Home » Europe » Croatia » Discover picturesque Croatia islands while island hopping

Discover picturesque Croatia islands while island hopping

Island hopping through the Croatia islands
Experience Croatia island hopping © Copyright Aymen Boulehmi, Goolets

Island hopping on Croatian islands

The best way to experience Croatia islands is by island hopping. The island world of Adria Croatia is diverse. We saw that on a trip on the coastal road. This led from Montenegro up to Rijeka. We saw islands with bays where nobody lives. Small. Hidden. Lonely. Quiet. Discovered islands that are a world apart. With cities. Fishing villages. Farmers and wineries. The rocky islands, on which no life seems to exist, are particularly striking. The eye sees nothing but rock and debris. Kilometer long. A desert of stone.

When driving along the coast, you can only see Croatian islands from a distance. If you visit one of these islands, you only see this one island. Exciting is therefore a vacation in which you visit several islands. This is the only way to experience their diversity. Find out how different they are. Get to know your bays, cities and people. Bathe on their coasts. Hike over their hills. Stroll through the cities. Try specialties in their markets. Or chill in their bars and restaurants.

We looked around where it is particularly easy to experience this. The mainland cities of Trogir or Split are good starting points for island hopping on the Croatian islands. They are close to each other and not only offer good connections to Croatia islands. They are also worth seeing and worth a trip.

Do you like to travel by motorhome?

  • Book one here Campsite nearby *.
  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you will find information and here Booking options *.
  • Check with our Packing list camperwhether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.
  • Croatia has a very dense network of campsites on the coast, few parking spaces, overnight stays outside of campsites and parking spaces are also prohibited on private property. Campsite guide for Croatia * you can buy it here.

Split
Split © Copyright Nicolas Vigier, Flickr CC0 1.0

Split is a perfect base for island hopping

With around 210 inhabitants, Split is the second largest city in Croatia. The city looks back on 000 years of history. This can still be felt in the city. In their buildings. In their places. in the churches. Along the waterfront. In the fortress of Klis, which is a few kilometers outside the city. Or in the Sustipan Park, from which there are beautiful views of the Split beaches and Croatian islands open. The Diocletian's Palace in Split, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is particularly worth seeing.



Booking.com


One or more days before or after a Island hopping tour * spend through Croatian islands. Split is also a port city. From here ferries leave for the islands off the coast.

Trogir
Trogir © Copyright Nick Savchenko, Flickr CC BY SA 2.0

Trogir is well suited for a stay on Croatia's coast

If Split is too big for a few days on the mainland before or after the trip, you can spend a few days in Trogir. The city is located just thirty kilometers from Split. The entire old town is even a UNESCO World Heritage Site. No wonder with a story that can look back on 2000 years. The Greeks, Romans and Venetians shaped the cityscape of Trogir.

There are no ferries from Trogir to the offshore islands. Due to the proximity to Split, a stay in this city is still feasible. There is a bus from Split Airport (about eight kilometers away) and a bus to the city of Split.



Booking.com

Croatia islands
Croatia Islands © Copyright Aymen Boulehmi, Goolets

Discover Croatian islands off Split

These Croatian islands off the coast of Split are worth a visit. These islands can be reached by ferry from Split: Brac, Hvar, Vis, Korcula and Lastovo.

Ad

Island hopping in Croatia Islands on board a yacht

You can also charter a yacht and use it to sail to the islands of your choice. No matter whether with friends, with your family or just as a couple. The island world of Croatia can hardly be experienced more luxuriously than on board a yacht. You determine your travel route yourself. Choose whether you prefer to moor in one of the coastal towns on the islands or in a lonely bay. Enjoy the silence at sea. Or experience the nightlife in the cities. Here you can charter a yacht * for your very own island hopping experience in Croatia.

Brac
Brac © Copyright Nick Savchenko, Flickr CC BY SA 2.0

The island of Brac

Three places on the island can be reached by ferry from Split: Bol, Milna and Supetar. Brac is known for its sandy beaches. But there are also places of interest that are worth visiting. The Dragonja Grotto, for example. Or the Dominican monastery in Bol. The connoisseurs among you can look forward to good cheese, lamb and fish, which you can best wash down with a sip of schnapps or a glass of Bolski Plavac. That's what the local wine is called.

That must be in the suitcase for a beach holiday in Croatia

  • Use our Checklist beach vacation Pack for the suitcase and don't forget anything for your equipment for a beach vacation
  • On the islands you have the opportunity to relax on the beach. holiday reading therefore belongs in the suitcase.
  • There are hiking trails on the islands in Croatia that are worth exploring. So think about it good hiking boots when packing suitcases.
  • With our Hiking checklist you can check whether you have packed everything you need for your hike.



