Tradition in the Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee

The indoor pool in the Sky Spa of the Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee

Archduke Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee


The main house was built in the 14th century, and since 1848 the house has borne the name of Archduke Johann, the friend and supporter of the Styria. The Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee was already a spa hotel in 1900 Austria. For buildings like this, it is always a challenge to bridge the gap between the traditional and the modern. The four-star hotel in the center of Bad Aussee not far from the Dachstein in the center of Austria succeeds with flying colors. A sense of tradition does not have to be archaic. The Erzherzog Johann Hotel proves this in its own way.

 

Sitting area in the room with a view over the roofs of Bad Aussee
Sitting area in the room with a view over the roofs of Bad Aussee

The stone pine rooms in the Archduke Johann Hotel Bad Aussee

At the hotel's invitation, we spend a night in one of the stone pine rooms with a view of the surrounding mountains. The stone pine makes these rooms something special. The smell of wood wafts through the hotel wing. As Regina Stocker assures us, you don't even need ventilation in these rooms. "The wood ensures freshness and good air in the rooms". We spend a good night in our room above the roofs of Bad Aussee.

 

Zirbenzimmer in the Hotel Erzherzog Johann in Bad Aussee
Zirbenzimmer in the Hotel Erzherzog Johann in Bad Aussee

Wood in the Archduke Johann Hotel Bad Aussee

In general, wood plays a major role in this hotel. Our balcony, on which we relax after a massage in the spa after a few days of research while being creative in Altenmarkt, a Tour along the South Styrian Wine Route and our visit to Graz recover is made of larch wood. Both stone pine and larch give the room an atmosphere full of coziness, but also a touch of modernity. A combination that we appreciate very much. This shows that a sense of tradition does not have to be old-fashioned.

 

The indoor pool in the Sky Spa of the Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee
The indoor pool in the Sky Spa of the Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee

Spa wellness in the Archduke Johann Hotel Bad Aussee

The Sky Spa in the Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee takes our breath away. The entire top floor has been converted into a spa area. In the yoga room, users do their exercises with a view over the roofs of Bad Aussee. The indoor pool invites you to relax and unwind with loungers. The pool and outdoor relaxation area could be a bit bigger. But here the building fabric sets limits to development. There is also a sauna next door. From there, the smell of wood fills our nostrils. Those who first relax with a massage in the treatment area of ​​the spa on the second floor can relax afterwards in the Sky Spa with a view of the surrounding mountains.

 

Delicious! The pancakes with apricot roast and vanilla ice cream
Delicious! The pancakes with apricot roast and vanilla ice cream

Eat in the hotel restaurant

We particularly liked the restaurant and its service. When we arrive at the hotel at noon, we are served a menu. This consists mainly of products from the region. We are greeted with a greeting from the kitchen. This is followed by a tomato soup (tomato soup) combined with arctic char on a risotto, beef tartare with cress salad and port wine mustard, filet of char with potato brandy and summer vegetables and a curd pancake with roasted apricots and vanilla ice cream. As usual, Petar likes to test the staff and asks our waiter something he couldn't possibly know: "Is the cherry tree in front of the hotel terrace also bearing fruit?" After receiving a helpless look from our waiter, he disappears into the restaurant and comes Minutes later again and answered his question.

 


We conclude our stay at the Archduke Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee in the evening, where we have the pleasure of listening to a reading by Cornelius Obonya. This recites poems and stories by Robert Gernhardt and others. No wonder! Obonya played "Jedermann" at the Salzburg Festival in 2013 and is such a master of his craft. He later tells us that Cornelius Obonya is not here for the first time. He tells us that he was always in Bad Aussee with his mother as a child. That's why he always likes to come back to the Erzherzog Johann Hotel, where he retires for a few days to relax. That makes him one of the Artists who feel at home in the Ausseerland. Rightly so, in our opinion.

 


Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Kurhausplatz 62
Bad Aussee
Austria
Current prices, availability and booking *
Here you will find other available hotels in Bad Aussee *

Here's it Tips for Bad Aussee


Do you already know:

 

Source: On-site research at the invitation of the Archduke Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee. Our opinion remains our own.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Copyright Monika and Petar Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Tradition in the Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee
Nach oben scrollen

Tradition im Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee

Der Innenpool im Sky Spa des Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee

Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee


Das Stammhaus wurde im 14. Jahrhundert erbaut, seit 1848 trägt das Haus den Namen Erzherzog Johanns, des Freundes und Förderers der Steiermark. Schon um 1900 war das Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee ein Kurhotel in Österreich. Für Gebäude wie dieses ist es immer eine Herausforderung, den Bogen vom Althergebrachten in die Moderne zu schlagen. Dem Vier-Sterne-Hotel im Zentrum von Bad Aussee unweit des Dachstein im Zentrum Österreichs gelingt dies mit Bravour. Traditionsbewusstsein muss nicht altertümelnd sein. Das beweist das Erzherzog Johann Hotel auf seine Art und Weise.

