Home » Wine » Wine Regions » Wine Events and Wine Festivals around the World

Wine Events and Wine Festivals around the World

Discover wine events and festivals around the world
Discover wine events and festivals around the world

Wine Events and Wine Festivals around the World

Visiting wine festivals and events is pure pleasure for wine lovers. We did that on our own trips to Wine Regions in Europe, Australia or South Africa detected. We also learned that these wine festivals are very different. At the same time, we were curious about what wine events look like in other parts of the world. So we asked travel bloggers from all over the world what wine events they attended and what was special about it. An interesting collection of events came together. Maybe she will also tempt you to celebrate the wine with the winemakers.

But first, let's introduce you to the wine festivals we have visited in recent years.

Wine Princess, Landsknecht and Ratsherr press the first wine of the year - wine festivals and wine events
Wine Princess, Landsknecht and Ratsherr press the first wine of the year

Wine Events in Germany

Tradition at the Volkach Wine Festival

The town of Volkach is located at the Mainschleife in the middle of the Franconian wine region. The Volkach Wine Festival takes place every year in August. It is one of the wine festivals on the Main river. The old town then turns into a festival venue. Visitors can taste the wines of participating winemakers and enjoy local food specialties. The Volkach Councilor, the Landsknecht and the Wine Princesses squeeze the first grapes of the year. The event is accompanied by brass music and dance performances by local folk groups.

Experience the wine festival in Volkach




Booking.com


The Schoppenstecher
The Schoppenstecher

Savor Wine at the Mainz Wine Market

The Mainzer wine market is completely different. This is one of the wine festivals that take place every year in the Rhine cities. Mainz we got to know as a city for wine lovers. Wine can be enjoyed there not only during the wine market. Numerous wine bars invite you to cozy hours in hospitable company all year round. There are also Mainz specialties such as Spunde Käs' or liver sausage. The Mainz wine market takes place on the last weekend in August and the first weekend in September. It is one of the wine festivals where the entire population of the city meets for a drink in the Volkspark. You listen to the music groups, stroll past the stands that offer Mainz delicacies or enjoy the evening with friends in the rose garden.

Experience the wine market in Mainz

  • Book an overnight stay in Mainz * and enjoy the evening on the wine market with the Mainzers.
  • Discover Mainz and the surrounding area on your own with these Mainz travel guides *.




Booking.com


Assmannshausen at the Rhine in Flames Wine Events in Germany
Assmannshausen near the Rhine in flames

Wine Picnic in Assmannshausen

I wouldn't rank it as a wine festival, but it's definitely a wine event: the Wine Picnic in Assmannshausen above the Rhine river. We experienced it at the festival, when the Rhine celebrates itself - during Rhine in Flames. Then the cities along the Rhine celebrate their river, but also the very special way of life that can be enjoyed in the wine regions along the river. While the festively illuminated ships pass below us on the Rhine, we experience a picnic in the vineyard, that we will not forget.

Enjoy the wine region around Assmannshausen




Booking.com


Wines for wine festivals
Wine

Wine Festivals in Austria

Austria has many wine regions, that are worth a visit. We enjoyed wine and gourmet festivals in some of them.

The Genussmeile in Gumpoldskirchen

A wine event that we really like is the Gourmet Mile in Gumpoldskirchen on the edge of the Vienna Woods. Gumpoldskirchen is a municipality in the middle of the Thermenregion Wine Region. It takes place every year on the first two weekends in September. A walk along Vienna's first water pipe hiking trail from Bad Vöslau via Gumpoldskirchen to Mödling is a pleasurable experience that is second to none. During the festival wine lovers can hike through the vineyards and taste wine, storm (fresh wine) and must along the way. There are also regional specialties to taste at numerous stands.

Experience the Genussmeile in Gumpoldskirchen

  • Book an overnight stay in Gumpoldskirchen * and stroll along the Genussmeile with leisure.
  • Explore the Vienna area and the Vienna Woods on your own with these Guidebooks *.




Booking.com


Long blackboard in Graz
Long blackboard in Graz

The Lange Meile in Graz - a Food & Wine Event

The Lange Meile in Graz is not a pure wine festival. It is an internationally known event, that attracts gourmets and wine lovers from all over the world to Graz. In the second half of August, the entire city center of Graz is transformed into a restaurant for connoisseurs. Then the best chefs in town boil up and serve Styrian specialties paired with excellent wines from Styria for guests from all over the world.

Experience the Lange Tafel in Graz

  • Stay in Graz * and enjoy a gourmet experience in a class of its own.
  • Explore Graz and surroundings on your own with these Guidebooks *.




Booking.com


Wine Festival in Hungary

We asked travel and food bloggers from all over the world which wine festivals and events they have experienced and can recommend. One of them takes place in Hungary.

