Ontario's beginnings in the Upper Canada Village

Upper Canada Village

In the Upper Canada Village you will immerse yourself in the history of Ontario. Today's Ontario is shaped by Canada's most important industrial center at the Golden Horseshoe, a conglomerate of several cities that have grown together to form a huge metropolis with more than eight million inhabitants. Toronto and its suburbs form the most densely populated region in Canada.

Ontario in 19. Century in the Upper Canada Village

But that was not always so. Still in the middle of the 19. In the 19th century, Ontario was a rural province where most people lived from farming and processing agricultural products.

 

 

Until 1834, Toronto was named York after a member of the British royal family, and not infrequently people made fun of "Muddy York," the muddy York: A common joke of the time tells how a man walked the city on one of the boardwalks, which served as pedestrian paths at that time. He saw a hat lying on the street and picked it up. Amazed, he saw the head of a man standing out of the morass and asked him if he could help him. He shook his head and said, "It's okay, but if you could help the horse under me?"

It did not look so bad in the capital of Upper Canada, which became 1867 with the formation of the Canadian Confederation into the new province of Ontario. But a reason for this joke certainly provided the city. And in the countryside conditions were guaranteed even easier.

Time travel into the past

We embark on a search for life in the Ontario middle of the 19. Century and visit the Upper Canada Village at Morrisburg, which is located between Kingston and Montreal on the banks of the St. Lawrence River. The village was built by 1958 during the construction of the shipping canal, which allows seagoing vessels to navigate through a complex lock system to the center of the American continent. In the construction of the St. Lawrence Seaway, ten villages were flooded on the banks of the stream, and many of the buildings threatened with destruction were rebuilt in the newly-created museum village.

Since the opening of the open-air museum in the year 1961, life in an Anglo-Canadian village in the year 1866 has been shown, with everything that goes with it: farms, farmland, a village church, a school, a tavern, the processing companies of the time and people who owned the Everyday tasks in the life of a villager in Ontario pursue. We take half a day to explore this village idyll on the banks of Stankt Lorenz.

 

Village store in the Upper Canada Village
Gabriele discusses news in the village shop of the Upper Canada Village

 

Memorial to the Battle of Crysler Farm

Before we get to the visitor center of the Upper Canada Village, we pass a park-like memorial for the battle of Crysler Farm, which took place on November 11, 1813 during the last armed conflict between the English and the Americans on North American soil. The battle proved crucial to the war and took place just a few miles from what is now the Upper Canada Village. Since the scene of the battle was flooded when the sea route was built, it made sense to set up the memorial in front of the museum village.

Gabriele Thomas, an Austrian, who emigrated to Canada years ago and now works as a senior supervisor in the Upper Canada Village, awaits us in the visitor center of the museum village. She wears a costume of the times with a long skirt and wide crinoline. She leads us through the village and explains to us in the most beautiful Austrian dialect what we will see on the way. We learn a lot about the background to the war of 1812 and how it broke out. Only then do we enter the world in the middle of the 19th century.

So you lived in Ontario center of the 19. century

Everywhere splashing, dripping and rustling: that's the first thing that strikes me. All the machines we see in the village are powered by water. An ingenious system of channels branches off the village pond and ensures that saws, mills, looms and other technical achievements of the time to date run reasonably smoothly.

And so it keeps pounding out of the blacksmith's house, crunching the millstones out of the mill as they grind the freshly delivered grain into flour, rattling the numerous looms in the weaving mill and yelling the saws that break huge tree trunks into boards. There is a bustling mess in the village and people are busy at work everywhere.

 

Were at the Upper Canada Village store
The selection is great in the village shop

 

Nevertheless, one does not have the impression that hecticness determines the daily routine. On the contrary, everyone takes time for a chat and a conversation, while in the background his well-maintained machines do their job: the miller tells us he gets his flour from the farmers in the village. And that's literally because crops are cultivated in the fields of the Upper Canada Village, just as in the year 1866 in the villages on the St. Lawrence River.

This is how you worked in 19. Century in Ontario

Everywhere in the village you work - flour is ground in the mill and finally baked at the village bakery to delicious and wonderfully fragrant bread, which is served to guests in the village tavern. Gabriele tells us: "The bakers produce too much bread, and we supply the surplus of bakeries in the area. The revenues help us to maintain museum operations. "

In the sawmill, a huge man proudly shows us the several meters long board that his water-powered saw has just cut from a thick tree trunk, and in the weaving mill, under our curious eyes, the weaver struggles with the technical pitfalls of his loom, which is not so want how he wants it. Only after some back and forth do the threads run as desired. He explains to us that these old, original looms are not always easy to operate. And he reports that the blankets, towels and fabrics that he produces adorn the tables, beds and even the people in the village.

