Restaurants in the Kleinwalsertal - two inns

Table decoration in the tavern Hoheneck

Restaurants in the Kleinwalsertal


The Kleinwalsertal in Austria is one of the Gourmet regions of Austria. “We don't grow much, but we have beef and game. And that's what we use to make our enjoyment products ”. We were told that during our visit. There's a little more, as we can try in two restaurants in the Kleinwalsertal in Riezlern and Mittelberg. Eat well in Kleinwalsertal, we tested that on our autumn visit. We can recommend two restaurants.

 

 

Jürgen Denk - pleasure host 2015 in Vorarlberg
Jürgen Denk – chef in one of the restaurants in Kleinwalsertal and gourmet host 2015 in Vorarlberg

 

Restaurants in the Kleinwalsertal - Wirtshaus Hoheneck

"We stood on the summit of the Widderstein and declared the area that we could see from above to be the reference region for our products," laughs Jürgen Denk as he welcomes us to dinner at his Hoheneck inn in Mittelberg. From Munich to Bodensee,, from Bavaria to Styria - these are the regions from which one can travel in the Tavern Hoheneck sources its ingredients. Jürgen Denk and his wife Kirsten, who, as sommelier, serve the wine to accompany our menu, run one of the restaurants in Kleinwalsertal that place emphasis on sustainability. Their ingredients do not travel long distances. We have chosen the menu “Önsche Walser Chuche” (our Walser kitchen). This is the Heir of the Walser Kitchen - authentic, contemporary and inventive.

Authentic and contemporary

What came out of it can be seen: there is a greeting from dr Chuche (greeting from the kitchen) Ravioli from Ausseer Arctic char with a pesto from North Tyrolean Ruccola. The culinary region of Kleinwalsertal game and beef is represented with a starter, a strudel bag of venison with Eferdinger red cabbage - and yes, it is an iced cabbage. There was also Wachau Apricot. The intermediate course was an essence of porcini mushrooms with ravioli from Kästen (chestnuts) from Burgenland and caramelized pumpkin seeds from Styria. A rack of lamb was served as the main course, which even convinced me.

I usually prefer fish dishes when lamb is on the menu, but this lamb was excellent. There was also polenta and paprika vegetables. The dessert trio consisted of a caramel dumpling, a ragout of rosemary and mirabelle plum and semi-frozen plums from Stanzer. If you want, you can also get the “Önsche Walser Chuche” vegetarian. How it tastes describes Christina of City, Sea Country on her blog.

 

Eating well in the Kleinwalsertal - Ravioli vom Ausseer Arctic char
Ravioli from the Aussee Arctic char
Eating well in the Kleinwalsertal - roe-deer strudel with iced red cabbage
Roe strudel with iced red cabbage
Eating well in the Kleinwalsertal - Steinpilzessenz with chestnut ravioli
Stone mushroom procession with chestnut ravioli
Eating well in the Kleinwalsertal - rack of lamb with polenta and peppers
Saddle of lamb with polenta and paprika
Eating well in Kleinwalsertal - Dessert Dreierlei in Wirtshaus Hoheneck
Three different desserts at Wirtshaus Hoheneck, one of the restaurants in Kleinwalsertal

 

Pleasure host of the year 2018 among the restaurants in the Kleinwalsertal

By the way, Jürgen Denk was named Genusswirt of the year 2015 in the Vorarlberg region the day after our visit. Well deserved, as we think. Good eat in the Kleinwalsertal - In the Hoheneck tavern, we can recommend you with a clear conscience.

 

We walk to the forest house
We hike to the Waldhaus, one of the restaurants in Kleinwalsertal

 

Restaurants in Kleinwalsertal - traditional food in the Waldhaus an der Breitach

You have to know where it is, otherwise you will only find the Waldhaus inn if you pass it on a hike. We leave our car at the Waldhaus bus stop in Riezlern and walk in about 15 minutes down the steep mountain into the Breitach valley. Otherwise you just have to hike along the Breitach. From Riezlern it takes about 60 minutes on foot, through the Breitachklamm (from the German side) it is about 45 minutes. Directly on the river is the log house, which greets us with root heads, wooden owls and wisdom such as “Here in God's glory, enjoy the waiting time. It doesn't last forever. "

A flag from Canada also flies over the bridge over the Breitach. "It reminds us of friends from Canada," explains Peter Schikora, the landlord. "We have a webcam installed and whenever you look at it, you see your flag and know that we are thinking of you," he laughs.