Buda Castle - Photo by Sage Scott, the Everyday Walker
Buda Castle - Photo by Sage Scott, the Everyday Wanderer

The Budapest Wine Festival

Perched high above the Danube River, on grounds where kings and queens once strolled, sits the Buda Castle. Today the royal palace is a World Heritage site that contains the National Gallery and Budapest History Museum. But one weekend in early September, the lush grounds of Buda Castle are transformed into one of the best wine festivals in the world.

Under crisp tents, festival attendees can taste an amazing array of Hungarian wines. There are internationally known wines, like Egri Bikaver (better known as Bull’s Blood) and sweet dessert wines from Tokaj. But there are also new wines to discover, like my new favorite, Sauska wines, made from grapes grown in Villány. From the historical setting to the sweeping views to the delicious wines, the Budapest Wine Festival is definitely one wine festival you won’t want to miss!

Pro Tip: While you can meander through a beautiful, parklike setting to climb the hill to Buda Castle, the funicular is a fun way to ascend the hillside. (And you can always walk down after enjoying the Budapest Wine Festival.)

Wine Glass Holders at the Budapest Wine Festival - Photo by Sage Scott, the Everyday Wanderer
Wine Glass Holders at the Budapest Wine Festival - Photo by Sage Scott, the Everyday Wanderer

A tip from Everyday Wanderer

After growing up living all over the United States and Europe, Sage Scott writes her travel blog with a midlife traveler’s perspective from America’s Heartland. From Kansas City, the Midwestern city affectionately called the Paris of the Plains (and the undisputed Barbeque Capital of the World), Sage shares her experiences and provides helpful travel tips on her blog, Everyday Wanderer.

Experience wine and cuisine in Budapest




Booking.com


Wine festivals in Franciacorta - Copyright Untold Morsels
Franciacorta - Copyright Untold Morsels

Wine Event in Italy

The Franciacorta Summer Festival

If you love sparkling wine, the Franciacorta Summer Festival is a celebration that should not be missed. The festival takes place over four months in the Franciacorta region of Lombardy, Italy, not far from the banks of beautiful Lake Iseo.

As befits a wine with DOCG status, the festival celebrates not only the wine but the terroir that produces it. Visitors can enjoy guided walks through the vineyards, photography workshops, tours of local historic landmarks and concerts as part of the festival. But of course the main attraction is the wine tasting and food pairing.

Franciacorta sparkling wine is produced with chardonnay and pinot blanc grapes with two fermentations in the bottle, much like champagne. It pairs perfectly with aperitif snacks and local lake fish. You can experience suggested pairings at one of many local restaurants that have created special menus for the festival.

Of course don’t miss visiting at least a few of the 117 family run wineries in the region. Guido Berlucchi is a great place to start. This is the vineyard credited with creating the first vintages of Franciacorta.

Franciacorta - Copyright Untold Morsels
Franciacorta - Copyright Untold Morsels

A Tip from Untold Morsels

Untold Morsels is a travel blog with food, family and culture in mind. Founder Katy Clarke has been traveling since she was a teenager and is passionate about uncovering new and exciting experiences in classic and lesser known destinations. She is always dreaming of Italy, its history, food and wine and recently started a new site - Untold Italy - dedicated to her favourite country.

Discover wine and cuisine in Franciacorta




Booking.com


Vineyard in Spring Copyright Wanderlust on a Budget
Vineyard in Spring Copyright Wanderlust on a Budget

Wine Festivals in the United States

The Cayuga Lake Wine Trail on the Finger Lakes

Located in the heart of New York state, the Finger Lakes are home to the oldest wine trail in the United States. While small, the Cayuga Lake Wine Trail has some amazing wineries along with its history - and even better festivals to accompany them!

My favorite is the Wine & Herb Fest. Held over two separate weekends every spring, the Wine & Herb Fest is a mixture of wine, food, and plants! At each participating winery, you get to sample wine along with a signature dish created for the event. Each dish features a different herb or vegetable; after you sample,you get to take home a seedling of that plant to grow in your own garden.

With your ticket purchase, you’ll receive a festival wine glass along with a recipe book, so you can recreate the dishes once your plants have grown.

If you have more time to spend in the region, make the drive over to Seneca Lake, where you’ll find over 100 more wineries and breweries!

Sycamore White Copyright Wanderlust on a Budget
Sycamore White Copyright Wanderlust on a Budget

A tip from Wanderlust on a Budget

I'm lucky enough to live within an hour-drive from one of the best wine regions in the United States, the Finger Lakes. In Wanderlust on a budget Danielle tells about her travel experiences.

Experience the wine region at the Finger Lakes




Booking.com


The Bottlerock Wine Event in Napa Valley

BottleRock in Napa Valley is one of the most unique wine festivals because in the world it pairs delightful local pours with live music. Held annually over Memorial Day weekend, you can purchase a daily or weekend pass to peruse the performances, which have ranged from major pop headliners to 90’s throwback bands from your childhood.

