Enjoy the Gail Valley

The four types of bacon

Hike and enjoy in the Gailtal

The Gailtal stretches from Kartitsch in East Tyrol to Villach in Carinthia along the Gailtal Alps. In its infancy, the Gail flows through that Lesachtal, creating the escarpments on both sides of the valley. At Kötschach-Mauthen you leave the whitewater regions of the Gail and from there you reach calmer waters as far as Villach. The Gailtal is wider here and offers the people who live here more space. In addition, the places are larger and the views are wider. Nevertheless, the valley always runs parallel to the border with the neighboring countries of Italy and Slovenia. Especially in the region east of Hermagor you can still feel the proximity to Slovenia, which is also reflected in the language. You often hear terms that come from Slovenian.

 

Enjoy Gailtal specialities

We set out to discover Carinthian specialties during a pleasure holiday in the Gailtal. Carinthia did it to us. According to our Enjoy your holiday in the monastery of St. Paul and Monastery holiday in the monastery Wernberg this time we are on our way to taste the specialties of the mountain valleys on the borders of Slovenia and Italy. Hiking in the Gailtal also gives us pleasure. Holidays in the Gailtal Alps are good for your stomach and your figure.

 

Enjoy hiking under ancient trees in the Gailtal Alps
Pleasure holidays in the Gailtal Alps under ancient trees

 

In the Slow Food Travel Region Carinthia you can look behind the scenes in summer by visiting producers and chefs. Connoisseur hotels, producers, restaurateurs and delicatessen shops have joined forces and offer joint pleasure experiences. They present specialties from Carinthia. This is exactly the right thing to do for a foray through the culinary art of Carinthia.

The offers vary depending on the season. May and June in particular are the best months to become familiar with the wild herbs in the two valleys. The meadows are mowed later in the year. However, there are various ways to discover Carinthian specialties throughout the summer. The best part is that you can try them too. And if you want, there are even cooking courses and workshops where you can prepare Austria's delicious dishes yourself. We have already tried some of these offers.

Here you can enjoy the Gailtal

 

 

Gailtaler bacon

We don't have to go far for our first pleasure experience. The owner of the Genießerhotel Biedermeier Schlössl Lerchenhof, where we stay three nights, is also a farmer. Hans Steinwender breeds pigs in a gentle way. During the week the animals are allowed outside on the meadows behind the castle hotel. They are only brought into the barn at the weekend, as there are too many visitors around then. The pigs should have their peace.

 

Gailtaler bacon in Biedermeierschloessl
Gailtaler bacon in Biedermeierschloessl

 

He clearly shows us how he prepares the bacon. Thick pieces of bacon that have been marinated in a broth lie in a trough. "With a lot of garlic," he laughs, while the intense scent of garlic fills the air. But garlic is not the only spice ingredient that Hans Steinwender uses for his bacon. He also makes root bacon and hay bacon. A particularly delicious variation is the Castello Vino, in which the speck is seasoned with wine from the Lavant Valley. After smoking, the pieces of bacon mature in the fresh air for up to twelve months.

 

A secret of the Gailtaler Speck lies in the fact that the pigs' feed is enriched with grass and hay. "It's a secret my grandmother has handed down," explains Hans Steinwender. Over dinner, the Steinwender family will show us just how delicious this bacon actually is. They serve us a rich bacon platter on which we can taste the four different types of bacon of the house.

You can try the varieties of Gailtaler bacon in the restaurant of the

Biedermeierschlössl Lerchenhof in the Gailtal
Submits 8
9620 Hermagor
Phone + 43 4282 / 2100

An Overnight stay at Schloss Lerchenhof * you can book here

 

Do you like to travel by motorhome?

If you purchase via a link marked *, we receive a commission, which we use to run this blog.

 

 

Hiking trails in the Gailtal Alps

 

Herb garden in Gailtal

The herb experience in the daberer is stylish and highly professional. the bio hotel. Senior boss Inge Daberer welcomes us in her designer show kitchen, where she has already prepared a refreshing herbal lemonade. "It still has to cool down," she explains and carefully puts it in the fridge. She then explains to us in detail her planned course of action.

 

You need that for a hike in the Gailtal Alps

  • We recommend comfortable walking shoes for the hike. Many hiking trails are alpine and require equipment for mountain tours.
  • Practically for traveling is one backpackin which you drink, snack, a Jacket and store odds and ends. One lunch box and other practical utensils for hikers can be found here.
  • Do you have everything? With our hiking checklist you can easily check that.

 

Inge Daberer is passionate about growing herbs in her herb garden. As an experienced cook, she has had a special interest in the herbs of her homeland for many years. She carefully grows some of them in the hotel garden, while she collects other herbs in the meadows and in the surrounding forests. She even recorded her extensive expertise and knowledge of herbs in the form of a herbal cookbook.