Booking.com

Hvar
Hvar © Copyright alchen_x, Flickr CC BY SA 2.0

The island of Hvar

Lavender, olive groves and vineyards - that's what makes Hvar so attractive. And of course the products that are made from it. The city of Hvar is also worth seeing. This can be reached by ferry from Split. Attractions worth visiting include the fortress, the cathedral, the city theater and the Franciscan monastery. Not to forget the restaurants in the city, where you can try typical fish dishes.



Booking.com

Komiza - island hopping to the Croatian island of Vis
Komiza on the Croatian island of Vis © Copyright Miroslav Vajdic, Flickr CC BY SA 2.0

Discover Vis

The island of Vis is something special among the Croatia islands. Even many Croatians don't know Vis. This is because the island was a military restricted area until 1995. The island owes its nickname to this fact Gibraltar the Adriatic. Foreigners had no access there. The island was even inaccessible to most locals. That only changed after the collapse of Yugoslavia. This is also one of the reasons why tourism has only recently become an economic factor on the island. In addition, viticulture and fishing play a role.



Booking.com

Korcula
Korcula © Copyright Robin, Flickr CC BY 2.0

The island of Korcula

This island stretches behind Peljesac in the Adriatic. In the north, the island is relatively flat and easily accessible. The southern part, on the other hand, has steep coasts with cliffs that are up to thirty meters high. In the northern part of the island there is also the town of Korcula, which can be reached by ferry. The place is first mentioned in the 10th century. However, no buildings are preserved from that time. It was only when Korcula developed into a city of stonemasons that the facade was decorated with ornate facades. In the 15th century, the city had a Gothic cityscape. For some historians, Korcula is also considered the birthplace of Marco Polo. However, science is arguing about it. Others think that he was born in Venice. In any case, it is certain that Korcula was part of the Venetian sphere of influence for a while.



Booking.com

Peljesac
Peljesac © Copyright Ivan Ivankovic, Flickr CC BY 2.0

Discover Lastovo

You can also reach the island of Lastovo by ferry from Split. There the ferry docks in the port of Ubli. Similar to Vis, Lastovo was once a military base. Access was prohibited to foreigners. The island has only been accessible to everyone since 1992. It is still a real insider tip for individual travelers. Lastovo is one of the greenest islands in the Croatian Adriatic. Ubli is the only ferry port on the island. From there you can reach the other island towns by public bus. Even if Lastovo has no sandy beaches, a visit is worthwhile. The cliff is worth seeing. You can reach secluded bays by boat. Here you can still enjoy nature that has hardly been touched.



Booking.com

Conclusion: Island hopping on Croatian islands is an experience

If you take the time to explore several Croatian islands, island hopping in the Adriatic is a great experience. You will get to know islands that offer impressions that distinguish them from each other due to their history and nature. Immerse yourself in the millennia-old history of the island world. Learn more about people and what makes their lives. Enjoy the specialties of the region. And above all - enjoy the nature of the islands and the sea. Further Beach vacation destinations here.

Source: own research. This article was sponsored by Goolets.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Copyright Aymen Boulehmi, Goolets and the photographers mentioned in the image description.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Genuss Reisemagazin » Europa » Kroatien » Malerische Kroatien Inseln entdecken beim Inselhopping

Malerische Kroatien Inseln entdecken beim Inselhopping

Inselhopping durch die Kroatien Inseln
Kroatien Inseln beim Inselhopping erleben © Copyright Aymen Boulehmi, Goolets

 

Inselhopping auf kroatischen Inseln

Kroatien Inseln kannst Du beim Inselhopping am besten erleben. Die Inselwelt der Adria in Kroatien ist vielfältig. Das haben wir bei einer Reise auf der Küstenstraße gesehen. Diese führte von Montenegro bis hinauf nach Rijeka. Wir sahen Inseln mit Buchten, an denen niemand lebt. Klein. Versteckt. Einsam. Still. Entdeckten Inseln, die eine Welt für sich sind. Mit Städten. Fischerdörfern. Bauern und Weingütern. Besonders auffällig sind die Fels-Eilande, auf denen kein Leben zu existieren scheint. Auf diesen erblickt das Auge nichts als Fels und Geröll. Kilometerlang. Eine Einöde aus Stein.