Whether tablecloths, bedding or clothing - everything is made from the materials from the village weaving mill. Anyone who wants can give him orders, and he makes blankets as desired: striped, checkered or uni. He is currently working on such a piece, and we are fascinated to see how the wool blanket takes on more and more form. She gets pretty with her different colored stripes, and I can well imagine that she looks good as a warm blanket, which is decoratively draped over the backrest of a living room sofa.

A walk through the village

Gabriele leads us deeper into the village. Cleverly she overcomes stairs, glides despite her wide crinoline elegantly between narrow bridge railings and past dense bushes without the fine fabric of her dress hanging on the branches and tears and moves in her pretty dress so perfectly, as if she nothing else would have done for a lifetime.

I ask her if it is not difficult to move in such a bulky garment, and she laughs, "You get used to it. Only at the beginning you have to pay attention to where you step. "And she continues to float in front of me, with her skirts make a loud audible rustle.

She seems to be quite popular in the village, because everywhere she goes, she is greeted with a smile, and there is a little chat, just as I imagined life in the "good old days". In front of the village tavern we meet the coachman of the village who is waiting for passengers. He sits enthroned on his coach and patiently holds the reins in his hand. In front of his car, he has two horses stretched, which - as he tells us proudly - are bred in the village.

 

This is what you need to visit the Upper Canada Village

 

Even the horses are special

This is a very special breed: the "Canadian Horses" were the ones in the 19. Century most widespread breed of horses in the farms of Upper Canada. The Canadian government even gave 2002 the dignity of a "National Horse of Canada," an honorary title that expresses its contribution to Canadian history. Smaller in size, they are nevertheless strong and excellent for working in the fields and as draft animals for the small carriages that were used to move on the bumpy roads of the time.

He is especially proud of the rearing of these horses, as they were almost extinct. The Upper Canada Village bought 1978 a stallion and two mares. Today, the museum village has a herd of 18 animals.

 

Vegetable garden in the village
Vegetable gardens are always in the village

 

Guest at the tavern in Upper Canada Village

Of course we will not miss the visit to the Cook's Tavern, whose front door announces that "wine, beer and other spiritual and fermented drinks" may be served here: Michael Cook was a German immigrant from the Mohawk valley, who lived in the The turmoil of the American Revolution remained faithful to the British and therefore moved on to Canada, where he opened his tavern to 1804.

He had chosen an excellent location for this, as his customers came by both waterway via the St. Lawrence and by land across the Kings Highway between Kingston and Montreal past his establishment.

Gabriele tells us that there were rooms in his tavern that were reserved exclusively for women, while in others the male visitors drank together, exchanged information about the latest developments and played cards. The landlord welcomes his guests personally and sneaks at them when they - like an older gentleman before us - only enter his inn in shorts and thus inappropriately dressed according to his standards.

There was news in the tavern or church

We are interested in reading the posters hanging on the wall of the tavern: oxen are offered for sale, an event in the school is announced, new taxes are due, and one even offers money for grain. These publications come from the Dorfer's printing house, which often took on the function of a newspaper at the same time.

Related to the latest news about such new-fangled facilities as the telegraph connections, which even quickly conveyed news from the most remote regions of the country in all areas. However, the details of the headlines were often only months after the actual event.

There is a kiosk in front of the village church where the latest news is posted. Other posters warn of pickpockets who are up to mischief in the community. The church tower dominates all other buildings in the village. The congregation belonged to the Church of England, so the interior of the church building was rather unadorned. Even a cross and candles are missing, because these were things that were frowned upon in Anglican churches at the time. The front pews were available to parishioners for a fee. The rear pews and the gallery were free and could be used by guests.

Cabbage in the garden of the Upper Canada Village

Gabriele leads us past the village green, which is surrounded by deciduous trees growing in the middle of vegetable gardens. Cabbages thrive alongside carrots and potatoes. Pumpkins add pops of color to vegetable beds. A farmer is raking his beds. We ask him what he does with his vegetables: "Most of them are for my family, of course. We store most of it for the winter, but we sell some to the tavern.”

On our way down the village road, we meet a farmer whose horse trudges leisurely in front of his carriage. He greets you kindly but does not stop. Obviously, he has a fixed goal.

 

Are you traveling with a motorhome?

  • The campground is the Upper Canada Campground; 13390, Upper Canada Rd, Morrisburg, ON K0C 1X0, Canada, Tel. +1 613-543-2201. There are other campsites in the area. See below.
  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you will find information here as well as  booking options.
  • Check our packing list for campersto see whether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.
  • Don't forget your backpack . There are beautiful hiking opportunities in the area.

