Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe Vermont

The Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, Vermont © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Breakfast with Sam von Trapp in the von Trapp Restaurant

“Fresh chicken eggs from our farm” are the words Sam von Trapp uses to welcome us to our breakfast at the Trapp Family Lodge in Vermont. Sam is a member of the real von Trapp family and one of the heirs to the Sound of Music Hotel in Stowe. His family built the hotel there after their musical success. He laughs as he invites us to help ourselves to the breakfast buffet.

Homegrown agricultural products play a major role in Vermont. No wonder, as we drive past one farm after another on our tour of this state. Slow food from Vermont. It is nothing different than what our grandparents already did. Namely, to live from the products of their work and from the region. This is still done today at the Trapp Family Lodge Hotel. The hotel's own farm supplies numerous products that are served in the hotel's restaurant. The von Trapp Lodge even has a brewery.

 

 

We are guests at the Sound of Music Hotel in Stowe
Breakfast with Sam von Trapp at the Sound of Music Hotel in Stowe

The Sound of Music Hotel - The von Trapp Lodge in Stowe Vermont

It was no different in Sam von Trapp's grandparents, as he tells us, and as we can see from the numerous photos hanging on the walls of his home by his grandmother, Maria von Trapp, and her own children and their own children. You can see the family catching up on the hay, on the hay wagon and on many other farm work.

We had ours Visit to Salzburg Experienced by the Trapp family a few years ago, they are a magnet for visitors, especially for guests from the USA. The family of Trapp 1938 emigrated there because Georg von Trapp, as a monarchist-minded officer, did not anticipate the development in the Third Reich. At the instigation of Maria Augusta, the second wife Georg von Trapps, the family had already become famous in Austria with her family choir. The family had lost all of their fortune to 1935, and Maria appeared with her husband's five daughters and two sons. Only two years later, they won the first prize in the folk singer competition of the Salzburg Festival. An insight into the family history and the filming of "The Sound of Music" we received during this visit in Salzburg.

 

 

At the Trapp Family Lodge in Vermont, the Sound of Music Hotel in Stowe
Austria can be recognized everywhere in the hotel in the Trapp Family Lodge in Vermont

The Sound of Music and the von Trapps

They continued their concert tours in the USA and quickly gained a large fan base there too. “At one of these concerts,” says Sam von Trapp, Maria's grandson, “they had to wait for the musicians. Because the audience was already sitting in the concert hall, Maria came up with something. She stepped on the stage and told the audience the story of our family. Then an enthusiastic fan came to her and suggested that she write this story down and publish it. ”She never let go of the idea, and so in 1956 she published her book under the title“ The Trapp Family ”. The family's global success was unstoppable: two years later the story was filmed and in 1959 the successful musical "The Sound of Music" spread the family story around the world.

 

Restaurant at the Trapp Family Lodge in Vermont
Candlelight dinner at the Trapp Family Lodge Hotel

How the Trapp Family Lodge, the Sound of Music Hotel, Vermont was founded in Stowe VT

“And how do you get the idea of ​​opening a hotel?” I ask Sam von Trapp. He laughs and says: “It happened all by itself, as my grandmother ran a very hospitable and open house. We always had guests from all over the world visiting, and so it turned out that we turned it into a hotel. ”Also with success, as we can see for ourselves. The Trapp Family Lodge in Vermont is very popular with its mainly American and international guests. Everything here is still reminiscent of the family's Austrian homeland: there are Mozart, Strauss and Schubert rooms. The hotel itself looks like one of the mountain huts in the Salzburg Alps, only it's much bigger. And even the surrounding area of ​​Stowe, Vermont, with its rolling hills and beautiful scenery makes it seem like Salzburg is just around the corner.

"Do you still speak German yourself," I want to know from Sam von Trapp. He laughs again and says that unfortunately he can't. His travels took him to the Latin American regions of the world, and other languages ​​were more helpful. However, he now prefers to spend most of the year in Stowe. "Only now and then do I go skiing in the Rocky Mountains or in other ski areas in the world."

In Stowe Vermont, the von Trapp Lodge is a Family Inn

Families will feel right at home at this Stowe Vermont Family Inn. Away from the main roads, families can enjoy the views of nature. You almost think you're hearing the von Trapps hit: Edelweiss in Stowe.

 

View from the Trapp Family Lodge © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
View from the Trapp Family Lodge Hotel - The Hills are Alive in the Sound of Music Hotel in Stowe

Where is Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe Vermont?