But being that it’s held in California’s wine mecca, it’s the viticulture that steals the show. The wine garden has sips from 20 local vineyards with summertime favorites like Butter Chardonnay, Candy Dry Rosé, and Candy Frosé designed to beat the heat and keep you cool. On-site sommeliers are on-hand to help you find your new favorite sauvignon blanc, chardonnay, pinot noir, or cabernet to pair with sweet treats and chef-driven creations (seriously, what music festival has sushi?).

Sip and swirl as you watch culinary demos from powerhouse chefs like Gail Simmons and Padma Lakshmi and take in the sweet sound of the start of summer.

Lauren in Napa - Copyright The Down Lo
Lauren in Napa - Copyright The Down Lo

A Tip from The Down Lo

From becoming a certified viking in Iceland to blackwater rafting in New Zealand, Lo is here to introduce you to the weirdest and wackiest things you didn't even know you wanted on your bucket list. On a mission to see all 50 states and 50 countries by 50, she always seeks out the most offbeat adventures wherever she goes close to home and across the globe. You can find more about this at The Down Lo.

Discover the wine region in the Napa Valley

  • Experience the Napa Valley Wine Region * on one of these wine tastings or tours through the Napa Valley.
  • Book a hotel in the Napa Valley * and take your time for the wineries of this wine region.
  • Explore the Napa Valley on your own with these Guidebooks *.




Booking.com


Do you know other Wine Festivals and Wine Events?

There are many more wine festivals and wine events in Europe and the rest of the world. Which did you visit? Tell us about your wine festivals and wine experiences in the comments. We want to discover more.

Wine festivals and events
Click on the photo and pin "Wine Festivals and Wine Events" on Pinterest

Source: own research and contributions by The Everyday Wanderer, Untold Morsels, Wanderlust on a Budget and The Down Lo.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline and the mentioned blogs as stated in the image description.

Responses

  1. Ines & Thomas
    | Reply

    Hello you two,
    it all looks great! We also like wine and wine festivals very much. Unfortunately we have not yet made it to the Long Table in Graz, although we live here, but it is certainly a great experience.
    Best regards
    Ines and Thomas

    • Monika & Petar Fox
      | Reply

      Dear Ines & Thomas,

      the long table inspired us. There were even gourmets from Australia. You only have to get the tickets early. They are sold out a year in advance.

      Best regards,
      Monika

  2. Travel Anne
    | Reply

    Dear Ones,
    that's really a great collection of wine events worldwide. By the way, we have already been to the Napa Valley. We had a cool wine tasting at Lake Superior in Minnesota - no wine is expected there.
    Best regards from Sanne

    • Monika & Petar Fox
      | Reply

      Hello Sanne,

      the Napa Valley is really great. Even if the smaller family wineries are slowly disappearing there. As far as wine regions in other regions are concerned, we are always surprised when wine grows everywhere and it tastes good too.

      We discovered the most extreme region for viticulture so far in Québec. It has temperatures of -30 ° Celsius in winter. In such a climate, you normally don't expect wine at all. However, vines bred specifically for this climate are grown there. The cultivation methods are also adapted to these extreme temperatures. The University of Minnesota appears to be a leader in growing special vines for such climates. Therefore, I am not surprised that you have just discovered a wine region in Minnesota.

      Thank you for your nice comment.
      Best regards,
      Monika & Petar

  3. Gina | 2 on the go
    | Reply

    The view from Assmannshausen on the Rhine at night is beautiful. We would have liked this wine picnic too.
    We on the Lower Rhine tend to have no wine festivals. Next spring we want to go to the Weinpirsch near Bingen. Friends told us about it. We are curious.

    Best regards
    Gina and Marcus

    • Monika & Petar Fox
      | Reply

      Hello everyone,

      Wine no longer grows on the Lower Rhine, or am I wrong. The Rhenish wine regions are further south. However, I would like to be instructed otherwise, because we don't know that well there.

      The Weinstirsch near Bingen sounds interesting. I'm already looking forward to your report.

      Best regards,
      Monika & Petar

  4. Auszeitgeniesser
    | Reply

    Dear Ones,
    I have to confess, even though I have already experienced many wine tastings and have a lot to do with enjoyment, I unfortunately don't understand anything about wine.
    Or to put it another way, I can tell you whether I like a wine ;-) and that's where my knowledge ends :-)
    Nevertheless, I like wine and love to enjoy cozy parties.

    Best regards, Katja

    • Monika & Petar Fox
      | Reply

      Dear Katja,

      Wine is a fascinating topic if you take a closer look at it. We're not specialists either, but the more we learn about wine, the more exciting it becomes.

