Dublin on St Patrick's Day - a typical Irish festival

St. Patrick's Day in Dublin

Dublin St Patrick's Day

What a day! Or rather: what a weekend! Because we are invited to Dublin on St Patrick's Day Weekend in Ireland. And that's it. First of all, we get something like the "knighthood for bloggers", because the President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins, welcomes us personally at Áras an Úachtaráin in Dublin, the residence of the country's presidents. That was a colorful heap that wandered through the venerable rooms of the residence in Phoenix Park.

 

 

Over tea and appetizers, Michael D. Higgins talked about "The Gathering", an invitation to all Irish and Ireland friends that he sent out into the world this year, with which he invited them to join the Irish on the island of St. Celebrating Patrick's Day and especially Irish culture, music, dance and the Irish soul. He called - and thousands came from all over the world! The result was a festival of absolute superlatives!

 

Monika and Petar Fuchs visiting the Prime Minister of Ireland
Monika and Petar Fuchs visit the Prime Minister of Ireland on Dublin St Patrick's Day

St Patrick's Day in Ireland

The Five Biggest Sports Clubs In Th...
The Five Biggest Sports Clubs In The World

In Kilkenny we celebrated the Tradfest with the residents and an impressive marching band from Colorado, where the Celtic roots are celebrated. Irish bands tore the audience to storms of enthusiasm with their great rhythms that they coaxed from their traditional musical instruments. Sometimes our legs itched too, tapping the beat or - even better - taking part in spontaneous group dance. To the sounds of flutes, tin whistles, the Irish banjo and other old instruments, we wandered through the castle grounds and the historic town on the banks of the River Nore. Music also plays a big role on Dublin St Patrick's Day.

We watched as children, mothers, fathers and grandparents were introduced to the art of Irish dance, but also saw experts who have mastered this dance form perfectly. In bright sunshine we celebrated the beginning of St. Patrick's Day weekend with the Irish. Our Dublin St Patrick's Day in Ireland started in bright sunshine.

Dance on St. Patrick's Day
Dance on St. Patrick's Day

 

The People's Parade

The highlight of this weekend, however, was the Dublin St Patrick's Day Parade. This year it consisted of two parts due to The Gathering. Numerous friends of Ireland who had traveled to Ireland, including us, marched in the People's Parade, a kind of pre-parade in which visitors from all over the world could take part. These included groups from Poland, the United States, Canada, Australia and many other parts of the world. But they all had one thing in common: a lot of fun. The atmosphere during this parade was fantastic. Everyone talked to everyone, you just couldn't help smiling. And not even the initial rain spoiled the pleasure. In Ireland this is simply a part of it and nobody cares about St. Patrick's Day in Ireland.

 

Happy children on St. Patricks Day
Happy children on Dublin St Patrick's Day

 

The Dublin St. Patrick's Day Parade

After our wildly mixed-up parade, the official Dublin St Patrick's Day Parade followed. And it was tough: after the official groups of the military, the navy and the city's dignitaries, there was one marching band after another - from Ireland, Canada, the USA and many other countries to which the Irish have ended up in the course of history has. In between, the imaginative wagons, groups and mythical creatures took turns - so many that we couldn't stop being amazed. Our résumé of the last three days: Hats off, dear Irish. You really know how to celebrate and put on a great party!

 

Carriage on St. Patrick's Day in Dublin
Carriage in the Dublin St Patrick's Day Parade

 

On this video you can literally smell the joie de vivre that oozed from every pore in the city during this parade. Dublin on St Patrick's Day in Ireland is fun - regardless of the weather:

 

 

What needs to be in the suitcase for a trip to Ireland?

  • A A rain jacket is essential. In Ireland the weather is changing quickly. Therefore, it is best to prepare for it.
  • Good Shoes we recommend, because in Ireland - whether in the city or in the country - you walk a lot.
  • A backpack, in which you can store everything you need for the day.
  • Travel guide for Ireland* and Dublin * provide you with practical tips for the trip.

 

The next time the holiday will be celebrated on Thursday, March 17, 2022. If you want to celebrate at home, Kelly Stillwell has the perfect treats for it: St. Patrick's Day Cupcakes.


Travel Arrangements:

Getting there

Book yours here Arrival by plane, bus or train*. Lufthansa and Air Lingus will follow Dublin.

Car Rentals:

Cheap car hire - book quickly and easily!

Dublin Prepaid Card:

At a Dublin Prepaid Card * In addition to admissions to numerous attractions and museums, the Hop on Hop off tours by bus and boat also include the Air Shuttle. You can easily book this card through our partner Get Your Guide.

Dublin Sightseeing Tours:

In addition to the Hop on Hop off city tours, there are others Sightseeing Boat Tours in and around Dublin *for which you can also book tickets through Get Your Guide and avoid waiting in Dublin.

