Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers

Edison's Winter Estate famous museums in America

The Edison Ford Museum in Fort Myers, Florida


The Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers, Florida, surprised us, as we knew Thomas Alva Edison so far as an inventor who spent his life mainly dealing with electricity and electrical engineering. Henry Ford was known to us as the founder of the Ford Motor Company. As such, he revolutionized industrial production with the invention of assembly line technology. We expected to find evidence of her life's work at the Edison Ford Museum in Florida on the Caloosahatchee River.

The garden at the Edison Ford Museum
The garden at Edison's Winter Estates in Fort Myers, Florida

 

 

But far from it: their houses, which the friends had built next to each other, give the impression of a garden paradise. There is a garage in which Ford stored its vehicles. Edison's house is furnished with the furnishings of his time: electric light and lightbulbs make his lamps glow. There's an Edison clock on the fireplace. The first toaster is in the kitchen. In his library there is a phonograph on which shellac records once turned their circles. But there is no evidence of the technical genius of the two.

 

 

Cycad in the Edison Ford Museum
Cycad

 

Edison Ford winter domicile is a garden paradise

Instead, exotic plants from all over the world grow on the property that the two families shared. The reason for this collection of tropical and subtropical plants had to do indirectly with the work areas of the two men. At the beginning of the 20th century they were looking for substitutes for rubber. This should make the USA independent of rubber imports from other regions of the world. Third in this search for substitutes was Harvey Firestone. Their plant-based experimental laboratory can still be viewed today next to the entrance building of the facility.

 

 

Caloosahatchee River
The Edison Ford Museum is on the Caloosahatchee River

 

Edison Ford Museum on the Caloosahatchee River

However, we prefer to enjoy the gardens with their sausage and kapok trees, the eucalyptus and royal palms, the cycads and the banyan tree and see how the industrial barons once lived. Here, too, we experience a surprise. We expected them to live in palaces, much like the Flaglers, the Vanderbilts or the Astors. However, far from it! The Edison and Ford vacation homes were spacious with lots of rooms. The breeze from the Caloosahatchee River brought freshness through the windows and patio doors. Therefore, they had natural cooling even in the summer months. There is no shortage of space. But that was no wonder at the beginning of the 20th century. At that time Florida was still considered a border country, with which one did not really know what to do with it. Land was cheap to get, and no one lacked space.

 

Bedroom in Edison's Winter Estate © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Bedroom in the Edison Ford Museum

Edison House Florida

The furnishings in the Edison House Florida appear rather modest. It in no way corresponded to the megalomania that was generally said of the industrial barons of that time. Two families who were friends had settled down here comfortably. In an environment in which you can feel comfortable. Ford and Edison had come here to do a job, not a party. These two buildings and their garden bear witness to this. These two families weren't about to represent. Instead, they wanted to achieve a specific goal. This was a Sisyphean work that took years. This is also confirmed by the kitchen gardens on the site: Vegetables and herbs were planted as well as fruit trees of all kinds. There are mangoes, oranges, lemons, papayas, star fruits and more. The Edisons and Fords loved to feed themselves from their garden. This is easy to see in the Edison Ford Museum.

 

Must for a trip to Florida in the Case

 

You ate the products from your own garden © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
You ate the products from your own garden - they still seem to be alive in the Edison Ford Museum

 

Do you like to travel by motorhome?

  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you will find information and a selection in these  Booking options.
  • Check with our packing list for camperswhether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.
  • In Fort Myers, you can stay at the Orange Grove MHC & RV Resort, 647 Nuna Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33905, United States.

 

The Edison Ford Museum, where Henry Ford spent winters

A visit to the Edison & Ford Winter Estate is an opportunity to look behind the facade of inventors and automakers. He shows the unexpected and the surprising. For us, the two men lose their aura of genius and become likable and humble people. They pursue their goal with perseverance and have worked towards it for years. Her life is remembered at the Edison Ford Museum.