 

Wurzelsepp
Wurzelsepp in front of one of the restaurants in Kleinwalsertal
In the cozy forest house
In the cozy Waldhaus, one of the restaurants in the Kleinwalsertal

 

Happily divorced

Peter works as a cook in the tavern that belongs to his partner Sandra Staara. He puts his arm around her and grins: "We were both happily divorced, just not from each other." That Tavern Waldhaus is already owned by the third generation of the Staara family. Sandra tells us that times weren't always easy. A few years ago the Breitach flooded so much that they feared the inn would be swept away by the water. But it went well again.

Prominent chefs visit the restaurants in Kleinwalsertal

The celebrities among the chefs have also been guests at the Waldhaus: they proudly show me photos of celebrity chef Alfons Schubeck, who was our guest with his cooking crew to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the traditional inn on the Breitach. The block house was built on the Breitach in 1906, when the Breitachklamm was opened to the public. “To this day, nothing has changed in this house,” says Peter. "It is built in the old Walser tradition, from thick logs."

 

Eating well in the Kleinwalsertal - pumpkin soup
pumpkin soup
Eating well in the Kleinwalsertal - Gamsgulasch with potato dumplings
Chick-goulash with potato dumplings
Eating well in the Kleinwalsertal - Dessert Dreierlei in the Waldhaus
Three kinds of dessert in the Waldhaus, one of the restaurants in the Kleinwalsertal
Eating well in the Kleinwalsertal - home-brewed
A self-distilled drink is a must in the restaurants in Kleinwalsertal

 

Then Peter Schikora disappears into the kitchen of his restaurant in Kleinwalsertal and conjures up his food for us. There is a pumpkin soup with pumpkin seed oil, a beef goulash with potato dumplings and a three-way dessert. We can't refuse a self-distilled drink at the end. So, after an evening full of fun, we say goodbye to the host couple in the Waldhaus an der Breitach. You can often eat well in Kleinwalsertal in places where you would not expect it.

 

This is what you need for a trip to Kleinwalsertal Vorarlberg

 

 


Travel Arrangements

Arrival by plane, car, bus and train

Arrival by plane, bus or train*. The nearest airport is Munich. It is also possible to travel by train. The train goes to Oberstdorf. From there, bus #1 will take you to Kleinwalsertal: Timetable and booking*

Car Rentals:

Cheap car hire - book quickly and easily!

Rent Motorhomes:

Book motorhomes in Europe here!  Or do you like to travel with him roof tent on the car? Also the overnight stay in a  camping tent is possible. At Alpencamping Haller, Köpfleweg 10a, 6991 Riezlern, Austria, you will find a campsite. With our Motorhome packing list You'll never forget anything again.

Accommodations in the region:

Accommodation for online booking is also available in Kleinwalsertal* via Booking.com.

 


 

Kleinwalsertal restaurants
Click on the photo and make a note of the "Kleinwalsertal Restaurants" on Pinterest

 

Do you also know:

Source Restaurants in the Kleinwalsertal: On-site research. We would like to thank Kleinwalsertal Tourismus and Berghaus Anna Lisa for the invitation to this trip. However, our opinion remains our own.

Text Restaurants in Kleinwalsertal: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photos of restaurants in Kleinwalsertal: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline

Restaurants in the Kleinwalsertal - two inns

2 thoughts too "Restaurants in the Kleinwalsertal - two inns"

Comments are closed.

Nach oben scrollen

Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal – zwei Wirtshäuser

Tischdeko im Wirtshaus Hoheneck
Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal - Tischdeko im Wirtshaus Hoheneck
Tischdeko im Wirtshaus Hoheneck – eines der Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal

Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal

Das Kleinwalsertal in Österreich ist eine der Genussregionen Österreichs. „Bei uns wächst nicht viel, aber Rind und Wild haben wir. Und daraus machen wir unsere Genuss Produkte“. Das hat man uns bei unserem Besuch erzählt. Ein wenig mehr gibt’s schon, wie wir in zwei Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal in Riezlern und Mittelberg probieren können. Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal, das haben wir bei unserem Herbstbesuch getestet. Zwei Restaurants können wir Euch empfehlen.

