On the way on the fishing path Portugal in the Alentejo

Cais Palafitico
Discarded boats on the Rota do Peixe, the fishing path Portugal
Discarded boats at the fishing path Portugal

 

The fishing path Portugal, the Rota do Peixe in the Alentejo

The fishing path of Portugal takes us for almost a week along the Rota do Peixe through the Alentejo. From Évora via Comporta to Cabo Sardão, this trip almost always took us along the sea. That was our trip at a glance.

Also, check out Petar's video. There he summarized the most beautiful moments of our enjoyment journey along the Rota do Peixe:

 

 

Our journey started in

Évora, largest town in the Alentejo

Only a good hour took us from the airport in Lisbon Évora. There we spent our first night on this tour. In this place we also had our first encounter with the fish of the region, but at first only in a restaurant. in the Café Alentejo Only a few steps away from the town square, we were allowed to try spiny dog ​​soup, the specialty of the house. After an evening city tour and a night in comfortable Vitoria Stone Hotel * it went on the next day to the coast.

 

Book your accommodation in Evora * here

 

Evora - starting point for the Rota do Peixe
Evora

 

Comporta and Cais Palafítico

In Cais Palafítico we finally met the sea. Or better a lagoon. Here we experience, what makes the fishing path Portugal. From this small harbor, with its fragile boat jetties and crooked fishing huts, fishermen go out at high tide to catch fish in the sheltered lagoon. We were there at low tide and watched a fisherman preparing his next exit.

 

 

Cais Palafitico, a typical picture on the fishing path Portugal
Cais Palafitico

 

Im Restaurante A Escola the next one waited Fish specialty on us: eel stew. Delicious! We also learned that it would be better to bring plenty of time for a lunch in the Alentejo. Ours lasted from 13.00 to 17.00 o'clock. But it was worth every minute. You should only be hungry!

 

Eel stew in Restaurante A Escola, typical of the Portuguese fishing path
Eel stew in Restaurante A Escola

 

The beaches from Comporta to Sines

On the way to Hotel Vila Park in Santo André * we stopped at several beaches. From miles of wide sandy beaches in the north at Comporta to small sandy coves that hide between high cliffs, there is everything. One thing they are all at this time of the year: almost deserted! We can not bathe at average daytime temperatures between 10 and 15 degrees. Instead, we experience beautiful sunsets and a nature that is second to none.

 

Book your accommodation on the Costa Vicentina * here

 

Comporta beach
Comporta beach

 

After a few trips to the beaches we finally treat ourselves to a dinner in the Restaurant Cais da Estação, Here we get to know another culinary specialty of the region: Açorda de Marisco. A meal that the poor fishermen of the region prepared. Despite its reputation as "poor people's food", it tastes delicious. You can find the recipe for this in our Article about Portuguese fish specialties.

 

Açorda de Marisco
Açorda de Marisco on the fishing path Portugal

 

The coast of Porto Covo and São Torpes on the fishing path Portugal

The next day we follow the coast of the Alentejo. This time our journey takes us to the Beaches and coves between Porto Covo and São Torpes, In the small fishing village of Porto Covo, however, we wait in vain for the fishing boats. They obviously need more time that day to fill their warehouses. Instead we walk along the coast, Small bays hide between the rough rocks. Most of them are accessible and offer summer bathing enthusiasts access to sheltered areas. In front of the bays, the waves of the Atlantic break in spectacular surf.

 

Book your accommodation in Porto Covo * here

 

Coast at Porto Covo
Coast at Porto Covo

 

Other than São Torpes: there is a wide sandy beach for miles almost to Sines. Above the coast, we find some fish restaurants that serve fresh fish dishes. We make lunch break in the Restaurante Arte e Sal, Where grilled Fish is one of the specialties of the house. Carlos Barros, the landlord, serves us the whole thing with enthusiasm. Hospitality is very important here.