Transfers:

Reserve yours Transfers in Dublin * here.

Tickets and tickets:

Tickets for various Tickets and admissions * here.

Hotels for Dublin St Patrick's Day:

Dublin Hotels * You can book through our partner booking.com at this link.


 

St Patrick's Day in Dublin
Click on the photo and make a note of “St Patrick's Day in Dublin” on Pinterest

Do you already know:

 

 

 

Slow Travel Destinations you find here. discover Cities in Ireland.

Sources Dublin St Patrick's Day: Research on Dublin St Patrick's Day with the support of Failte Ireland

Text Dublin St Patrick's Day: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos Dublin St Patrick's Day: © Copyright by Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline and Failte Ireland

 

Dublin on St Patrick's Day - a typical Irish festival

2 thoughts too "Dublin on St Patrick's Day - a typical Irish festival"

  1. Yes, the Irish are a very special people Very nicely designed and recommendable vacation blog, with many useful tips, recommendations and ideas for a vacation. Here you get a real desire for vacation and holidays of all "stripes". There is a lot of work involved, but the “vacationer” will thank you.
    You have won a master reader with me

    1. I am very happy if you like our blog and our reports. Thank you very much and enjoy reading.

Comments are closed.

Nach oben scrollen

Dublin am St Patrick’s Day – ein typisch irisches Fest

St. Patricks Day in Dublin

Dublin St Patrick’s Day

Was für ein Tag! Oder eher: was für ein Wochenende! Denn wir sind eingeladen nach Dublin am St Patrick’s Day Weekend in Irland. Und das hat es in sich. Zuerst einmal erhalten wir so etwas wie den „Ritterschlag für Blogger“, denn der Präsident von Irland, Michael D. Higgins, empfängt uns höchstpersönlich im Áras an Úachtaráin in Dublin, dem Wohnsitz der Staatspräsidenten des Landes. Das war ein buntes Häufchen, das da durch die ehrwürdigen Räume des Wohnsitzes im Phoenix Park wanderte.

 

 

Bei Tee und Häppchen erzählte Michael D. Higgins von „The Gathering“, einer Einladung an alle Iren und Irlandfreunde, die er in diesem Jahr in die Welt geschickt hat, mit der er diese dazu einlud, gemeinsam mit den Iren auf der Insel den St Patrick’s Day und vor allem die irische Kultur, Musik, den Tanz und die irische Seele zu feiern. Er rief – und Tausende aus aller Welt kamen! Daraus entstand ein Fest der absoluten Superlative!

 

Monika und Petar Fuchs zu Gast beim Premierminister von Irland
Monika und Petar Fuchs zu Gast beim Premierminister von Irland beim Dublin St Patrick’s Day

St Patrick’s Day in Irland

In Kilkenny feierten wir mit den Einwohnern und einer imposanten Marching Band aus Colorado das Tradfest, bei dem die keltischen Wurzeln zelebriert werden. Irische Bands rissen die Zuhörer mit ihren tollen Rhythmen, die sie ihren traditionellen Musikinstrumenten entlockten, zu Begeisterungsstürmen hin. Auch uns juckte es manches Mal in den Beinen, den Takt mitzuklopfen oder – noch besser – beim spontanen Gruppentanz mitzumachen. Zu den Klängen von Flöten, Tin Whistles, dem irischen Banjo und anderen alten Instrumenten zogen wir durch den Schlosspark und die historische Stadt am Ufer des River Nore. Musik spielt auch beim Dublin St Patrick’s Day eine große Rolle.

Wir sahen zu, wie Kinder, Mütter, Väter und Großeltern sich in die Kunst des irischen Tanzes einführen ließen, sahen aber auch Könner, die diese Tanzform perfekt beherrschen. Bei strahlendem Sonnenschein feierten wir mit den Iren den Beginn des St. Patrick’s Day Wochenendes. Unser Dublin St Patrick’s Day in Irland begann bei strahlendem Sonnenschein.

Tanz am St. Patricks Day
Tanz am St. Patricks Day

 

Die People’s Parade

Der Höhepunkt dieses Wochenendes war jedoch die Dublin St Patrick’s Day Parade. In diesem Jahr bestand sie aus zwei Teilen aufgrund von The Gathering. Zahlreiche angereiste Irlandfreunde, darunter auch wir, marschierten in der People’s Parade mit, einer Art Vorparade, an der die Besucher aus aller Welt teilnehmen konnten. Darunter waren Gruppen aus Polen, den USA, Kanada, Australien und vielen anderen Teilen der Erde. Eines aber hatten sie alle gemeinsam: nämlich unglaublich viel Spaß. Die Stimmung während dieser Parade war fantastisch. Jeder redete mit jedem, das Lächeln konnte man sich einfach nicht verkneifen. Und nicht einmal der anfängliche Regen störte das Vergnügen. In Irland gehört dieser schlicht dazu und beim St. Patrick’s Day in Irland stört das niemanden.

