Chocolate Chip Cookies - Best Cookies ever

Chocolate Chip Cookies - Canva

American chocolate chip cookies

For me, Best Chocolate Chip Cookies are the best Christmas cookies I know. Why? They bring back fond memories of my research year spent in Canada. I had a research grant that allowed me to stay there. The money I received monthly was enough to live on. However, I couldn't make big jumps with it. As I spend part of the year in a hotel in Vancouver spent, there was no kitchen available to me there. With this American Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe you can bake them yourself.

So cooking or baking yourself was not an option. So I looked for places where I could buy food cheaply. The Foodmart near Canada Place was just what I needed. There was a baker there who made fresh cookies every day. "Best Chocolate Chip Cookies" was written large on his advertising signs. He didn't tell me his Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe. But I've loved her ever since.

 

 

Every day my way to my work place led me past this cookie stand. No wonder this turned into a morning ritual. My adaptation to the American lifestyle, in a way. A bag of cookies and a coffee to go - the perfect breakfast - even for my wallet. Every day I tried new variations of his cookies. Because there were many of them. So I quickly realized how versatile these cookies are. Reason enough that I now started baking cookies myself. Here, too, I discovered that there are numerous recipes for it. We are introducing you to one that we particularly like. But first a little more about the cookies themselves.

 

Dough for American Chocolate Chip Cookies
Dough for American Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

Who Invented Chocolate Chip Cookies?

The origin of chocolate cookies is known pretty well. It was invented by Ruth Graves Wakefield (born 1903 in Easton, Massachusetts). She worked as a cook and nutritionist and ran the Toll House Inn in Whitman, Plymouth County with her husband Kenneth, Massachusetts. This was once a rest house on the way from Boston to New Bedford. Passers-by used to pay the road toll there, change their horses and fortify themselves in the restaurant. This was Ruth's domain after the Wakefields took over the Inn. Her cooking soon attracted guests from all over the area, including Joseph Kennedy Sr., father of the future president.

Although people keep saying that she "accidentally" invented cookies because chocolate fell into the batter, this is not true. Ruth thoughtfully invented the chocolate chip cookies. She said, “We had thin caramel cookies served with nuts and ice cream. Everyone seemed to love her. But I wanted to do something different. That's why I invented the Toll House Cookie. ”It was under this name that their cookies became famous. Ruth enrolled cookbook, which became a bestseller with 39 editions. In one of the issues she publishes the Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe for the "Toll House Chocolate Crunch Cookie".

The triumph of chocolate chip cookies

The cookie owes its triumphant advance through North America to the soldiers in World War II. They received care packages with delicacies from home and shared the cookies with their comrades from other regions of America. They, in turn, demanded chocolate chip cookies from their loved ones at home. This resulted in Ruth being inundated with letters asking for her prescription.

Nestlé also heard about this, whose chocolate they used. The company bought the recipe from her in exchange for a lifetime supply of chocolate. Nestlé began making special chocolate drops for the chocolate chip cookies and printed the recipe on the package. This began the triumph of cookies through North America. This continues today in large parts of the world.

 

This is how you put them on the sheet
Chocolate chip cookies on the tray

 

Soft chocolate chip cookies with cream cheese

Ingredients

  • 120 g butter
  • 60 g cream cheese
  • 150 g of brown sugar
  • 100 g white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 TL vanilla extract
  • 300 g flour
  • 2 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 tsp soda
  • half a teaspoon of salt
  • 400 g chocolate drops

 

Chocolate cookies
Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe

 

Preparation

Mix the butter with the cream cheese, brown and white sugar, the egg and the vanilla extract.

Add the flour, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt and stir well to form a smooth batter.

Then fold in the chocolate droplets.

Put the batter in the refrigerator for several hours. Then it can be processed better.

Use the spoon to portion the dough and form small balls out of it. You place these on a baking sheet with sufficient space between them, which you have lined with baking paper.

Bake the chocolate chip cookies at 175 ° C for about eight to nine minutes.

Then let the cookies cool down well before you pack them in an airtight jar.

We hope you enjoy the chocolate chip cookies as much as we do. Bon appetite.

 

 

In these cookbooks you will find cookie recipes*.

If you purchase via a link marked *, we receive a commission, which we use to run this blog.

Or bake these cookies according to our video recipe

 

 

chocolate chip cookies
Click on the photo and then save the recipe for “Chocolate Chip Cookies” on Pinterest

 

Do you know this?

