Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Sydney on Vancouver Island

Yellow jellyfish

The Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Sydney BC near Victoria

Rarely has anything surprised and impressed me as much as the Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Sidney BC on Vancouver Island. We are interested in the animals that live in the depths of our oceans and we also find them fascinating. A visit to the aquarium is always exciting, precisely because you hardly get to see these creatures otherwise. Usually there is something special to discover. However, at the Shaw Ocean Discovery Center it wasn't just one species or a few that fascinated me. On the contrary, what impressed me so much was the diversity of the underwater creatures, but above all their color palette, which takes your breath away. All the yellow, blue, pink, white, violet and other colors that were swimming, crawling and gliding around.

 

 

Jellyfish at the Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Sidney on Vancouver Island
Jellyfish at the Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Vancouver Island

Underwater experience at Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre

The underwater experience begins even before we enter the aquarium. In the elevator that takes us from the entrance hall to the "deeps of the sea", it bubbles and gurgles as if we are actually diving into the ocean around Vancouver Island. At the same time, light games simulate illusions for the eye. We feel like we're in a wet suit. In this we swim down to the creatures that populate the waters off the coasts of the island. The experience is amplified when the elevator doors open. We are looking directly at waters in blue, in which dozens of jellyfish in yellow twist and squirm like in a sea ballet. Tentacles twirl transparent white shimmering beings through the water that look like they're being lit by a lamp inside. I find the jellyfish in sunny yellow even nicer, pushing themselves through the water with their tentacles. Some of them look like ballerina tutus.

 

Underwater world at the Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Sidney around Vancouver Island
Underwater world at the Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Sidney around Vancouver Island

Jellyfish, fish and animals hiding in the sand

But it's not just the jellyfish that offer a feast for the eyes in these waters. Almost every showcase that we see shows us fish and creatures in all colors, which also make this coast interesting for divers. It's teeming with red, blue and brown fish frolicking in the water. In between, we can hardly believe our eyes when suddenly stones - or what we thought were stones - start to move and turn out to be a sea wolf or a fish.

 

Sea anemones at Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Sidney on Vancouver Island
Sea anemones at the Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Sidney on Vancouver Island

Sea anemones at the Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Sidney

The sea anemones are colorful, fanning krill with their tentacles. This disappears in the gullet amidst their tentacles, which wag through the water. Actually practical - the food comes straight from the water into the stomach. Here, too, everything shines in pink, yellow, orange, reddish brown and snow-white. The sea around Vancouver Island is hard to beat in terms of colour. Very different from the depths of the St. Lawrence River. There are also creatures that fascinate. But the variety of colors is lacking as we see in Explorers in Ste-Anne-des-Monts could determine.

 

 

 


Travel Arrangements:

Check in:

Vancouver has an international airport where direct flights from Germany and Europe land. Book your flight here*.

Car Rental Vancouver Canada :

Cheap Car Hire - Book Fast and Easy! *

hotels:

accommodations on Vancouver Island * You can book through our partner booking.com.

 

Do you like to travel by motorhome?

  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you will find information and a selection in these  Booking options.
  • Check with our packing list for camperswhether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.

 


Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre
Click on the photo and save the "Shaw Ocean Discovery Center" on Pinterest

 

Do you already know:

 

Source Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre: On-site research supported by Tourism British Columbia and Tourism Victoria

Text: Copyright Monika Fuchs
Photos: Copyright Monika Fuchs
Video: Copyright Petar Fuchs

Shaw Ocean Discovery Center in Sydney on Vancouver Island
Nach oben scrollen

Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney auf Vancouver Island

Gelbe Qualle

Das Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney BC nahe Victoria

Selten hat mich etwas so überrascht und beeindruckt wie das Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney BC auf Vancouver Island. Uns interessieren die Tiere, die in den Tiefen unserer Ozeane vorkommen, und faszinierend finden wir sie auch. Gerade weil man diese Wesen sonst kaum zu sehen bekommt, ist ein Besuch im Aquarium immer spannend. Meist gibt es irgendetwas Besonderes zu entdecken. Im Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre war es jedoch nicht nur eine Tierart oder ein paar, die mich faszinierten. Im Gegenteil, was mich so beeindruckte, war die Vielfalt der Unterwasserwesen, aber vor allem deren Farbpalette, die einem den Atem raubt. Was da nicht alles in Gelb, Blau, Rosa, Weiß, Violett und was sonst noch für Farben herumschwamm, -krabbelte und -glitt.