The Trapp Family Lodge is located on a hidden side street on a hill above Stowe. From there we have a view of the valley below and the range of hills on the other side of the valley. Our room has a balcony from which we have a panoramic view of the surroundings. The curtains and the photos on the walls show episodes from the family history of Maria von Trapp, whose soul can still be felt in this house to this day.

Trapp Family Lodge
700 Trapp Hill Rd
Stowe VT 05672

Information, availability query and online booking
Stowe Hotels

 

Other accommodation options in Stowe*

Vermont Family Resorts*

 

Do you like to travel by motorhome?

  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you will find information and a selection in these  booking options.
  • Check our packing list for campers to see whether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.
  • Close to the Trapp Family Lodge is Gold Brook Campground, 1900 Waterbury Rd, Stowe, VT 05672, United States. However, there are more in the region.
  • A  Campsite guide for the region (in English) * you can order here.

If you purchase via a link marked *, we receive a commission, which we use to run this blog.

 


Travel Arrangements:

Parking at the airport

Here you can reserve your parking space at the airport.

Arrival at the Trapp Family Lodge

For example, book yours here Arrival by plane, bus or train*. KLM, Lufthansa, Air France, United and British Airways fly to Boston. You can then rent a rental car there.

Car Rentals:

Cheap Car Hire - Book Fast and Easy! *

Hotels:

Hotels and Inns * You can also book through our partner booking.com at this link.


 

Trapp Family Lodge Vermont Sound of Music Hotel
Click on the photo and then save the “Trapp Family Lodge Vermont” on Pinterest

 

Do you know anything else?

Source: on-site research. The trip was at the invitation of Discover New England. However, the opinions in this article remain our own.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photo: © Copyright by Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline

Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe Vermont

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs and Petar Fuchs are the authors and publishers of the Food and Slow Travel blog  TravelWorldOnline. They have been publishing this blog since 2005. TravelWorldOnline has been online since 2001. Their topics are trips to Savor, wine tourism worldwide and slow travel. During her studies Monika Fuchs spent some time in North America, where she - partly together with Petar Fuchs - traveled to the USA and Canada and spent a research year in British Columbia. This intensified her thirst for knowledge, which she satisfied for 6 years as an adventure guide for Rotel Tours and then for 11 years as a tour guide for Studiosus Reisen around the world. She was constantly expanding her travel regions, but curiosity still gnawed at her: "What's beyond the horizon? What else is there to discover in this city? Which people are interesting here? What do they eat in this region?" As a freelance travel journalist (her articles have appeared in DIE ZEIT, 360° Canada, 360° USA, etc.), she is now looking for answers to these questions as a travel writer and travel blogger in many countries around the world. Petar Fuchs produces the videos on this blog as well as on YouTube. Monika Fuchs from TravelWorldOnline is among Germany's top 50 bloggers in 2021. Find more Information about Monika and Petar Fuchs here.

Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe Vermont

Die Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, Vermont © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Frühstück mit Sam von Trapp im von Trapp Restaurant

„Frische Hühnereier von unserer Farm“, mit diesen Worten begrüßt uns Sam von Trapp zu unserem Frühstück in der Trapp Family Lodge in Vermont. Sam ist ein Mitglied der echten von Trapp Familie und einer der Erben des Sound of Music Hotels in Stowe. Seine Familie errichtete das Hotel dort nach ihrem Musical Erfolg. Er lacht, als er uns einlädt, uns am Frühstücksbuffet zu bedienen.

In Vermont spielen selbst erzeugte Agrarprodukte eine große Rolle. Kein Wunder, fahren wir auf unserer Rundreise durch diesen Bundesstaat an einer Farm nach der anderen vorbei. Slow Food aus Vermont. Dabei ist es nichts anderes als das, was unsere Großeltern schon getan haben. Nämlich von den Erzeugnissen ihrer Arbeit und aus der Region zu leben. Dies macht man im Trapp Family Lodge Hotel bis heute. Die eigene Farm liefert zahlreiche Produkte, die im Restaurant des Hotels auf den Tisch kommen. Sogar eine Brauerei besitzt die von Trapp Lodge.

 

 

Wir sind zu Gast im Sound of Music Hotel in Stowe
Frühstück mit Sam von Trapp im Sound of Music Hotel in Stowe

Das Sound of Music Hotel – die von Trapp Lodge in Stowe Vermont

Bei den Großeltern von Sam von Trapp war das nicht anders, wie er uns erzählt, und wie wir aus den zahlreichen Fotos erkennen können, die überall im Hotel von seiner Großmutter Maria von Trapp und deren angeheirateten und eigenen Kindern an den Wänden hängen. Da sieht man die Familie beim Heu einholen, auf dem Heuwagen und bei vielen anderen Farm Arbeiten.

