The scent of lavender in Quebec on the Bleu Lavande farm

Dried lavender at Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec

A visit to the Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Quebec


Hard to believe, but in the Cantons de l'Est in Quebec the scent of lavender is in the air. At least at Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec, lavender is grown to extract the oils from the plant. Admittedly, in Canada's harsh climate, treating lavender to survive the harsh winters wasn't easy. These are characterized by frosts and temperatures well below zero degrees. Patrick Samson, the owner of Bleu Lavande, the lavender farm in Fitch Bay Quebec, can tell you a thing or two. "It was difficult at the beginning," he laughs, a huge understatement.

 

 

Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec
Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec

Lavender growing in Quebec is difficult

The first attempts to grow lavender in Quebec failed miserably. Patrick had traveled to the lavender growing regions of the world. There he wanted to learn as much as possible about the cultivation methods. Armed with this knowledge, in 1999 he began building the heart of what is now the Bleu Lavande lavender farm, the distillery. He already had the building materials for it on site. He used hemlock wood. These grow on his property. It took two years to clear the land and prepare the fields. In 2002 he planted 70.000 lavender plants in his fields.

Then disaster struck: in the winter of 2002, temperatures were well below average. There was hardly any snow. Conditions that made fears of the worst possible. That's how it was: in the spring of 2003, 80% of the plants were destroyed.

 

Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec
That's how pretty lavender is at Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec

A fresh start at Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Quebec

But Patrick Samson didn't give up: he and his team rolled up their sleeves and saved 10.000 plants. In July of this year they planted 15.000 new plants. They cherished and cared for them throughout the summer. They wanted to make them strong enough to survive the Quebec winter. To minimize the danger, they covered the lavender fields with straw before the onset of winter.

The work paid off: in the spring of 2004, the lavender plants survived the winter cold well. The development of Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm could begin. Today the farm is the only certified producer of lavender oil in all of Canada. More than 100.000 lavender plants thrive in the fields.

 

Lavender flowers at Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec
Lavender flowers at Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec

The scent of lavender at Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm

We smell it as soon as we park our car in the parking lot in front of the store. The scent of lavender is so intense that it inevitably lures us into the store. There we meet Patrick, who greets us and sends us out into the fields. "You're two weeks early," he says. “The plants don't flower until mid-July. But you can already guess what it will look like then.” He's right, you can already see the blossoms that make lavender fields so attractive in summer.

 

The lavender shop and the distillery
The lavender shop and the distillery

A field of lavender

A field extends from the shop and the distillery to the edge of the forest. The lavender bushes grow in straight rows on it. In a greenhouse we get an idea of ​​how beautiful it must be when this field blooms in blue. In it, lavender was planted in pots in which the plants were already flowering. It smells intense. But the blue of the flowers is even more beautiful. How beautiful it must be when the whole field looks like this. A reason to come back a little later in the year? Certainly.

What you need to hike through the lavender fields

  • Good hiking boots are a must with every hike. Only then can you enjoy your hike.
  • For a  snack on the way you need a  backpack. You can put your snack in a  lunch box and accommodate everything you need for your day trip.

 

 

The great products of lavender from Bleu Lavande
The great products of lavender from Bleu Lavande

 

Back in the shop we discover what Patrick makes with these blossoms. In the shop there are soaps, shampoos, shower gels, oils and much more. Everything smells wonderful of this plant. A feast for the senses.

Bleu Lavande Estate
891, chemin Narrow (route 247)
Stanstead (Fitch Bay) Qc, Canada, J0B 3E0

 


Travel Arrangements:

Check in:

Book yours here Arrival by plane, bus or train*. Montreal has an international airport where direct flights from Germany and Europe land. Book your flight here*.

Car Hire Montreal Canada :

Cheap Car Hire - Book Fast and Easy! *

Hotels:

You can book accommodations in the Cantons de l'Est* through our partner booking.com. 

 

Do you like to travel by motorhome?

  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you will find information and a selection in these  booking options.
  • Check our packing list for campers to see whether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.

 


Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm
Click on the photo and save the "Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm" on Pinterest

 

Do you already know:

 

Source Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec : On-site research supported by Tourism Quebec. Our opinion remains our own.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

The scent of lavender in Quebec on the Bleu Lavande farm
Nach oben scrollen

Der Duft von Lavendel in Quebec auf der Farm Bleu Lavande

Getrockneter Lavendel bei Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec

Ein Besuch auf der Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Quebec


Kaum zu glauben, aber in den Cantons de l’Est in Quebec liegt der Duft von Lavendel in der Luft. Zumindest bei der Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec baut man Lavendel an, um die Öle aus der Pflanze zu gewinnen. Zugegeben, es war nicht einfach, im rauen Klima Kanadas den Lavendel so zu behandeln, dass er die harten Winter übersteht. Diese sind von Frösten und Temperaturen weit unter Null Grad gekennzeichnet. Patrick Samson, der Besitzer von Bleu Lavande, der Lavendel Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec, kann ein Lied davon singen. „Der Anfang war schwierig“, lacht er und untertreibt damit gewaltig.

