Good pizza and pasta at the Italian in Victoria

Delicious Italian pizza at Zambries
Pizza in a restaurant in Victoria on Vancouver Island
Pizza in a restaurant in Victoria on Vancouver Island

 

We were looking for a restaurant in Victoria on Vancouver Island. Pizza and pasta are available at Zambri's on Yates Street. However, you have to know this beforehand, because from the outside the restaurant on the ground floor of a high-rise office building with its window front looks rather inconspicuous. The guests sit in front of wooden tables on which the food is served. There is nothing to suggest that Peter, the restaurant's chef, has already won awards for his dishes.

 

 

Pizza and pasta in restaurant in Victoria Vancouver Island

Born into a family in Italy, Peter and his sister Jo grew up in an environment where food was important. Cooking and groceries played a role in their family. It was no wonder then that Peter began his career as a chef in restaurants in Toronto and Vancouver. As he likes to travel, he also got to know the cuisine of Southeast Asia and India and spent four years in his family's home country, Italy. There he learned how much the land, the food and the people are interdependent. He brought this knowledge back to Vancouver Island. The soils of the island provide all the ingredients for food like in Italy.

 

 

Together with his sister Jo and her husband Calen, he opened Zambri's, a restaurant that was reminiscent of a trattoria. This was between a pharmacy and a supermarket and offered lunch. It wasn't long before word of mouth spread the reputation of his food. And soon Zambri's pizza and pasta were showered with prizes. Vancouver Magazine named it the best Italian restaurant with gold. Peter received the Victoria Chef Of the Year award. The restaurant is featured in EAT Magazine and The Urban Peasant. James Barber called it "the nicest little Italian restaurant in BC. Maybe even in Canada. "

 

Pasta in a restaurant in Victoria on Vancouver Island
Pasta in a restaurant in Victoria on Vancouver Island

 

Zambri's - an Italian in Victoria on Vancouver Island well worth a visit

Not much has changed in that respect to this day. Zambri's has moved to a high-rise office building where the restaurant occupies the ground floor. But with its furnishings, it is still reminiscent of a trattoria. The fact that the restaurant guests now shake the door in hand contributes to the ambience. It's loud, but happy. The guests obviously know what to expect. We are also pleasantly surprised by our lunch, for which we order pizza and pasta.

My husband's prosiutto pizza looks very appetizing and he obviously likes it. I choose penne with peas and gorgonzola that melt on my tongue. If you're hungry, antipasti such as Insalata Mista, Minestra with crostino or tuna with canneloni, beans, egg, lettuce, capers, anchovies and olives are also on offer. In addition to pizza and pasta, the guest has the choice between a secondo such as grilled sausages with broccoli and potatoes or meatballs with tomato sauce, peas, cheese and polenta, and various sandwiches. And desserts such as tiramisu, ice cream, Coppa Italia and other delicacies bring back memories of Italy.

 

What you need for a trip to Vancouver Island

 

Matching wines complete the meal

In 2011, Zambri's won two of a total of four prizes for the best wine list at the Taste Wine List Awards. Very good for a restaurant in Victoria on Vancouver Island. These prizes are awarded by the restaurant guests, which include the best representatives of the food industry. Zambri's received the award for the most customer-friendly wine list on the grounds that it is easy for guests to understand. Clear and straightforward descriptions of the wines make it easier to choose the right wine. Special praise went to the staff, who were able to answer wine questions professionally and thus help the guest with their choice of wine.

Zambri's won second prize for its wine list, which offers a selection of quality products that match the menu in terms of price, quantity and style. The judges particularly emphasized that Zambri's wine program also includes wines by the glass, as well as seasonal offers and wine dinners.

Zambri's
Telephone: 250 360 1171
email: info@zambris.ca
820 Yates St, Victoria BC

 

Are you traveling with a motorhome?

  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you will find information and a selection here Booking options.
  • Check with our Packing list camperwhether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.
  • You want to know where to go with a motorhome overnight in Vancouver Island can and are you looking for parking spaces and campsites? You can find information about this under this link.

 

Make a note of the restaurant on Pinterest

Do you already know:

 

Source: On-site research

Text: © Monika Fuchs
Photos © Monika Fuchs

Good pizza and pasta at the Italian in Victoria

2 thoughts too "Good pizza and pasta at the Italian in Victoria"

Comments are closed.

Nach oben scrollen

Gute Pizza und Pasta beim Italiener in Victoria

Leckere italienische Pizza bei Zambries
Pizza in einem Restaurant in Victoria auf Vancouver Island
Pizza in einem Restaurant in Victoria auf Vancouver Island

 

Wir waren auf der Suche nach einem Restaurant in Victoria auf Vancouver Island. Pizza und Pasta gibt es bei Zambri’s in der Yates Street. Allerdings muss man dies vorher wissen, denn von außen wirkt das Restaurant im Erdgeschoss eines Bürohochhauses mit seiner Fensterfront eher unscheinbar. Die Gäste sitzen vor Holztischen, auf denen die Speisen serviert werden. Nichts deutet darauf hin, dass Peter, der Koch des Restaurants, schon Preise für seine Gerichte gewonnen hat.

