Ottawa Food Tour - Good food in Ottawa

teas

Ottawa Food Tour


On an Ottawa Food Tour you will experience the city from its culinary side. Good food in Ottawa is definitely varied. Ottawa's Byward Market is just steps away from Parliament Hill, the powerhouse of Canada. Parliamentarians like to come here during their lunch break. But the market in the lower town is also popular with tourists in Ottawa. Here you can make a culinary stop on your city tour. Most of them stroll through the market halls in the center of the market. There, traders sell their goods to their customers over the counter. Appetizing sandwiches, fresh fruit and vegetables, imaginatively prepared salads, fresh fruit juice drinks and smoothies, fragrant breads and cakes fresh from the oven. A paradise for everyone who likes to eat well.

 

 

The delicacies are simply eaten while strolling through the market or in one of the cafés. They usually set up their tables outdoors. However, you need luck to snag one of these. The rush to the market is great. In front of the halls, farmers from the area tout their freshly harvested fruit and vegetables as well as fresh flowers, which seem to attract the eyes – and cameras – of passers-by. There is a hustle and bustle at the Ottawa market.

 

Courtyard Restaurant & Ottawa Food Tour at Byward Market
Tips for Foodies in Ottawa - Courtyard Restaurant & Byward Market

The Five Biggest Sports Clubs In Th...
The Five Biggest Sports Clubs In The World
 

Ottawa Food Tour for gourmets at Byward Market

However, if you are looking for spices, fruits, all kinds of cheeses, tea blends or Italian noodles or types of salami, you are well advised to look around in the small shops at Byward Market in Ottawa. From the outside, these look rather inconspicuous. However, if you open their doors and browse through what they have to offer, there are many interesting things to discover.

 

Goat Cheese on an Ottawa Food Tour
Goat Cheese on our Ottawa Food Tour

 

Good Food in Ottawa - Cheeses, Teas and Spices on an Ottawa Food Tour

For example, there is the cheese shop. Here you can buy cheeses from the farms around Ottawa as well as those from all over Canada. We even discover cheeses from the great cheese nations of the world. In the next shop, the door opens to a paradise for everyone who likes exotic spices. Here you will find spices from India, Arabia, from the Spice Islands as well as from Africa. You discover the smells of the world. Ottawa's gourmet chefs know this, too. They like coming here. Here they order spices that cannot be found anywhere else in the city.

 

 

If you ask the owner about exotic spice mixtures, he knows almost all of them. If not, he pulls out all the stops until he has found the most unusual spice mixture. His customers are important to him. A visit to the tea shop is also interesting. Its owner is from Germany. She sells tea blends such as John Lemmon, Berry White or Red Zeppelin Tea. Reason enough to get involved in a tea tasting.

 

Adventurous tea blends on an Ottawa Food Tour
We discover adventurous tea blends on our Ottawa Food Tour

 

Food Tour in Ottawa at Byward Market

If you want to get to know the Byward Market in Ottawa with gourmets, you can do so on a food tour with C'est Bon Cooking. Paola, our guide, shows us backyards with cobblestones. There I almost expect a horse-drawn carriage to turn the corner. She also introduces us to chefs who let us taste their delicacies.

 

John Lemmon Tea at the Byward Market in Ottawa
John Lemmon Tea at Byward Market on our Ottawa Food Tour

 

The Courtyard Restaurant cooks according to the principles of fusion cuisine. We also get to know the owners of small shops around the Byward Market. These give us a glimpse of their stores. We find out where they get their goods from. There is always something to taste. A bite of cheese here, a cup of tea there. In the next shop an extra hot spice. This finally makes us long for Italian baguette. We want to soothe our burning throats again. Finally, let's do like President Obama. We conclude our shopping spree through the Ottawa market with Beavertails. It's a puff pastry invented at the Byward Market.

 

 

 


Travel Arrangements:

Getting there

Arrival by plane, bus or train*. Air Canada, Lufthansa and United Airlines fly there Ottawa as well as after Toronto.