 

Glückliche Kinder beim St. Patricks Day
Glückliche Kinder beim Dublin St Patrick’s Day

 

Die Dublin St. Patrick’s Day Parade

Nach unserer wild zusammengewürfelten Parade schloss sich die offizielle Dublin St Patrick’s Day Parade an. Und die hatte es in sich: nach den offiziellen Gruppen des Militärs, der Marine und der Honoratioren der Stadt folgte eine Marching Band nach der anderen – aus Irland, Kanada, den USA und vielen anderen Ländern, in die es im Laufe der Geschichte Iren verschlagen hat. Dazwischen wechselten sich die fantasievollen Wagen, Gruppen und Fabelwesen ab – so viele, dass wir aus dem Staunen nicht mehr herauskamen. Unser Resümee der letzten drei Tage: Hut ab, liebe Iren. Ihr versteht es wirklich, zu feiern und ein tolles Fest auf die Beine zu stellen!

 

Kutsche beim St. Patricks Day in Dublin
Kutsche bei der Dublin St Patrick’s Day Parade

 

Auf diesem Video könnt Ihr die Lebensfreude, die der Stadt bei dieser Parade aus allen Poren troff, förmlich riechen. Dublin am St Patrick’s Day in Irland macht Spaß – egal bei welchem Wetter:

 

St. Patrick's Day Parade in Dublin

Was muss in den Koffer für eine Reise nach Irland?

  • Eine Regenjacke ist unerlässlich. In Irland schlägt das Wetter schnell um. Daher bereitet man sich am besten darauf vor.
  • Gute Schuhe empfehlen wir, weil man in Irland – egal ob in der Stadt oder auf dem Land – viel zu Fuß unterwegs ist.
  • Ein Rucksack, in dem Du alles unterbringst, was Du für den Tag brauchst.
  • Reiseführer für Irland* und Dublin* liefern Dir praktische Tipps für die Reise.

 

Das nächste Mal wird der Feiertag am Donnerstag, 17. März 2022 gefeiert. Wenn Du zu Hause mitfeiern willst, dann hat Kelly Stillwell die perfekten Leckereien dafür: St. Patrick’s Day Cupcakes.


Reiseorganisation:

Anreise
Lufthansa und Air Lingus fliegen nach Dublin.

Mietwagen:
Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!

Dublin Prepaid Card:
Bei einer Dublin Prepaid Card* sind neben Eintritten in zahlreiche Sehenswürdigkeiten und Museen, den Hop on Hop off Touren mit Bus und Boot auch der Air Shuttle inbegriffen. Ihr könnt diese Karte bequem über unseren Partner Get Your Guide buchen.

Dublin Sightseeing Touren:
Neben den Hop on Hop off Stadtrundfahrten gibt es noch andere Sightseeing Bootstouren in und um Dublin*, für die Ihr ebenfalls Tickets über Get Your Guide buchen könnt und so lange Wartezeiten in Dublin vermeidet.

Transfers:
Reserviert Eure Transfers in Dublin* hier.

Tickets und Eintrittskarten:
Tickets für diverse Tickets und Eintritte* gibt’s hier.

Hotels für den Dublin St Patrick’s Day :
Hotels in Dublin* könnt Ihr über unseren Partner booking.com unter diesem Link buchen.


 

St Patrick's Day in Dublin
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir „St Patrick’s Day in Dublin“ auf Pinterest

Kennst Du schon:

 

 

 

Slow Travel Destinationen findest Du hier. Entdecke Städte in Irland.

Quellen Dublin St Patrick’s Day : Recherchen am Dublin St Patrick’s Day mit Unterstützung von Failte Ireland

Text Dublin St Patrick’s Day : © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos Dublin St Patrick’s Day :  © Copyright von Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline und Failte Ireland

 

Dublin am St Patrick’s Day – ein typisch irisches Fest

2 Gedanken zu „Dublin am St Patrick’s Day – ein typisch irisches Fest

  1. Ja die Iren sind schon ein ganz besonderes Völkchen Sehr schön gestalteter sowie empfehlenswerter Urlaubs- Blog, mit vielen Nützlichen Tipps, Empfehlungen und Ideen für einen Urlaub. Hier bekommt man richtig Lust auf Urlaub und Ferien aller „Couleur“. Da steckt richtig viel Arbeit drin, aber der „Urlauber“ wird es euch Danken.
    Ihr habt mit mir einen Stammleser gewonnen

    1. Freut mich sehr, wenn Dir unser Blog und unsere Berichte gefallen. Herzlichen Dank dafür und viel Spaß beim Lesen.

Kommentare sind geschlossen.

Nach oben scrollen