Wir hatten bei unserem Besuch in Salzburg vor einigen Jahren von der Familie Trapp erfahren, sind sie dort doch ein Besuchermagnet vor allem für Gäste aus den USA. Dorthin wanderte die Familie von Trapp 1938 aus, weil Georg von Trapp als monarchistisch gesinnter Offizier von der Entwicklung im Dritten Reich nicht Gutes erahnte. Schon vorher war die Familie auf Betreiben Maria Augustas, der zweiten Ehefrau Georg von Trapps, in Österreich mit ihrem Familienchor berühmt geworden. Die Familie hatte 1935 ihr gesamtes Vermögen verloren und Maria trat zusammen mit den fünf Töchtern und den zwei Söhnen ihres Mannes auf. Schon zwei Jahre danach gewannen sie den ersten Preis beim Volkssängerwettbewerb der Salzburger Festspiele. Einen Einblick in die Familiengeschichte und die Verfilmung von „The Sound of Music“ haben wir bei diesem Besuch in Salzburg erhalten.

 

 

In der Trapp Family Lodge in Vermont, dem Sound of Music Hotel in Stowe
Österreich ist im Hotel überall zu erkennen in der Trapp Family Lodge in Vermont

The Sound of Music und die von Trapps

In den USA setzten sie ihre Konzertreisen fort und gewannen auch dort recht schnell eine große Fangemeinde. „Bei einem dieser Konzerte,“ so erzählt uns Sam von Trapp, der Enkel Marias, „mussten sie auf die Musiker warten. Weil die Zuschauer bereits im Konzertsaal saßen, ließ sich Maria etwas einfallen. Sie trat auf die Bühne und erzählte den Zuschauern die Geschichte unserer Familie. Danach kam ein begeisterter Fan zu ihr und schlug ihr vor, diese Geschichte  aufzuschreiben und zu veröffentlichen.“ Die Idee ließ sie nicht mehr los, und so publizierte sie 1956 ihr Buch unter dem Titel „Die Trapp Familie“. Damit war der Welt-Erfolg der Familie nicht mehr aufzuhalten: zwei Jahre später wurde die Geschichte verfilmt und 1959 verbreitete das Erfolgsmusical „The Sound of Music“ die Familiengeschichte in aller Welt.

 

Restaurant in der Trapp Family Lodge in Vermont
Dinner bei Kerzenschein im Trapp Family Lodge Hotel

Wie in Stowe VT die Trapp Family Lodge, das Sound of Music Hotel, Vermont gegründet wurde

„Und wie kommt man auf den Gedanken, ein Hotel zu eröffnen,“ frage ich Sam von Trapp. Er lacht und meint: „Das ergab sich ganz von allein, führte meine Großmutter doch ein sehr gastfreundliches und offenes Haus. Wir hatten ständig Gäste aus aller Welt zu Besuch, und so ergab es sich, dass wir daraus ein Hotel machten.“ Ebenfalls mit Erfolg, wie wir selbst feststellen können. Ist die Trapp Family Lodge in Vermont doch bei seinen hauptsächlich amerikanischen und internationalen Gästen sehr beliebt. Ein wenig erinnert hier noch immer alles an die österreichische Heimat der Familie: da gibt es Mozart-, Strauss- und Schubert-Zimmer. Das Hotel selbst sieht aus wie eine der Berghütten der Salzburger Alpen, nur dass es viel größer ist. Und sogar die Umgebung von Stowe, Vermont, mit ihren sanften Hügeln und der schönen Landschaft erweckt den Eindruck, als ob Salzburg sich gleich um die Ecke befindet.

„Sprechen Sie denn selbst noch Deutsch,“ will ich von Sam von Trapp wissen. Wieder lacht er und sagt, das könne er leider nicht. Seine Reisen führten ihn eher in die lateinamerikanischen Regionen der Welt, und da seien andere Sprachen hilfreicher gewesen. Inzwischen zieht er es jedoch vor, die meiste Zeit des Jahres in Stowe zu verbringen. „Nur ab und zu fahre ich noch zum Skifahren in die Rocky Mountains oder in andere Skigebiete der Welt.“

In Stowe Vermont ist die von Trapp Lodge ein Family Inn

Familien fühlen sich wohl in diesem Family Inn in Stowe Vermont. Abgelegen von den Hauptstraßen können Familien den Ausblick auf die Natur genießen. Man glaubt fast, den Erfolgsschlager der von Trapps zu hören: Edelweiss in Stowe.