 

Shopping in Ontario of the 19. century

In the 19th century, there wasn't much to choose from for shopaholics, which is no surprise given that goods were traded in kind. money was scarce. In the village bakery, from which the smell of freshly baked goods wafts towards us, we observe the baker's apprentice as he watches his teacher as he takes bread out of the oven. He doesn't seem to be particularly industrious, the next scion of the bakers. But what is not, can still become. After all, he's only 13 years old.

In the village shop we find everything that the farming family of the time desires. Fabrics and borders, tea and tools, sugar and spices, pots, pans, baskets and even medicines. If someone had mail to send, they brought it to the store, paid their fee - or not. In this case, the recipient of the letter was expected to pay the postage. If he didn't do this, the letter remained lying around until it was picked up.

 

Canada East by Ivanovsky

Canada East

Want to learn more about Ontario and Eastern Canada? Explore the cities, each of which is different. The metropolis of Toronto is the largest city in the country. Montreal awaits you with a mix of the flair of France and the lifestyle of the British. The capital Ottawa attracts with world-class museums and the switching points of power in Canada. Feel transported to 17th century France in Quebec City.

Nature in eastern Canada is also impressive. Follow the banks of the St. Lawrence River and discover a world that is more reminiscent of the sea and extends far into the continent. Experience the coastal landscapes, the river valleys that criss-cross the interior and the rolling hills of the Appalachian Mountains. Let yourself be impressed by the difference in tides in the Bay of Fundy. Enjoy the landscapes of Prince Edward Island. Explore the coastal and archipelago region in Nova Scotia. Explore one of the most beautiful coastal roads in Eastern Canada on Cape Breton Island: the Cabot Trail. Or look forward to the residents in the fishing villages of Newfoundland and Labrador. Their hospitality is what makes this region so welcoming.

Order the Travel Guide Canada - East Here *, which Monika publishes as a co-author.

 

 

The village school in the Upper Canada Village

The school in the village was an elementary school where the children learned to read, write and do arithmetic. In addition, they received a basic knowledge of history, the natural sciences and proper behavior and the moral concepts of the time. Usually they attended the school for six years. Very few had the opportunity to go to college. Parents could not afford to send their children there.

Crysler Hall - the village dealer lived here

The grandest house in Upper Canada Village is Crystaller Hall, which differs from the farmhouses in the village with its front garden and pillars at the main entrance. It was the home of John Pliny Crysler, a lumber merchant on whose farm the Battle of Crysler's Farm was fought. Crysler's home was lavish, and such buildings were rare in 19th-century Ontario. Today, exhibitions are held in the rooms of Crystaller Hall.

Artisans and farmers in the Upper Canada Village

More common were the farm buildings with their barns and stables located at the end of the village near their fields. But here, too, there were differences: Farmers who leased their farmland usually saved until they could afford a farm. They hardly invest in the leasehold farm. In this way, the farms that were owned by their operators could usually be easily distinguished from those that were leased from large landowners.

In addition to the farmers, important villagers were the craftsmen who had specialized: there was the village blacksmith, the seamstress, the shoemaker and the can maker. In the cheese factory, the milk from the cattle and sheep was processed into cheese. The village notables included the doctor and the village priest.

A visit to Upper Canada Village is like stepping back in time to another era. People took time for each other, met in church, over a beer in the tavern or for a chat in the village shop. And you worked hard. Be it in the fields, in the workshop, in the shop or in one of the businesses in the village. If you want to explore the museum village in detail and immerse yourself in this time, you should plan half a day for the visit.

Upper Canada Village

13740 County Road 2
Morrisburg ON K0C 1X0


Park visit to this Ontario attraction

Nearest Ontario village to Upper Canada Village is Morrisburg

Arriving by plane and / or car

Book yours here Arrival by plane, bus or train*. One airport is Toronto or Montreal. From there you can travel by rental car or mobile home.

Car Rentals:

Cheap car hire - book quickly and easily!

Accommodations near the Upper Canada Village

Hotels and accommodations around the Upper Canada Village * You can book through our partner booking.com.

Long Sault Camping

In addition to Upper Canada Campground, 13390, Upper Canada Rd, Morrisburg, ON K0C 1X0, Canada, there are campgrounds on the Long Sault Parkway. Staying overnight is recommended if you continue towards Montreal. This means a detour off Hwy. 2. However, the route passes through the Parks of the St. Lawrence. There are several campgrounds along this parkway.