 

Enjoy your holiday with Inge Daberer in the herb garden
Enjoying a holiday in the Gailtal Alps with Inge Daberer in the herb garden

 

Together with other hotel guests, we go in search of herbs for our wild herb salad under the expert guidance of Inge Daberer. We fill our salad bowls with a variety of rocket and various garden herbs. On our way through the picturesque mountain meadows, we supplement the salad with aromatic wild herbs. Finally, Inge Daberer harvests stinging nettles, which she uses for the planned lunch menu.

 

 

Even before our arrival, Inge Daberer prepared a refreshing herbal lemonade, which awaited us freshly chilled after our tour of the hotel garden. Without the addition of sugar, it unfolds its delicious taste that goes perfectly with our sunny walk. In her impressive show kitchen, Inge Daberer shows us how she prepares various dishes, including herb salad, kohlrabi carpaccio with mint pesto, potato risotto with mushrooms on a green herb cream and a cold fruit bowl with thyme, basil, lavender and raspberry leaves. We particularly like to enjoy these culinary delicacies on the hotel terrace.

Here you can join in this herbal experience:

the daberer in the Gail Valley
9635 Dellach in the Gail Valley
St. Daniel 17

Edelgreißlerei

Not far away in Kötschach, Herwig Ertl offers workshops for connoisseurs in his gourmet shop. Maybe you're not familiar with the term "grocery store"? It was the same for us before. But it is a special shop that celebrates and presents the delicacies from the Gailtal, the Lesachtal and the Slow Food Alpe Adria region.

 

Herwig Ertl lets Petar taste
Enjoy your holidays in the Gail Valley - Herwig Ertl lets Petar Carinthia taste specialties

 

You need some courage for Herwig Ertl's workshop. After all, who would combine mountain cheese with anchovies and a drop of thick fruit vinegar? Or grain bread with goat cheese and marinated mountain garlic? Equally delicious is the alpine cheese with sun-kissed tomatoes and vinegar from Styria, which has matured in barrels for 25 years and has a honey-like taste. In Herwig Ertl's workshop you get the opportunity to combine all these delicacies as you wish. There you will definitely experience an adventurous journey through the culinary diversity of the Slow Food Alpe Adria region. It is a treat for the palate that could hardly be more intense.

In addition, drinks are served that you don't get everywhere. How about a juice made from wild quinces from Obsthof Retter, presented elegantly in a wine glass? Or a glass of Sauvignon Blanc from a winemaker from Mandorf in the Gailtal, which opens the palate to the delights of the region?

A visit to Herwig Ertl's Edelgreisslerei is like staying in Cockaigne. It's just a shame that it has to come to an end at some point. If you want to experience this experience yourself, you can register here. "It's even possible for one person," confirms Herwig Ertl, "you should just register in advance."

Edelgreißlerei Herwig Ertl in the Gail Valley
Kötschach 19
9640 Kötschach-Mauthen

Email: ertl@herwig-ertl.at
Website: www.herwig-ertl.at

 

 

Carinthian noodles

Last but not least, we visit Ingeborg Daberer in Sankt Daniel. She has been with her sister Gudrun in her Gasthof Grunwald specializing in Carinthian noodles. They play the lead role on the menu in their family tavern.

When we arrive, the ingredients are already prepared. The dough has to rest for half an hour before you can work it. We then fill the pasta with a potato and herb filling. Ingeborg Daberer rolls out the dough on a wooden board. Then she cuts out round shapes. These are about palm-sized. The dough is stretchy enough for her to work with. She fills each mold with a large spoonful of potato filling. Then she folds the dough around it and glues the edges firmly together.

 

Ingeborg Daberer introduces us to Carinthian noodles
Learn to croup

 

Not so easy: the production of Carinthian pasta

Now begins the complicated part of the production of Carinthian noodles. The curling. This is the name given to the shapes of the pretty edges that are typical of this Carinthian specialty. It is said that only girls who are good at crinkling can find a man. If it's true, we can not prove it. But one thing is for sure: you have to be able to do it. Ingeborg Daberer shows us. After some practice, my Carinthian noodles do not look as pretty as those of the expert. But at least you can see the curled edge.

At lunch we then try our way through Carinthian pasta with a spicy filling. Everything from meat to cheese and herbs is included. They just taste delicious. However, I like the sweet Carinthian pasta even better. Stuffed with nuts are my favorites. I know one thing for sure. In the future we will also have Carinthian pasta at home.

If you want to learn curling in the enjoyment of holidays in Gailtal, you can do that here:

Gasthof Grünwald in the Gail Valley
St. Daniel 17
9635 Dellach
Phone + 43 (0) 4718 677 +

 

This ends our enjoyable holiday in the Gailtal with our foray through the Carinthian specialties in the Slow Food Travel Region in the Gailtal. In any case, it was a tour through a culinary paradise, which we had a lot of fun with. We have learned a lot and will certainly try one or the other delicacy at home.