 

Carlos Barros In Restaurante Arte e Sal, delicacies on the fishing path Portugal
Carlos Barros In Restaurante Arte e Sal on the Portuguese fishing path

 

The fish market of Sines belongs to the fishing path Portugal

It is he who accompanies us in the afternoon to the fish market of Sines. There we will witness how to get fresh fish on the coast. At the fish auction in Sines, fishermen are auctioning off their fresh catch from the sea. While fishing boats are constantly docking at the pier and delivering their catch, customers are waiting for it in the auction hall. The highest bidder finally does the business.

 

Book your accommodation in Sines * here

 

Fishing port of Sines belongs to the fishing path Portugal
Fishing port of Sines

 

Vila Nova de Milfontes

We then end our exciting afternoon with a magnificent dinner at Tasca do Celso in Vila Nova de Milfontes. If you want to get to know the culinary skills of the Alentejo, you cannot avoid this restaurant. We enjoyed a real gourmet meal there. And that in a restaurant that is second to none.

 

Book your accommodation in Vila Nova de Milfontes *

 

Grilled fish in the Tasca do Celso, typical food on the fishing path Portugal
Grilled fish in Tasca do Celso

 

We stayed the last two nights of our trip along the Rota do Peixe in a holiday apartment not far from in Monte do Zambujeiro *, This is located in an old farmhouse off the main road and can only be reached on a gravel road. Absolute rest during the night and a sunrise with breathtaking views make the overnight stay an unforgettable experience. Rest is guaranteed in this environment.

 

Lighthouse at Cabo Sardão
Lighthouse at Cabo Sardão

 

The Cabo Sardão lighthouse, at the south end of the fishing path in Portugal

The last day of our journey at the Rota do Peixe leads us first to the lighthouse of Cabo Sardão. It towers over a rugged coastline but is not open to the public. Instead, there are several trails that run along the coast with views of the cliffs.

 

Entrada dos Barcos
Entrada dos Barcos

 

From there our journey goes on Entrada das Barcas just a few minutes drive away. in the Restaurante O Sacas we are already expected. The grandmother wants to join us in the small fishing harbor, which hides between the cliffs. There, meanwhile, the fishing boats have overcome the wild surf and brought their catch ashore. In the auction, she buys fresh fish directly from the fisherman and prepares it for us in the restaurant. Fish stew, octopus, sole and grilled shellfish fresh from the sea - never fish tasted so good.

 

Grilled sole
Grilled sole in Restaurante O Sacas

 

Hiking on the fishing path Portugal, the Rota Vicentina

After such a meal, a hike is good. For that offers itself the Rota Vicentina which is easily accessible from the restaurant. After a steep climb, the path follows the coastline with views of creeks and pastures where cattle graze. In between, we meet fishermen who throw their fishing rods from the cliffs. One even ventures out onto a rock in the water and tries to pull his prey ashore. It costs a lot of effort to catch the delicious fish along the Rota do Peixe. But it's worth it.

 

You need that for hiking on the fishing path Portugal

 

At the Rota Vicentina
At the Rota Vicentina

 

What would be good fish without wine?

The next day our trip goes back to the airport in Lisbon. We still have some time to visit a winery. The Herdade do Cebolal in Vale das Eguas is not easy to find. Even Google is having a hard time with it. But after some inquiry we discover the gravel road that leads to this winery. We are all the more surprised by the modern wine cellar that awaits us. The wine of the Herdade do Cebolal tastes fruity-fresh. According to the winemaker, this comes from the proximity of the sea. In any case, it is a perfect complement to the fish dishes that we got to know on our pleasure trip along the Rota do Peixe.

 

Wine tasting in the Herdade do Cebolal
Wine tasting in the Herdade do Cebolal

 

More tips for the Alentejo

You can also swim on sandy beaches along the Rota Vicentina. This swimwear you shouldn't forget the Case to pack.

 


Travel Arrangements:

Arrival to the fishing path Portugal:

The nearest airport is Lisbon. From there you can also rent a car.

Car Rentals:

Cheap Car Hire - Book Fast and Easy! *

Excursion from Lisbon:

Book one here Excursion from Lisbon to the southwest coast of Portugal *.

Accommodations near the coast of the Alentejo

Hotels and accommodations near the coast of the Alentejo * You can also book through our partner booking.com. We have however in the Hotel Vila Park in Santo André * and in a holiday apartment in Monte do Zambujeiro * spent the night.

