At the Manoir Hovey in Quebec

Manoir Hovey in Quebec - Canada travel tips east

The Manoir Hovey in Quebec is reminiscent of Louise Penny The Village in the Red Forests

The Hotel Manoir Hovey in Quebec is a hotel full of romance. It reminds me of a novel that Louise Penny brings to life in The Village in the Red Forests. We spend one night there in a room with a four-poster bed and an open fireplace. We can hardly tear ourselves away from the view of the lake from our balcony. We also enjoy dinner in style. We spent a time together in this hotel that we won't soon forget! We are fans of the Relais & Chateaux Hotels. However, this hotel more than exceeded our expectations. You can find out why this is so here.

 

A comfortable four-poster bed at Manoir Hovey
Four poster bed at Manoir Hovey in Quebec

The Manoir Hovey in Quebec is like something out of a novel

In The Village in the Red Forests, Louise Penny evokes associations with the region in which Manoir Hovey is located. I rarely get so enthusiastic about a hotel like this one. Quebec's Manoir Hovey is tucked away from the road in a forest on the shores of Lake Massawippi. That's just under two hours south of Montreal in Quebec. The hotel is located in the middle of nature just outside the village of North Hatley. This village is worth a day trip because of its location directly on the lake. Here you can relax in the silence by the lake. Just let your mind wander for a few hours on one of the sun loungers between the flower beds and with a view of the water. Gorgeous! I relaxed with a book on our balcony. If you need a little cooling off in between, you can swim in the pool or paddle out onto the lake in a canoe.

Our stay at the Manoir Hovey somehow reminds me of films from the fifties and sixties in which an (almost) ideal world plays the leading role. Even more, however, the setting transports me to the world of Louise Penny's novels such as The Village in the Red Woods.

 

The village in the red forests
Order here *

Louise Penny The village in the red woods

The village in the red forests, Three Pines, reminds me a lot of North Hatley. Three Pines is the location of Louise Penny's crime novels. The Canadian author catches the mood in her crime series about the cases of Chief Inspector Armand Gamache Eastern Townships a. The main location of the crime thrillers is the fictional village of Three Pines. She was inspired by the region between North Hatley, Knowlton, Sutton and Saint-Benoit-du-Lac for her portrait of a village in the region of southern Quebec bordering Vermont. The Manoir Hovey fits perfectly into this setting of mysterious murders that Chief Inspector Gamache solves in the forests of the region. There's even a Bellechasse Suite, reminiscent of the Manoir Bellechasse, the setting for one of Louise Penny's crime novels.
Let yourself be carried away into the forests of the Cantons de L'Est with their friendly people and exciting crime novels.

 

 

Cozy chimney corner in Manoir Hovey as with Louise Penny The village in the red forests
Fireplace in our room at Manoir Hovey, Quebec

Room with a fireplace and a view of the lake

The room we stay in at Manoir Hovey in Quebec is not particularly large. However, it is cozy and tastefully decorated with antiques. The four-poster bed has a mattress that lets me sink into it. I almost expect to feel the pea that bullied the princess in the fairy tale. But far from it! In this bed you sleep like on clouds. I particularly like the sitting area with the two wing chairs by the fireplace. We prepare a cup of coffee in an espresso machine. This tastes particularly good at the open fire, which we light up in the evening. The perfect moment to review a wonderful day again.

 

This bathroom matches the style of the room
This bathroom matches the style of the room at Manoir Hovey in Quebec

 

The bathroom is not modern but matches the antiques in the bedroom in style. Art Nouveau lamps, a shell-shaped sink and bathrobes that couldn't be any cozier add to the nostalgia of the room. We definitely feel like we've been transported to another time. A time without hectic. At leisure. A time when vacationing with the family was something extraordinary. A stay in the forests of the Cantons de L'Est, as described by Louise Penny in her detective stories. At the Manoir Hovey in Quebec, we are transported to their fictional village of Three Pines. Our trip to Bleu Lavande Lavender Farm and along the Eastern Townships Wine Route also fits well into this picture.