      Best regards,
      Monika

  5. Barbara / travel psycho
    | Reply

    I am also a great lover of wine, so I have been to some wine festivals. The festivals of the European wine knighthood in Burgenland are really great (there are several at different locations). Southern Styria always turns into a vintage festival Eldorado in autumn - they are particularly large in Ehrenhausen and Gamlitz. And in Apulia I was once at Vini del Sud, where you can taste southern Italian wines. Oh yes, and in Graz the presentation of the Junker is always a very big spectacle! LG Barbara

    • Monika & Petar Fox
      | Reply

      Dear Barbara,

      these are great tips. Thanks for that We have been to Burgenland many times, but never to a wine festival. In southern Styria we know and love the wine route. We have been there twice and also in Ehrenhausen and Gamlitz. I have never heard of the Junker in Graz. We have always missed the wine festivals in these regions. Have you ever reported about it in your blog? I also imagine the wine festival in Puglia to be very exciting.

  6. Gabrielaaufreisen
    | Reply

    Dear Monika, dear Petar,
    you went through a lot of wine festivals! I have been living in Breisgau for a while now, very close to the Kaiserstuhl. A wine festival takes place here in practically every small or large town in late summer.
    Best regards
    Gabriela

    • Monika & Petar Fox
      | Reply

      Hello Gabriela,

      are there any reports on your blog? We are very interested in the wine festivals.

      Best regards,
      Monika

  7. Dear Monika, your contribution really makes you want to visit one or the other event. The wine picnic at Assmannshausen is really super nice. Here in Baden Württemberg there are also a number of events, for example the Ortenau Wine Festival in Offenburg. This takes several days and takes place in the old town of the beautiful city in the Black Forest.
    Kind regards, Dagmar

    • Monika & Petar Fox
      | Reply

      Dear Dagmar,

      we also really enjoyed the wine picnic. The wine festival in Ortenau sounds interesting. We'll remember that.

      Best regards,
      Monika

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Genuss Reisemagazin » Wein » Weinregionen » Weinfeste und Wine Events in aller Welt

Weinfeste und Wine Events in aller Welt

Entdecke Weinfeste und Wine Events in aller Welt
Entdecke Weinfeste und Wine Events in aller Welt

Weinfeste und Wine Events in aller Welt

Weinfeste und Wine Events zu besuchen ist pures Vergnügen für Weinliebhaber. Das haben wir auf unseren eigenen Reisen in Weinregionen in Europa, Australien oder Südafrika festgestellt. Dass diese Wein Festivals sehr unterschiedlich sind, haben wir dabei ebenfalls erfahren. Gleichzeitig machte uns das neugierig, wie Wein Events in anderen Teilen der Welt aussehen. Daher haben wir Reiseblogger aus aller Welt gefragt, welche Weinveranstaltungen sie besucht haben, und was das Besondere daran war. Dabei kam eine interessante Sammlung an Veranstaltungen zusammen. Vielleicht lockt sie ja auch Dich, einmal den Wein zusammen mit den Winzern zu feiern.

Aber zunächst stellen wir Euch die Wein Festivals vor, die wir in den letzten Jahren besucht haben.

 

Weinprinzessin, Landsknecht und Ratsherr pressen den ersten Wein des Jahres - Weinfeste und Wine Events
Weinprinzessin, Landsknecht und Ratsherr pressen den ersten Wein des Jahres

Wine Events in Deutschland

Tradition auf dem Volkach Weinfest

Der Ort Volkach liegt direkt an der Mainschleife mitten im Weingebiet. Das Volkacher Weinfest findet jedes Jahr im August statt. Es ist eines der Weinfeste am Main. Dann wird die ganze Altstadt zum Festplatz. Die Besucher können die Weine der teilnehmenden Winzer probieren und lokale Spezialitäten dazu genießen. Der Volkacher Ratsherr, der Landsknecht und die Weinprinzessinnen pressen die ersten Trauben des Jahres. Untermalt wird das Geschehen mit Blasmusik und Tanzvorführungen örtlicher Trachtengruppen.

 

Erlebe das Weinfest in Volkach

  • Buche eine Übernachtung in Volkach*, dann kannst Du Wein und fränkische Spezialitäten ausgiebig genießen.
  • Entdecke Franken auf eigene Faust mit diesen Franken Reiseführern*
  • Schau Dir die Weinregion am Main in unserer YouTube-Playlist an.



Booking.com

Der Schoppenstecher
Der Schoppenstecher

Weingenuss beim Mainzer Weinmarkt

Ganz anders ist der Mainzer Weinmarkt. Dieser ist eines der Weinfeste, die alljährlich in den Rhein-Städten stattfinden. Mainz haben wir als Stadt für Weinliebhaber kennen gelernt. Nicht nur während des Weinmarkts kann man dort Wein genießen. Zahlreiche Weinstuben laden das ganze Jahr über zu gemütlichen Stunden in gastfreundlicher Gesellschaft ein. Dazu gibt’s Mainzer Spezialitäten wie Spunde Käs‘ oder Leberwurst. Der Mainzer Weinmarkt findet am letzten August-Wochenende und am ersten September-Wochenende statt. Es ist eines der Weinfeste, bei denen sich die gesamte Bevölkerung der Stadt auf einen Schoppen im Volkspark trifft. Man lauscht den Musikgruppen, bummelt vorbei an den Ständen, die Mainzer Köstlichkeiten anbieten oder genießt den Abend mit Freunden im Rosengarten.