Other parks to go in the area

Cornwall Parks

Between Upper Canada Village and the city of Cornwall there are a number of parks that line the St Lawrence River. These include:

  • Hoople Island
  • Moulinette Island
  • Mille Roches Island
  • Avonmore Beach
  • Glen Walter Regional Dam
  • Guinden Park
  • Lamoureux Park
  • Inverarden House National Historic Site

Parks of the St Lawrence

along the Long Sault Parkway there are 10 campsites right on the water.

Brockville Camping

Camping on the beaches in Brockville

That works in St Lawrence Park Campground.

If you have enough time, you can plan a stay at one of the campsites there.

 


 

Upper Canada Village Ontario
Click on the photo and make a note of “Upper Canada Village Ontario” on Pinterest

 

Do you already know:

 

Source: Field research supported by Tourism Ontario and the Canadian Tourism Commission

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs
Photos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs

Note: The article first appeared in the travel magazine 360 ° Canada

Ontario's beginnings in the Upper Canada Village
Nach oben scrollen

Ontarios Anfänge im Upper Canada Village

Upper Canada Village

Im Upper Canada Village tauchst Du ein in die Geschichte Ontarios. Das heutige Ontario ist geprägt vom wichtigsten Industriezentrum Kanadas am Golden Horseshoe, einem Konglomerat aus mehreren Städten, die zu einer riesigen Metropole mit mehr als acht Millionen Einwohnern zusammen gewachsen sind. Toronto und seine Vorstädte bilden die am dichtesten besiedelte Region Kanadas.

Ontario im 19. Jahrhundert im Upper Canada Village

Doch das war nicht immer so. Noch Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts war Ontario eine ländlich geprägte Provinz, in der die meisten Menschen vom Ackerbau und den Weiterverarbeitung landwirtschaftlicher Produkte lebten.

 

 

Bis 1834 trug Toronto den Namen York nach einem Mitglied der britischen Königsfamilie, und nicht selten machte man sich lustig über „Muddy York“, das schlammige York: Ein gängiger Witz der Zeit erzählt, wie ein Mann auf einem der Bretterstege durch die Stadt ging, die damals als Fußgängerwege dienten. Dabei sah er einen Hut auf der Straße liegen und hob ihn auf. Erstaunt erblickte er darunter den Kopf eines Mannes, der aus dem Morast ragte und fragte ihn, ob er ihm helfen könne. Dieser schüttelte den Kopf und meinte nur: „Ist schon gut, aber wenn Sie vielleicht dem Pferd unter mir helfen könnten?“

Ganz so schlimm sah es vielleicht nicht aus in der Hauptstadt von Oberkanada, das 1867 mit der Gründung der kanadischen Konföderation zur neuen Provinz Ontario wurde. Aber einen Grund für diesen Witz lieferte die Stadt sicherlich. Und auf dem Land waren die Verhältnisse garantiert noch einfacher.

Zeitreise in die Vergangenheit

Wir begeben uns auf die Suche nach dem Leben im Ontario Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts und besuchen das Upper Canada Village bei Morrisburg, das zwischen Kingston und Montreal am Ufer des Sankt Lorenz Stroms liegt. Das Dorf entstand 1958 während des Baus des Schifffahrtskanals, über den hochseetüchtige Schiffe durch ein komplexes Schleusensystem bis ins Zentrum des amerikanischen Kontinents fahren können. Bei der Konstruktion des Sankt Lorenz Seewegs wurden zehn Dörfer am Ufer des Stroms überflutet, und viele der von der Zerstörung bedrohten Gebäude wurden im neu geschaffenen Museumsdorf originalgetreu wieder aufgebaut.

Seit der Eröffnung des Freilichtmuseums im Jahr 1961 wird dort das Leben in einem anglokanadischen Dorf im Jahr 1866 gezeigt mit allem, was dazu gehört: Farmen, Ackerland, einer Dorfkirche, einer Schule, einer Taverne, den weiterverarbeitenden Betrieben der Zeit und Menschen, die den alltäglichen Aufgaben im Leben eines Dorfbewohners in Ontario nachgehen. Wir nehmen uns einen halben Tag Zeit, um dieses dörfliche Idyll am Ufer des Stankt Lorenz näher zu erkunden.