 

A wine suitable for the menu
A wine suitable for the menu

Enjoy a dinner in an ambience with style

We are served the best at Manoir Hovey in Quebec Essen the trip. That means something, because in almost every hotel or restaurant we visit on the way, we are spoiled with specialties and delicacies from the region. Here, however, we are climbing the pinnacle of Quebec cuisine. Our menu includes courses that couldn't be more delicious. In addition to morels with brie and herb salad, there are tomatoes with roast beef and herbs, salmon on asparagus with gnocchi and walnuts, fillet of beef on a bed of vegetables, and finally an ice cream dessert. Each course is a poem in itself. .

 

This juicy salmon was just one of the courses at our dinner at Manoir Hovey
This salmon was just one of the courses we had for dinner at Manoir Hovey in Quebec

 

The Maître d'Hôtel doesn't really know what to do with us travel bloggers at first. He is amazed when we photograph our food before we enjoy it. Finally he sends us a waiter who serves us our food and explains in perfect German what he is serving us. As it turns out, he used to be a professional footballer in Stuttgart. He tells us that he had to give up his sport due to an injury. So he finally switched to gastronomy. When we asked if he liked the Manoir Hovey in Quebec, he just smiled and said, "Yes, a lot."

 

A lounge like Louise Penny's The Village in the Red Forests
A lounge to feel good at Manoir Hovey in Quebec

The lounge at Manoir Hovey in Quebec

The lounges on the ground floor of Manoir Hovey in Quebec are also very nice. I can well imagine Chief Inspector Armand Gamache meeting his friends from Three Pines here. After dinner we have the lounge to ourselves for a few minutes. Hence, we enjoy the room with its bookcase that takes up an entire wall. I immediately feel at home here. I could sit in one of the wing chairs for hours and browse. Or - like Armand Gamache - stare out the window to uncover the mysterious processes in Three Pines. The room is tastefully decorated with Tiffany lamps that shed their light on bouquets of flowers and fruit bowls. These are distributed on the tables and chests in the room. Oil paintings, Americana and Quebec folk art decorate sideboards, end tables and empty spaces on the bookshelf. We can hardly get enough of the furnishings in this lounge.

 

 

Finally, our only regret is that we didn't have more time to enjoy the surroundings of Manoir Hovey, Quebec. This is definitely a reason to come back!

What you need to hike through the Eastern Townships

  • Good hiking boots are a must with every hike. Only then can you enjoy your hike.
  • For a  snack on the way you need a  backpack. You can put your snack in a  lunch box and accommodate everything you need for your day trip.

 

Manoir Hovey

575 Rue Hovey
North Hatley
Quebec, J0B 2C0
Canada
Information, availability query and online booking*
Other hotels in North Hatley*

 


Travel Arrangements:

Check in:

Book yours here Arrival by plane, bus or train*. Montreal has an international airport where direct flights from Germany and Europe land. Book your flight here*.

Car Hire Montreal Canada :

Cheap Car Hire - Book Fast and Easy! *

Hotels:

You can book accommodations in the Cantons de l'Est* through our partner booking.com. 

 

Manoir Hovey - Louise Penny The village in the red woods
Click on the photo and make a note of “Manoir Hovey as in Louise Penny The Village in the Red Forests” on Pinterest

 

Do you already know:

Source: On-site research with the support of Tourism Quebec and CTC

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Video © Copyright Petar Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

At the Manoir Hovey in Quebec
Nach oben scrollen

Im Manoir Hovey in Quebec

Manoir Hovey in Quebec - Kanada Reisetipps Osten
Manoir Hovey in Quebec
Der Kamin im Manoir Hovey in Quebec erinnert an Louise Penny Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern

Das Manoir Hovey in Quebec erinnert an Louise Penny Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern

Das Hotel Manoir Hovey in Quebec ist ein Hotel voller Romantik. Mich erinnert es an eine Romankulisse, die Louise Penny in Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern aufleben lässt. Wir verbringen dort eine Nacht in einem Zimmer mit Himmelbett und offenem Kamin. Vom Ausblick auf den See von unserem Balkon können wir uns kaum losreißen. Außerdem genießen wir ein Abendessen mit Stil. Wir haben in diesem Hotel eine Zeit zu Zweit verbracht, die wir nicht so rasch vergessen! Wir sind Fans der Relais & Chateaux Hotels. Dieses Hotel jedoch hat unsere Erwartungen mehr als übertroffen. Warum das so ist, erfahrt Ihr hier.

