Hildene in Manchester Vermont: where Lincoln's grandchildren lived

Peony blossom in Hildene Park, Manchester Vermont

Hildene Estate in Manchester Vermont


Our drive through Vermont brings us to the pretty town of Manchester, which is everything you would imagine a New England town to be: with a whitewashed church on the village green, well-kept mansions with lovingly tended front yards where gorgeous perennials and flower arrangements attract attention, and the typical nice New England decorations that embellish front doors, porches or garden gates. Here we would like to spend a whole day looking at the houses and gardens. We are, however, awaited at a mansion a little out of town: at Hildene Estate in Manchester Vermont where the descendants of the American President Abraham Lincoln once lived. Lincoln himself was never here. And whether he, who was born in a simple log cabin on a farm in Kentucky, would have understood that his children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren lived in such magnificent surroundings, remains to be seen.

 

 

View of the Green Mountains on the other side of the valley © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
View of the Green Mountains on the other side of the valley from Hildene in Manchester Vermont

 

In any case, we are impressed by Hildene in Manchester Vermont with his mansion, which sits enthroned on a mountain ledge above the valley and offers wide views of the valley and the Green Mountains on the other side of the valley. It was the residence of Robert Todd Lincoln, the eldest son of Abraham Lincoln, who was the only one of Lincoln's children to survive into adulthood. He had come here at the age of 20 while visiting with his mother and younger brother.

Forty years later, as President of the Pullman Company, he bought the property in Manchester and built the present mansion on it in 1905. Two years later, the formal garden was created with its lush peonies, which attract numerous visitors from around the world each June when it is in bloom attract. Jesse Lincoln had this garden laid out as a birthday present for her mother. We are lucky to be here at just the right time of year to see the bloom in this garden.

Hildene in Manchester Vermont - great gardens

 

Hildene Mansion in Manchester Vermont © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Hildene Mansion in Manchester Vermont

 

The home itself contains many furniture and memorabilia by Robert Todd Lincoln and his parents. The house was inhabited until 1975 by descendants of Abraham Lincoln. Mary Lincoln Beckwith was the granddaughter of Robert Todd Lincoln and inherited the house in the year 1938. She lived in it until her death. Her brother Robert Todd Lincoln Beckwith, the last direct descendant of Abraham Lincoln, died 1985. This is the house until the second half of the 20. Century in the possession of the Lincoln family. Today it belongs to the association Friends of Hildene, who bought it 1978 and since then look after.

Do you like to travel by motorhome?

  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you will find information and a selection in these  booking options.
  • Check our packing list for campersto see whether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.
  • practical Motorhome equipment you can also find here.
  • There is a nice RV park here: 48 Camping on the Battenkill #8565, Arlington, VT 05250, United States
  • You want to know where to go with a motorhome stay overnight in New England and New York * can and are you looking for parking spaces and campsites? You can find information about this under this link.

 

Peonies in all colors in the park of Hildene © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Peonies of all colors in the park of Hildene in Manchester Vermont

 

What we like best is the view of the surroundings that one has from the park over the valley. Almost as if from an eagle's nest, we look down over the forest slopes and the hills of the Green Mountains on the other side of the valley. I can well understand what drew Robert Todd Lincoln here and what prompted him to build his family's ancestral home here. I think his father, President Abraham Lincoln, would have liked it too. Here you are far away from any big city and live in an environment in the middle of the country. Perhaps that was what impressed his son so much here? Who knows. In any case, he spent the rest of his life in Hildene.

 

 

This has to be in the suitcase for a trip to New England

  • Comfortable Walking shoes for wide feet, in which you can walk well even on impassable paths.
  • backpack is definitely practical for everything you need on the go.
  • Along the Walking there are often benches for one picknick on the roadside.
  • Hiking destinations in the vicinity of the Hildene Estate in Manchester Vermont offer beautiful photo opportunities. Therefore, you should Camera .
  • Take something to drink with you. You will be out and about in the sun a lot on hikes in the Green Mountains. One drinking bottle * does good service here.