 

 

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Blvd,
Fort Myers, FL 33901,
United States


Travel Arrangements

How to get to the Edison Ford Museum

Lufthansa, United and other airlines fly to Florida. From there you can travel on by rental car or mobile home.

Rental car

Book here easy and cheap a rental car * for your journey.

Hotels

Fort Myers Accommodation You can also book here.
Fort Myers Beach Accommodation * you can also find here.

Excursions and tours

Book excursions from Fort Myers here * get your guide

Travel Guides

Florida Travel Guide * You can also find it on Amazon.de

 

Edison Ford Winter Estates
Click on the photo and make a note of the "Edison Ford Winter Estates" on Pinterest

 

Do you already know:

 

Source Edison Ford Museum: On-site research with support from The Beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel

Text Edison Ford Museum: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos Edison Ford Museum Florida: © Copyright by Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers
Nach oben scrollen

Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers

Palmfarn © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Der Garten im Edison Ford Museum
Der Garten von Edisons Winter Estates in Fort Myers, Florida

Das Edison Ford Museum in Fort Myers, Florida

Die Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers, Florida, haben uns überrascht, kannten wir Thomas Alva Edison doch bisher als Erfinder, der sich Zeit seines Lebens vor allem mit Elektrizität und Elektrotechnik befasste. Henry Ford war uns als Gründer der Ford Motor Company bekannt. Als solcher revolutioniert er mit der Erfindung der Fließbandtechnik die industrielle Produktion. Wir hatten erwartet, dass wir im Edison Ford Museum in Florida am Caloosahatchee River Hinweise auf ihr Lebenswerk vorfinden.

 

 

Aber weit gefehlt: ihre Häuser, die die Freunde nebeneinander errichtet hatten, machen eher den Eindruck eines Gartenparadieses. Zwar gibt es eine Garage, in der Ford seine Fahrzeuge unterstellte. Edisons Haus ist mit den Ausstattungen seiner Zeit eingerichtet: elektrischem Licht und Glühbirnen bringen seine Lampen zum Leuchten. Auf dem Kamin steht eine Edison Uhr. In der Küche gibt’s den ersten Toaster. In seiner Bibliothek steht ein Phonograph, auf dem einst Schelllackplatten ihre Kreise drehten. Aber Hinweise auf das technische Genie der beiden fehlen.

 

 

Palmfarn im Edison Ford Museum
Palmfarn

 

Edison Ford Winter Domizil ist ein Garten Paradies

Stattdessen wachsen auf dem Grundstück, das sich die beiden Familien teilten, exotische Pflanzen aus aller Welt. Der Grund für diese Sammlung tropischer und subtropischer Gewächse hatte indirekt mit den Arbeitsbereichen der beiden Männer zu tun. Sie suchten Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts nach Ersatzstoffen für Gummi. Diese sollten die USA unabhängig machen von Gummiimporten aus anderen Weltregionen. Dritter im Bunde dieser Suche nach Ersatzstoffen war Harvey Firestone. Ihr pflanzliches Experimentierlabor kann man heute noch neben dem Eingangsgebäude der Anlage besichtigen.

 

 

Caloosahatchee River
Das Edison Ford Museum liegt am Caloosahatchee River

 

Edison Ford Museum am Caloosahatchee River

Wir ziehen es jedoch vor, die Gärten mit ihren Wurst- und Kapokbäumen, den Eukalypten und Königspalmen, den Palmfarnen und dem Banyanbaum zu genießen und uns anzuschauen, wie die Industriebarone einst lebten. Auch hier erleben wir eine Überraschung. Wir hatten erwartet, dass sie – ähnlich wie die Flaglers, die Vanderbilts oder die Astors – in Palästen wohnten. Jedoch weit gefehlt! Die Ferienhäuser der Edisons und Fords waren zwar großzügig angelegt mit vielen Zimmern. Durch die Fenster und Terrassentüren sorgte die Brise vom Caloosahatchee River für Frische. Daher hatten sie auch in den Sommermonaten natürliche Kühlung. An Platz mangelt es nicht. Aber das war zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts kein Wunder. Galt Florida damals noch als Grenzland, mit dem man nicht so recht wusste, was man damit anfangen sollte. Grundstücke waren günstig zu bekommen, und an Platz fehlte es niemandem.

