Halifax Nova Scotia: the Public Gardens

If you purchase through a link marked *, we will receive a commission.
Public Gardens Bandstand

The Public Gardens in Halifax, Nova Scotia

The Public Gardens in Halifax Nova Scotia Canada are worth a visit. It's often the case that you take on far too much during a vacation. Especially when the journey is long, you want to see as much as possible. “Who knows when and if I’ll come here again?” That’s one of the thoughts that often spontaneously comes to mind. However, such a trip to Canada often has nothing to do with rest and relaxation.

 

 

Book your Halifax accommodation here!

When it comes to sightseeing in Halifax, consider these hotels:

 

Public Garden Halifax
Public Garden Halifax

So why not consciously plan a break from the stress of vacation? Take an afternoon to do nothing but enjoy yourself? Lingering the day? Just let all fours go and give the soul nourishment that it can feed on long after returning home. There are many such places in Canada. You just have to know where they are. The Halifax Public Gardens are one of those places. Here you can escape the hustle and bustle of the big city and spend a break in an environment that conveys peace.

 

What's in the suitcase?

  • Halifax is a city that is easy to explore on foot. Hence comfortable shoes important. If you're on foot for a long time, it's definitely worth it walking boots in the suitcase .
  • Im Ivanovsky Travel Guide Canada East * you will also find numerous tips from us.
  • We always take a backpack with, for example, where we store our utensils for the day.
  • Halifax has a maritime climate. You should definitely expect rain here. A rain jacket that is waterproof is therefore worth taking with you.

If you purchase via a link marked *, we receive a commission, which we use to run this blog.

 

The Public Gardens in Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada – an oasis of peace

Not far from the Halifax Citadel with its defenses and the clock tower is the city park, the Public Gardens. The park is surrounded by a wrought iron fence. The main entrance to the park, with its wrought iron gate, is on the corner of South Park St. and Spring Garden Rd. Ornately chiselled, the gate welcomes visitors to the park.

 

Halifax Nova Scotia chrysanthemum in the Public Garden in Halifax
Chrysanthemum in the Public Garden in Halifax

 

A picnic in the park

If you really want to enjoy your stay in the park, get bread, cheese, sausage or other regional specialties at the Halifax Farmers Market at Pier 20. You can then sit on one of the park benches in the Public Garden Picnic make. In the summer, the Horticultural Hall offers snacks and refreshments. Or he takes a book with him and looks for a place in the shade under the deciduous trees. There he can spend a few hours escaping the hustle and bustle of everyday life with the chirping of birds and the summer winds blowing around. If you don't want to do anything, choose a seat with a view from which you can watch the park visitors strolling past the flower beds on the park paths.

 

Book tours, activities and excursions here

Powered by GetYourGuide

 

The Public Gardens - a Victorian garden in North America

Since 1836 there are the Public Gardens. At that time, the Nova Scotia Horticultural Society created it on community land. 1867 set up the city a number of other gardens, which were eventually united 1874 to the Public Gardens, as they look today. In the period from the end of the 19. and the beginning of 20. At the end of the 19th century, the park received many sculptures, fountains, wrought iron gates and the bandstand, which still hosts free concerts every Sunday. Since 1984, the Halifax Public Garden is on the list of Canadian National Historic Sites.

 

Pond in City Park in Halifax
Pond in Public Garden in Halifax

 

A visit to the Public Gardens is well worth it

There's a lot to explore in Halifax's Public Gardens. Artful fountains, a pond in which a model of the Titanic floats, rhododendron groves that bloom profusely in spring, Dalia shrubs that reveal their full beauty in late summer, a stream that leads visitors from the main entrance into the park and of course many shady walking paths Places from which you can easily follow life in the park.

 

Find out here what else you can do in Halifax.

Powered by GetYourGuide

 


Travel Arrangements:

Parking at the airport

Here you can reserve your parking space at the airport.

Getting to the Public Gardens Halifax:

Compare and book flights here*. Air Canada, Condor and Icelandair fly from Germany to airports in eastern Canada. The Halifax Airport you can reach all year round Toronto. You can then rent a rental car there.

Rental car to the Public Gardens Halifax:

Cheap car hire - book quickly and easily!

Camper Rentals:

You can rent a motorhome in Halifax here.

When traveling in a motorhome, it is definitely worth checking whether you have everything with you. Our packing list for campers helps.

Hotels:

Hotels in Halifax * you can, for example, book through our partner booking.com.


 

Public Garden Halifax
Click on the photo and then save “Public Garden Halifax” on Pinterest

 

Do you know this?

 

Source: On-site research with support from Tourism Nova Scotia and the Canadian Tourism Commission. Our opinions definitely remain our own.