 

Erlebe den Weinmarkt in Mainz

  • Buche eine Übernachtung in Mainz* und genieße den Abend auf dem Weinmarkt mit den Mainzern.
  • Entdecke Mainz und Umgebung auf eigene Faust mit diesen Mainz Reiseführern*.



Booking.com

Assmannshausen beim Rhein in Flammen Wine Events in Deutschland
Assmannshausen beim Rhein in Flammen

Weinpicknick in Assmannshausen

Ich würde es nicht unter die Weinfeste einreihen, ein Wine Event jedoch ist es auf alle Fälle: das Weinpicknick in Assmannshausen am Rhein. Wir haben es erlebt bei dem Fest, an dem der Rhein sich selbst feiert – bei Rhein in Flammen. Dann feiern die Städte entlang des Rheins ihren Fluss, aber auch die ganz besondere Lebensart, die man in den Weinregionen entlang des Flusses genießen kann. Während unter uns die festlich beleuchteten Schiffe auf dem Rhein vorüberziehen, erleben wir ein Picknick im Weinberg, das wir nicht so schnell vergessen werden.

 

Genieße die Weinregion um Assmannshausen



Booking.com

Wines für Weinfeste
Wein

 

Weinfeste in Österreich

Österreich hat viele Weinregionen, die einen Besuch lohnen. Wir haben in einigen davon Wein- und Genussfeste besucht.

Die Genussmeile in Gumpoldskirchen

Ein Weinfest, das uns sehr gut gefällt, ist die Genussmeile in Gumpoldskirchen am Rand des Wienerwalds. Gumpoldskirchen ist eine Gemeinde, die mitten im Weingebiet Thermenregion liegt. Bei der Genussmeile, die jedes Jahr an den ersten zwei September-Wochenenden stattfindet, bietet der 1. Wiener Wasserleitungswanderweg von Bad Vöslau über Gumpoldskirchen bis nach Mödling ein Genuss-Erlebnis, das Seinesgleichen sucht. Dann können Weinliebhaber durch die Weinberge wandern und unterwegs Wein, Sturm und Most kosten. Dazu gibt’s an zahlreichen Ständen regionale Spezialitäten zu probieren.

 

Erlebe die Genussmeile in Gumpoldskirchen

  • Buche eine Übernachtung in Gumpoldskirchen* und schlendere entlang der Genussmeile mit Muße.
  • Erkunde die Wiener Umgebung und den Wienerwald auf eigene Faust mit diesen Reiseführern*.



Booking.com

Lange Tafel in Graz
Lange Tafel in Graz

 

Die Lange Meile in Graz – ein Food & Wine Event

Kein reines Weinfest ist die Lange Meile in Graz. Dafür ist es eine international bekannte Veranstaltung, die Feinschmecker und Weinliebhaber aus aller Welt nach Graz lockt. In der zweiten Augusthälfte verwandelt sich die ganze Innenstadt von Graz in ein Restaurant für Genießer. Dann kochen die besten Köche der Stadt auf und servieren den Gästen aus aller Welt steirische Spezialitäten gepaart mit exzellenten Weinen aus der Steiermark.

 

Erlebe die Lange Tafel in Graz

  • Übernachte in Graz* und genieße ein Gourmet-Erlebnis der Extraklasse.
  • Erkunde Graz und Umgebung auf eigene Faust mit diesen Reiseführern*.



Booking.com

Weinfest in Ungarn

Wir haben Reiseblogger aus aller Welt gefragt, welche Weinfeste und Wine Events sie erlebt haben und empfehlen können. Eines davon findet in Ungarn statt.

Buda Castle - Photo by Sage Scott, the Everyday Wanderer
Buda Castle – Photo by Sage Scott, the Everyday Wanderer

 

Das Budapest Weinfest

Über der Donau steht Schloss Buda auf Boden, über den einst Könige und Königinnen flanierten. Heute ist der Königspalast Welterbe und beherbergt die Nationalgalerie und das Geschichtsmuseum von Budapest. Aber an einem Wochenende Anfang September findet auf dem Gelände von Schloss Buda eines der Weinfeste der Welt statt.

Unter Zelten können Festivalbesucher Weine aus Ungarn probieren. Es gibt Weine, die international bekannt sind wie Egri Bikaver (besser bekannt als Erlauer Stierblut) und Dessertweine aus Tokaj. Aber es gibt auch neue Weine zu entdecken wie meinen Lieblingswein aus Trauben, die in Villány wachsen. Von der historischen Kulisse bis zu Ausblicken auf die Weine ist das Budapester Weinfest eines, das Du nicht verpassen solltest!