Questions and answers about the Slow Food Travel Region in the Gailtal

What makes the Gailtal a special travel destination for connoisseurs?

The Gailtal offers a wealth of culinary treasures and traditions, from regional specialties to handcrafted delicacies. The valley is also part of the Slow Food Travel Region, which specializes in sustainable, authentic and enjoyable experiences.

Which regional specialties can you try in the Gailtal?

In the Gailtal you can enjoy delicious Gailtaler bacon, Carinthian Kasnudeln, Gailtaler Almkäse, fresh wild herbs and much more. The regional cuisine also reflects the diversity of alpine cuisine.

Are there opportunities to get to know producers and chefs in the Slow Food Travel Region Gailtal?

Yes, definitely! There are events, workshops and tours in the region where you can meet producers, chefs and other experts and learn more about their products and how they work.

Apart from enjoying food and drinks, what activities can you do in the Gailtal?

In addition to the culinary experience, there are numerous opportunities for outdoor activities such as hiking, cycling, skiing and much more in the Gailtal. The breathtaking landscape and the Gailtal Alps offer a wide range of leisure activities.

Are there special events or festivals in the Gailtal that one should visit?

Yes, various events and festivals that focus on enjoyment and culinary delights take place regularly in the Gailtal. These include, for example, wine festivals, farmers' markets as well as regional specialty fairs.

What is the best way to explore the Slow Food Travel Region Gailtal?

A good way to explore the Slow Food Travel Region Gailtal is on a culinary journey visiting different producers, restaurants and markets. It is also worth booking a guided tour or a workshop to delve even deeper into the regional cuisine.

Are there accommodations in the Gailtal that are specially designed for connoisseurs?

Yes, in the Gailtal you will find a selection of hotels and accommodations that specialize in connoisseurs. Many offer regional specialties in their restaurants and also organize events and workshops on the topic of culinary art.

 

Slow Travel Carinthia:

 

Enjoy the Gailtal
Click on the photo and then make a note of “Enjoy the Gailtal” on Pinterest

 

Do you also know:

 

 

In any case, we would like to thank you very much Slow Food Travel Carinthia for the invitation. We would also like to thank the producers in the Gailtal for the insights into the culinary art of Carinthia.

Source for holidays in the Gailtal: own research on site. However, our opinion remains our own.

Text Holidays in the Gailtal: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photos of the Gailtal Alps: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Videos: © Copyright Petar and Monika Fuchs as well as TravelWorldOnline

 

 

Enjoy the Gail Valley

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs and Petar Fuchs are the authors and publishers of the Food and Slow Travel blog  TravelWorldOnline. They have been publishing this blog since 2005. TravelWorldOnline has been online since 2001. Their topics are trips to Savor, wine tourism worldwide and slow travel. During her studies Monika Fuchs spent some time in North America, where she - partly together with Petar Fuchs - traveled to the USA and Canada and spent a research year in British Columbia. This intensified her thirst for knowledge, which she satisfied for 6 years as an adventure guide for Rotel Tours and then for 11 years as a tour guide for Studiosus Reisen around the world. She was constantly expanding her travel regions, but curiosity still gnawed at her: "What's beyond the horizon? What else is there to discover in this city? Which people are interesting here? What do they eat in this region?" As a freelance travel journalist (her articles have appeared in DIE ZEIT, 360° Canada, 360° USA, etc.), she is now looking for answers to these questions as a travel writer and travel blogger in many countries around the world. Petar Fuchs produces the videos on this blog as well as on YouTube. Monika Fuchs from TravelWorldOnline is among Germany's top 50 bloggers in 2021. Find more Information about Monika and Petar Fuchs here.

11 thoughts too "Enjoy the Gail Valley"

  1. Had to suggest my sister of some places to visit on her vacation with friends, found this insightful article. Great work, really. So informative and well curated. Thanks!

  2. Thank you for this online trip through Lesachtal. We are currently looking for a suitable place in the Alps to take our summer vacation, and this place can be perfect for us. We just have to book a hotel and then our miracles will begin soon.

  3. You two,
    That sounds like a very enjoyable journey - not only in the culinary sense.
    The Gail Valley has been on my wish list for some time, now you have managed that I know even more relaxed reasons to travel to Carinthia.

    Thanks for the great pleasure travel tips, best regards, Katja

  4. Dear Monika,
    it all sounds really delicious. That would be exactly my journey. Thanks for the great hint. I would like to try the wild herb soup and the noodles. But that the lilac flower lemonade tastes, I can not imagine somehow ;-)
    Kind regards
    Ina

  5. Great tips to empathize. It's always great to see what the locals bring to the table for culinary diversity. Totally invites you to feast. Thanks a lot!