Rental car

Book your rental car here

Caravan

Compare motorhome prices here.

Excursions as well as city tours in Ottawa

Book your excursions and city tours here


 

Ottawa Food Tour
Click on the photo and save the "Ottawa Food Tour" on Pinterest.

Do you also know:

 

Discover more Food Travel as well as Ontario tips here. Other Cities in Canada you can also find here.

Source Ottawa Food Tour: On-site research assisted by Ottawa Tourism. However, our opinion remains our own.

Text Ottawa Food Tour: © Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline

Ottawa Food Tour - Good food in Ottawa

10 thoughts too "Ottawa Food Tour - Good food in Ottawa"

  1. Oh Ottawa, we felt very well and that was also because of the food. I remember that one day we had great breakfasts. In a big industrial hall. From the outside totally inconspicuous and rather uninviting, from the inside super cool and the breakfast was awesome, they baked everything themselves. After a visit to the museum (that was great) we are then, as you to the Byward Market. And I have to agree with you: this is a great place. So from my own experience, yes, Ottawa is really a great foodie place and I can only sign your tips.

    Best regards,
    Nicole from the travel blog PASSENGER X

    1. Dear Nicole,

      We are big fans of Ottawa and have been there many times. The proximity to Quebec may make sure that you can eat there so well. The French-Canadian influence is noticeable in the kitchens of the city.

      Best regards,
      Monika

  2. Such markets are totally my thing. The variety, the smells in the air, I just love food markets. Did you write the article exactly for me? It is already a bit far away from me, but definitely a reason to stop by there.

    Regards
    Victoria

    1. Dear Victoria,

      These markets are an experience all over the world. Not just for the food, but also for the people you meet there.

      Best regards,
      Monika

  3. Dear Monika,

    that sounds very exciting. I would definitely head straight for the cheese shop and the adjacent spice shop !! I love cheese and spices :)

    Best regards,
    Michaela

    1. Dear Michaela,

      the two shops were a real experience. Unbelievable, how many cheeses from all over the world were there. And the spices first! You would like that.

      Best regards,
      Monika

  4. Dear Ones,
    That sounds deliciously tempting. Especially the John Lemmon Tea I would like to try.
    Immediately I have the taste of fresh lemon herbal tea in the mouth.
    Best regards,
    Katja

    1. Dear Katja,

      that's it too. Not only the teas were seductive. In Ottawa, there are some culinary surprises to discover.

      Best regards,
      Monika

Comments are closed.

Nach oben scrollen

Ottawa Food Tour – Gutes Essen in Ottawa

Teesorten

Ottawa Food Tour


Auf einer Ottawa Food Tour erlebst Du die Stadt von ihrer kulinarischen Seite. Gutes Essen in Ottawa ist auf jeden Fall abwechslungsreich. Der Byward Market in Ottawa liegt nur wenige Schritte entfernt vom Parliament Hill, dem Machtzentrum Kanadas. Hierher kommen die Parlamentarier gern während ihrer Mittagspause. Aber auch bei Touristen ist der Markt in der Unterstadt von Ottawa sehr beliebt. Hier legen sie einen kulinarischen Stopp auf ihrer Stadtbesichtigung ein. Die meisten von ihnen bummeln durch die Markthallen im Zentrum des Markts. Dort verkaufen Händler ihre Waren über den Tresen an ihre Kunden. Appetitliche Sandwiches, frisches Obst sowie Gemüse, fantasievoll zubereitete Salate, frische Fruchtsaftgetränke und Smoothies, duftende Brotsorten und Kuchen frisch aus dem Ofen. Ein Schlaraffenland für alle, die gern gut essen.