 

Dorfladen im Upper Canada Village
Gabriele bespricht Aktuelles im Dorfladen des Upper Canada Village

 

Gedenkstätte für die Schlacht von Crysler Farm

Bevor wir zum Besucherzentrum des Upper Canada Village gelangen, passieren wir eine parkähnlich angelegte Gedenkstätte für die Schlacht von Crysler Farm, die am 11. November 1813 während der letzten kriegerischen Auseinandersetzung zwischen Engländern und Amerikanern auf nordamerikanischem Boden ausgetragen wurde. Die Schlacht erwies sich für den Krieg als entscheidend und fand nur wenige Meilen von der Stelle entfernt statt, an der sich das heutige Upper Canada Village befindet. Da auch der  Schauplatz der Schlacht beim Bau des Seewegs überschwemmt wurde, bot es sich an, die Gedenkstätte vor dem Museumsdorf einzurichten.

Im Besucherzentrum des Museumsdorfs  erwartet uns Gabriele Thomas, eine Österreicherin, die vor Jahren nach Kanada auswanderte und heute als Senior Supervisor im Upper Canada Village arbeitet. Sie trägt ein Kostüm der Zeit mit langem Rock und weiter Krinoline. Sie führt uns durch das Dorf und erklärt uns im schönsten österreichischen Dialekt, was wir unterwegs sehen. Wir erfahren einiges über die Hintergründe des Kriegs von 1812 und wie es zu seinem Ausbruch kam. Erst danach treten wir ein in die Welt Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts.

So lebte man in Ontario Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts

Überall plätschert, tropft und rauscht es: das ist das Erste, was mir auffällt. Alle Maschinen, die wir im Dorf sehen, werden mit Wasserkraft angetrieben. Ein ausgeklügeltes System von Kanälen zweigt vom Dorfteich ab und sorgt dafür, dass Sägen, Mühlen, Webstühle und andere technische Errungenschaften der Zeit bis heute einigermaßen reibungslos funktionieren.

Und so hämmert es ohne Unterlass aus dem Haus des Schmieds, knirschen die Mahlsteine aus der Mühle, wenn sie das frisch angelieferte Korn zu Mehl mahlen, rattern die zahlreichen Webstühle in der Weberei und kreischen die Sägen, die gewaltige Baumstämme in Bretter zerteilen. Es herrscht ein betriebsames Durcheinander im Dorf, und die Menschen sind überall fleißig bei der Arbeit.

 

Waren im Dorfladen des Upper Canada Village
Die Auswahl ist groß im Dorfladen

 

Trotzdem hat man nicht den Eindruck, dass Hektik den Tagesablauf bestimmt. Ganz im Gegenteil: jeder nimmt sich Zeit für eine Unterhaltung und ein Schwätzchen, während im Hintergrund seine gut gewarteten Maschinen ihre Arbeit erledigen: der Müller erklärt uns, dass er sein Mehl von den Farmern aus dem Dorf erhält. Und das ist wörtlich zu verstehen, denn auf den Feldern des Upper Canada Village wird Getreide angebaut, genauso wie im Jahr 1866 in den Dörfern am Sankt Lorenz Strom.

So arbeitete man im 19. Jahrhundert in Ontario

Überall im Dorf arbeitet man – Mehl wird in der Mühle gemahlen und schließlich beim Dorfbäcker zu leckerem und herrlich duftendem Brot gebacken, das den Gästen in der Dorftaverne aufgetischt wird. Gabriele erzählt uns: „Die Bäcker produzieren zu viel Brot, und wir liefern den Überschuss an Bäckereien in der Umgebung. Die Einnahmen helfen uns, den Museumsbetrieb aufrechtzuerhalten.“

Im Sägewerk zeigt uns ein Hüne von Mann stolz das mehrere Meter lange Brett, das seine mit Wasserkraft betriebene Säge gerade von einem dicken Baumstamm abgeteilt hat, und in der Weberei kämpft der Weber unter unseren neugierigen Blicken mit den technischen Tücken seines Webstuhls, der nicht so möchte wie er das will. Erst nach einigem Hin und Her laufen die Fäden nach Wunsch.  Er erklärt uns, dass der Betrieb dieser alten Originalwebstühle nicht immer einfach ist. Und er berichtet, dass die Decken, Tücher und Stoffe, die er produziert, die Tische, Betten und sogar die Menschen im Dorf zieren.

Egal ob Tischdecken, Bettzeug oder Kleidung – alles wird aus den Stoffen aus der Dorfweberei hergestellt. Wer will, kann ihm Aufträge erteilen, und er fertigt Decken nach Wunsch: gestreift, kariert oder uni. An einem solchen Stück arbeitet er gerade, und wir schauen fasziniert dabei zu, wie die Wolldecke immer mehr Form annimmt. Hübsch wird sie mit ihren verschiedenfarbigen Streifen, und ich kann mir gut vorstellen, dass sie gut aussieht als warme Decke, die dekorativ über die Rückenlehne eines Wohnzimmersofas drapiert wird.