  6. That sounds totally delicious. This seems like a perfect destination for me! We wanted to go to the mountains with my parents next year anyway and now, thanks to you, I know exactly where to go

  7. Dear Monika, dear Petar!
    A very nice contribution! Must have been a great trip with numerous delicacies! Great impressions.
    Best regards,
    Ines

  8. Hello my dears,
    Carinthia has been on my list for a long time. This beautiful corner I will definitely travel. What I really like about your contribution is that you are introduced to the specialties from the region. Especially the Gaitaler bacon and the wild herb soup I find very appealing.
    Best regards, Selda

  9. Dear Monika,
    Carinthia and the Gail Valley have been on my list of places I'd like to visit for some time. That it should be pretty nice there I already heard. But that you can discover so many other things there, I did not know. In particular, the workshops for connoisseurs, I find very interesting. And I did not know that there are Carinthian noodles. Thank you for the great insights. I've learned a lot again. :)

    Many greetings
    Kathi

  10. Oh, that sounds very delicious. Especially the many specialties with herbs and the filled pasta I would like to try.

    Best regards,
    Gina

Comments are closed.

Das Gailtal genießen

Die vier Specksorten

Im Gailtal wandern und genießen

Das Gailtal erstreckt sich von Kartitsch in Osttirol bis nach Villach in Kärnten entlang der Gailtaler Alpen. In ihren Anfängen durchfließt die Gail das Lesachtal, wobei sie die Steilhänge auf beiden Seiten des Tals geschaffen hat. Bei Kötschach-Mauthen verlässt man die Wildwasser-Regionen der Gail und gelangt von dort aus in ruhigere Gewässer bis nach Villach. Hier ist das Gailtal breiter und bietet den Menschen, die hier wohnen, mehr Raum. Zudem sind die Orte größer und die Blicke weiter. Dennoch verläuft das Tal stets parallel zur Grenze zu den Nachbarstaaten Italien und Slowenien. Vor allem in der Region östlich von Hermagor spürt man noch die Nachbarschaft zu Slowenien, was sich auch in der Sprache zeigt. Oft hört man Begriffe, die aus dem Slowenischen stammen.

 

Gailtaler Spezialitäten genießen

Wir machen uns auf, Kärnten Spezialitäten bei einem Genuss Urlaub im Gailtal zu entdecken. Kärnten hat es uns angetan. Nach unserem Genuss Urlaub im Stift St. Paul und Kloster Urlaub im Kloster Wernberg sind wir diesmal unterwegs, um die Spezialitäten der Bergtäler an den Grenzen zu Slowenien und Italien zu probieren. Im Gailtal wandern vermittelt uns auch Genuss. Urlaub in den Gailtaler Alpen ist gut für den Magen und die Figur.

 

Genuss Urlaub unter uralten Bäumen in den Gailtaler Alpen wandern
Genuss Urlaub in den Gailtaler Alpen unter uralten Bäumen

 

In der Slow Food Travel Region Kärnten kannst du im Sommer hinter die Kulissen blicken, indem du Produzenten und Köche besuchst. Genießerhotels, Produzenten, Gastronomen und Delikatessläden haben sich zusammengeschlossen und bieten gemeinsam Genusserlebnisse an. Dabei präsentieren sie Spezialitäten aus Kärnten. Das ist genau das Richtige, um einen Streifzug durch die Kulinarik Kärntens zu unternehmen.

Die Angebote variieren je nach Jahreszeit. Vor allem im Mai und Juni sind die besten Monate, um sich mit den Wildkräutern der beiden Täler vertraut zu machen. Später im Jahr werden die Wiesen gemäht. Es gibt jedoch den ganzen Sommer über verschiedene Möglichkeiten, um Kärntens Spezialitäten zu entdecken. Das Beste daran ist, dass du sie auch probieren kannst. Und wenn du möchtest, gibt es sogar Kochkurse und Workshops, in denen du die köstlichen Gerichte Österreichs selbst zubereiten kannst. Wir haben einige dieser Angebote bereits ausprobiert.

Hier kannst du das Gailtal genießen

 

 

Gailtaler Speck

Zu unserem ersten Genusserlebnis müssen wir nicht weit gehen. Der Besitzer des Genießerhotels Biedermeier Schlössl Lerchenhof, in dem wir drei Nächte verbringen, ist gleichzeitig Landwirt. Hans Steinwender züchtet Schweine auf eine sanfte Art. Während der Woche dürfen die Tiere draußen auf den Wiesen hinter dem Schlosshotel sein. Nur am Wochenende werden sie in den Stall gebracht, da dann zu viele Besucher unterwegs sind. Die Schweine sollen ihre Ruhe haben.