 

 

Jürgen Denk - Genusswirt 2015 in Vorarlberg
Jürgen Denk – Genusswirt 2015 in Vorarlberg

 

Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal – Wirtshaus Hoheneck

„Wir haben uns auf den Gipfel des Widderstein gestellt und das Gebiet, das wir von oben sehen konnten, zur Bezugsregion für unsere Produkte erklärt“, lacht Jürgen Denk, als er uns zum Abendessen in seinem Wirtshaus Hoheneck in Mittelberg begrüßt. Von München bis zum Bodensee, von Bayern bis in die Steiermark – das sind die Regionen, aus denen man im Wirtshaus Hoheneck seine Zutaten bezieht. Jürgen Denk und seine Frau Kirsten, die als Sommelière die Weinbegleitung zu unserem Menü serviert, betreiben eines der Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal, die auf Nachhaltigkeit Wert legen Ihre Zutaten legen keine weiten Wege zurück. Wir haben das Menü „Önsche Walser Chuche“ (unsere Walser Küche) gewählt. Das ist das Erbe der Walser Küche – authentisch, zeitgemäß und erfinderisch.

Authentisch und zeitgemäß

Was dabei herausgekommen ist, kann sich sehen lassen: als Gruaß aus dr Chuche (Gruß aus der Küche) gibt’s Ravioli vom Ausseer Seesaibling mit einem Pesto vom Nordtiroler Ruccola. Die Genussregion Kleinwalsertaler Wild und Rind ist mit einer Vorspeise vertreten, einer Strudeltasche vom Reh mit Eferdinger Rotkraut – und ja, dabei handelt es sich um ein geeistes Kraut. Dazu gab’s Wachauer Marille. Der Zwischengang war eine Essenz von Steinpilzen mit Ravioli von Kästen (Maroni) aus dem Burgenland und karamellisierten Kürbiskernen aus der Steiermark. Als Hauptgang wurde ein Lammrücken serviert, der selbst mich überzeugt hat.

Normalerweise greife ich lieber zu Fischgerichten, wenn Lamm auf der Speisekarte steht, aber dieses Lamm war exzellent. Dazu gab’s Polenta und Paprikagemüse. Das Dessert-Trio bestand aus einem Karamellknödel, einem Ragout von Rosmarin und Mirabelle und Halbgefrorenem von der Stanzer Zwetschke. Wer will, kann die „Önsche Walser Chuche“ auch vegetarisch bekommen. Wie diese schmeckt, beschreibt Christina von City, Sea Country auf ihrem Blog.

 

Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal - Ravioli vom Ausseer Seesaibling
Ravioli vom Ausseer Seesaibling
Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal - Rehstrudel mit geeistem Rotkraut
Rehstrudel mit geeistem Rotkraut
Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal - Steinpilzessenz mit Maroniravioli
Steinpilzessenz mit Maroniravioli
Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal - Lammrücken mit Polenta und Paprikagemüse
Lammrücken mit Polenta und Paprikagemüse
Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal - Dessert Dreierlei im Wirtshaus Hoheneck
Dessert Dreierlei im Wirtshaus Hoheneck

 

Genusswirt des Jahres 2018

Jürgen Denk ist übrigens am Tag nach unserem Besuch zum Genusswirt des Jahres 2015 in der Region Vorarlberg gekürt worden. Wohlverdient, wie wir meinen. Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal – im Wirtshaus Hoheneck können wir Euch das guten Gewissens empfehlen.

 

Wir wandern zum Waldhaus
Wir wandern zum Waldhaus

 

Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal – Urig essen im Waldhaus an der Breitach

Man muss wissen, wo es ist, sonst findet man das Wirtshaus Waldhaus nur, wenn man auf einer Wanderung dran vorbei kommt. Wir lassen unser Auto an der Bushaltestelle Waldhaus in Riezlern stehen und gehen in etwa 15 Minunten den steilen Berg hinunter ins Tal der Breitach. Ansonsten braucht man nur an der Breitach entlang zu wandern. Von Riezlern aus dauert es etwa 60 Minuten zu Fuß, durch die Breitachklamm (von deutscher Seite aus) sind es etwa 45 Minuten. Direkt am Fluß steht das Blockhaus, das uns mit Wurzelköpfen, Eulen aus Holz und Weisheiten begrüßt wie „Hier in Gottes Herrlichkeit genieße auch die Wartezeit. Sie dauert keine Ewigkeit.“

Über der Brücke, die über die Breitach führt, weht auch eine Flagge aus Kanada. „Die erinnert uns an Freunde aus Kanada“, erklärt uns Peter Schikora, der Wirt. „Wir haben eine Webcam installiert, und immer wenn sie darauf schauen, sehen sie ihre Flagge und wissen, dass wir an sie denken“, lacht er.