Ein Spaziergang durchs Dorf

Gabriele führt uns tiefer ins Dorf hinein. Geschickt überwindet sie dabei Treppen, gleitet trotz ihrer weiten Krinoline elegant zwischen engen Brückengeländern durch und an dichtem Buschwerk vorbei, ohne dass der feine Stoff ihres Kleides an den Zweigen hängen bleibt und reißt und bewegt sich in ihrem hübschen Kleid so formvollendet, als ob sie ihr ganzes Leben lang nichts anderes getan hätte.

Ich frage sie, ob es denn nicht schwierig ist, sich in einem so sperrigen Kleidungsstück zu bewegen, und sie lacht: „Daran gewöhnt man sich. Nur am Anfang muss man darauf achten, wohin man tritt.“ Und sie schwebt weiter vor mir dahin, wobei ihre Röcke ein laut hörbares Rascheln von sich geben.

Sie ist im Dorf offenbar recht beliebt, denn überall, wohin wir kommen, wird sie mit einem Lächeln empfangen, und es kommt zu einem kleinen Schwätzchen, ganz so, wie ich mir das Leben in der „guten, alten Zeit“ vorgestellt habe. Vor der Dorftaverne treffen wir auf den Kutscher des Dorfes, der auf Passagiere wartet. Er thront auf seinem Kutschbock und hält geduldig die Zügel in der Hand. Vor seinen Wagen hat er zwei Pferde gespannt, die – wie er uns stolz erzählt – im Dorf gezüchtet werden.

 

Das brauchst Du für den Besuch im Upper Canada Village

 

Sogar die Pferde sind besonders

Dabei handelt es sich um eine ganz besondere Rasse: die „Canadian Horses“ waren die im 19. Jahrhundert am meisten verbreitete Pferderasse in den Farmen Oberkanadas. Die kanadische Regierung verlieh ihnen 2002 sogar die Würde eines „National Horse of Canada“, ein Ehrentitel, der ihren Beitrag zur kanadischen Geschichte zum Ausdruck bringt. Eher klein gebaut, sind sie trotzdem kräftig und hervorragend für die Arbeit auf den Feldern und als Zugtiere für die kleinen Kutschen geeignet, die man nutzte, um sich auf den holprigen Straßen der Zeit fortzubewegen.

Auf die Aufzucht dieser Pferde ist er besonders stolz, waren sie doch schon fast ausgestorben. Das Upper Canada Village kaufte 1978 einen Hengst und zwei Stuten. Heute besitzt das Museumsdorf eine Herde von 18 Tieren.

 

Gemüsegarten im Dorf
Gemüsegärten gibt es immer wieder im Dorf

 

Zu Gast in der Taverne im Upper Canada Village

Den Besuch in der Cook’s Tavern lassen wir uns natürlich nicht entgehen, über deren Eingangstür angekündigt wird, dass hier „Wein, Bier und andere geistige und vergorene Getränke“ ausgeschenkt werden dürfen: Michael Cook war ein deutschstämmiger Einwanderer aus dem Mohawk Tal, der in den Wirren der amerikanischen Revolution den Engländern treu blieb und deshalb nach Kanada weiterzog, wo er 1804 seine Taverne eröffnete.

Er hatte sich einen exzellenten Standort dafür gewählt, kamen seine Kunden doch sowohl auf dem Wasserweg über den Sankt Lorenz als auch auf dem Landweg über den Kings Highway zwischen Kingston und Montreal an seinem Etablissement vorbei.

Gabriele erzählt uns, dass es in seiner Taverne Räumlichkeiten gab, die ausschließlich den Damen vorbehalten blieben, während in anderen die männlichen Besucher gemeinsam tranken, sich über die aktuellsten Entwicklungen austauschten und Karten spielten.  Der Wirt empfängt seine Gäste persönlich und schnauzt sie schon einmal an, wenn sie – wie ein älterer Herr vor uns – nur in Shorts und damit seinen Standards nach unangemessen gekleidet sein Wirtshaus betreten.

Neuigkeiten gab’s in der Taverne oder Kirche

Interessiert lesen wir die Aushänge, die an der Wand der Taverne hängen: da werden Ochsen zum Verkauf angeboten, eine Veranstaltung in der Schule wird angekündigt, neue Steuern stehen an, und einer bietet sogar Geld für Getreide. Diese Publikationen stammen aus der dorfeigenen Druckerei, die oft gleichzeitig die Funktion einer Zeitung übernahm.

