Drink the best Hochland coffee in Salzburg

Hochland coffee from the Salzburg coffee roastery

Coffee roastery Salzburg in the 220 degree roast house


At the eat and meet festival in Salzburg, restaurants, cafes and shops present their specialties - a festival for connoisseurs in Austria. We also visited the Salzburg coffee roastery in the 220 Grad Rösthaus and Cafe in Chiemseegasse 5, which is a little off the hustle and bustle of the old town in a side street. The espresso made from Ethiopian Arabica beans proves to be a highlight for the palate, as it tastes particularly aromatic and intense. Almost a bit like lemon. This is how coffee should taste!

 

 

Coffee beans from all over the world are waiting for roasting
Coffee beans from all over the world are waiting for roasting

The Rösthaus has a coffee roastery in Salzburg

In the Rösthaus von 220 Grad at Maxglaner Hauptstraße 29 in Salzburg, we then learn that the taste of coffee depends on many factors. There, Alois and Margret Macheiner, the owners of the café, roast their coffee themselves. There are sacks with coffee beans from Huila in Colombia, from Brazil or from Cuba and the highlands of Ethiopia. The beans are waiting to be roasted and sold to coffee lovers in the sales room. Depending on the origin, location and growing area, the coffee that is made from it smells and tastes different.

 

This is coffee
This is coffee

Coffees from all over the world in the Salzburg coffee roastery

The Macheiners have turned their love of coffee into a career. That's why they travel the world in search of coffee varieties and taste experiences that the bean can produce. They get to know their coffee suppliers and the coffee farmers personally. Together with their children, they sometimes help to set up new coffee plantations or to harvest coffee beans.

 

Here the coffee beans are roasted
This is where the coffee beans are roasted

Two types of coffee beans

At the Salzburg coffee roastery, we learn that there are two types of coffee beans. The Arabica bean comes from the highlands of Ethiopia. Their coffees are mild and aromatic. From there it began its triumphal procession around the world. There is also the Robusta bean, which grows in the lowlands and produces coffee that tastes intense. Coffee is often grown by small farmers. They dry the beans and finally deliver them to the countries where it is drunk. “Often,” Margret Macheiner explains to us, “the farmers don't drink any coffee themselves. Therefore, they cannot assess the quality. That's why we try to get them to use the coffee themselves. This is the only way they can get a feeling for what is important to us.”

 

The smell of freshly roasted coffee in the 220 Grad Rösthaus in Salzburg
The smell of coffee in the 220 degree roasting house in Salzburg

The coffee unfolds its aroma in the Salzburg coffee roastery

Only in the roasting house of 220 degrees in Salzburg does the coffee get its aroma during the roasting process. This determines how the coffee tastes in the cup. “We have to pay close attention to temperatures and the duration of the roasting process. If the beans are roasted too long or too hot, the coffee quickly becomes bitter,” explains Alois Macheiner.

 

In the 220 Grad Cafe in Salzburg you can taste the coffee
In the 220 Grad Cafe in Salzburg you can taste the coffee

Coffee tasting in the Salzburg coffee roastery

At our coffee tasting, we experience for ourselves how different coffee from different regions of the world can taste. The range of flavors extends from coffee from the highlands of Ethiopia or highland coffee from Nicaragua and Guatemala to Robusta coffees. One thing is certain for us after this visit to the Macheiners. We will therefore pay more attention to the bean and its origin when buying coffee in the future. This is the only way we can get the best coffee afterwards.

 

 

 
Opening hours Café
Di-Sa 9-18 clock
Holidays closed
Chiemseegasse 5
5020 Salzburg
0662/827881

Opening hours 220GRAD roasting house
Mon-Fri 14-19 clock, Sa 9-13 clock
Maxglaner Hauptstraße 29
5020 Salzburg
0662/909897

 

Gudrun Krinzinger from Reisebloggerin.at describes how to taste coffee during her visit to the Salzburg coffee roastery:
http://www.reisebloggerin.at/2014/04/220-grad-roesthaus-und-cafe-salzburg/
Finally, Elena Paschinger from Creativelena shows in her blog how the coffee roasting process works:
http://www.creativelena.com/reiseblog/meine-gourmetreise-nach-salzburg-beim-letzten-mahl-ist-mahlen-angesagt
You can also read about what happens before coffee comes to Europe in Claudi's blog around the world:
How I sniffed highland coffee in Honduras


Travel Arrangements:

Arrival by plane, train and bus

Lufthansa, Austrian Airlines and other airlines fly to Salzburg. It is possible to travel to Salzburg by train  Timetable and booking*. Also drive Long-distance buses * to Salzburg.