 

Ausblick von der Trapp Family Lodge © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Ausblick vom Trapp Family Lodge Hotel – The Hills are Alive im Sound of Music Hotel in Stowe

Wo liegt die Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe Vermont?

Die Trapp Family Lodge liegt an einer versteckten Seitenstraße auf einem Hügel oberhalb von Stowe. Von dort haben wir einen Ausblick auf das Tal unter uns und die Hügelkette auf der anderen Seite des Tals. Unser Zimmer besitzt einen Balkon, von dem wir einen Rundblick auf die Umgebung haben. Die Vorhänge und die Fotos an den Wänden zeigen Episoden aus der Familiengeschichte Maria von Trapps, deren Seele bis heute in diesem Haus zu spüren ist.

Trapp Family Lodge
700 Trapp Hill Rd
Stowe VT 05672

Informationen, Verfügbarkeitsabfrage und Onlinebuchung
Hotels in Stowe

 

Weitere Unterkünfte in Stowe*

Resorts in Vermont für Familien*

 

Du reist gern mit dem Wohnmobil?

  • Willst Du ein Wohnmobil mieten? Dann findest Du hier Informationen und eine Auswahl an Buchungsmöglichkeiten.
  • Überprüfe mit unserer Packliste Wohnmobil, ob Du alles für Deine Wohnmobiltour eingepackt hast.
  • In der Nähe der Trapp Family Lodge befindet sich der Gold Brook Campground, 1900 Waterbury Rd, Stowe, VT 05672, Vereinigte Staaten. Es gibt jedoch noch weitere in der Region.
  • Einen Campingplatzführer für die Region (in Englisch)* kannst Du hier bestellen.

Kaufst du über einen mit * gekennzeichneten Link, erhalten wir dafür eine Provision, mit der wir dieses Blog betreiben.

 


Reiseorganisation:

Parken am Flughafen

Hier kannst du deinen Parkplatz am Flughafen reservieren.

Anreise zur Trapp Family Lodge

Buche zum Beispiel hier Deine Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*. KLM, Lufthansa, Air France, United sowie British Airways fliegen nach Boston. Dort kannst Du anschließend einen Mietwagen mieten.

Mietwagen:

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!*

Hotels:

Hotels und Inns* könnt Ihr zudem über unseren Partner booking.com unter diesem Link buchen.


 

Trapp Family Lodge Vermont Sound of Music Hotel
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir anschließend die „Trapp Family Lodge Vermont“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst du überdies?

Quelle: Recherchen vor Ort. Die Reise fand statt auf Einladung von Discover New England. Die Meinungen in diesem Artikel bleiben jedoch unsere eigenen.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Foto:  © Copyright von Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline

Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe Vermont

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs und Petar Fuchs sind die Verfasser und Herausgeber des Slow Travel und Genuss Reiseblogs TravelWorldOnline Traveller. Sie veröffentlichen dieses Blog seit 2005. TravelWorldOnline ist online seit 2001. Ihre Themen sind Genuss Reisen und Weintourismus in aller Welt und Slow Travel. Monika Fuchs verbrachte während ihres Studiums einige Zeit in Nordamerika, wo sie - zum Teil gemeinsam mit Petar Fuchs - die USA und Kanada bereiste und ein Forschungsjahr in British Columbia verbrachte. Das verstärkte ihren Wissensdurst, den sie 6 Jahre lang als Abenteuer-Guide für Rotel Tours und danach 11 Jahre lang als Studienreiseleiterin für Studiosus Reisen in aller Welt zu stillen versuchte. Sie erweiterte ständig ihre Reiseregionen, aber trotzdem nagte die Neugier an ihr: "Was befindet sich hinter dem Horizont? Was gibt's in dieser Stadt noch zu entdecken? Welche Menschen sind hier interessant? Was isst man in dieser Region?" Auf diese Fragen sucht sie nun als freie Reisejournalistin (ihre Artikel erschienen u.a. in DIE ZEIT, 360° Kanada, 360° USA, etc.) , Reiseautorin und Reisebloggerin Antworten in vielen Ländern der Welt. Petar Fuchs produziert die Videos auf diesem Blog sowie auf YouTube. Monika Fuchs von TravelWorldOnline Traveller ist unter Deutschlands Top 50 Bloggerinnen 2021 Weitere Informationen über Monika und Petar Fuchs.