The best Christmas markets in Canada

Christmas tree Best Christmas Markets in Canada

The best Christmas markets in Canada

Where do you find the best Christmas markets in Canada? Few countries are home to as many cultures from around the world as Canada does. There is no city that is not home to people from all over the world - one of which is particularly diverse, such as Toronto, where almost exactly half of the residents were born in other regions of the world, and less in the other.

There are cities and regions in which ethnic groups have settled that have a decisive influence on what happens there. I'm not just referring to the French-speaking regions in eastern Canada. There are areas in Alberta with a particularly large number of Ukrainians. Vancouver is known for its Chinese population. And there are certainly other regions in which one or the other group of settlers is in the majority. It is therefore hardly surprising that several Canadian cities can afford a German Christmas market. This is usually organized by the German community of the city, which wants to arouse a little German feeling of home or at least want to promote the community of citizens of German origin in the respective city.

 

Nutcracker as a Christmas tree decoration
Nutcracker as a Christmas tree decoration

One of the best Christmas markets in Canada is in Kitchener, Ontario

The small town of Kitchener about 100 km west of Toronto and 133 km west of Niagara Falls is certainly the city in which one would most likely expect a German Christmas market, as the place was once called Berlin. The city was founded by German Mennonites who are still out and about in the area with their horse-drawn carriages and are known for their agricultural and home-made products. When strolling through Kitchener, I notice the German names everywhere. And I'm happy about the German bakery, which not only offers German rye bread, but also types of cake such as crumble cakes and, of course, stollen and Christmas cookies for Christmas.

 

Nutcrackers of all kinds
Nutcracker of all kinds - of course with moose antler

 

 

The Christmas market is probably one of the best Christmas markets in Canada and is most likely to have its German roots. There is even a living crib, a post office for the Christkindl and a servant Rupprecht. Christmas carols can be heard above everything, among which “Silent Night” should not be missing. The Kitchener Christmas Market takes place every year and lasts for four days.

Next date: 2021 this will take place virtually.

Further information you will find out here.

 

Best Christmas markets in Canada - with a cowboy as Santa Claus
Best Christmas markets in Canada - with a cowboy as Santa Claus

 

Quebec City has one of the best Christmas markets in Canada

The German Christmas market in Quebec City lasts ten days. Perhaps it is because Quebec is considered the most European city in Canada with its cobblestone streets, numerous churches and picturesque squares that a German Christmas market is held there. In any case, the location of the event is well chosen: in front of the City Hall of Quebec City and the basilica in the old town of Quebec, the smells of Mulled wine, Cookies, sausages and roasted chestnuts through the air. If you like, you can choose a suitable Christmas present for the family at the stands of Quebec artisans and artists. And in the Quebec Christmas shop, the Boutique de Noel, which is also in this square, you can stock up on typical Quebec Christmas decorations.

 

 

Best Christmas markets in Canada with Christmas tree decorations from Canada
Best Christmas markets in Canada with Christmas tree decorations from Canada

 

Vancouver has one of the best Christmas markets in western Canada

The city in which one would least expect a German Christmas market is Vancouver. With its large number of Chinese residents, Asian influences tend to dominate there. But the German community in Vancouver must also have its Christmas market. Therefore, the Pacific metropolis has one of the best Christmas markets in western Canada. There, in the square in front of the Queen Elizabeth Theater, a Christmas village is being built from log cabins, from which Christmas aromas flow. Christmas carols, bells and the sounds of trumpets reinforce the Christmas atmosphere. And of course there are also Christmas handicrafts to buy here. By the way, the German Christmas market in Vancouver is the only one that takes place during Advent until December 24th. further information you can find it here.

 

 

Best Christmas Markets in Canada
Click on the photo and mark “Best Christmas Markets in Canada” on Pinterest

 

Do you already know:

Source Best Christmas Markets in Canada: Own Research

Text Best Christmas Markets in Canada: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos Best Christmas Markets in Canada: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

The best Christmas markets in Canada
Nach oben scrollen

Die besten Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada

Christbaum Beste Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada

Die besten Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada

Wo findest Du die besten Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada? Es gibt nur wenige Länder, die so viele Kulturen aus aller Welt beherbergen, wie dies Kanada tut. Keine Stadt, in der nicht Menschen aus aller Welt zu Hause sind – in der einen besonders vielfältig wie zum Beispiel in Toronto, in der fast genau die Hälfte der Bewohner in anderen Regionen der Welt geboren wurde, in der anderen weniger.