 

Ein bequemes Himmelbett im Manoir Hovey
Himmelbett im Manoir Hovey in Quebec

Das Manoir Hovey in Quebec ist wie aus einem Roman

Louise Penny weckt in Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern Assoziationen mit der Region, in der das Manoir Hovey liegt. Selten gerate ich so ins Schwärmen bei einem Hotel wie bei diesem. Das Manoir Hovey in Quebec liegt versteckt abseits der Straße in einem Wald am Ufer des Lake Massawippi. Das ist knapp zwei Stunden südlich von Montreal in Quebec. Das Hotel befindet sich mitten in der Natur etwas außerhalb des Orts North Hatley. Dieses Dorf ist wegen seiner Lage direkt am See einen Tagesausflug wert. Hier kann man in der Stille am See entspannen. Ein paar Stunden auf einer der Sonnenliegen zwischen Blumenrabatten und mit Blick aufs Wasser einfach die Seele baumeln lassen. Herrlich! Ich habe mich mit einem Buch auf unserem Balkon erholt. Wer dazwischen ein wenig Abkühlung braucht, kann im Pool schwimmen, oder mit einem Kanu auf den See hinauspaddeln.

Irgendwie erinnert mich unser Aufenthalt im Manoir Hovey an Filme aus den Fünfziger und Sechziger Jahren, in denen eine (fast) heile Welt die Hauptrolle spielt. Noch mehr jedoch versetzt mich die Szenerie in die geheimnisvolle Welt der Romane von Louise Penny wie z.B. Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern.

 

Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern
Hier bestellen *

Louise Penny Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern

Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern, Three Pines, erinnert mich sehr an North Hatley. Three Pines ist Schauplatz der Krimis von Louise Penny. Die kanadische Autorin fängt in ihrer Krimiserie über die Fälle von Chefinspektor Armand Gamache die Stimmung in den Eastern Townships ein. Hauptschauplatz der Krimis ist das fiktive Dorf Three Pines. Inspiriert hat sie die Region zwischen North Hatley, Knowlton, Sutton und Saint-Benoit-du-Lac zu ihrem Porträt eines Dorfes in der Region im Süden Quebecs, die an Vermont grenzt. Das Manoir Hovey passt perfekt in diese Kulisse mysteriöser Mordfälle, die Chefinspektor Gamache in den Wäldern der Region löst. Es gibt sogar eine Bellechasse Suite, die an das Manoir Bellechasse erinnert, das Schauplatz eines der Krimis von Louise Penny ist.
Lass dich entführen in die Wälder der Cantons de L’Est mit ihren freundlichen Menschen und spannenden Krimis.

 

 

Gemütliche Kaminecke im Manoir Hovey wie bei Louise Penny Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern
Kaminecke in unserem Zimmer im Manoir Hovey in Quebec

Zimmer mit Kamin und Aussicht auf den See

Das Zimmer, in dem wir im Manoir Hovey in Quebec übernachten, ist nicht besonders groß. Es ist jedoch gemütlich und geschmackvoll mit Antiquitäten eingerichtet. Das Himmelbett wartet mit einer Matratze auf, die mich darin versinken lässt. Fast erwarte ich, die Erbse zu spüren, die die Prinzessin im Märchen so drangsalierte. Aber weit gefehlt! In diesem Bett schläft man wie auf Wolken. Besonders gut gefällt mir die Sitzecke mit den zwei Ohrensesseln am Kamin. In einer Espressomaschine bereiten wir uns eine Tasse Kaffee zu. Am Kaminfeuer, das wir am Abend anfeuern, schmeckt diese besonders gut. Der perfekte Augenblick, um einen wundervollen Tag noch einmal Revue passieren zu lassen.

 

Dieses Bad passt zum Stil des Zimmers
Dieses Bad passt zum Stil des Zimmers im Manoir Hovey in Quebec

 

Das Badezimmer ist nicht modern, passt jedoch im Stil zu den Antiquitäten des Schlafzimmers. Jugendstillampen, ein Waschbecken in Muschelform und Bademäntel, die flauschiger nicht sein können, ergänzen die Nostalgie des Zimmers. Wir fühlen uns auf jeden Fall in eine andere Zeit versetzt. Eine Zeit ohne Hektik. Mit Muße. Eine Zeit, in der der Urlaub mit der Familie etwas Außergewöhnliches war. Ein Aufenthalt in den Wäldern der Cantons de L’Est, wie Louise Penny sie in ihren Krimis beschreibt. Im Manoir Hovey in Quebec fühlen wir uns in ihr fiktives Dorf Three Pines versetzt.