Pro Tip: Während Du durch einen Park hinauf zum Schloss Buda gehen kannst, kannst Du auch mit einem Aufzug nach oben gelangten. (Du kannst nach dem Budapester Weinfest immer noch bergab gehen.)

 

Wine Glass Holders at the Budapest Wine Festival - Photo by Sage Scott, the Everyday Wanderer
Wine Glass Holders at the Budapest Wine Festival – Photo by Sage Scott, the Everyday Wanderer

 

Ein Tipp von Everyday Wanderer

Sage Scott wuchs in den Vereinigten Staaten und in Europa auf und schreibt auf ihrem Reiseblog über Amerikas Kernland aus der Perspektive einer Reisenden mittleren Alters. Aus Kansas City, dem Paris der Plains, wie es genannt wird (und der Barbeque Hauptstadt der Welt), teilt Sage ihre Erfahrungen mit und bietet Reisetipps auf ihrem Blog Everyday Wanderer.

 

Erlebe Wein und Kulinarik in Budapest



Booking.com

Weinfeste in Franciacorta - Copyright Untold Morsels
Franciacorta – Copyright Untold Morsels

 

Wine Event in Italien

Das Franciacorta Sommerfest

Wenn Du Sekt magst, dann solltest Du das Franciacorta Sommerfest nicht verpassen. Das Festival findet über vier Monate in der Franciacorta Region in der Lombardei in Italien statt. Nicht weit vom schönen Iseo See.

Wie es für einen Wein mit DOCG Status passt, feiert das Fest nicht nur den Wein, sondern auch das Terroir, in dem er wächst. Besucher können geführte Weinbergtouren genießen, an Fotokursen oder an Führungen durch örtliche Sehenswürdigkeiten teilnehmen. Auch Konzerte sind Teil des Festes. Die Hauptattraktion sind allerdings die Weinproben und Food Pairings.

Franciacorta Sekt wird in zwei Gärprozessen in der Flasche produziert aus Chardonnay und Pinot Blanc Trauben, ähnlich wie Champagner. Er passt zu Aperitif Snacks und dem Fisch aus dem Iseo See. Du kannst Pairings in einem der vielen Restaurants vor Ort probieren, die während des Festivals spezielle Menüs anbieten.

Natürlich solltest Du auch einige der 117 Familienweingüter der Region besuchen. Guido Berlucchi ist eine gute Wahl für den Anfang. Dies ist das Weingut, das die ersten Reben in Franciacorta gepflanzt hat.

 

Franciacorta - Copyright Untold Morsels
Franciacorta – Copyright Untold Morsels

 

Ein Tipp von Untold Morsels

Untold Morsels ist ein Reiseblog, das sich mit Essen, Familie und Kultur befasst. Katy Clarke reist, seit sie ein Teenager ist. Sie entdeckt gern neue und aufregende Erlebnisse an klassischen und weniger bekannten Reisezielen. Sie träumt ständig von Italien, seiner Geschichte, seinem Essen und Wein und veröffentlicht seit kurzem ein neues Blog – Untold Italy – in dem sich alles um ihr Lieblingsland dreht.

 

Entdecke Wein und Kulinarik in Franciacorta



Booking.com

Vineyard in Spring Copyright Wanderlust on a Budget
Vineyard in Spring Copyright Wanderlust on a Budget

 

Weinfeste in den USA

Der Cayuga Lake Wine Trail an den Finger Lakes

Im Herzen des Staates New York beherbergen die Finger Lakes den ältesten Weinpfad in den USA. Obwohl er kurz ist, bietet der Cayuga Lake Wine Trail neben seiner Geschichte einige sehenswerte Weingüter – und noch bessere Festivals.

Mein Lieblingsfest ist das Wine & Herb Fest. Dieses findet an zwei Wochenenden im Frühjahr statt. Das Wine & Herb Fest bietet eine Mischung aus Wein, Essen und Pflanzen. In jedem Weingut, das daran teilnimmt, kannst Du Wein probieren zusammen mit einem speziell für dieses Event kreierten Gericht. Jedes davon dreht sich um ein bestimmtes Kraut oder Gemüse. Nach der Verkostung bekommst Du einen Trieb dieser Pflanze für Deinen eigenen Garten.

Mit dem Kauf Deines Tickets bekommst Du ein Festival Weinglas und ein Rezeptbuch. So kannst Du die Gerichte selber kochen, wenn Deine Kräuter herangewachsen sind.

Wenn Du mehr Zeit in der Region verbringen willst, dann fahre auch zum Seneca Lake. Dort findest Du 100 weitere Weingüter und Brauereien.