 

 

Pizza und Pasta im Restaurant in Victoria Vancouver Island

In eine Familie aus Italien geboren, wuchs Peter zusammen mit seiner Schwester Jo in einem Umfeld auf, in dem man Wert auf Essen gelegt hat. Kochen und Lebensmittel spielten in ihrer Familie eine Rolle. Da war es kein Wunder, dass Peter seine Karriere als Chefkoch in Restaurants in Toronto und Vancouver begann. Da er gerne reist, lernte er außerdem die Küche Südostasiens und Indiens kennen und verbrachte vier Jahre im Herkunftsland seiner Familie, in Italien. Dort lernte er, wie stark das Land, die Nahrung und die Menschen voneinander abhängen. Dieses Wissen brachte er zurück nach Vancouver Island. Die Böden der Insel liefern alle Zutaten für Essen wie in Italien.

 

 

Zusammen mit seiner Schwester Jo und ihrem Mann Calen eröffnete er Zambri’s, ein Restaurant, das an eine Trattoria erinnerte. Dieses lag zwischen einer Apotheke und einem Supermarkt und bot ein Mittagessen. Es dauerte nicht lange, bis Mundpropaganda den Ruf seines Essens weiter verbreitete. Und schon bald hat man Zambri’s Pizza und Pasta mit Preisen überhäuft. Das Vancouver Magazine kürte es mit Gold zum besten italienischen Restaurant. Peter erhielt den Preis als Victoria Chef Of the Year. Das Restaurant ist erwähnt im EAT Magazine und The Urban Peasant. James Barber nannte es das „netteste kleine italienische Restaurant in BC. Vielleicht sogar in Kanada.“

 

Pasta in einem Restaurant in Victoria auf Vancouver Island
Pasta in einem Restaurant in Victoria auf Vancouver Island

 

Zambri’s – ein Italiener in Victoria auf Vancouver Island, der einen Besuch lohnt

Daran hat sich bis heute nicht viel geändert. Zambri’s ist umgezogen in ein Bürohochhaus, in dem das Restaurant das Erdgeschoss einnimmt. Aber mit seiner Ausstattung erinnert es noch immer an eine Trattoria. Dass sich hier inzwischen die Restaurantgäste die Tür in die Hand geben, trägt zum Ambiente bei. Laut ist es, aber fröhlich. Die Gäste wissen offenbar, was sie erwartet. Auch wir sind angenehm überrascht von unserem Mittagessen, für das wir Pizza und Pasta bestellen.

Die Prosciutto-Pizza meines Mannes sieht sehr appetitlich aus und schmeckt ihm offensichtlich. Ich wähle Penne mit Erbsen und Gorgonzola, die mir auf der Zunge schmelzen. Hast Du Hunger, stehen außerdem Antipasti wie Insalata Mista, Minestra mit Crostino oder Thunfisch mit Canneloni, Bohnen, Ei, Salat, Kapern, Anchovis und Oliven im Angebot. Neben Pizza und Pasta hat der Gast die Wahl zwischen einem Secondo wie Würstchen vom Grill mit Brokkoli und Kartoffeln oder Fleischklößchen mit Tomatensauce, Erbsen, Käse und Polenta, und diversen Sandwiches. Und Desserts wie Tiramisu, Eiscreme, Coppa Italia und andere Leckereien wecken Erinnerungen an Italien.

 

Was Du für eine Reise nach Vancouver Island brauchst

 

Passende Weine vollenden die Mahlzeit

2011 räumte Zambri’s zwei von insgesamt vier Preisen für die beste Weinkarte bei den Taste Wine List Awards ab. Sehr gut für ein Restaurant in Victoria auf Vancouver Island. Diese Preise werden von den Restaurantgästen vergeben unter die sich auch die besten Vertreter der Nahrungsmittelindustrie mischen. Zambri’s erhielt den Preis für die kundenfreundlichste Weinkarte mit der Begründung, dass diese für die Gäste einfach zu verstehen ist. Klare und unverschnörkelte Beschreibungen der Weine erleichtern die Wahl des passenden Weins. Besonderes Lob galt dem Personal, das Weinfragen professionell beantworten konnte und so dem Gast bei der Weinwahl behilflich war.

Den zweiten Preis gewann Zambri’s für seine Weinliste, die eine Auswahl von Qualitätsprodukten bietet, die zum Menü passen sowohl was den Preis, die Menge und den Stil anbelangt. Die Preisrichter hoben besonders hervor, dass Zambri’s Weinprogramm auch Weine im Glas beinhaltet, ebenso wie Angebote der Saison und Wein Dinners.

Zambri’s
Telephone: 250 360 1171
email: info@zambris.ca
820 Yates St, Victoria BC

 

Du reist mit dem Wohnmobil?

  • Willst Du ein Wohnmobil mieten? Dann findest Du hier Informationen und eine Auswahl an Buchungsmöglichkeiten.
  • Überprüfe mit unserer Packliste Wohnmobil, ob Du alles für Deine Wohnmobiltour eingepackt hast.
  • Du willst wissen, wo Du mit einem Wohnmobil in Vancouver Island übernachten kannst und suchst Stellplätze und Campingplätze? Infos dazu findest Du unter diesem Link.

 

Merke Dir das Restaurant auf Pinterest

Kennst Du schon:

 

Quelle: Recherchen vor Ort

Text: © Monika Fuchs
Fotos © Monika Fuchs

Gute Pizza und Pasta beim Italiener in Victoria

2 Gedanken zu „Gute Pizza und Pasta beim Italiener in Victoria

Kommentare sind geschlossen.

Nach oben scrollen