 

1005 Hildene Road
Manchester
Vermont 05254
Tel. 800 578-1788 802 362-1788

 


Travel Arrangements:

Getting there

Book yours here Arrival by plane, bus or train*. Boston Airports (180 miles, 3,5 hours), New York (200 miles, 4 hours), Montreal (200 miles, 4 hours). There you can rent a car or a mobile home. From Bennington, Vermont, the drive takes approximately half an hour (20 miles).

ATTENTION: Google Maps and MapQuest often send you to the Hildene Exit Road, which is not marked. The correct exit is a mile north of this and is well marked.

Car Rentals:

Cheap Car Hire - Book Fast and Easy! *

Hotels:

Hotels and Inns * You can also book through our partner booking.com at this link.


Hildene Vermont
Click on the photo and save "Hildene in Manchester Vermont " on Pinterest

Do you already know:

Source Hildene in Manchester Vermont: Research on site at the invitation of Discover New England. Our opinion remains our own.

Text Hildene in Manchester Vermont : © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos Hildene in Manchester Vermont: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Video Hildene in Manchester Vermont : © Copyright Petar Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Hildene in Manchester Vermont: where Lincoln's grandchildren lived
Nach oben scrollen

Hildene in Manchester Vermont: wo Lincolns Enkel lebten

Pfingstrosenblüte im Park von Hildene, Manchester Vermont © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Hildene in Manchester Vermont

Unsere Fahrt durch Vermont bringt uns in den hübschen Ort Manchester, der so ist, wie man sich ein Dort in Neuengland vorstellt: mit einer weiß gestrichenen Kirche am Dorfanger, gepflegten Villen mit liebevoll gepflegten Vorgärten, in denen prachtvolle Stauden und Blumenarrangements für Aufmerksamkeit sorgen, und den so typischen netten neuenglischen Dekorationen, die die Eingangstüren, Verandas oder Gartentore verschönern. Hier würden wir gern einen ganzen Tag damit verbringen, uns die Häuser und Gärten anzuschauen. Wir werden jedoch erwartet in einem Herrenhaus, das etwas außerhalb des Ortes liegt: in Hildene in Manchester Vermont , wo einst die Nachfahren des amerikanischen Präsidenten Abraham Lincoln lebten. Lincoln selbst war nie hier. Und ob er, der in einer einfachen Blockhütte auf einer Farm in Kentucky geboren wurde, es verstanden hätte, dass seine Kinder, Enkelkinder und Großenkel in so prächtiger Umgebung lebten, sei dahin gestellt.

 

 

Ausblick auf die Green Mountains auf der anderen Talseite © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Ausblick auf die Green Mountains auf der anderen Talseite von Hildene in Manchester Vermont

 

Uns jedenfalls beeindruckt Hildene in Manchester Vermont mit seinem Herrenhaus, das oberhalb des Tales auf einem Bergvorsprung thront und weite Ausblicke aufs Tal und die Green Mountains auf der anderen Talseite ermöglicht, sehr. Es war der Wohnsitz von Robert Todd Lincoln, dem ältesten Sohn von Abraham Lincoln, der als einziges von Lincolns Kindern bis ins Erwachsenenalter überlebte. Er war bereits im Alter von 20 Jahren hierher gekommen während eines Besuchs mit seiner Mutter und seinem jüngeren Bruder.

Vierzig Jahre später, als Präsident der Pullman Company, kaufte er das Grundstück in Manchester und errichtete darauf das heutige Herrenhaus im Jahr 1905. Zwei Jahre später entstand der formelle Garten mit seinen üppigen Pfingstrosen, die jedes Jahr im Juni zur Blütezeit zahlreiche Besucher aus aller Welt anlocken. Jesse Lincoln ließ diesen Garten als Geburtstagsgeschenk für ihre Mutter anlegen. Wir haben Glück, genau zur richtigen Jahreszeit hier zu sein, um die Blütezeit in diesem Garten zu erleben.