 

Schlafzimmer in Edisons Winter Estate © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Schlafzimmer im Edison Ford Museum

Edison Haus Florida

Die Einrichtung im Edison Haus Florida erscheint eher bescheiden. Sie entsprach keineswegs dem Größenwahn, den man den Industriebaronen jener Zeit allgemein nachsagt. Hier hatten sich zwei befreundete Familien gemütlich eingerichtet. In einer Umgebung, in der man sich wohlfühlen kann. Ford und Edison waren hierher gekommen, um eine Aufgabe zu erledigen, nicht um Feste zu feiern. Diese beiden Gebäude und ihr Garten zeugen davon. Diesen beiden Familien ging es nicht darum zu repräsentieren. Stattdessen wollten sie ein bestimmtes Ziel erreichen. Dies war eine Sisyphusarbeit, die Jahre in Anspruch nahm. Dies bestätigen auch die Nutzgärten auf dem Gelände: Gemüse und Kräuter wurden ebenso angepflanzt wie Fruchtbäume aller Art. Da gibt es Mangos, Orangen, Zitronen, Papayas, Sternfrüchte und mehr. Die Edisons und die Fords liebten es, sich aus ihrem Garten zu versorgen. Im Edison Ford Museum ist dies gut zu erkennen.

 

Das muss für eine Reise nach Florida in den Koffer

 

Man aß die Produkte aus dem eigenen Garten © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Man aß die Produkte aus dem eigenen Garten – Im Edison Ford Museum scheinen sie noch zu leben

 

Du reist gern mit dem Wohnmobil?

  • Willst Du ein Wohnmobil mieten? Dann findest Du hier Informationen und eine Auswahl an Buchungsmöglichkeiten.
  • Überprüfe mit unserer Packliste Wohnmobil, ob Du alles für Deine Wohnmobiltour eingepackt hast.
  • In Fort Myers kannst Du im Orange Grove MHC & RV Resort, 647 Nuna Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33905, Vereinigte Staaten übernachten.

 

Das Edison Ford Museum, wo Henry Ford Winter verbrachte

Ein Besuch im Edison & Ford Winter Estate ist eine Gelegenheit, einmal hinter die Fassade der Erfinder und Autobauer zu blicken. Er zeigt Unerwartetes und Überraschendes. Die beiden Männer verlieren für uns ihren Nimbus an Genialität und werden zu sympathischen und bescheidenen Menschen. Ihr Ziel verfolgen sie mit Ausdauer und arbeiten jahrelang darauf hin. Im Edison Ford Museum erinnert man an ihr Leben.

 

 

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
2350 McGregor Blvd,
Fort Myers, FL 33901,
Vereinigte Staaten


Reiseorganisation

Anreise zum Edison Ford Museum

Lufthansa, United und andere Fluglinien fliegen nach Florida. Von dort kannst Du mit dem Mietwagen oder Wohnmobil weiter reisen.

Mietwagen

Buche hier einfach und günstig einen Mietwagen* für Deine Reise.

Hotels

Unterkünfte in Fort Myers‘ könnt Ihr außerdem hier buchen.
Unterkünfte in Fort Myers Beach* findet Ihr ebenfalls hier.

Ausflüge und Touren

Buche hier Ausflüge ab Fort Myers* gibt’s bei Get Your Guide

Reiseführer

Florida Reiseführer* findet Ihr zudem bei Amazon.de

 

Edison Ford Winter Estates
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir die „Edison Ford Winter Estates“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du schon:

 

Quelle Edison Ford Museum : Recherchen vor Ort mit Unterstützung von The Beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel

Text Edison Ford Museum : © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos Edison Ford Museum Florida:  © Copyright von Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers
Nach oben scrollen