Ottawa Food Tour – Byward Market ...
Ottawa Food Tour – Byward Market in Ottawa
 

 

Verzehrt werden die Leckereien einfach beim Marktbummel oder in einem der Cafés. Diese stellen ihre Tische meist im Freien auf. Allerdings braucht man Glück, um einen davon ergattern. Der Ansturm auf den Markt ist groß. Vor den Hallen preisen Farmer aus der Umgebung ihre erntefrischen Obst- und Gemüsesorten genauso an wie frische Blumen, die die Augen – und Fotoapparate – der Passanten anzuziehen scheinen. Ein buntes Treiben herrscht auf dem Markt von Ottawa.

 

Courtyard Restaurant & Ottawa Food Tour im Byward Market
Tipps für Foodies in Ottawa – Courtyard Restaurant & Byward Market

 

Ottawa Food Tour für Gourmets im Byward Market

Wer jedoch eher auf der Suche nach Gewürzen, Früchten, Käsesorten aller Art, Teemischungen oder italienischen Nudeln oder Salamisorten ist, der ist gut beraten, sich in den kleinen Geschäften am Byward Market in Ottawa umzusehen. Von außen wirken diese eher unscheinbar. Öffnet man jedoch ihre Türen und stöbert in ihrem Angebot, gibt es viel Interessantes zu entdecken.

 

Ziegenkäse auf einer Ottawa Food Tour
Ziegenkäse auf unserer Ottawa Food Tour

 

Gutes Essen in Ottawa – Käsesorten, Tees und Gewürze auf einer Ottawa Food Tour

Da ist zum Beispiel der Käseladen. In diesem gibt’s es Käsesorten von den Farmen der Umgebung Ottawas genauso zu kaufen wie solche aus ganz Kanada. Wir entdecken sogar Käse aus den großen Käsenationen der Welt. Daneben öffnet sich die Tür zu einem Paradies für alle, die gerne exotisch würzen. Hier findest Du Gewürzsorten aus Indien, Arabien, von den Gewürzinseln ebenso wie aus Afrika. Du entdeckst die Gerüche der Welt. Das wissen die Gourmetköche Ottawas ebenfalls. Sie kommen gern hierher. Hier bestellen sie Gewürze, die es anderswo in der Stadt nicht gibt.

 

 

Wenn man den Besitzer nach exotischen Gewürzmischungen fragt, kennt er sie fast alle. Falls nicht, setzt er alle Hebel in Bewegung, bis er auch die außergewöhnlichste Würzmixtur gefunden hat. Seine Kunden sind ihm wichtig. Interessant ist auch ein Besuch im Teeladen. Dessen Besitzerin stammt aus Deutschland. Sie verkauft Teemischungen wie den John Lemmon, Berry White oder den Red Zeppelin Tee. Grund genug, sich einmal auf eine Teeprobe einzulassen.

 

Abenteuerliche Teemischungen auf einer Ottawa Food Tour
Abenteuerliche Teemischungen entdecken wir auf unserer Ottawa Food Tour

 

Food Tour in Ottawa im Byward Market

Wer den Byward Market in Ottawa mit Gourmets kennen lernen möchte, kann dies auf einer Food Tour von C’est Bon Cooking machen. Paola, unsere Führerin, zeigt uns Hinterhöfe mit Kopfsteinpflaster. Dort erwarte ich fast, dass gleich eine Pferdekutsche um die Ecke biegt. Sie stellt uns außerdem Chefs vor, die uns ihre Köstlichkeiten probieren lassen.

 

John Lemmon Tea im Byward Market in Ottawa
John Lemmon Tea im Byward Market auf unserer Ottawa Food Tour

 

Im Courtyard Restaurant kocht man nach den Prinzipien der Fusion Cuisine. Außerdem lernen wir die Besitzer kleiner Geschäfte um den Byward Market kennen. Diese geben uns einen Einblick in ihre Läden. Wir erfahren, woher sie ihre Waren beziehen. Immer wieder gibt es etwas zu probieren. Hier ein Häppchen Käse, dort eine Tasse Tee. Im nächsten Laden ein extra scharfes Gewürz. Dieses lässt uns schließlich nach italienischem Baguette lechzen. Wir wollen unsere brennenden Kehlen wieder beruhigen. Zum Schluss machen wir es wie Präsident Obama. Wir beschließen unseren Shopping Bummel über den Markt von Ottawa mit Beavertails. Das ist Blätterteiggebäck, das auf dem Byward Market erfunden wurde.