Bei einer Autofahrt entlang der Küste kannst Du kroatische Inseln nur aus der Ferne sehen. Besuchst Du einer dieser Inseln, siehst Du nur diese eine Insel. Spannend ist daher ein Urlaub, in dem Du mehrere Inseln besuchst. Nur so kannst Du ihre Vielfalt erleben. Erfahren, wie unterschiedlich sie sind. Ihre Buchten, Städte und Menschen kennen lernen. An ihren Küsten baden. Über ihre Hügel wandern. Durch die Städte bummeln. Spezialitäten auf ihren Märkten probieren. Oder in ihren Bars und Restaurants chillen.

Wir haben uns umgesehen, wo man dies besonders einfach erleben kann. Die Festlandstädte Trogir oder Split sind gute Ausgangsorte für das Inselhopping auf den kroatischen Inseln. Sie liegen nahe beieinander und bieten nicht nur gute Verbindungen zu Kroatien Inseln. Sie sind auch selbst sehenswert und eine Reise wert.

 

Split
Split © Copyright Nicolas Vigier, Flickr CC0 1.0

Split ist ein perfekter Ausgangsort fürs Insel Hopping

Mit seinen etwa 210 000 Einwohnern ist Split die zweitgrößte Stadt in Kroatien. Die Stadt blickt zurück auf 1700 Jahre Geschichte. Diese ist in der Stadt noch spürbar. In ihren Bauwerken. Auf ihren Plätzen. in den Kirchen. Entlang der Uferpromenade. In der Festung Klis, die einige Kilometer außerhalb der Stadt liegt. Oder im Park Sustipan, von dem sich schöne Ausblicke auf die Stadt und kroatische Inseln eröffnen. Besonders sehenswert ist der Diokletianpalast in Split, der zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe zählt.



Booking.com


Hier kann man gut einen oder mehrere Tage vor oder nach einer Inselhopping Tour durch kroatische Inseln verbringen. Split ist außerdem Hafenstadt. Von hier fahren Fähren zu den Inseln vor der Küste ab.

 

Trogir
Trogir © Copyright Nick Savchenko, Flickr CC BY SA 2.0

 

Trogir eignet sich gut für einen Aufenthalt an Kroatiens Küste

Wem Split für ein paar Tage auf dem Festland vor oder nach der Reise zu groß ist, der kann in Trogir ein paar Tage verbringen. Die Stadt liegt nur knapp dreißig Kilometer von Split entfernt. Hier ist sogar die gesamte Altstadt zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe ernannt. Kein Wunder bei einer Geschichte, die auf 2000 Jahre zurückblicken kann. Die Griechen, Römer und Venezianer haben das Stadtbild von Trogir geprägt.

Von Trogir fahren zwar keine Fähren zu den vorgelagerten Inseln ab. Durch die Nähe zu Split ist ein Aufenthalt in dieser Stadt trotzdem gut machbar. Es gibt einen Bus vom Flughafen Split (ca. acht Kilometer entfernt) und einen Bus in die Stadt Split.



Booking.com

Kroatien Inseln
Kroatien Inseln © Copyright Aymen Boulehmi, Goolets

 

Kroatische Inseln vor Split entdecken

Diese kroatischen Inseln vor der Küste von Split lohnen einen Besuch. Diese Inseln sind mit Fähren ab Split zu erreichen: Brac, Hvar, Vis, Korcula und Lastovo.

 

Anzeige

Inselhopping auf Kroatien Inseln an Bord einer Yacht

Du kannst auch eine Yacht chartern und mit dieser die Inseln Deiner Wahl ansteuern. Egal, ob zusammen mit Freunden, mit Deiner Familie oder nur zu zweit. Luxuriöser als an Bord einer Yacht lässt sich die Inselwelt Kroatiens kaum erleben. Du legst Deine Reiseroute selbst fest. Wählst aus, ob Du lieber in einem der Küstenorte auf den Inseln oder in einer einsamen Bucht anlegst. Genießt die Stille auf See. Oder erlebst das Nachtleben in den Städten. Hier kannst Du eine Yacht chartern* für Dein ganz persönliches Insel Hopping Erlebnis in Kroatien.

 

Brac
Brac © Copyright Nick Savchenko, Flickr CC BY SA 2.0

Die Insel Brac

Drei Orte auf der Insel sind von Split aus per Fähre zu erreichen: Bol, Milna und Supetar. Brac ist bekannt wegen ihrer Sandstrände. Aber es gibt auch Sehenswürdigkeiten, die einen Besuch lohnen. Die Dragonja Grotte zum Beispiel. Oder das Dominikanerkloster in Bol. Die Genießer unter Euch können sich freuen auf guten Käse, Lammfleisch und Fisch, den Ihr zum Schluss am besten runterspült mit einem Schluck Schnaps oder einem Glas Bolski Plavac. So nennt man den einheimischen Wein.



