The family hotels in Miami Beach, Florida - they still exist

Family hotels in Miami Beach

Miami Beach hotels on Collins Avenue in South Beach


Miami hotels on Collins Avenue are usually outside the South Beach party area. Once upon a time, they were the kind of hotels that were typical of Miami Beach - back then thirty years ago, when mostly families with children and retirees headed to Florida to soak up the Florida sunshine. Some because they are for a few weeks escape the weather at home wanted, and the others because they planned to do so for the rest of their lives. At that time nobody thought of the drug barons who would later stretch out their arms to the metropolis on the Atlantic.

Owner of a family hotel in Miami Beach
Owner of a family hotel in Miami Beach

 

 

The hype of the young and beautiful who shape the image of South Beach today could not be imagined at the time. Most of these family hotels have now disappeared from Miami Beach, being replaced by bars and hotel palaces that are solvent. You can get the city fathers to bypass building codes and allow high-rise buildings to be built - much to the dismay of the Miami Beach conservationists who want to preserve the flair of the old Art Deco houses.

 

Lovingly received: the flair of the forties © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Lovingly received: the flair of the forties

The Five Biggest Sports Clubs In Th...
The Five Biggest Sports Clubs In The World
 

Many Miami Beach hotels on Collins Avenue are family owned

Some of these hotels have been run by the same family for generations, lovingly nurturing the flair of bygone times. You still remember how retirees once shaped the picture in South Beach.

 

Cozy: the lounge at the Richmond Hotel © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Cozy: the lounge in one of the Miami hotels on Collins Avenue in South Beach

 

The charm of Art Deco

Art Nouveau furniture underlines the character of these hotels. We feel transported to a different time, also in terms of the other areas of the hotels. At a time when everything was not as fast-paced as it is today. The lounges are reminiscent of old Hollywood films, in which Lauren Bacall lolled on a divan while Humphrey Bogart went on his adventures.

 

 

Pool in Miami hotels on Collins Avenue in South Beach
The icing on the cake: the poolside restaurant in a Miami Beach hotel on Collins Ave.

 

Eating by the pool

What we appreciate most about our Miami Beach hotel on Collins Avenue is the poolside breakfast restaurant. Every morning we enjoy breakfast under palm trees and with a view of the pool landscape. Then we set out to do more in Miami and the surrounding area. We take our time for this breakfast. Because what could be nicer than starting the day with good food, in the sun and blown by the winds of the Atlantic.

 

Breakfast at Miami hotels on Collins Avenue in South Beach
Breakfast at a Miami Beach hotel on Collins Ave.

 

Have breakfast at Miami hotels on Collins Avenue in South Beach

We eat our way through the menu of the breakfast restaurant. First there is a breakfast with eggs, bacon, fried potatoes and toast for petar and an omelette with spinach, bacon and cheese for me. The next day I treat myself to a waffle with butter and a pot of maple syrup and Petar has a stack of pancakes with berries. The third day we start a little less calorie-rich with a bowl of seasonal fruit. There are strawberries, pineapples, oranges, kiwis and blueberries that are so crunchy that they will burst in your mouth.

 

You should pack this for a trip to Florida suitcase

 

 

Rooms in Miami hotels on Collins Avenue in South Beach
Room in a Miami hotel on Collins Aveenus in South Beach - small but cozy

 

By the way: Many of the hotels in Miami Beach on Collins Avenue have direct access to the ocean. If you don't want to swim in the pool, you just have to go through the gate at the end of the pool area and you are right on the sandy beach and the Atlantic Ocean. What more do you need for a beach vacation in Miami Beach?

 

 

 

Miami Beach hotels
Click on the photo and make a note of “Miami Beach Hotels” on Pinterest

 

Source: On-site research supported by the Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

The family hotels in Miami Beach, Florida - they still exist
Nach oben scrollen

Die Familienhotels in Miami Beach, Florida – es gibt sie noch

Familienhotels in Miami Beach
Besitzerin eines Familienhotels in Miami Beach
Besitzerin eines Familienhotels in Miami Beach

Hotels in Miami Beach an der Collins Avenue in South Beach

Die Hotels in Miami an der Collins Avenue liegen gewöhnlich außerhalb der Party Region in South Beach. Einst waren sie die Art von Hotels, die typisch waren für Miami Beach – damals vor dreißig Jahren, als noch hauptsächlich Familien mit Kindern und Rentner sich aufmachten nach Florida, um die Sonne in Florida zu genießen. Die einen, weil sie für wenige Wochen dem Wetter in der Heimat entfliehen wollten, und die anderen, weil sie dies für den Rest ihres Lebens planten. In jener Zeit dachte noch keiner an die Drogenbarone, die später ihre Arme nach der Metropole am Atlantik ausstrecken sollten.