Text: Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photos: Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Video: Copyright Petar Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline

 

Halifax Nova Scotia: the Public Gardens

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs and Petar Fuchs are the authors and publishers of the Slow Travel and Enjoyment travel blog TravelWorldOnline Traveller. You have been publishing this blog since 2005. TravelWorldOnline has been online since 2001. Your topics are Trips to Savor and wine tourism worldwide and Slow Travel. During her studies, Monika Fuchs spent some time in North America, where she traveled to the USA and Canada - sometimes together with Petar Fuchs - and spent a research year in British Columbia. This strengthened her thirst for knowledge, which she pursued for 6 years Adventure Guide for Rotel Tours and then for 11 years as Study tour guide for Studiosus Reisen tried to breastfeed all over the world. She constantly expanded her travel regions, but curiosity still gnawed at her: “What is beyond the horizon? What else is there to discover in this city? Which people are interesting here? What do you eat in this region?” These are the questions she is now trying to answer as a freelance travel journalist (her articles have appeared in DIE ZEIT, 360° Canada, 360° USA, etc.), among others. travel writer and travel blogger answers in many countries around the world. Petar Fuchs produces the videos on this blog as well as on YouTube. Monika Fuchs from TravelWorldOnline is below Germany's top 50 bloggers in 2021 Other Information about Monika and Petar Fuchs. Recommendations on LinkedIn from tourism experts Further recommendations from cooperation partners and tourism experts Professional experience Monika on LinkedIn

Halifax Nova Scotia: die Public Gardens

Public Gardens Bandstand

Die Public Gardens in Halifax, Nova Scotia

Die Public Gardens in Halifax Nova Scotia Canada sind einen Besuch wert. Häufig ist es so, dass man sich bei einem Urlaub viel zu viel vornimmt. Gerade wenn die Anreise lang ist, will man so viel wie möglich sehen. „Wer weiß schon, wann und ob ich noch einmal hierherkomme?“ Das ist eine der Überlegungen, die einem da häufig spontan in den Sinn kommen. Mit Erholung und Entspannung hat eine solche Kanada Reise allerdings oft nichts mehr zu tun.

 

 

Buche Deine Unterkunft in Halifax hier!

Für die Erkundung der Sehenswürdigkeiten in Halifax eignen sich diese Hotels besonders gut:

  • Das Barrington Hotel* liegt günstig für einen Spaziergang zu den Historic Properties und an die Waterfront.
  • Noch näher befindet sich das Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel*. Von hier bist Du in wenigen Gehminuten in den Historic Properties und seinen Restaurants.
  • Beim Maritime Museum of the Atlantic befindet sich das Muir, Autograph Collection Hotel*.
  • Vom Halliburton Hotel* erreichst Du fast alle hier genannten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Halifax in 10 Gehminuten. Nur zur Zitadelle brauchst Du 15 Minuten.
  • Vom Hampton Inn by Hilton* erreichst Du die Zitadelle in wenigen Minuten, aber auch die Hafenfront ist nur sieben Gehminuten entfernt.
  • Oder suche Dir Dein perfektes Hotel für Deine Bedürfnisse in unserem Halifax Hotel Guide aus.

 

Public Garden Halifax
Public Garden Halifax

Warum also nicht einmal bewusst eine Auszeit vom Urlaubsstress einplanen? Sich einen Nachmittag Zeit nehmen, an dem man nichts anderes tut als zu genießen? Den Tag verbummeln? Einfach mal alle Viere gerade sein lassen und der Seele Nahrung geben, von der sie noch lange nach der Rückkehr nach Hause zehren kann. In Kanada gibt es viele solcher Stellen. Man muss nur wissen, wo sie sind. Die Halifax Public Gardens sind einer dieser Orte. Hier kann man dem Trubel der Großstadt entgehen und eine Pause in einer Umgebung verbringen, die Ruhe vermittelt.

 

Was muss in den Koffer?

  • Halifax ist eine Stadt, die man gut zu Fuß erkunden kann. Daher sind bequeme Schuhe wichtig. Bist Du lange zu Fuß unterwegs, lohnt es sich auf jeden Fall, auch Wanderschuhe in den Koffer zu packen.
  • Im Iwanowski Reiseführer Kanada Osten * findest Du ebenfalls zahlreiche Tipps von uns.
  • Wir nehmen bei Stadtbesichtigungen immer einen Rucksack mit, in dem wir zum Beispiel unsere Utensilien für den Tag unterbringen.
  • In Halifax herrscht maritimes Klima. Mit Regen sollte man hier auf jeden Fall rechnen. Eine Regenjacke mitzunehmen, die wasserdicht ist, lohnt sich daher.

Kaufst du über einen mit * markierten Link, erhalten wir dafür eine Provision, mit der wir dieses Blog betreiben.

 

Die Public Gardens in Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada – eine Oase der Ruhe

Unweit der Zitadelle von Halifax mit ihren Verteidigungsanlagen und dem Uhrturm befindet sich der Stadtpark, die Public Gardens. Der Park ist umgeben von einem Zaun aus Schmiedeeisen. Der Haupteingang in den Park mit seinem Tor aus Schmiedeeisen befindet sich an der Ecke South Park St. und Spring Garden Rd. Kunstvoll ziseliert heißt das Tor die Parkbesucher willkommen.