More information about the Alentejo and the fishing path Portugal can be found here:

Travel Guide about the Alentejo * you can buy at Amazon.

Excursions and guided tours in Evora

Book here Excursions and guided tours in Evora *


Fishing path Portugal
Click on the photo and make a note of the "Fisherman's Path Portugal" on Pinterest

 

Do you already know:

 

Here you will find more Enjoyment travel tips. Discover more Vacation destinations for a beach vacation here.

We participate with this contribution at the Europe Blogparade from Trip to the Planet.

Source: own research on site to the fishing path Portugal. We were invited to this trip by Aptece, Visit Alentejo and the Rota do Peixe. Our opinion remains our own.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

On the way on the fishing path Portugal in the Alentejo

4 thoughts too "On the way on the fishing path Portugal in the Alentejo"

  1. I find these ribbed cliffs so wonderfully unique and the food looks delicious. Very nice impressions in your photos. My wanderlust is awakened!

    1. Hi Anja,

      I was particularly fascinated by this spot with the jagged crags. The region is for everyone who likes nature. And the food first ...

      Best regards,
      Monika

  2. The area seems to be very well suited for a pleasure trip. I also like the integration of the Twitter moment in the blog post!

    1. In any case, Sabine. We have experienced true Schlemmermahle there with fresh fish from the sea.

      Best regards,
      Monika

Comments are closed.

Nach oben scrollen

Genuss Reisemagazin » Portugal » Alentejo » Unterwegs auf dem Fischerpfad Portugal im Alentejo

Unterwegs auf dem Fischerpfad Portugal im Alentejo

Ausrangierte Boote an der Rota do Peixe, dem Fischerpfad Portugal
Ausrangierte Boote am Fischerpfad Portugal

 

Der Fischerpfad Portugal, die Rota do Peixe im Alentejo

Der Fischerpfad Portugal führt uns eine knappe Woche lang entlang der Rota do Peixe durchs Alentejo. Von Évora über Comporta bis zum Cabo Sardão führte uns diese Reise fast immer am Meer entlang. Das war unsere Reise im Überblick.

Schaut außerdem in Petar’s Video vorbei. Dort hat er die schönsten Momente unserer Genuss Reise entlang der Rota do Peixe zusammen gefasst:

 

 

Unsere Reise begann in

Évora, größter Ort im Alentejo

Nur eine gute Stunde dauerte unsere Fahrt vom Flughafen in Lissabon nach Évora. Dort verbrachten wir unsere erste Nacht auf dieser Tour. In diesem Ort hatten wir auch gleich unsere erste Begegnung mit den Fischen der Region, zunächst jedoch nur in einem Restaurant. Im Café Alentejo nur ein paar Schritte entfernt vom Stadtplatz durften wir Dornhai-Suppe probieren, die Spezialität des Hauses. Nach einem abendlichen Stadtrundgang und einer Übernachtung im komfortablen Vitoria Stone Hotel* ging es am nächsten Tag weiter an die Küste.

 

Buche Deine Unterkunft in Evora* hier

 

Evora - Ausgangsort zur Rota do Peixe
Evora

 

Comporta und Cais Palafítico

In Cais Palafítico trafen wir schließlich auf das Meer. Oder besser eine Lagune. Hier erleben wir gleich, was den Fischerpfad Portugal ausmacht. Von diesem kleinen Hafen mit seinen brüchigen Bootsstegen und den windschiefen Fischerhütten fahren die Fischer bei Flut hinaus, um in der geschützten Lagune Fische zu fangen. Wir waren dort bei Ebbe und schauten einem Fischer zu, wie er seine nächste Ausfahrt vorbereitete.

 

Buche Alentejo Ausflüge* hier

 

Cais Palafitico, ein typisches Bild am Fischerpfad Portugal
Cais Palafitico

 

Im Restaurante A Escola wartete die nächste Fisch-Spezialität auf uns: Aal-Eintopf. Sehr lecker! Außerdem erfuhren wir dort, dass man besser viel Zeit mitbringt für ein Mittagessen im Alentejo. Unseres dauerte von 13.00 bis 17.00 Uhr. Aber es war jede Minute wert. Nur Hunger sollte man haben!