Es gibt Städte und Regionen, in denen sich Volksgruppen niedergelassen haben, die das Geschehen dort entscheidend prägen. Damit meine ich nicht nur die französischsprachigen Regionen im Osten Kanadas. In Alberta gibt es Gebiete, in denen besonders viele Ukrainer leben. Vancouver ist bekannt für seine chinesische Bevölkerungsgruppe. Und es gibt sicher noch andere Regionen, in denen die eine oder andere Siedlergruppe in der Überzahl ist. Daher verwundert es kaum, dass sich gleich  mehrere kanadische Städte einen deutschen Weihnachtsmarkt leisten. Organisiert wird dieser meist von der deutschen Gemeinde der Stadt, die damit ein wenig deutsches Heimatgefühl wecken will oder zumindest die Gemeinschaft deutschstämmiger Bürger in der jeweiligen Stadt fördern will.

 

Nussknacker als Weihnachtsbaumschmuck
Nussknacker als Weihnachtsbaumschmuck

Einer der besten Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada findet in Kitchener, Ontario, statt

Die Kleinstadt Kitchener etwa 100 km westlich von Toronto und 133 km westlich von Niagara Falls ist sicher die Stadt, in der man am ehesten einen deutschen Weihnachtsmarkt erwartet, hieß der Ort doch einst sogar Berlin. Die Stadt wurde gegründet von deutschen Mennoniten, die noch heute in der Umgebung mit ihren Pferdekutschen unterwegs sind und bekannt sind für ihre landwirtschaftlichen und hausgemachten Produkte. Bei einem Bummel durch Kitchener fallen mir überall die deutschen Namen auf. Und ich freue mich über den deutschen Bäcker, bei dem es nicht nur deutsches Roggenbrot, sondern auch Kuchensorten wie Streuselkuchen und zu Weihnachten natürlich Stollen und Weihnachtsgebäck gibt.

 

Nussknacker aller Art
Nussknacker aller Art – natürlich auch mit Elchgeweih

 

 

Der Weihnachtsmarkt ist wahrscheinlich einer der besten Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada, dem man die deutschen Wurzeln am ehesten ansieht. Es gibt sogar eine lebende Krippe, ein Postamt des Christkindls und einen Knecht Rupprecht. Über allem erklingen Weihnachtslieder, unter denen „Stille Nacht“ nicht fehlen darf. Der Christkindlmarkt in Kitchener findet jedes Jahr statt und dauert vier Tage.

Nächster Termin: 2021 findet dieser virtuell statt.

Weitere Infos erfährst Du hier.

 

Beste Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada - mit einem Cowboy als Nikolaus
Beste Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada – mit einem Cowboy als Nikolaus

 

Quebec City hat einen der besten Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada

Zehn Tage dauert der deutsche Weihnachtsmarkt in Quebec City. Vielleicht liegt’s daran, dass Quebec als europäischste Stadt Kanadas gilt mit ihren Kopfsteinpflasterstraßen, den zahlreichen Kirchen und den malerischen Plätzen, dass man dort einen deutschen Weihnachtsmarkt veranstaltet. Der Platz der Veranstaltung ist jedenfalls gut gewählt: vor dem Rathaus von Quebec City und der Basilika in der Altstadt von Quebec ziehen die Düfte von Glühwein, Plätzchen, Bratwürsten und gerösteten Kastanien durch die Luft. Wer mag, kann sich an den Ständen von Quebecer Kunsthandwerkern und Künstlern noch ein passendes Weihnachtsgeschenk für die Familie aussuchen. Und im Weihnachtsladen von Quebec, der Boutique de Noel, die sich ebenfalls an diesem Platz befindet, kann man sich gleich noch mit typischem Quebecer Weihnachtsschmuck eindecken.

 

 

Beste Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada mit Christbaumschmuck aus Kanada
Beste Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada mit Christbaumschmuck aus Kanada

 

Vancouver hat einen der besten Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanadas Westen

Die Stadt, in der man einen deutschen Weihnachtsmarkt am wenigsten vermuten würde, ist Vancouver. Mit seiner großen Anzahl chinesischer Einwohner dominieren dort eher die asiatischen Einflüsse. Aber ihren Weihnachtsmarkt muss auch die deutsche Gemeinde von Vancouver haben. Daher besitzt die Pazifikmetropole einen der besten Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanadas Westen. Dort wird auf dem Platz vor dem Queen Elizabeth Theatre ein Weihnachtsdorf aufgebaut aus Blockhütten, aus denen weihnachtliche Aromen strömen. Weihnachtslieder, Glocken und Trompetenklänge verstärken die weihnachtliche Atmosphäre. Und auch hier gibt’s natürlich weihnachtliches Kunsthandwerk zu kaufen. Der deutsche Weihnachtsmarkt von Vancouver ist übrigens der einzige, der während der Adventszeit bis zum 24. Dezember stattfindet. Nähere Informationen dazu gibt’s hier.

 

 

Beste Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir „Beste Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du schon:

Quelle Beste Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada : eigene Recherchen

Text Beste Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada : © Copyright  Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos Beste Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada : © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Die besten Weihnachtsmärkte in Kanada
Nach oben scrollen