 

Wurzelsepp
Wurzelsepp vor einem der Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal
Im urgemütlichen Waldhaus
Im urgemütlichen Waldhaus

 

Glücklich geschieden

Peter arbeitet als Koch im Wirtshaus, das seiner Lebensgefährtin Sandra Staara gehört. Er legt den Arm um sie und grinst: „Wir sind beide glücklich geschieden, nur nicht voneinander.“ Das Wirtshaus Waldhaus ist bereits in der dritten Generation im Besitz der Familie Staara. Sandra erzählt uns, dass die Zeiten nicht immer einfach waren. Vor einigen Jahren führte die Breitach so viel Hochwasser, dass sie fürchteten, das Wirtshaus würde von den Wassermassen mitgerissen. Es ging aber noch einmal gut.

Prominente Köche zu Gast in den Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal

Auch die Prominenz unter den Köchen war im Waldhaus schon zu Gast: stolz zeigt sie mir Fotos von Starkoch Alfons Schubeck, der zusammen mit seiner Kochcrew zu Gast war, um den 100. Jahrestag des Traditionswirtshauses an der Breitach zu feiern. 1906 wurde das Blockhaus an der Breitach errichtet, damals, als die Breitachklamm für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht wurde. „Bis heute hat sich an diesem Haus nichts geändert“, sagt Peter. „Es ist gebaut in der alten Walser Tradition, aus dicken Holzstämmen.“

 

Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal - Kürbissuppe
Kürbissuppe
Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal - Gamsgulasch mit Kartoffelknödel
Gamsgulasch mit Kartoffelknödel
Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal - Dessert Dreierlei im Waldhaus
Dessert Dreierlei im Waldhaus
Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal - Selbstgebrannter
Selbstgebrannter

 

Dann verschwindet Peter Schikora in seiner Küche und zaubert uns sein Essen. Es gibt eine Kürbissuppe mit Kürbiskernöl, ein Rindsgulasch mit Kartoffelknödel und ein Dessert-Dreierlei. Einen Selbstgebrannten zum Abschluss dürfen wir nicht ablehnen. So verabschieden wir uns nach einem Abend voll Spaß vom Wirtspaar im Waldhaus an der Breitach. Gut essen im Kleinwalsertal kann man oft an Orten, an denen man dies nicht erwartet.

 

Das brauchst Du für eine Reise ins Kleinwalsertal Vorarlberg

  • Wir empfehlen bequeme Wanderschuhe für eine Wanderung im Kleinwalsertal Vorarlberg.
  • Praktisch für unterwegs ist ein Wanderrucksack, in dem Du Getränke, Brotzeit, eine Jacke und Kleinkram unterbringst.
  • Was Du für ein Picknick brauchst – Damit kannst Du auf einer der Bergwiesen Picknick machen mit Ausblick auf die Berge des Kleinwalsertals in Vorarlberg.
  • Fernglas * – Auf dieser Wanderung kannst Du Vögel beobachten und Ausschau nach anderen Tieren halten.
  • Gut gerüstet fürs Wandern im Kleinwalsertal Vorarlberg Österreich bist Du mit diesen Wanderkarten* und Wandernführern*.
  • Hast Du alles dabei? Mit unserer Checkliste Wandern kannst Du das ganz einfach überprüfen.
  • Du reist gern mit dem Wohnmobil? Im Tal gibt es mehrere Campingplätze. Unsere Packliste Wohnmobil hilft, dass Du nichts vergisst.
  • Im Winter bietet das Kleinwalsertal Skigebiete für Wintersportler. Unsere Packliste Winter Urlaub hilft beim Koffer Packen für den Winterurlaub..

 

 

Kleinwalsertal Restaurants
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir die „Kleinwalsertal Restaurants“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du schon:

Quelle Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal : Recherchen vor Ort. Wir bedanken uns bei Kleinwalsertal Tourismus und dem Berghaus Anna Lisa für die Einladung zu dieser Reise. Unsere Meinung bleibt unsere eigene.

Text Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal : © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal : © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal – zwei Wirtshäuser

2 Gedanken zu „Restaurants im Kleinwalsertal – zwei Wirtshäuser

Kommentare sind geschlossen.

Nach oben scrollen