Bezogen hat man die aktuellen Nachrichten über so neumodische Einrichtungen wie die Telegrafenverbindungen, die sogar Neuigkeiten aus den entferntesten Regionen des Landes schnell in alle Gebiete weiter vermittelten. Die Details zu den Schlagzeilen gab es allerdings oft erst Monate nach dem eigentlichen Ereignis.

Vor der Dorfkirche steht ein Kiosk, an dem die aktuellsten Neuigkeiten ausgehängt sind.  Weitere Plakate warnen vor Taschendieben, die ihr Unwesen in der Gemeinde treiben. Der Kirchturm überragt alle anderen Gebäude im Dorf. Die Gemeinde gehörte der Church of England an, daher war die Innenausstattung des Kirchengebäudes eher schmucklos. Sogar ein Kreuz und Kerzen fehlen, denn das waren Dinge, die damals in anglikanischen Kirchen verpönt waren. Die vorderen Kirchenbänke standen den Gemeindemitgliedern gegen Gebühr zur Verfügung. Die hinteren Kirchenbänke und die Empore waren kostenlos und konnten von Gästen genutzt werden.

Kohl im Garten des Upper Canada Village

Gabriele führt uns am Dorfanger vorbei, der umgeben ist von dicken alten Laubbäumen, die inmitten von gepflegten Gemüsegärten wachsen. Beeindruckende Kohlköpfe gedeihen neben Karotten und Kartoffeln. Und leuchtend orange Kürbisse verleihen den Gemüsebeeten farbenfrohe Tupfer. Ein Farmer harkt gerade seine Beete, und wir fragen ihn, was er mit seinem vielen Gemüse denn  anfängt: „Das meiste ist natürlich für meine Familie. Wir lagern einen Großteil für den Winter ein, aber einen Teil verkaufen wir an die Taverne.“

Auf unserem Weg die Dorfstraße hinunter begegnet uns ein Farmer, dessen Pferd gemächlich vor seiner Kutsche dahin trottet. Er grüßt freundlich, hält aber nicht an. Offensichtlich hat er ein festes Ziel.

 

Du reist mit dem Wohnmobil?

  • Der nächstgelegene Campingplatz ist der Upper Canada Campground; 13390, Upper Canada Rd, Morrisburg, ON K0C 1X0, Kanada, Tel. +1 613-543-2201. Es gibt noch weitere Campingplätze in der Umgebung.
  • Willst Du ein Wohnmobil mieten? Dann findest Du hier Informationen und Buchungsmöglichkeiten.
  • Überprüfe mit unserer Packliste Wohnmobil, ob Du alles für Deine Wohnmobiltour eingepackt hast.

 

Shopping im Ontario des 19. Jahrhunderts

Für Shoppingfreunde im 19. Jahrhundert war die Auswahl nicht groß, kein Wunder, wurde doch hauptsächlich in Naturalien gehandelt. Geld war rar. In der Dorfbäckerei, aus der uns die Düfte von frisch Gebackenem entgegen strömen, beobachten wir den Bäckerlehrling dabei, wie er gelangweilt seinem Lehrmeister zusieht, wie dieser  gerade Brot aus dem heißen Ofen herausholt. Besonders fleißig scheint er nicht gerade zu sein, der nächste Spross der Bäcker, aber was nicht ist, kann ja noch werden. Schließlich ist er höchstens 13 Jahre alt.

Im benachbarten Dorfladen finden wir alles, was die Farmerfamilie der Zeit begehrt: Stoffe und Bordüren, Tee und Werkzeuge, Zucker und Gewürze, Töpfe, Pfannen, Körbe und sogar Medikamente. Und wenn jemand Post zu versenden hatte, brachte er sie in den Laden, bezahlte seine Gebühr – oder auch nicht. In diesem Fall erwartete man vom Empfänger des Briefes, dass er die Postgebühr entrichtet. Tat er dies nicht, blieb der Brief solange liegen, bis er abgeholt wurde.

 

Kanada Osten von Iwanowski

Kanada Osten

Du willst mehr erfahren über Ontario und den Osten Kanadas? Erkunde die Städte, von denen jede anders ist. Die Metropole Toronto ist die größte Stadt des Landes. Montreal erwartet Dich mit einem Mix aus dem Flair Frankreichs und dem Lebensstil der Briten. Die Hauptstadt Ottawa lockt mit Museen von Weltrang und den Schaltstellen der Macht in Kanada. Fühl Dich versetzt ins Frankreich des 17. Jahrhunderts in Quebec City.