 

 

 


Reiseorganisation:

Anreise

Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*. Es fliegen Air Canada, Lufthansa sowie United Airlines nach Ottawa ebenso wie nach Toronto.

Mietwagen

Buche Deinen Mietwagen hier

Wohnmobil

Vergleiche Wohnmobil Preise hier.

Ausflüge sowie Stadtrundfahrten in Ottawa

Buche Deine Ausflüge und Stadtrundfahrten hier


 

Ottawa Food Tour
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir die „Ottawa Food Tour“ auf Pinterest.

Kennst Du überdies:

 

Entdecke weitere Genuss Reisetipps sowie Ontario Tipps hier. Andere Städte in Kanada findest Du außerdem hier.

Quelle Ottawa Food Tour: Recherchen vor Ort mit Unterstützung von Ottawa Tourism. Unsere Meinung bleibt jedoch unsere eigene.

Text Ottawa Food Tour: © Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline

Ottawa Food Tour – Gutes Essen in Ottawa

10 Gedanken zu „Ottawa Food Tour – Gutes Essen in Ottawa

  1. Oh Ottawa, da haben wir uns super wohl gefühlt und das auch wegen des Essens. Ich erinnere mich, dass wir den einen Tag erst richtig toll Frühstücken waren. In einer großen Industriehalle. Von außen total unscheinbar und eher nicht einladend, von innen super cool und das Frühstück war der Hammer, die haben da alles selbst gebacken. Nach einem Museumsbesuch (das war auch klasse) sind wir dann, wie ihr zum Byward Market. Und da muss ich euch zustimmen: das ist ein toller Ort. Also aus eigener Erfahrung, ja, Ottawa ist echt ein toller Foodie Ort und eure Tipps kann ich so nur unterschreiben.

    Liebe Grüße
    Nicole vom Reiseblog PASSENGER X

    1. Liebe Nicole,

      wir sind große Fans von Ottawa und waren schon öfter dort. Die Nähe zu Quebec sorgt vielleicht dafür, dass man dort auch so gut essen kann. Der frankokanadische Einfluss ist in den Küchen der Stadt spürbar.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika

  2. Solche Märkte sind ja total mein Ding. Die Vielfalt, die Gerüche in der Luft, ich liebe einfach Essens Märkte. Habt ihr den Artikel genau für mich geschrieben? Ein bisschen weit weg ist es jetzt schon von mir, aber auf jeden Fall ein Grund dort einmal vorbei zu schauen.

    Viele Grüße
    Victoria

    1. Liebe Victoria,

      diese Märkte sind auf der ganzen Welt ein Erlebnis. Nicht nur wegen des Essens, auch wegen der Menschen, die man dort trifft.

      Viele Grüße,
      Monika

  3. Liebe Monika,

    das klingt ja sehr spannend. Ich würde auf alle Fälle sofort auf den Käseladen und den daneben liegenden Gewürzladen zusteuern!! Ich liebe Käse und Gewürze :)

    Liebe Grüße,
    Michaela

    1. Liebe Michaela,

      die beiden Läden waren ein echtes Erlebnis. Unglaublich, wie viele Käsesorten aus aller Welt es dort gab. Und die Gewürze erst! Das würde Dir bestimmt gefallen.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika

  4. Ihr Lieben,
    das klingt verführerisch lecker. Besonders den John Lemmon Tea würde ich sehr gerne mal probieren.
    Sofort habe ich den Geschmack von frischem zitronigem Kräutertee im Mund.
    Liebe Grüße,
    Katja

    1. Liebe Katja,

      das ist es auch. Nicht nur die Tees waren verführerisch. In Ottawa gibt’s einige kulinarische Überraschungen zu entdecken.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika

Kommentare sind geschlossen.

Nach oben scrollen