 

Gailtaler Speck im Biedermeierschloessl
Gailtaler Speck im Biedermeierschloessl

 

Er zeigt uns anschaulich, wie er den Speck vorbereitet. In einem Trog liegen dicke Speckstücke, die in einem Sud mariniert sind. „Mit viel Knoblauch“, lacht er, während der intensive Duft des Knoblauchs in die Luft strömt. Doch Knoblauch ist nicht die einzige Gewürzzutat, die Hans Steinwender für seine Specksorten verwendet. Er stellt auch Wurzelspeck und Heuspeck her. Eine besonders köstliche Variation ist der Castello Vino, bei dem der Speck mit Wein aus dem Lavanttal gesurt wird. Nach dem Räuchern reifen die Speckstücke bis zu zwölf Monate lang an der frischen Luft.

 

Ein Geheimnis des Gailtaler Specks liegt darin, dass das Futter der Schweine mit Gras und Heu verfeinert wird. „Das ist ein überliefertes Geheimnis meiner Großmutter“, erklärt Hans Steinwender. Wie köstlich dieser Speck tatsächlich ist, wird uns beim Abendessen von der Familie Steinwender bewiesen. Sie servieren uns eine reichhaltige Speckplatte, auf der wir die vier verschiedenen Specksorten des Hauses kosten dürfen.

Probieren kannst Du die Sorten des Gailtaler Specks im Restaurant des

Biedermeierschlössl Lerchenhof im Gailtal
Untermöschach 8
9620 Hermagor
Tel. +43 4282 / 2100

Eine Übernachtung im Schloss Lerchenhof* kannst Du hier buchen

 

Du reist gern mit dem Wohnmobil?

Kaufst du über einen mit * markierten Link, erhalten wir dafür eine Provision, mit der wir dieses Blog betreiben.

 

 

Wanderwege in den Gailtaler Alpen

 

Kräutergarten im Gailtal

Durchgestylt und hochprofessionell präsentiert sich das Kräutererlebnis im daberer. das biohotel. Seniorchefin Inge Daberer empfängt uns in ihrer Designer Showküche, wo sie bereits eine erfrischende Kräuterlimonade angesetzt hat. „Sie muss erst noch abkühlen“, erklärt sie und stellt sie sorgsam in den Kühlschrank. Anschließend erläutert sie uns detailliert ihre geplante Vorgehensweise.

 

Das brauchst Du für eine Wanderung in den Gailtaler Alpen

  • Wir empfehlen bequeme Wanderschuhe für die Wanderung. Viele Wanderwege sind alpin und erfordern eine Ausrüstung für Bergtouren.
  • Praktisch für unterwegs ist ein Wanderrucksack, in dem Du Getränke, Brotzeit, eine Jacke und Kleinkram unterbringst. Eine Brotzeitdose und andere praktische Utensilien für Wanderer findest Du hier.
  • Hast Du alles dabei? Mit unserer Checkliste Wandern kannst Du das ganz einfach überprüfen.

 

Inge Daberer widmet sich mit Leidenschaft der Kräuterzucht in ihrem Kräutergarten. Als erfahrene Köchin hegt sie bereits seit vielen Jahren ein besonderes Interesse an den Kräutern ihrer Heimat. Einen Teil davon baut sie sorgfältig im Hotelgarten an, während sie andere Kräuter auf den Wiesen und in den umliegenden Wäldern sammelt. Ihre umfassende Expertise und ihr Wissen über Kräuter hat sie sogar in Form eines Kräuterkochbuchs festgehalten.

 

Genuss Urlaub bei Inge Daberer im Kräutergarten
Beim Genuss Urlaub in den Gailtaler Alpen mit Inge Daberer im Kräutergarten

 

Gemeinsam mit anderen Hotelgästen begeben wir uns unter der fachkundigen Anleitung von Inge Daberer auf die Suche nach Kräutern für unseren Wildkräutersalat. Dabei füllen wir unsere Salatschüsseln mit einer Vielfalt an Rucola und verschiedenen Gartenkräutern. Auf unserem Weg durch die malerischen Bergwiesen ergänzen wir den Salat zusätzlich mit aromatischen Wildkräutern. Zum Abschluss erntet Inge Daberer Brennnesseln, die sie für die geplanten Speisen des Mittagsmenüs verwendet.

 

 

Bereits vor unserer Ankunft hat Inge Daberer eine erfrischende Kräuterlimonade vorbereitet, die uns nach unserem Rundgang durch den Hotelgarten frisch gekühlt erwartet. Ohne Zugabe von Zucker entfaltet sie ihren köstlichen Geschmack, der perfekt zu unserem sonnigen Spaziergang passt. In ihrer beeindruckenden Schauküche zeigt uns Inge Daberer, wie sie verschiedene Gerichte zubereitet, darunter Kräutersalat, Kohlrabi-Carpaccio mit Minzpesto, Erdäpfelrisotto mit Champignons an einer Grünen Creme aus Kräutern sowie eine Frucht-Kaltschale mit Thymian, Basilikum, Lavendel und Himbeerblättern. Diese kulinarischen Köstlichkeiten genießen wir besonders gerne auf der Hotelterrasse.