 

 

Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec
Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec

Lavendelanbau in Quebec ist schwierig

Die ersten Versuche, Lavendel in Quebec anzubauen, misslangen gründlich. Patrick war in die Anbauregionen der Welt für Lavendel gereist. Dort wollte er so viel wie möglich über die Anbaumethoden lernen. Gewappnet mit diesem Wissen begann er 1999 mit dem Bau des Herzstücks seiner heute Lavendelfarm Bleu Lavande, der Destille. Das Baumaterial dafür hatte er bereits vor Ort. Er verwendete das Holz der Hemlocktannen. Diese wachsen auf seinem Grundstück wachsen. Zwei Jahre dauerte es, bis das Land gerodet und die Felder vorbereitet waren. 2002 ließ er 70.000 Lavendelpflanzen auf seinen Feldern setzen.

Dann traf die Katastrophe ein: im Winter 2002 lagen die Temperaturen weit unter dem Durchschnitt. Es gab kaum Schnee. Bedingungen, die das Schlimmste befürchten ließen. So war es auch: im Frühjahr 2003 waren 80% der Pflanzen zerstört.

 

Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec
So hübsch ist Lavendel auf der Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec

Ein Neubeginn auf der Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Quebec

Aber Patrick Samson ließ sich nicht unterkriegen: er und sein Team krempelte die Ärmel hoch und retteten 10.000 Pflanzen. Im Juli dieses Jahres setzten sie 15.000 neue Pflanzen. Diese hegten und pflegten sie den Sommer über. Sie wollten kräftig genug machen, damit sie den Quebecer Winter überstehen. Um die Gefahr so gering wie möglich zu halten, bedeckten sie die Lavendelfelder vor Einbruch des Winters dick mit Stroh.

Die Arbeit zahlte sich aus: Im Frühjahr 2004 hatten die Lavendelpflanzen die winterliche Kälte gut überstanden. Die Entwicklung von Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm konnte beginnen. Heute ist die Farm der einzige zertifizierte Produzent von Lavendelöl in ganz Kanada. Es gedeihen mehr als 100.000 Lavendelpflanzen auf den Feldern.

 

Lavendelblüten in der Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec
Lavendelblüten in der Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec

Der Duft von Lavendel auf der Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm

Das riechen wir sofort, als wir unser Auto auf dem Parkplatz vor dem Laden abstellen. Der Duft von Lavendel ist so intensiv, dass er uns unweigerlich in den Laden lockt. Dort treffen wir Patrick, der uns begrüßt und uns hinaus schickt auf die Felder. „Ihr seid zwei Wochen zu früh dran“, meint er. „Die Pflanzen blühen erst ab Mitte Juli. Aber ihr könnt schon ahnen, wie es dann aussieht.“ Er hat recht, ein wenig sieht man die Blüten schon, die Lavendelfelder im Sommer so attraktiv machen.

 

Der Lavendel Laden und die Destille
Der Lavendel Laden und die Destille

Ein Feld voller Lavendel

Ein Feld erstreckt sich vom Laden und der Destille bis an den Waldrand. Darauf wachsen die Lavendelbüsche in geraden Reihen. In einem Gewächshaus erhalten wir einen Eindruck davon, wie schön es sein muss, wenn dieses Feld in Blau erblüht. Darin hat man Lavendel in Töpfen angepflanzt, in denen die Pflanzen bereits blühen. Es duftet intensiv. Aber noch schöner ist das Blau der Blüten. Wie schön muss es erst sein, wenn das ganze Feld so aussieht. Ein Grund, noch einmal etwas später im Jahr wieder zu kommen? Ganz sicher.

Was Du zum Wandern durch die Lavendelfelder brauchst

  • Gute Wanderschuhe sind ein Muss bei jeder Wanderung. Nur dann kann Du Deine Wanderung genießen.
  • Für eine Brotzeit unterwegs benötigst Du einen Rucksack. Darin kannst Du Deine Brotzeitdose und alles unterbringen, was Du für Deinen Tagesausflug brauchst.

 

 

Die tollen Produkte aus Lavendel von Bleu Lavande 
Die tollen Produkte aus Lavendel von Bleu Lavande

 

Wieder zurück im Laden entdecken wir, was Patrick aus diesen Blüten alles macht. Im Shop gibt es Seifen, Shampoos, Duschgels, Öle, und vieles mehr. Alles riecht wundervoll nach dieser Pflanze. Ein Fest für die Sinne.

Bleu Lavande Estate
891, chemin Narrow (route 247)
Stanstead (Fitch Bay) Qc, Canada,  J0B 3E0

 


Reiseorganisation:

Anreise:

Buche hier Deine Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*. Montreal besitzt einen internationalen Flughafen, auf dem Direktflüge aus Deutschland und Europa landen. Buche Deinen Flug hier*.

Mietwagen Montreal Canada :

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!*

Hotels:

Unterkünfte in den Cantons-de-l’Est* könnt Ihr über unseren Partner booking.com buchen.

 

Du reist gern mit dem Wohnmobil?

  • Willst Du ein Wohnmobil mieten? Dann findest Du hier Informationen und eine Auswahl an Buchungsmöglichkeiten.
  • Überprüfe mit unserer Packliste Wohnmobil, ob Du alles für Deine Wohnmobiltour eingepackt hast.

 


Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir die „Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du schon:

 

Quelle Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm in Fitch Bay Quebec : Recherchen vor Ort mit Unterstützung von Tourism Quebec. Unsere Meinung bleibt unsere eigene.

Text: © Copyright  Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Der Duft von Lavendel in Quebec auf der Farm Bleu Lavande
Nach oben scrollen