 

Source: own research in Vancouver and Wikipedia.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline

Chocolate Chip Cookies - Best Cookies ever

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs and Petar Fuchs are the authors and publishers of the Food and Slow Travel blog  TravelWorldOnline. They have been publishing this blog since 2005. TravelWorldOnline has been online since 2001. Their topics are trips to Savor, wine tourism worldwide and slow travel. During her studies Monika Fuchs spent some time in North America, where she - partly together with Petar Fuchs - traveled to the USA and Canada and spent a research year in British Columbia. This intensified her thirst for knowledge, which she satisfied for 6 years as an adventure guide for Rotel Tours and then for 11 years as a tour guide for Studiosus Reisen around the world. She was constantly expanding her travel regions, but curiosity still gnawed at her: "What's beyond the horizon? What else is there to discover in this city? Which people are interesting here? What do they eat in this region?" As a freelance travel journalist (her articles have appeared in DIE ZEIT, 360° Canada, 360° USA, etc.), she is now looking for answers to these questions as a travel writer and travel blogger in many countries around the world. Petar Fuchs produces the videos on this blog as well as on YouTube. Monika Fuchs from TravelWorldOnline is among Germany's top 50 bloggers in 2021. Find more Information about Monika and Petar Fuchs here.

Chocolate Chip Cookies – Best Cookies ever

Chocolate Chip Cookies - Canva

American Chocolate Chip Cookies

Für mich sind Best Chocolate Chip Cookies die besten Weihnachtsplätzchen, die ich kenne. Warum? Sie bringen schöne Erinnerungen zurück an mein Forschungsjahr, das ich in Kanada verbrachte. Ich hatte ein Forschungsstipendium, das mir meinen Aufenthalt dort erlaubte. Das Geld, das ich monatlich erhielt, reichte zum Leben. Große Sprünge machen konnte ich damit allerdings nicht. Da ich einen Teil des Jahres in einem Hotel in Vancouver verbrachte, stand mir dort keine Küche zur Verfügung. Mit diesen American Chocolate Chip Cookies Rezept kannst Du sie selber backen.

Selber Kochen oder Backen war also nicht drin. Daher suchte ich nach Möglichkeiten, wo ich Essen günstig kaufen konnte. Da kam mir der Foodmart in der Nähe von Canada Place gerade recht. Dort gab es nämlich einen Bäcker, der täglich frische Cookies machte. „Best Chocolate Chip Cookies“ stand groß auf seinen Werbeschildern. Sein Chocolate Chip Cookies Rezept verriet er mir zwar nicht. Aber seit dieser Zeit liebe ich sie.

 

 

Jeden Tag führte mich mein Weg zu meinem Arbeitsplatz vorbei an diesem Cookie-Stand. Kein Wunder, dass sich das zu einem morgendlichen Ritual entwickelte. Meine Anpassung an den American Lifestyle, gewissermaßen. Eine Tüte Cookies und ein Coffee to go – das perfekte Frühstück – auch für meinen Geldbeutel. Täglich probierte ich neue Variationen seiner Cookies aus. Denn davon gab es viele. So erkannte ich schnell, wie vielseitig diese Plätzchen sind. Grund genug, dass ich mich nun auch selbst mal ans Cookie-Backen machte. Auch hier musste ich feststellen, dass es dafür zahlreiche Rezepte gibt. Eines, das uns besonders gut schmeckt, stellen wir Euch hier vor. Aber zunächst noch etwas mehr über die Cookies selbst.

 

Teig für American Chocolate Chip Cookies
Teig für American Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

Wer hat Chocolate Chip Cookies erfunden?

Bei den Schokoladen Cookies kennt man die Herkunft ziemlich genau. Und zwar erfand sie Ruth Graves Wakefield (geb. 1903 in Easton, Massachusetts). Sie arbeitete als Köchin und Ernährungsberaterin und betrieb mit ihrem Mann Kenneth das Toll House Inn in Whitman im Plymouth County, Massachusetts. Dieses war einst ein Rasthaus auf dem Weg von Boston nach New Bedford. Dort bezahlten früher die Passanten die Straßenmaut, wechselten ihre Pferde und stärkten sich im Restaurant. Dies war Ruths Reich, nachdem die Wakefields das Inn übernommen hatten. Ihre Küche zog bald Gäste aus der gesamten Umgebung an, darunter auch Joseph Kennedy Sr., den Vater des späteren Präsidenten.

Obwohl es immer wieder heißt, sie hätte die Cookies „versehentlich“ erfunden, weil ihr Schokolade in den Teig fiel, stimmt das nicht. Ruth erfand die Chocolate Chip Cookies wohlüberlegt. Sie sagte: „Wir hatten dünne Karamell Cookies mit Nüssen und Eiscreme serviert. Jedermann schien sie zu lieben. Aber ich wollte etwas anderes machen. Daher erfand ich das Toll House Cookie.“ Unter diesem Namen wurden ihre Cookies berühmt. Ruth schrieb ein Kochbuch, das mit 39 Auflagen zum Bestseller wurde. In einer der Ausgaben veröffentlicht sie das Chocolate Chip Cookies Rezept für das „Toll House Chocolate Crunch Cookie“.