Booking.com

Hvar
Hvar © Copyright alchen_x, Flickr CC BY SA 2.0

 

Die Insel Hvar

Lavendel, Olivenhaine und Weinberge – das ist es, was Hvar so attraktiv macht. Und natürlich die Produkte, die daraus hergestellt werden. Sehenswert ist außerdem die Stadt Hvar. Diese ist mit einer Fähre von Split zu erreichen. Attraktionen, die einen Besuch lohnen, sind die Festung, die Kathedrale, das Stadttheater und das Franziskanerkloster. Nicht zu vergessen, die Restaurants in der Stadt, in denen Du landestypische Fischgerichte probieren kannst.



Booking.com

Komiza - Inselhopping zur kroatischen Insel Vis
Komiza auf der kroatischen Insel Vis © Copyright Miroslav Vajdic, Flickr CC BY SA 2.0

 

Vis entdecken

Die Insel Vis ist etwas Besonderes unter den Kroatien Inseln. Sogar viele Kroaten kennen Vis nicht. Das liegt daran, dass die Insel bis 1995 militärisches Sperrgebiet war. Dieser Tatsache verdankt die Insel ihren Beinamen Gibraltar der Adria. Ausländer hatten dort keinen Zugang. Sogar für die meisten Einheimischen war die Insel unzugänglich. Das änderte sich erst nach dem Zusammenbruch Jugoslawiens. Dies ist auch einer der Gründe, warum sich der Tourismus erst spät zu einem wirtschaftlichen Faktor auf der Insel entwickelte. Daneben spielen vor allem Weinbau und Fischfang eine Rolle.



Booking.com

Korcula
Korcula © Copyright Robin, Flickr CC BY 2.0

 

Die Insel Korcula

Diese Insel erstreckt sich hinter Peljesac in der Adria. Im Norden ist die Insel relativ flach und leicht erreichbar. Der Südteil dagegen weist steile Küsten auf mit Klippen, die bis zu dreißig Meter hoch sind. Im Nordteil der Insel liegt auch der Ort Korcula, der mit der Fähre erreichbar ist. Erwähnt wird der Ort erstmals im 10. Jahrhundert. Erhalten sind aus jener Zeit jedoch keine Bauwerke. Erst als sich Korcula zu einer Stadt der Steinmetze entwickelte, legte man auch in der Stadt Wert auf verzierte Fassaden. Im 15. Jahrhundert hatte die Stadt ein gotisch geprägtes Stadtbild. Korcula gilt unter manchen Historikern außerdem als der Geburtsort Marco Polos. Allerdings streitet sich darüber die Wissenschaft. Andere meinen, dass er in Venedig geboren wurde. Sicher ist auf jeden Fall, dass Korcula eine Zeit lang Teil des venezianischen Machtbereichs war.



Booking.com

Peljesac
Peljesac © Copyright Ivan Ivankovic, Flickr CC BY 2.0

 

Entdecke Lastovo

Auch die Insel Lastovo erreichst Du per Fähre von Split. Dort legt die Fähre im Hafen von Ubli an. Ähnlich wie Vis war Lastovo einmal Militärstützpunkt. Ausländern war der Zugang verboten. Erst seit 1992 ist die Insel für jedermann zugänglich. Sie gilt noch als echter Geheimtipp für Individualreisende. Lastovo ist eine der grünsten Inseln der kroatischen Adria. Ubli ist der einzige Fährhafen der Insel. Von dort erreichst Du die anderen Inselorte mit dem öffentlichen Bus. Auch wenn Lastovo keine Sandstrände aufweist, lohnt ein Besuch. Die Steilküste ist sehenswert. Abgelegene Buchten erreichst Du mit dem Boot. Hier kannst Du noch kaum berührte Natur genießen.



Booking.com

Fazit: Inselhopping auf kroatischen Inseln ist ein Erlebnis

Wenn Du Dir Zeit nimmst, um mehrere kroatische Inseln zu erkunden, ist das Inselhopping in der Adria ein großartiges Erlebnis. Du lernst Inseln kennen, die aufgrund ihrer Geschichte und Natur Eindrücke bieten, die sie voneinander unterscheiden. Tauche ein in die jahrtausendealte Geschichte der Inselwelt. Erfahre mehr über die Menschen, und was ihr Leben ausmacht. Lass Dir die Spezialitäten der Region schmecken. Und vor allem – genieße die Natur der Inseln und das Meer.

Quelle: eigene Recherchen. Dieser Artikel wurde gesponsert von Goolets.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Copyright Aymen Boulehmi, Goolets und den in der Bildbeschreibung genannten Fotografen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.