 

 

Qualle im Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney in Vancouver Island
Qualle im Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Vancouver Island

Unterwasser-Erlebnis im Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre

Das Unterwasser-Erlebnis beginnt schon, bevor wir das Aquarium betreten. Im Aufzug, der uns von der Eingangshalle in die „Tiefen des Meeres“ bringt, blubbert und gluckert es, als ob wir tatsächlich in den Ozean um Vancouver Island abtauchen. Gleichzeitig simulieren Lichtspielereien Täuschungen fürs Auge. Wir fühlen uns, als ob wir in einem Tauchanzug stecken. In diesem schwimmen wir hinunter zu den Wesen, die die Gewässer vor den Küsten der Insel bevölkern. Das Erlebnis verstärkt sich noch, als sich die Aufzugtüren öffnen. Wir blicken direkt auf Gewässer in Blau, in dem sich Dutzende Quallen in Gelb wie in einem Meeres-Ballett umeinander drehen und winden. Tentakel wirbeln transparente weiß schimmernde Wesen durchs Wasser, die aussehen, als ob sie von einer Lampe im Inneren beleuchtet werden. Noch schöner finde ich die Quallen in Sonnengelb, die sich mit ihren Fangarmen durchs Wasser schieben. Einige von ihnen sehen aus wie die Tutus von Ballerinas.

 

Unterwasserwelt im Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney um Vancouver Island
Unterwasserwelt im Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney um Vancouver Island

Quallen, Fische und Tiere, die sich im Sand verstecken

Es sind aber nicht nur die Quallen, die in diesen Gewässern ein Fest für die Augen bieten. Fast jede Vitrine, die wir sehen, zeigt uns Fische und Lebewesen in allen Farben, die diese Küste auch für Taucher interessant machen. Da wimmelt es nur so von Fischen in Rot, Blau und Braun, die sich im Wasser tummeln. Dazwischen trauen wir immer wieder kaum unseren Augen, wenn sich plötzlich Steine – oder das, was wir dafür gehalten haben – zu bewegen beginnen und als Seewolf oder Fisch entpuppen.

 

Seeanemonen im Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidneyauf Vancouver Island
Seeanemonen im Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney auf Vancouver Island

Seeanemonen im Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney

Farbenfroh sind die Seeanemonen, die sich mit ihren Fangarmen Krill zufächeln. Dieser verschwindet im Schlund inmitten ihrer Tentakel, die durchs Wasser wedeln. Eigentlich praktisch – das Futter kommt quasi aus dem Wasser direkt in den Magen. Auch hier leuchtet alles in Rosa, Gelb, Orange, Rotbraun und Schneeweiß. Das Meer um Vancouver Island ist an Farbenpracht kaum zu überbieten. Ganz anders als die Tiefen des Sankt Lorenz Stroms. Dort gibt es auch Lebewesen, die faszinieren. Aber die Farbvielfalt fehlt, wie wir im Exploramer in Ste.-Anne-des-Monts feststellen konnten.

 

Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney, Vancouver Island


Reiseorganisation:

Anreise:

Buche hier Deine Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*Vancouver besitzt einen internationalen Flughafen, auf dem Direktflüge aus Deutschland und Europa landen. Buche Deinen Flug hier*.

Mietwagen Vancouver Canada :

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!*

Hotels:

Unterkünfte auf Vancouver Island* könnt Ihr über unseren Partner booking.com buchen.

 

Du reist gern mit dem Wohnmobil?

  • Willst Du ein Wohnmobil mieten? Dann findest Du hier Informationen und eine Auswahl an Buchungsmöglichkeiten.
  • Überprüfe mit unserer Packliste Wohnmobil, ob Du alles für Deine Wohnmobiltour eingepackt hast.

 


Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir das „Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du schon:

 

Quelle Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre: Recherchen vor Ort mit Unterstützung von Tourism British Columbia und Tourism Victoria

Text: Copyright Monika Fuchs
Fotos: Copyright Monika Fuchs
Video: Copyright Petar Fuchs

Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney auf Vancouver Island
Nach oben scrollen