Hier kannst Du dieses Kräutererlebnis selbst mitmachen:

der daberer im Gailtal
9635 Dellach im Gailtal
St. Daniel 17

Edelgreißlerei

Nicht weit entfernt in Kötschach bietet Herwig Ertl in seiner Edelgreißlerei Workshops für Genießer an. Vielleicht bist du nicht mit dem Begriff „Greißlerei“ vertraut? Das ging uns vorher genauso. Doch es handelt sich dabei um einen besonderen Laden, der die Delikatessen aus dem Gailtal, dem Lesachtal und der Slow Food Alpe Adria Region zelebriert und präsentiert.

 

Herwig Ertl lässt Petar kosten
Genuss Urlaub im Gailtal – Herwig Ertl lässt Petar Kärnten Spezialitäten kosten

 

Für Herwig Ertl’s Workshop brauchst du etwas Mut. Denn wer kombiniert schon Bergkäse mit Sardellen und einem Tropfen dickem Obstessig? Oder Kornbrot mit Ziegenkäse und mariniertem Bergknoblauch? Ebenso köstlich ist der Almkäse mit sonnengeküssten Tomaten und Essig aus der Steiermark, der 25 Jahre im Fass gereift ist und einen honigähnlichen Geschmack hat. In Herwig Ertl’s Workshop erhältst du die Möglichkeit, all diese Delikatessen nach Belieben zu kombinieren. Dort erlebst Du auf jeden Fall eine abenteuerliche Reise durch die kulinarische Vielfalt der Slow Food Alpe Adria Region. Es ist ein Gaumenschmeicheln, das intensiver kaum sein könnte.

Dazu werden Getränke serviert, die man nicht überall bekommt. Wie wäre es mit einem Saft aus wilden Quitten vom Obsthof Retter, der elegant im Weinglas präsentiert wird? Oder einem Glas Sauvignon Blanc von einem Winzer aus Mandorf im Gailtal, der den Gaumen öffnet für die Genüsse der Region?

Ein Besuch in Herwig Ertl’s Edelgreißlerei ist wie ein Aufenthalt im Schlaraffenland. Es ist lediglich schade, dass dieser irgendwann zu Ende gehen muss. Wenn du dieses Erlebnis selbst erfahren möchtest, kannst du dich hier anmelden. „Das ist sogar für eine Person möglich“, bestätigt uns Herwig Ertl, „man sollte sich nur vorher anmelden.“

Edelgreißlerei Herwig Ertl im Gailtal
Kötschach 19
9640 Kötschach-Mauthen

Email: ertl@herwig-ertl.at
Website: www.herwig-ertl.at

 

 

Kärntner Nudeln

Last but not least besuchen wir Ingeborg Daberer in Sankt Daniel. Sie hat sich mit ihrer Schwester Gudrun in ihrem Gasthof Grünwald auf Kärntner Nudeln spezialisiert. Die spielen die Hauptrolle auf der Speisekarte in ihrem Familienwirtshaus.

Bei unserer Ankunft sind die Zutaten bereits hergerichtet. Der Teig muss eine halbe Stunde lang ruhen, bevor man ihn verarbeiten kann. Wir füllen anschließend die Nudeln mit einer Kartoffel-Kräuter-Fülle. Ingeborg Daberer rollt den Teig auf einem Holzbrett aus. Dann sticht sie runde Formen aus. Diese sind etwa handtellergroß. Der Teig ist dehnbar genug, dass sie ihn bearbeiten kann. Form für Form füllt sie mit einem großen Löffel Kartoffelfülle. Dann schlägt sie den Teig darum und klebt die Ränder fest aufeinander.

 

Ingeborg Daberer stellt uns Kärntner Nudeln vor
Krendeln lernen

 

Gar nicht so einfach: die Herstellung von Kärntner Nudeln

Jetzt beginnt der komplizierte Teil der Herstellung der Kärntner Nudeln. Das Krendeln. So nennt man das Formen der hübschen Ränder, die typisch sind für diese Kärntner Spezialität. Es heißt, nur Mädchen, die gut Krendeln können, finden auch einen Mann. Ob’s stimmt, können wir zwar nicht beweisen. Aber sicher ist eines: das Krendeln muss man können. Ingeborg Daberer zeigt es uns. Nach etwas Übung sehen meine Kärntner Nudeln zwar nicht so schön aus wie die von der Könnerin. Aber zumindest kann man den gekrendelten Rand erkennen.