 

Halifax Nova Scotia Chrysantheme im Public Garden in Halifax
Chrysantheme im Public Garden in Halifax

 

Ein Picknick im Park

Wer den Aufenthalt im Park wirklich genießen will, besorgt sich Brot, Käse, Wurst oder andere Spezialitäten der Region im Halifax Farmers Market am Pier 20. Damit kann man im Public Garden auf einer der Parkbänke ein Picknick machen.  Im Sommer gibt es an der Horticultural Hall Snacks und Erfrischungen. Oder er nimmt sich ein Buch mit, sucht sich einen Platz im Schatten unter den Laubbäumen. Dort kann er einige Stunden damit verbringen, beim Gezwitscher der Vögel und umweht von Sommerwinden der Hektik des Alltags zu entfliehen. Wer gar nichts tun will, wählt einen Sitzplatz mit Aussicht, von dem aus er die vorbei flanierenden Parkbesucher beobachten kann, die auf den Parkwegen vorbei an Blumenbeeten spazieren gehen.

 

 

Die Public Gardens – ein viktorianischer Garten in Nordamerika

Seit 1836 gibt es die Public Gardens. Die Nova Scotia Horticultural Society hat sie damals auf Gemeindeland angelegt. 1867 richtete die Stadt eine Reihe weiterer Gärten ein, die schließlich 1874 vereint wurden zu den Public Gardens, wie sie heute aussehen. In der Zeit vom Ende des 19. und Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts erhielt der Park viele Skulpturen, Brunnen, schmiedeeiserne Tore und den Bandstand, auf dem noch heute jeden Sonntag kostenlose Konzerte aufgeführt werden. Seit 1984 steht der Halifax Public Garden auf der Liste der kanadischen National Historic Sites.

 

Teich im Stadtpark in Halifax
Teich im Public Garden in Halifax

 

Ein Besuch in den Public Gardens lohnt sich

Es gibt viel zu entdecken in den Public Gardens von Halifax. Kunstvolle Brunnen, einen Teich, in dem ein Modell der Titanic schwimmt, Rhododendronhaine, die im Frühjahr üppig blühen, Dalienstauden, die im Spätsommer ihre volle Schönheit entfalten, einen Bachlauf, der den Besucher vom Haupteingang in den Park führt und natürlich viele Spazierwege und schattige Plätzchen, von denen aus man das Leben im Park gut verfolgen kann.

 

 


Reiseorganisation:

Parken am Flughafen

Hier kannst du deinen Parkplatz am Flughafen reservieren.

Anreise zu den Public Gardens Halifax:

Buche zum Beispiel deine Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*. Air Canada, Condor sowie Icelandair fliegen von Deutschland aus Flughäfen im Osten Kanadas an. Den Halifax Airport erreichst Du ganzjährig über Toronto. Dort kannst du dir anschließend einen Mietwagen mieten.

Mietwagen zu den Public Gardens Halifax:

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!

Wohnmobil:

Ein Wohnmobil in Halifax kannst Du hier mieten.

Bei einer Reise mit dem Wohnmobil lohnt es sich auf jeden Fall zu überprüfen, ob man alles dabei hat. Unsere Packliste Wohnmobil hilft dabei.

Hotels:

Hotels in Halifax* könnt Ihr zum Beispiel über unseren Partner booking.com buchen.


 

Public Garden Halifax
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir anschließend „Public Garden Halifax“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du überdies?

 

Quelle: Recherchen vor Ort mit Unterstützung von Tourism Nova Scotia sowie der Canadian Tourism Commission. Unsere Meinung bleibt auf jeden Fall unsere eigene.

Text: Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Video: Copyright Petar Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline

 

Halifax Nova Scotia: die Public Gardens

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs und Petar Fuchs sind die Verfasser und Herausgeber des Slow Travel und Genuss Reiseblogs TravelWorldOnline Traveller. Sie veröffentlichen dieses Blog seit 2005. TravelWorldOnline ist online seit 2001. Ihre Themen sind Genuss Reisen und Weintourismus in aller Welt und Slow Travel. Monika Fuchs verbrachte während ihres Studiums einige Zeit in Nordamerika, wo sie - zum Teil gemeinsam mit Petar Fuchs - die USA und Kanada bereiste und ein Forschungsjahr in British Columbia verbrachte. Das verstärkte ihren Wissensdurst, den sie 6 Jahre lang als Abenteuer-Guide für Rotel Tours und danach 11 Jahre lang als Studienreiseleiterin für Studiosus Reisen in aller Welt zu stillen versuchte. Sie erweiterte ständig ihre Reiseregionen, aber trotzdem nagte die Neugier an ihr: "Was befindet sich hinter dem Horizont? Was gibt's in dieser Stadt noch zu entdecken? Welche Menschen sind hier interessant? Was isst man in dieser Region?" Auf diese Fragen sucht sie nun als freie Reisejournalistin (ihre Artikel erschienen u.a. in DIE ZEIT, 360° Kanada, 360° USA, etc.) , Reiseautorin und Reisebloggerin Antworten in vielen Ländern der Welt. Petar Fuchs produziert die Videos auf diesem Blog sowie auf YouTube. Monika Fuchs von TravelWorldOnline Traveller ist unter Deutschlands Top 50 Bloggerinnen 2021 Weitere Informationen über Monika und Petar Fuchs.