Car Rentals:

Cheap Car Hire - Book Fast and Easy! *

City Card Salzburg *

If you not only want to visit the Salzburg coffee roastery, but also want to see the city, the City Card Salzburg has proven to be very practical. You can use it on public transport and see numerous sights. The price is already worth it if you want to see two attractions. You also save on the expensive parking fees for the car.

Accommodation in Salzburg *

With our partner booking.com you can easily book other hotels and accommodations online.

 

Do you like to travel by motorhome?

  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you will find information and a selection in these  booking options. Or would you rather stay in one roof tent on the car?
  • Check our packing list for campersto see whether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.
  • Austria has a comprehensive network of campsites. On some, after a day trip, you can have dinner in the Dutch Oven on the portable grill prepare. Maybe you'll brew yourself a coffee from the Salzburg coffee roastery afterwards?
  • There are pitches in all parts of the country. You can only stay one night outside of camping sites and pitches. But beware: there are bans (Tyrol, Vienna). Camping Guide for Austria * so you can buy it here.
  • Here you can find tips for Cooking in the mobile home.

 


 

Coffee roastery Salzburg
Click on the photo and remember the “coffee roastery Salzburg” on Pinterest

 

Do you already know:

 

Source: Research in the Salzburg coffee roastery and the 220GRAD roasting house with the support of Tourismus Salzburg

Text coffee roastery Salzburg: © Copyright Monika Fuchs
Photos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs
Video: © Copyright Petar Fuchs

Drink the best Hochland coffee in Salzburg
Nach oben scrollen

Besten Hochland Kaffee trinken in Salzburg

Hochland Kaffee aus der Kaffeerösterei Salzburg

Kaffeerösterei Salzburg im 220 Grad Rösthaus


Beim eat and meet Festival in Salzburg präsentieren Restaurants, Cafes und Geschäfte ihre Spezialitäten – ein Fest für Genießer in Österreich. Dabei besuchten wir auch die Kaffeerösterei Salzburg im 220 Grad Rösthaus und Cafe in der Chiemseegasse 5, das etwas abseits des Trubels in der Altstadt in einer Seitengasse liegt. Der Espresso aus Arabica-Bohnen Äthiopiens erweist sich als ein Highlight für den Gaumen, schmeckt er doch besonders aromatisch und intensiv. Fast ein wenig nach Zitrone. Genauso muss Kaffee schmecken!

 

 

Kaffeebohnen aus aller Welt warten aufs Rösten
Kaffeebohnen aus aller Welt warten aufs Rösten

Das Rösthaus hat eine Kaffeerösterei in Salzburg

Dass der Geschmack von Kaffee von vielen Faktoren abhängt, erfahren wir anschließend im Rösthaus von 220 Grad in der Maxglaner Hauptstraße 29 in Salzburg. Dort rösten Alois und Margret Macheiner, die Inhaber des Cafés, ihren Kaffee selbst. Da liegen Säcke mit Kaffeebohnen aus Huila in Kolumbien, aus Brasilien oder aus Kuba und dem Hochland von Äthiopien. Die Bohnen warten darauf geröstet zu werden und im Verkaufsraum an Kaffeeliebhaber verkauft zu werden. Je nach Herkunft, Lage und Anbaugebiet duftet und schmeckt der Kaffee anders, der daraus hergestellt wird.

 

So sieht Kaffee aus
So sieht Kaffee aus

Kaffees aus aller Welt in der Kaffeerösterei Salzburg

Die Macheiners haben ihre Liebe für Kaffee zum Beruf gemacht. Deswegen reisen sie durch die Welt auf der Suche nach Kaffeesorten und Geschmackserlebnissen, die die Bohne hervorbringen kann. Dabei lernen sie ihre Kaffeelieferanten und der Kaffeebauern persönlich kennen. Sie helfen zusammen mit ihren Kindern schon mal mit, neue Kaffeeplantagen anzulegen oder Kaffeebohnen zu ernten.

 

Hier werden die Kaffeebohnen geröstet
Hier röstet man die Kaffeebohnen

Zwei Arten von Kaffeebohnen

Wir erfahren in der Kaffeerösterei Salzburg, dass es zwei Arten von Kaffeebohnen gibt. Die Arabica-Bohne stammt aus dem Hochland von Äthiopien. Ihre Kaffees sind mild und aromatisch. Von dort trat sie ihren Siegeszug um die Welt an. Daneben gibt es die Robusta-Bohne, die im Tiefland wächst und Kaffee hervorbringt, der intensiv schmeckt. Kaffee wird häufig von Kleinbauern angebaut. Diese trocknen die Bohnen und liefern sie schließlich in die Länder, in denen man ihn trinkt. „Oft“, so erklärt uns Margret Macheiner, „trinken die Bauern selbst gar keinen Kaffee. Daher können sie die Qualität nicht einschätzen. Wir versuchen deswegen, sie dahin zu bringen, den Kaffee auch selbst zu verwenden. Nur so bekommen sie ein Gefühl dafür, worauf es uns ankommt.“

