hin zu Data Science, Programmierung und Social Sciences. Noch interessanter finde ich, dass es obendrein kostenlose Online Kurse in Harvard gibt. Da geht es um Themen wie Beethovens 9. Symphonie und das Orchester des. 19. Jahrhunderts, aber auch um kulinarische Themen wie Wissenschaft & Kochen: von der Haute Cuisine zur Soft Matter Science. Die aktuellen Online Kurse von Harvard findest Du unter diesem Link.

Deine Harvard Campus Tour beginnt am Harvard University Visitor Center

Das Harvard University Visitor Center befindet sich an der 1350 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02138. Dort begrüßen Studenten Besucher aus aller Welt, beantworten deren Fragen und bieten eine Harvard Campus Tour an. Zu den Touren muss man sich jedoch anmelden. Dies ist einmal pro Woche jeweils am Freitag möglich. Nähere Informationen findest Du zudem auf der Website des Visitor Center.

 

 

 

 

Du reist gern mit dem Wohnmobil?

 


Reiseorganisation:

Anreise nach Boston Massachusetts

Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*. KLM, Lufthansa, Air France, United sowie British Airways fliegen nach Boston. Dort könnt Ihr außerdem einen Mietwagen mieten.

Mietwagen:

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!

Wohnmobil:

Vergleiche Wohnmobil Preise hier.

Hotels in Boston Massachusetts:

Hotels in Boston* könnt Ihr zudem über unseren Partner booking.com unter diesem Link buchen.


Harvard Campus Tour
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir die „Harvard Campus Tour“ auf Pinterest

Kennst Du überdies:

Quelle Harvard Campus Tour: Recherchen vor Ort. Diese Reise haben wir selbst finanziert. Unsere Meinung bleibt auf jeden Fall unsere eigene.

Text Harvard Campus Tour: © Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline

Harvard Campus Tour
Nach oben scrollen