 

Sycamore White Copyright Wanderlust on a Budget
Sycamore White Copyright Wanderlust on a Budget

 

Ein Tipp von Wanderlust on a Budget

Ich habe Glück, dass ich nur eine Stunde mit dem Auto von einer der besten Weinregionen in den USA entfernt lebe: den Finger Lakes. In Wanderlust on a Budget erzählt sie von ihren Reiseerlebnissen.

 

Erlebe die Weinregion an den Finger Lakes



Booking.com

Das Bottlerock Wine Event im Napa Valley

Das Bottlerock im Napa Valley ist eines der außergewöhnlichsten Weinfeste, weil es gute lokale Weine mit Live Musik verbindet. Jedes Jahr am Memorial Day Wochenende (letztes Wochenende im Mai) kannst Du einen Tages- oder Wochenendpass kaufen für die Konzerte, die von großen Popstars über Bands aus den 90ern reichen.

Dadurch dass das Fest in Kaliforniens Wein-Mekka stattfindet, stiehlt allerdings die Weinkultur die Show. Im Weingarten kannst Du Weine von 20 lokalen Weingütern probieren. Darunter sind Sommerweine wie Butter Chardonnay, Candy Dry Rosé und Candy Frosé. Diese sind für die Hitze entwickelt und sorgen für Abkühlung. Sommeliers helfen Dir dabei, Deinen neuen Lieblings-Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir oder Cabernet zu finden. Diese kannst Du mit Süßigkeiten oder Kreationen von Gourmetköchen kombinieren. (Ernsthaft, auf welchem Musikfest gibt es Sushi?).

Nippe und schwenke Dein Glas, während Du kulinarischen Shows von Köchen wie Gail Simmons und Padma Lakshmi folgst und genieße den süßen Klang des Sommeranfangs.

 

Lauren in Napa - Copyright The Down Lo
Lauren in Napa – Copyright The Down Lo

 

Ein Tipp von The Down Lo

Egal, ob es darum geht,in Island ein Wikinger mit Zertifikat zu werden oder in Neuseeland im Wildwasser zu Raften, Lo stellt Dir die seltsamsten und wildesten Dinge vor, die Du Dir bisher nicht vorstellen konntest. Sie will alle 50 Bundesstaaten und 50 Länder sehen, bevor sie 50 ist und sucht die außergewöhnlichsten Abenteuer aus, wo immer sie hingeht. Sei es nahe an Zuhause oder auf der anderen Seite der Welt. Mehr darüber findest Du bei The Down Lo.

 

Entdecke die Weinregion im Napa Valley



Booking.com

Kennst Du weitere Weinfeste und Wine Events?

Es gibt noch viele Weinfeste und Wine Events in Europa und im Rest der Welt. Welche hast Du besucht? Schlage uns Deine Wein Festivals und Wein Erlebnisse in den Kommentaren vor. Wir sind gespannt.

 

Weinfeste und Wine Events
Klicke auf das Foto und pinne „Weinfeste und Wine Events“ auf Pinterest

 

Quelle: eigene Recherchen und Beiträge von The Everyday Wanderer, Untold Morsels, Wanderlust on a Budget und The Down Lo.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline und den genannten Blogs wie in der Bildbeschreibung angegeben.

14 Responses

  1. Ines & Thomas
    | Antworten

    Hallo ihr zwei,
    das sieht ja alles toll aus! Wir mögen ja Wein und Weinfeste auch sehr gerne. Zur Langen Tafel in Graz haben wir es, obwohl wir hier leben, bisher leider noch nicht geschafft, ist aber sicher ein tolles Erlebnis.
    Liebe Grüße
    Ines und Thomas

    • Monika & Petar Fuchs
      | Antworten

      Liebe Ines & Thomas,

      die Lange Tafel hat uns begeistert. Es waren sogar Feinschmecker aus Australien angereist. Nur die Tickets dafür muss man sich früh besorgen. Sie sind schon ein Jahr im Voraus ausverkauft.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika

  2. Travelsanne
    | Antworten

    Ihr Lieben,
    das ist ja wirklich eine tolle Sammlung an Weinevents weltweit. Im Napa Valley waren wir übrigens auch schon. Eine coole Weinverkostung hatten wir am Lake Superior in Minnesota- dort erwartet man so gar keinen Wein.
    Viele Grüße von Sanne

    • Monika & Petar Fuchs
      | Antworten

      Hallo Sanne,

      das Napa Valley ist wirklich toll. Auch wenn dort die kleineren Familienweingüter langsam verschwinden. Was Weingebiete in anderen Regionen anbelangt, überrascht es uns auch immer wieder, wo überall Wein wächst, der dann auch noch gut schmeckt.

      Die bisher extremste Region für Weinbau haben wir in Québec entdeckt. Dort hat es im Winter schon mal Temperaturen von -30° Celsius. In einem solchen Klima erwartet man normalerweise gar keinen Wein. Angebaut werden dort aber speziell für dieses Klima gezüchtete Reben. Auch die Anbaumethoden sind an diese extremen Temperaturen angepasst. Die Universität von Minnesota ist offenbar führend in der Züchtung spezieller Weinreben für solche Klimata. Daher wundert es mich nicht, dass Ihr gerade in Minnesota ein Weingebiet entdeckt habt.