 

Aal-Eintopf im Restaurante A Escola, typisch für den Fischerpfad Portugal
Aal-Eintopf im Restaurante A Escola

 

Die Strände von Comporta bis Sines

Auf der Fahrt zum Hotel Vila Park in Santo André* machten wir an mehreren Stränden Halt. Von kilometerlangen breiten Sandstränden im Norden bei Comporta bis zu kleinen Sandbuchten, die sich zwischen hohen Klippen verstecken, gibt es alles. Eines sind sie jedoch alle um diese Jahreszeit: fast menschenleer! Baden können wir bei durchschnittlichen Tagestemperaturen zwischen 10 und 15 Grad zwar nicht. Stattdessen erleben wir traumhafte Sonnenuntergänge und eine Natur, die ihresgleichen sucht.

 

Buche Deine Unterkunft an der Costa Vicentina* hier

 

Strand von Comporta
Strand von Comporta

 

Nach einigen Abstechern zu den Stränden gönnen wir uns schließlich ein Abendessen im Restaurant Cais da Estação. Hier lernen wir eine weitere kulinarische Spezialität der Region kennen: Açorda de Marisco. Ein Essen, das sich die armen Fischer der Region zubereiteten. Es schmeckt trotz seines Rufs als „Arme-Leute-Essen“ köstlich. Das Rezept dafür findet Ihr in unserem Artikel über portugiesische Fisch Spezialitäten.

 

Açorda de Marisco
Açorda de Marisco am Fischerpfad Portugal

 

Die Küste von Porto Covo and São Torpes am Fischerpfad Portugal

Auch am nächsten Tag folgen wir der Küste des Alentejo. Diesmal führt uns unsere Reise an die Strände und Buchten zwischen Porto Covo and São Torpes. Im kleinen Fischerdorf Porto Covo warten wir jedoch vergeblich auf die Fischerboote. Die brauchen an diesem Tag offensichtlich mehr Zeit, um ihre Lager zu füllen. Stattdessen wandern wir an der Küste entlang. Kleine Buchten verstecken sich zwischen den rauen Felsen. Die meisten von ihnen sind zugänglich und bieten im Sommer Badefreunden Zugang zu geschützten Stellen. Vor den Buchten brechen sich die Wellen des Atlantiks in spektakulärer Brandung.

 

Buche Deine Unterkunft in Porto Covo* hier

 

Küste bei Porto Covo
Küste bei Porto Covo

 

Anders vor São Torpes: dort erstreckt sich ein breiter Sandstrand kilometerweit fast bis Sines. Oberhalb der Küste finden wir einige Fisch Restaurants, die frische Fischgerichte servieren. Wir machen Mittagsrast im Restaurante Arte e Sal, wo gegrillter Fisch zu den Spezialitäten des Hauses zählt. Das Ganze serviert uns Carlos Barros, der Wirt, voller Enthusiasmus. Gastfreundschaft wird hier auf jeden Fall großgeschrieben.

 

Carlos Barros Im Restaurante Arte e Sal, Köstlichkeiten am Fischerpfad Portugal
Carlos Barros Im Restaurante Arte e Sal am Fischerpfad Portugal

 

Der Fischmarkt von Sines gehört zum Fischerpfad Portugal

Er ist es auch, der uns am Nachmittag zum Fischmarkt von Sines begleitet. Dort werden wir Zeugen, wie man an der Küste an frischen Fisch kommt. Bei der Fischauktion in Sines versteigern die Fischer ihren frischen Fang aus dem Meer. Während am Pier ständig Fischerboote anlegen und ihren Fang abliefern, warten die Abnehmer bereits in der Auktionshalle darauf. Der Meistbietende macht schließlich das Geschäft.