Auch die Natur im Osten Kanadas kann sich sehen lassen. Folge den Ufern des Sankt Lorenz Stroms und entdecke eine Welt, die eher ans Meer erinnert und bis weit in den Kontinent hineinreicht. Erlebe die Küstenlandschaften, die Flusstäler, die das Landesinnere durchziehen und die Hügellandschaften der Appalachen. Lass Dich beeindrucken vom Gezeitenunterschied in der Bay of Fundy. Genieße die Landschaften von Prince Edward Island. Entdecke die Küsten- und Schärenregion in Nova Scotia. Erkunde eine Küstenstraße, die als die Schönste in Ostkanada gilt, auf Cape Breton Island: den Cabot Trail. Oder freu die auf die Bewohner in den Fischerdörfern von Neufundland und Labrador. Ihre Gastfreundschaft macht diese Region so einladend.

Bestelle den Reiseführer Kanada – Osten hier*, den Monika als Co-Autorin veröffentlicht.

 

 

Die Dorfschule im Upper Canada Village

Die Schule im Dorf war eine einfache Grundschule, in der die Kinder Lesen, Schreiben und Rechnen lernten, sowie ein Grundwissen in Geschichte, den Naturwissenschaften und in properem Verhalten und den Moralvorstellungen der Zeit vermittelt bekamen. Gewöhnlich besuchten sie die Schule sechs Jahre lang, und nur die wenigsten hatten die Möglichkeit für den Besuch einer höheren Schule. Die meisten Eltern konnten es sich nicht leisten, ihre Kinder dorthin zu schicken.

Crysler Hall – hier lebte der Dorfhändler

Das prächtigste Haus im Upper Canada Village ist die Crysler Hall, die sich mit ihrem parkähnlichen Vorgarten und den dorischen Säulen am Haupteingang von den einfachen Bauernhäusern im Dorf unterscheidet. Hier wohnte einst John Pliny Crysler, ein wohlhabender Holzhändler, auf dessen Farmgelände die Schlacht von Cryslers Farm ausgetragen wurde. Cryslers Wohnhaus war für damalige Verhältnisse pompös, und nur selten fanden sich solche Gebäude im Ontario des 19. Jahrhunderts. In den Räumen von Crysler Hall  werden heute wechselnde Ausstellungen gezeigt.

Handwerker und Farmer im Upper Canada Village

Üblicher waren die Farmgebäude mit ihren Scheunen und Ställen, die am Ende des Dorfes in der Nähe ihrer Felder liegen.  Aber auch hier gab es Unterschiede: Farmer, die ihr Ackerland pachteten, sparten gewöhnlich, bis sie sich eine eigene Farm leisten konnten und investieren kaum in die Pachtfarm. So konnte man die Farmen, die sich im Besitz ihrer Betreiber befanden meist gut von jenen unterscheiden, die von Großgrundbesitzern gepachtet wurden.

Wichtige Dorfbewohner waren neben den Farmern die verschiedenen Handwerker, die sich auf bestimmte Arbeiten spezialisiert hatten: da gab es den Dorfschmied, die Schneiderin, den Schuhmacher und den Dosenmacher. In der Käsefabrik wurde die Milch der Rinder und Schafe zu Käse verarbeitet. Zu den Honoratioren des Dorfs zählten der Doktor und der Dorfpfarrer.

Ein Besuch im Upper Canada Village ist wie eine Zeitreise in eine andere Epoche. Man nahm sich Zeit füreinander, traf sich in der Kirche, bei einem Bier in der Taverne oder zu einem Plausch im Dorfladen. Und man arbeitete hart: sei es auf den Feldern, in der eigenen Werkstatt, im Laden oder in einem der größeren Betriebe im Dorf. Wer das Museumsdorf genau erforschen und eintauchen will in diese Zeit, sollte mindestens einen halben Tag für den Besuch einplanen.

Upper Canada Village

13740 County Road 2
Morrisburg ON K0C 1X0


Reiseorganisation

Anreise mit Flugzeug und / oder Auto

Der nächstgelegene Flughafen ist Toronto oder Montreal. Von dort reist man am besten mit dem Mietwagen oder Wohnmobil an.

Mietwagen:

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!

Unterkünfte in der Umgebung des Upper Canada Village

Hotels und Unterkünfte in der Umgebung des Upper Canada Village* könnt Ihr bequem über unseren Partner booking.com buchen.


 

Upper Canada Village Ontario
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir „Upper Canada Village Ontario“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du schon:

 

Quelle: eigene Recherchen vor Ort mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch Tourism Ontario und die Canadian Tourism Commission

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Anmerkung: Der Artikel erschien zuerst im Reisemagazin 360°Kanada

Ontarios Anfänge im Upper Canada Village
Nach oben scrollen