      Lieben Dank für Deinen netten Kommentar.
      Herzliche Grüße,
      Monika & Petar

  3. Gina | 2 on the go
    | Antworten

    Die Aussicht von Assmannshausen auf den nächtlichen Rhein ist ja wunderschön. Dieses Weinpicknick hätte uns auch gefallen.
    Bei uns am Niederrhein gibt es eher keine Weinfeste. Nächstes Jahr im Frühjahr wollen wir auf die Weinpirsch bei Bingen gehen. Davon haben uns Freunde berichtet. Wir sind mal gespannt.

    Liebe Grüße
    Gina und Marcus

    • Monika & Petar Fuchs
      | Antworten

      Hallo Ihr Lieben,

      am Niederrhein wächst kein Wein mehr, oder täusche ich mich da. Die rheinischen Weinregionen sind weiter im Süden. Allerdings lasse ich mich da gerne eines Besseren belehren, denn so gut kennen wir uns dort nicht aus.

      Die Weinpirsch bei Bingen klingt interessant. Da bin ich schon auf Euren Bericht gespannt.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika & Petar

  4. Auszeitgeniesser
    | Antworten

    Ihr Lieben,
    ich muss gestehen, auch wenn ich schon viele Weinproben erlebt habe und viel mit Genuss zu tun habe, von Wein verstehe ich leider nichts.
    Oder anders formuliert, ich kann dir sagen ob mir ein Wein schmeckt ;-) und genau da hört meine Kenntnis auch schon auf :-)
    Trotzdem mag ich Wein und liebe es, gemütliche Feste zu geniessen.

    Liebe Grüße, Katja

    • Monika & Petar Fuchs
      | Antworten

      Liebe Katja,

      Wein ist ein faszinierendes Thema, wenn man sich damit einmal etwas näher beschäftigt. Wir sind ja auch keine Spezialisten, aber je mehr wir über Wein erfahren, umso spannender wird das.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika

  5. Barbara / Reisepsycho
    | Antworten

    Ich bin ja auch große Weinliebhaberin, und war daher auch schon auf einigen Weinfesten. Ganz toll sind die Feste der europäischen Weinritterschaft im Burgenland (da gibts mehrere an verschiedenen Orten). Die Südsteiermark verwandelt sich im Herbst auch immer in ein Weinlesefest-Eldorado – in Ehrenhausen und Gamlitz sind sie besonders groß. Und in Apulien war ich mal an Vini del Sud, wo es süditalienische Weine zu verkosten gibt. Ach ja, und in Graz ist die Präsentation des Junkers auch immer ein sehr großes Spektakel! LG Barbara

    • Monika & Petar Fuchs
      | Antworten

      Liebe Barbara,

      das sind tolle Tipps. Danke dafür Im Burgenland waren wir schon öfter, allerdings noch nie zu einem Weinfest. In der Südsteiermark kennen und lieben wir die Weinstraße. Wir waren schon zweimal da und auch in Ehrenhausen und Gamlitz. Vom Junker in Graz habe ich noch nicht gehört. Die Weinfeste in diesen Regionen haben wir bisher immer verpasst. Hast Du in Deinem Blog schon mal darüber berichtet? Das Weinfest in Apulien stelle ich mir auch sehr spannend vor.

  6. Gabrielaaufreisen
    | Antworten

    Liebe Monika, lieber Petar,
    da habt ihr ja ordentlich viele Weinfeste mitgemacht! Ich wohne seit einiger Zeit im Breisgau, ganz in der Nähe des Kaiserstuhls. Hier findet praktisch in jedem kleinen oder größeren Ort im Spätsommer ein Weinfest statt.
    Liebe Grüße
    Gabriela

    • Monika & Petar Fuchs
      | Antworten

      Hallo Gabriela,

      gibt’s denn darüber Berichte auf Deinem Blog? Die Weinfeste interessieren uns sehr.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika

  7. Liebe Monika, euer Beitrag macht richtig Lust, das eine oder andere Event zu besuchen. Das Weinpicknick bei Assmannshausen ist wirklich super schön. Hier bei uns in Baden Württemberg gibt es auch etliche Events, zum Beispiel das Ortenauer Weinfest in Offenburg. Das geht über mehrere Tage und findet in der Altstadt der schönen Stadt im Schwarzwald statt.
    Liebe Grüße, Dagmar

    • Monika & Petar Fuchs
      | Antworten

      Liebe Dagmar,

      das Weinpicknick hat uns auch sehr gut gefallen. Das Weinfest in Ortenau klingt interessant. Wir merken uns das mal vor.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.