Siegeszug der Chocolate Chip Cookies

Seinen Siegeszug durch Nordamerika hat das Cookie den Soldaten im Zweiten Weltkrieg zu verdanken. Sie erhielten Care Pakete mit Köstlichkeiten von Zuhause und teilten die Cookies mit ihren Kameraden aus anderen Regionen Amerikas. Diese wiederum verlangten von ihren Lieben daheim ebenfalls Chocolate Chip Cookies. Das führte dazu, dass Ruth überflutet wurde von Briefen, in denen sie um ihr Rezept gebeten wurde.

Davon hörte auch Nestlé, deren Schokolade sie verwendete. Die Firma kaufte ihr das Rezept gegen eine lebenslange Versorgung mit Schokolade ab. Nestlé begann, spezielle Schokodrops für die Chocolate Chip Cookies herzustellen und druckte das Rezept auf der Packung ab. Damit begann der Siegeszug der Cookies durch Nordamerika. Dieser setzt sich heute in weiten Teilen der Welt fort.

 

So legst Du sie auf das Blech
Chocolate Chip Cookies auf dem Blech

 

Weiche Chocolate Chip Cookies mit Frischkäse

Zutaten

  • 120 g Butter
  • 60 g Frischkäse
  • 150 g brauner Zucker
  • 100 g weißer Zucker
  • 1 Ei
  • 2 TL Vanilleextrakt
  • 300 g Mehl
  • 2 TL Speisestärke
  • 1 TL Natron
  • ein halber TL Salz
  • 400 g Schokotröpfchen

 

Schokoladen Cookies
Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Rezept

 

Zubereitung

Verrühre die Butter mit Frischkäse, braunem und weißem Zucker, dem Ei und dem Vanilleextrakt.

Gib Mehl, Speisestärke, Natron und Salz dazu und verrühre es gut zu einem glatten Teig.

Hebe danach die Schokotröpfchen unter.

Gib den Teig für mehrere Stunden in den Kühlschrank. Dann lässt er sich besser verarbeiten.

Portioniere den Teig mit dem Löffel und forme kleine Kugeln daraus. Diese legst Du mit ausreichend Abstand auf einem Kuchenblech, das Du mit Backpapier ausgelegt hast.

Backe die Chocolate Chip Cookies bei 175° C etwa acht bis neun Minuten.

Lass die Plätzchen anschließend gut auskühlen, bevor Du sie in einer luftdichten Dose verpackst.

Wir hoffen, die Chocolate Chip Cookies schmecken Dir genauso gut wie uns. Bon Appetit.

 

 

In diesen Kochbüchern findest Du Plätzchen-Rezepte*.

Kaufst du über einen mit * markierten Link, erhalten wir dafür eine Provision, mit der wir dieses Blog betreiben.

Oder backe diese Plätzchen nach unserem Video-Rezept

 

 

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir anschließend das Rezept für „Chocolate Chip Cookies“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du überdies?

 

Quelle: eigene Recherchen in Vancouver sowie Wikipedia.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline

Chocolate Chip Cookies – Best Cookies ever

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs und Petar Fuchs sind die Verfasser und Herausgeber des Slow Travel und Genuss Reiseblogs TravelWorldOnline Traveller. Sie veröffentlichen dieses Blog seit 2005. TravelWorldOnline ist online seit 2001. Ihre Themen sind Genuss Reisen und Weintourismus in aller Welt und Slow Travel. Monika Fuchs verbrachte während ihres Studiums einige Zeit in Nordamerika, wo sie - zum Teil gemeinsam mit Petar Fuchs - die USA und Kanada bereiste und ein Forschungsjahr in British Columbia verbrachte. Das verstärkte ihren Wissensdurst, den sie 6 Jahre lang als Abenteuer-Guide für Rotel Tours und danach 11 Jahre lang als Studienreiseleiterin für Studiosus Reisen in aller Welt zu stillen versuchte. Sie erweiterte ständig ihre Reiseregionen, aber trotzdem nagte die Neugier an ihr: "Was befindet sich hinter dem Horizont? Was gibt's in dieser Stadt noch zu entdecken? Welche Menschen sind hier interessant? Was isst man in dieser Region?" Auf diese Fragen sucht sie nun als freie Reisejournalistin (ihre Artikel erschienen u.a. in DIE ZEIT, 360° Kanada, 360° USA, etc.) , Reiseautorin und Reisebloggerin Antworten in vielen Ländern der Welt. Petar Fuchs produziert die Videos auf diesem Blog sowie auf YouTube. Monika Fuchs von TravelWorldOnline Traveller ist unter Deutschlands Top 50 Bloggerinnen 2021 Weitere Informationen über Monika und Petar Fuchs.