 

Sitzecke im Zimmer mit Blick über die Dächer von Bad Aussee
Sitzecke im Zimmer mit Blick über die Dächer von Bad Aussee

Die Zirbenzimmer im Erzherzog Johann Hotel Bad Aussee

Wir verbringen auf Einladung des Hotels eine Nacht in einem der Zirbenzimmer mit Blick auf die Bergwelt der Umgebung. Die Zirbe macht diese Zimmer zu etwas Besonderem. Der Geruch des Holzes weht durch den Hoteltrakt. Wie uns Regina Stocker versichert, braucht man in diesen Räumen nicht einmal eine Belüftung. „Das Holz sorgt für Frische und gute Luft in den Räumen“. Wir verbringen eine gute Nacht in unserem Zimmer über den Dächern von Bad Aussee.

 

Zirbenzimmer im Hotel Erzherzog Johann in Bad Aussee
Zirbenzimmer im Hotel Erzherzog Johann in Bad Aussee

Holz im Erzherzog Johann Hotel Bad Aussee

Überhaupt spielt Holz eine große Rolle in diesem Hotel. Unser Balkon, auf dem wir uns nach einer Massage im Spa nach ein paar Recherche-Tagen beim Kreativ-Sein in Altenmarkt, einer Tour entlang der Südsteirischen Weinstraße und unserem Besuch in Graz erholen, ist aus Lärchenholz. Beides, Zirbe und Lärche, verleihen dem Zimmer eine Atmosphäre voller Gemütlichkeit, aber auch einem Touch Moderne. Eine Kombination, die wir sehr schätzen. Hier zeigt sich, dass Traditionsbewusstsein nicht altmodisch sein muss.

 

Der Innenpool im Sky Spa des Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee
Der Innenpool im Sky Spa des Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee

Spa Wellness im Erzherzog Johann Hotel Bad Aussee

Der Sky Spa im Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee raubt uns den Atem. Das gesamte Dachgeschoss ist ausgebaut zum Spa-Bereich. Im Yoga-Raum macht der Nutzer seine Übungen mit Blick über die Dächer von Bad Aussee. Der Innenpool lädt mit Liegen zur Entspannung und Erholung ein. Der Pool und der Ruhebereich im Freien könnten etwas größer sein. Aber hier setzt die Bausubstanz in der Entfaltung Grenzen. Dafür gibt es nebenan noch eine Sauna. Von dort steigt uns der Geruch von Holz in die Nase. Wer sich vorher im Behandlungstrakt des Spas im zweiten Stock bei einer Massage entspannt, kann sich hinterher im Sky Spa mit Blick auf die Berge der Umgebung erholen.

 

Köstlich! Der Topfenschmarren mit Marillenröster und Vanilleeis
Köstlich! Der Topfenschmarren mit Marillenröster und Vanilleeis

Essen im Restaurant des Hotels

Besonders gut haben uns auch das Restaurant und dessen Service gefallen. Als wir mittags im Hotel ankommen, bekommen wir ein Menü serviert. Dieses besteht vor allem aus Produkten der Region. Man empfängt uns mit einem Gruß aus der Küche. Darauf folgen eine Paradeiser-Suppe (Tomatensuppe) mit Seesaibling auf Risotto kombiniert, Beef Tartare mit Kressesalat und Portweinsenf, Filet vom Saibling mit Erdäpfelbrandade und Sommergemüse und einem Topfenschmarren mit Marillenröster und Vanilleeis. Petar testet, wie üblich, gerne das Personal und fragt unseren Ober nach etwas, was dieser unmöglich wissen kann: „Trägt der Kirschbaum vor der Hotelterrasse auch Früchte?“ Nachdem er erst einen hilflosen Blick von unserem Ober erhält, verschwindet dieser im Restaurant und kommt Minuten später wieder und beantwortet seine Frage.

 

Das Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee, Österreich

Wir beschließen unseren Aufenthalt im Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee schließlich am Abend, wo wir das Vergnügen haben, einer Lesung von Cornelius Obonya zu lauschen. Dieser trägt Gedichte und Geschichten von Robert Gernhardt und anderen vor. Kein Wunder! Spielte Obonya doch 2013 den „Jedermann“ bei den Salzburger Festspielen und ist so ein Könner seines Fachs. Dass Cornelius Obonya nicht zum ersten Mal hier ist, erzählt er uns anschließend. Er berichtet uns, dass er schon als Kind mit seiner Mutter immer wieder in Bad Aussee war. Daher kommt er immer wieder gerne ins Erzherzog Johann Hotel, wo er sich für ein paar Tage zur Erholung zurück zieht. Damit ist er einer der Künstler, die sich im Ausseerland wohlfühlen. Zu Recht, wie wir finden.

 


Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Kurhausplatz 62
Bad Aussee
Österreich
Aktuelle Preise, Verfügbarkeit und Buchung*
Hier findet Ihr weitere Hotels in Bad Aussee*

Hier gibt’s Tipps für Bad Aussee


Kennst Du schon:

 

Quelle: Recherchen vor Ort auf Einladung des Erzherzog Johann Hotels in Bad Aussee. Unsere Meinung bleibt unsere eigene.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos:  © Copyright Monika und Petar Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Tradition im Erzherzog Johann Hotel in Bad Aussee
Nach oben scrollen