Hildene in Manchester Vermont – tolle Gärten

 

Hildene Mansion in Manchester Vermont © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Hildene Mansion in Manchester Vermont
© Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

Im Haus selbst stammen viele Möbel und Erinnerungsstücke von Robert Todd Lincoln und seinen Eltern. Das Wohnhaus war bis 1975 von Nachfahren Abraham Lincolns bewohnt. Mary Lincoln Beckwith war die Enkelin von Robert Todd Lincoln und erbte das Haus im Jahr 1938. Sie lebte bis zu ihrem Tod darin. Ihr Bruder Robert Todd Lincoln Beckwith, der letzte direkte Nachfahre Abraham Lincolns, verstarb 1985. Damit ist das Haus bis in die zweite Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts im Besitz der Lincoln Familie gewesen. Heute gehört es dem Verein Friends of Hildene, die es 1978 kauften und seither betreuen.

Du reist gern mit dem Wohnmobil?

  • Willst Du ein Wohnmobil mieten? Dann findest Du hier Informationen und eine Auswahl an Buchungsmöglichkeiten.
  • Überprüfe mit unserer Packliste Wohnmobil, ob Du alles für Deine Wohnmobiltour eingepackt hast.
  • Einen schönen Wohnmobil Stellplatz gibt’s zum Beispiel hier: 48 Camping on the Battenkill #8565, Arlington, VT 05250, Vereinigte Staaten
  • Du willst wissen, wo Du mit einem Wohnmobil in Neuengland und New York übernachten* kannst und suchst Stellplätze und Campingplätze? Infos dazu findest Du unter diesem Link.

 

Pfingstrosen in allen Farben im Park von Hildene © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Pfingstrosen in allen Farben im Park von Hildene in Manchester Vermont

 

Am besten gefällt uns der Ausblick auf die Umgebung, die man von der Parkanlage aus über das Tal hat. Fast wie aus einem Adlerhorst blicken wir hinunter über die Waldhänge und zu den Hügelketten der Green Mountains auf der anderen Seite des Tals. Ich kann gut verstehen, was Robert Todd Lincoln hierher zog und dazu veranlasste, an dieser Stelle den Stammsitz seiner Familie zu errichten. Ich denke, dass dies auch seinem Vater, Präsident Abraham Lincoln, gefallen hätte. Ist man hier doch weit entfernt von jeder Großstadt und lebt in einer Umgebung mitten auf dem Land. Vielleicht war es das, was seinen Sohn hier so beeindruckte? Wer weiß. Jedenfalls verbrachte dieser den Rest seines Lebens in Hildene.

 

Hildene, Vermont - Wo Abe Lincolns Familie wohnte

Das muss in den Koffer für eine Reise nach Neuengland

  • Bequeme Wanderschuhe für breite Füße, in denen Du auch auf unwegsamen Wegen gut gehen kannst.
  • Ein Wanderrucksack ist auf jeden Fall praktisch für alles, was Du unterwegs brauchst.
  • Entlang der Wanderwege gibt’s oft Bänke für ein Picknick am Wegesrand.
  • Wanderziele in der Umgebung von Manchester bieten schöne Fotomotive. Daher solltest Du Deine Kamera nicht vergessen.
  • Nimm Dir etwas zu Trinken mit. Du wirst auf Wanderungen in den Green Mountains viel in der Sonne unterwegs sein. Eine Trinkflasche * tut hier gute Dienste.

 

 

 

Hildene Vermont
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir „Hildene Vermont“ auf Pinterest

 

Quelle: Recherchen vor Ort auf Einladung von Discover New England. Unsere Meinung bleibt unsere eigene.

Text: © Copyright  Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Video: © Copyright Petar Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Hildene in Manchester Vermont: wo Lincolns Enkel lebten
Nach oben scrollen