Beim Mittagessen probieren wir uns anschließend durch Kärntner Nudeln mit pikanter Füllung. Von Fleisch bis Käse und Kräutern ist alles drin. Sie schmecken einfach köstlich. Noch lieber allerdings mag ich die süßen Kärntner Nudeln. Gefüllt mit Nuss sind meine Favoriten. Eines weiß ich sicher. Bei uns gibt’s in Zukunft auch zu Hause Kärntner Nudeln.

Willst Du im Genuss Urlaub im Gailtal das Krendeln lernen, kannst Du das hier tun:

Gasthof Grünwald im Gailtal
St. Daniel 17
9635 Dellach
Tel. +43 (0) 4718 677+

 

Damit endet unser Genuss Urlaub im Gailtal mit unserem Streifzug durch die Kärnten Spezialitäten in der Slow Food Travel Region im Gailtal. Das war auf jeden Fall eine Tour durch ein kulinarisches Schlaraffenland, die uns sehr viel Spaß gemacht hat. Wir haben viel dazu gelernt, und werden sicher die eine oder andere Köstlichkeit auch am heimischen Herd ausprobieren.

Fragen und Antworten zur Slow Food Travel Region im Gailtal

Was macht das Gailtal zu einem besonderen Reiseziel für Genießer?

Das Gailtal bietet eine Fülle an kulinarischen Schätzen und Traditionen, von regionalen Spezialitäten bis hin zu handwerklich hergestellten Delikatessen. Zudem ist das Tal Teil der Slow Food Travel Region, die sich auf nachhaltige, authentische und genussvolle Erlebnisse spezialisiert hat.

Welche regionalen Spezialitäten kann man im Gailtal probieren?

Im Gailtal kannst du köstlichen Gailtaler Speck, Kärntner Kasnudeln, Gailtaler Almkäse, frische Wildkräuter sowie vieles mehr genießen. Die regionale Küche spiegelt zudem die Vielfalt der alpenländischen Kulinarik wider.

Gibt es in der Slow Food Travel Region Gailtal Möglichkeiten, um Produzenten und Köche kennenzulernen?

Ja, definitiv! In der Region gibt es Veranstaltungen, Workshops und Führungen, bei denen du Produzenten, Köche sowie andere Experten treffen und mehr über ihre Produkte und ihre Arbeitsweise erfahren kannst.

Welche Aktivitäten außer dem Genuss von Speisen und Getränken kann man im Gailtal unternehmen?

Neben dem kulinarischen Erlebnis gibt es im Gailtal zahlreiche Möglichkeiten für Outdoor-Aktivitäten wie Wandern, Radfahren, Skifahren und vieles mehr. Die atemberaubende Landschaft sowie die Gailtaler Alpen bieten ein abwechslungsreiches Freizeitangebot.

Gibt es besondere Veranstaltungen oder Festivals im Gailtal, die man besuchen sollte?

Ja, im Gailtal finden regelmäßig verschiedene Veranstaltungen und Festivals statt, die den Fokus auf Genuss und Kulinarik legen. Dazu gehören beispielsweise Weinfeste, Bauernmärkte ebenso wie regionale Spezialitätenmessen.

Wie kann man die Slow Food Travel Region Gailtal am besten erkunden?

Eine gute Möglichkeit, die Slow Food Travel Region Gailtal zu erkunden, ist eine kulinarische Reise, bei der man verschiedene Produzenten, Restaurants und Märkte besucht. Es lohnt sich außerdem, eine geführte Tour oder einen Workshop zu buchen, um noch tiefer in die regionale Kulinarik einzutauchen.

Gibt es Unterkünfte im Gailtal, die speziell auf Genießer ausgerichtet sind?

Ja, im Gailtal findest du eine Auswahl an Hotels und Unterkünften, die auf Genießer spezialisiert sind. Viele bieten regionale Spezialitäten in ihren Restaurants an und organisieren außerdem Veranstaltungen und Workshops rund um das Thema Kulinarik.

 

Slow Travel Kärnten:

 

Gailtal geniessen
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir anschließend „Das Gailtal geniessen“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du überdies:

 

 

Wir bedanken uns auf jeden Fall sehr herzlich bei Slow Food Travel Kärnten für die Einladung. Außerdem bedanken wir uns bei den Produzenten im Gailtal für die Einblicke in die Kulinarik Kärntens.

Quelle für Urlaub im Gailtal: eigene Recherchen vor Ort. Unsere Meinung bleibt jedoch unsere eigene.