 

Ein Wein passend zum Menü
Ein Wein passend zum Menü

Ein Dinner in Ambiente mit Stil genießen

Im Manoir Hovey in Quebec serviert man uns das beste Essen der Reise. Das will etwas heißen, verwöhnt man uns doch in fast jedem Hotel oder Restaurant, das wir unterwegs besuchen, mit Spezialitäten und Köstlichkeiten aus der Region. Hier jedoch erklimmen wir den Gipfel der Quebecer Kochkunst. Unser Menü umfasst Gänge, die köstlicher nicht sein können. Neben Morcheln mit Brie und Kräutersalat gibt es Tomaten mit Roastbeef und Kräutern, Lachs auf Spargel mit Gnocchi und Walnüssen, Rinderfilet auf einem Gemüsebett, und zum Abschluss noch ein Eisdessert. Jeder Gang für sich ist ein Gedicht. .

 

Dieser saftige Lachs war nur einer der Gänge bei unserem Abendessen im Manoir Hovey
Dieser Lachs war nur einer der Gänge bei unserem Abendessen im Manoir Hovey in Quebec

 

Der Maître d’Hôtel weiß zunächst nicht so recht, was er mit uns Reisebloggern anfangen soll. Er staunt, als wir unser Essen fotografieren, bevor wir es geniessen. Schließlich schickt er uns einen Ober, der uns unser Essen serviert und in perfektem Deutsch erklärt, was er uns vorsetzt. Wie sich herausstellt, war er früher Profifußballer in Stuttgart. Er erzählt uns, dass er verletzungsbedingt seinen Sport aufgeben musste. Daher wechselte er schließlich in die Gastronomie. Auf unsere Frage, ob es ihm im Manoir Hovey in Quebec gefällt, lächelt er nur und meinte: „Ja, sehr.“

 

Eine Lounge, wie bei Louise Penny Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern
Eine Lounge zum Wohlfühlen im Manoir Hovey in Quebec

Die Lounge im Manoir Hovey in Quebec

Sehr schön sind außerdem die Aufenthaltsräume im Erdgeschoss des Manoir Hovey in Quebec. Ich kann mir gut vorstellen, wie Chef Inspector Armand Gamache sich hier mit seinen Freunden aus Three Pines trifft. Nach dem Abendessen haben wir die Lounge einige Minuten für uns allein. Daher genießen wir den Raum mit seinem Bücherregal, das eine ganze Wand einnimmt. Hier fühle ich mich sofort wohl. Ich könnte stundenlang in einem der Ohrensessel sitzen und schmökern. Oder – wie Armand Gamache – aus dem Fenster starren, um den geheimnisvollen Vorgängen in Three Pines auf die Spur zu kommen. Der Raum ist geschmackvoll dekoriert mit Tiffany Lampen, die ihr Licht auf Blumensträuße und Obstschalen werfen. Diese sind auf den Tischen und Truhen im Raum verteilt. Ölgemälde, Americana und Quebecer Volkskunst dekorieren Sideboards, Beistelltische und leere Stellen im Bücherregal. Wir können uns kaum satt sehen an der Einrichtung dieser Lounge.

 

 

Das Einzige, was wir schließlich bedauern, ist, dass wir nicht länger Zeit hatten, die Annehmlichkeiten im Manoir Hovey in Quebec zu genießen. Das ist auf jeden Fall ein Grund, wieder zu kommen!

Manoir Hovey

575 Rue Hovey
North Hatley
Quebec, J0B 2C0
Kanada
weitere Informationen, aktuelle Verfügbarkeitsabfrage und bequeme Onlinebuchung*
Weitere Hotels in North Hatley*

Manoir Hovey - Louise Penny Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir „Manoir Hovey wie in Louise Penny Das Dorf in den roten Wäldern“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du schon:

Quelle: Recherchen vor Ort mit Unterstützung von Tourism Quebec und CTC

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Video © Copyright Petar Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Im Manoir Hovey in Quebec
Nach oben scrollen