 

Der Duft von frisch geröstetem Kaffee im 220 Grad Rösthaus in Salzburg
Der Duft von Kaffee im 220 Grad Rösthaus in Salzburg

In der Kaffeerösterei Salzburg entfaltet der Kaffee sein Aroma

Erst im Rösthaus von 220 Grad in Salzburg erhält der Kaffee beim Röstvorgang sein Aroma. Dabei entscheidet sich, wie der Kaffee in der Tasse schmeckt. „Dabei müssen wir Temperaturen und die Dauer des Röstvorgangs genau beachten. Wird die Bohne zu lange oder zu heiß geröstet, wird der Kaffee schnell bitter“, erklärt uns Alois Macheiner.

 

Im 220 Grad Cafe in Salzburg kann man den Kaffee kosten
Im 220 Grad Cafe in Salzburg kann man den Kaffee kosten

Kaffeeverkostung in der Kaffeerösterei Salzburg

Wie unterschiedlich Kaffee aus den Anbaugebieten der Welt schmecken kann, erleben wir schließlich selbst bei unserer Kaffeeverkostung. Von Kaffee aus dem Hochland von Äthiopien oder Hochlandkaffee aus Nicaragua und Guatemala bis hin zu Robusta-Kaffees reicht die Palette der Geschmacksrichtungen. Eines ist für uns nach diesem Besuch bei den Macheiners auf jeden Fall sicher. Wir werden daher bei unserem Kaffee-Kauf in Zukunft stärker auf die Bohne und deren Herkunft achten. Nur so bekommen wir anschließend den besten Kaffee.

 

 

Öffnungszeiten Café
Di-Sa 9-18 Uhr
Feiertage geschlossen
Chiemseegasse 5
5020 Salzburg
0662/827881

Öffnungszeiten 220GRAD Rösthaus
Mo-Fr 14-19 Uhr, Sa 9-13 Uhr
Maxglaner Hauptstraße 29
5020 Salzburg
0662/909897

 

Wie man Kaffee verkostet, beschreibt Gudrun Krinzinger von reisebloggerin.at über ihren Besuch in der Kaffeerösterei Salzburg  :
http://www.reisebloggerin.at/2014/04/220-grad-roesthaus-und-cafe-salzburg/
Elena Paschinger von Creativelena schließlich zeigt in ihrem Blog, wie der Röstvorgang für Kaffee abläuft:
http://www.creativelena.com/reiseblog/meine-gourmetreise-nach-salzburg-beim-letzten-mahl-ist-mahlen-angesagt
Was geschieht, bevor der Kaffee nach Europa kommt, könnt Ihr außerdem im Blog von Claudi um die Welt nachlesen:
Wie ich in Honduras Hochland-Kaffee schnupperte


Reiseorganisation:

Anreise mit Flugzeug, Bahn und Fernbus

Buche hier Deine Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*.  Lufthansa, Austrian Airlines und andere Fluglinien fliegen nach Salzburg. Möglich ist die Anreise per Bahn nach Salzburg  Fahrplan und Buchung*. Außerdem fahren Fernbusse* nach Salzburg.

Mietwagen:

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!*

City Card Salzburg*

Willst du nicht nur die Kaffeerösterei Salzburg besuchen, sondern Dir auch die Stadt anschauen, hat sich die City Card Salzburg als sehr praktisch erwiesen. Du kannst mit ihr die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel nutzen und zahlreiche Sehenswürdigkeiten anschauen. Der Preis lohnt sich bereits, wenn Du zwei Attraktionen sehen willst. Die teuren Parkgebühren fürs Auto sparst Du Dir obendrein.

Unterkünfte in Salzburg*

Bei unserem Partner booking.com kannst Du weitere Hotels und Unterkünfte bequem online buchen.

 

Du reist gern mit dem Wohnmobil?

 


 

Kaffeerösterei Salzburg
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir die „Kaffeerösterei Salzburg“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du schon:

 

Quelle: Recherchen in der Kaffeerösterei Salzburg sowie dem 220GRAD Rösthaus mit Unterstützung von Tourismus Salzburg

Text Kaffeerösterei Salzburg: © Copyright Monika Fuchs
Fotos:  © Copyright Monika Fuchs
Video:  © Copyright Petar Fuchs

Besten Hochland Kaffee trinken in Salzburg
Nach oben scrollen