Text Urlaub im Gailtal: © Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Fotos Gailtaler Alpen : © Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Videos: © Copyright Petar und Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline

 

 

Das Gailtal genießen

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs und Petar Fuchs sind die Verfasser und Herausgeber des Slow Travel und Genuss Reiseblogs TravelWorldOnline Traveller. Sie veröffentlichen dieses Blog seit 2005. TravelWorldOnline ist online seit 2001. Ihre Themen sind Genuss Reisen und Weintourismus in aller Welt und Slow Travel. Monika Fuchs verbrachte während ihres Studiums einige Zeit in Nordamerika, wo sie - zum Teil gemeinsam mit Petar Fuchs - die USA und Kanada bereiste und ein Forschungsjahr in British Columbia verbrachte. Das verstärkte ihren Wissensdurst, den sie 6 Jahre lang als Abenteuer-Guide für Rotel Tours und danach 11 Jahre lang als Studienreiseleiterin für Studiosus Reisen in aller Welt zu stillen versuchte. Sie erweiterte ständig ihre Reiseregionen, aber trotzdem nagte die Neugier an ihr: "Was befindet sich hinter dem Horizont? Was gibt's in dieser Stadt noch zu entdecken? Welche Menschen sind hier interessant? Was isst man in dieser Region?" Auf diese Fragen sucht sie nun als freie Reisejournalistin (ihre Artikel erschienen u.a. in DIE ZEIT, 360° Kanada, 360° USA, etc.) , Reiseautorin und Reisebloggerin Antworten in vielen Ländern der Welt. Petar Fuchs produziert die Videos auf diesem Blog sowie auf YouTube. Monika Fuchs von TravelWorldOnline Traveller ist unter Deutschlands Top 50 Bloggerinnen 2021 Weitere Informationen über Monika und Petar Fuchs.

11 Gedanken zu „Das Gailtal genießen

  1. Had to suggest my sister of some places to visit on her vacation with friends, found this insightful article. Great work, really. So informative and well curated. Thanks!

  2. Vielen Dank für diese Online – Reise durch Lesachtal. Wir suchen jetzt gerade nach einem passenden Platz im Alpen, um da den Sommerurlaub zu machen, und dieser Platz kann für uns perfekt sein. Wir müssen nur ein Hotel buchen, und dann wird unsere Wunder bald beginnen.

  3. Ihr Beiden,
    das klingt nach einer sehr genussvollen Reise – nicht nur im kulinarischen Sinne.
    Das Gailtal steht schon länger auf meiner Wunschreiseliste, jetzt habt ihr es geschafft, das ich noch mehr entspannte Gründe kenne, nach Kärnten zu reisen.

    Danke für die tollen Genussreisetipps, liebe Grüße, Katja

  4. Liebe Monika,
    das hört sich ja alles richtig lecker an. Das wäre genau meine Reise. Danke für den tollen Tipp. Die Wildkräutersuppe und die Nudeln würde ich gerne mal probieren. Aber das die Fliederblütenlimo schmeckt, kann ich mir irgendwie nicht vorstellen ;-)
    Lieben Gruß
    Ina

  5. Tolle Tipps zum Nachempfinden. Es ist immer wieder super, zu sehen, was die Einheimischen für eine kulinarische Vielfalt auf den Tisch bringen. Lädt total zum Schlemmen ein. Vielen Dank!

  6. Das hört sich total lecker an . Das scheint ein perfektes Reiseziel für mich zu sein! Wir wollten nächstes Jahr sowieso mit meinen Eltern in die Berge und jetzt weiß ich dank euch auch ganz genau wohin

  7. Liebe Monika, lieber Petar!
    Ein sehr schöner Beitrag! Muss eine tolle Reise mit zahlreichen Gaumenfreuden gewesen sein! Tolle Eindrücke.
    Liebe Grüße
    Ines

  8. Hallo, ihr Lieben,
    Kärnten steht schon seit Langem auf meiner Liste. Diese schöne Ecke werde ich auf jeden Fall bereisen. Was an eurem Beitrag mir sehr gut gefällt ist, dass ihr die Spezialitäten aus der Region vorgestellt werden. Besonders der Gaitaler Speck und die Wildkräutersuppe finde ich sehr ansprechend.
    Liebe Grüße, Selda

  9. Liebe Monika,
    Kärnten und das Gailtal stehen schon etwas länger auf meiner Liste der Orte, die ich unbedingt einmal besuchen möchte. Dass es dort ziemlich schön sein soll hab ich schon gehört. Aber dass man dort auch so viele andere Dinge entdecken kann, wusste ich nicht. Insbesondere den Workshops für Genießer finde ich sehr interessant. Und ich wusste auch nicht, dass es Kärntner Nudeln gibt. Ich danke euch für die tollen Einblicke. Ich hab schon wieder reichlich gelernt. :)

    Viele liebe Grüße
    Kathi

  10. Oh, das hört sich alles super lecker an. Vor allem die vielen Spezialitäten mit Kräutern und die gefüllten Nudeln würde ich gerne mal probieren.

    Liebe Grüße
    Gina

Kommentare sind geschlossen.