 

 

Den Hype der Jungen und Schönen, die heute das Bild von South Beach prägen, konnte man sich damals nicht vorstellen. Die meisten dieser Familienhotels sind inzwischen aus Miami Beach verschwunden, verdrängt durch Bars und Hotelpaläste, die zahlungskräftig sind. Sie können die Stadtväter dazu bewegen, die Bauvorschriften zu umgehen und den Bau von Hochhausbauten zu erlauben – sehr zum Missfallen der Denkmalschützer von Miami Beach, die das Flair der alten Art Deco Häuser erhalten wollen.

 

Liebevoll erhalten: das Flair der vierziger Jahre © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Liebevoll erhalten: das Flair der vierziger Jahre

 

Viele Hotels in Miami Beach an der Collins Avenue sind in Familienbesitz

Manche dieser Hotels werden bereits seit Generationen von derselben Familie betrieben, die den Flair vergangener Zeiten liebevoll pflegen. Sie erinnern sich noch daran, wie einst die Rentner das Bild in South Beach prägten.

 

Gemütlich: die Lounge im Richmond Hotel © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Gemütlich: die Lounge in einem der Hotels in Miami an der Collins Avenue in South Beach

 

Der Charme des Art Deco

Jugendstilmöbel unterstreichen den Charakter dieser Hotels. Wir fühlen uns versetzt in eine andere Zeit, auch was die anderen Bereiche der Hotels anbelangt. In eine Zeit, als alles noch nicht so schnelllebig war wie heute. Die Lounges erinnern an alte Hollywood-Filme, in denen sich Lauren Bacall auf einem Diwan räkelte, während Humphrey Bogart seinen Abenteuern nachging.

 

 

Pool in Hotels in Miami an der Collins Avenue in South Beach
Das Tüpfelchen auf dem i: das Restaurant am Pool in einem Hotel in Miami Beach on Collins Ave

 

Essen am Pool

Was wir am meisten schätzen in unserem Hotel in Miami Beach an der Collins Avenue ist das Frühstücksrestaurant am Pool. Unter Palmen und mit einem Ausblick auf die Pool-Landschaft genießen wir jeden Morgen ein Frühstück. Danach brechen wir zu weiteren Taten in Miami und Umgebung auf. Für dieses Frühstück nehmen wir uns Zeit. Denn was gibt es Schöneres, als den Tag mit gutem Essen, in der Sonne und umweht von den Winden des Atlantiks zu beginnen.

 

Frühstück in Hotels in Miami an der Collins Avenue in South Beach
Ein Frühstück in einem Hotel in Miami Beach on Collins Ave

 

Frühstücken in Hotels in Miami an der Collins Avenue in South Beach

Wir essen uns durch die Speisekarte des Frühstücksrestaurants. Als erstes gibt es ein Frühstück mit Eiern, Speck, Bratkartoffeln und Toast für Petar und ein Omelett mit Spinat, Speck und Käse für mich. Am nächsten Tag gönne ich mir eine Waffel mit Butter und einem Töpfchen Ahornsirup und Petar lässt sich einen Stapel Pfannkuchen mit Beeren schmecken. Den dritten Tag beginnen wir etwas weniger kalorienreich mit einer Schüssel Obst der Saison. Es gibt Erdbeeren, Ananas, Orangen, Kiwis und Heidelbeeren, die so knackig sind, dass sie im Mund zerplatzen.

 

Das muss für eine Reise nach Florida in den Koffer

 

 

Zimmer in Hotels in Miami an der Collins Avenue in South Beach
Zimmer in einem Hotel in Miami an der Collins Aveenus in South Beach – klein, aber gemütlich

 

Übrigens: Viele der Hotels in Miami Beach an der Collins Avenue haben einen direkten Zugang zum Meer. Wer nicht im Pool schwimmen möchte, braucht nur durch das Tor am Ende des Poolbereichs gehen und ist direkt am Sandstrand und am Atlantik. Was braucht man mehr für einen Badeurlaub in Miami Beach?

 

 

 

Miami Beach Hotels
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir „Miami Beach Hotels“ auf Pinterest

 

Quelle: Recherchen vor Ort mit Unterstützung durch das Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau

Text: © Copyright  Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Die Familienhotels in Miami Beach, Florida – es gibt sie noch
Nach oben scrollen