 

Buche Deine Unterkunft in Sines* hier

 

Fischerhafen von Sines gehört zum Fischerpfad Portugal
Fischerhafen von Sines

 

Vila Nova de Milfontes

Unseren spannenden Nachmittag beenden wir anschließend mit einem grandiosen Abendessen im Tasca do Celso in Vila Nova de Milfontes. Wer einmal das kulinarische Können des Alentejo kennen lernen will, kommt an diesem Restaurant nicht vorbei. Wir haben dort ein wahres Schlemmermahl genossen. Und das in einem Restaurant, das seinesgleichen sucht.

 

Buche Deine Unterkunft in Vila Nova de Milfontes*

 

Gegrillten Fisch im Tasca do Celso, typisches Essen am Fischerpfad Portugal
Gegrillten Fisch im Tasca do Celso

 

Übernachtet haben wir die letzten beiden Nächte unserer Reise entlang der Rota do Peixe in einer Ferienwohnung unweit davon in Monte do Zambujeiro*. Diese befindet sich in einem alten Bauernhaus abseits der Hauptstraße und ist nur über eine Schotterstraße zu erreichen. Absolute Ruhe während der Nacht und ein Sonnenaufgang mit atemberaubendem Ausblick machen die Übernachtung zu einem unvergesslichen Erlebnis. Erholung ist in dieser Umgebung garantiert.

 

Leuchtturm am Cabo Sardão
Leuchtturm am Cabo Sardão

 

Der Leuchtturm von Cabo Sardão, am Südende des Fischerpfads in Portugal

Der letzte Tag unserer Reise an der Rota do Peixe führt uns zunächst zum Leuchtturm von Cabo Sardão. Dieser thront über einer zerklüfteten Küste, ist aber nicht für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Stattdessen gibt es mehrere Wanderwege, die an der Küste entlang führen mit Ausblicken auf die Steilküste.

 

Entrada dos Barcos
Entrada dos Barcos

 

Von dort geht unsere Reise zur Entrada das Barcas nur ein paar Autominuten entfernt davon. Im Restaurante O Sacas erwartet man uns schon. Die Großmutter will mit uns in den kleinen Fischerhafen, der sich zwischen den Klippen versteckt. Dort haben inzwischen die Fischerboote die wilde Brandung überwunden und ihren Fang an Land gebracht. In der Auktion ersteht sie frischen Fisch direkt vom Fischer und bereitet ihn im Restaurant sofort für uns zu. Fischeintopf, Oktopus, Seezunge und gegrillte Krustentiere frisch aus dem Meer – nie hat Fisch so gut geschmeckt.

 

Gegrillte Seezunge
Gegrillte Seezunge im Restaurante O Sacas

 

Wandern auf dem Fischerpfad Portugal, der Rota Vicentina

Nach einem solchen Essen tut eine Wanderung gut. Dafür bietet sich die Rota Vicentina an, die vom Restaurant einfach zu erreichen ist. Nach einem steilen Aufstieg folgt der Weg der Küstenlinie mit Ausblicken auf Buchten und Weideland, auf dem Rinder grasen. Zwischendurch treffen wir Fischer, die von den Klippen ihre Angeln auswerfen. Einer wagt sich sogar auf einen Felsen im Wasser und versucht von dort, seine Beute an Land zu ziehen. Es kostet einiges an Mühe, die köstlichen Fische entlang der Rota do Peixe zu fangen. Aber sie lohnt sich.

 

Das brauchst Du zum Wandern auf dem Fischerpfad Portugal

  • Ganz wichtig sind leichte Wanderschuhe, in denen Du bequem gehen kannst.
  • In Portugal scheint die Sonne intensiv. Daher ist ein Hut mit Nackenschutz gut gegen Sonnenbrand.
  • Wanderstöcke* erleichtern Dir das Gehen bei holprigem Terrain. Dieses wird Dir auf der Rota Vicentina begegnen.
  • Praktisch ist ein Rucksack, in dem Du Deine Utensilien während der Wanderung verstauen kannst.
  • Nutze unsere Checkliste Wandern und prüfe, ob Du alles Notwendige für Deine Wanderung eingepackt hast.
  • Hier findest Du alles, was man zum Wandern braucht.

 

An der Rota Vicentina
An der Rota Vicentina

 

Was wäre guter Fisch ohne Wein?

Am nächsten Tag geht unsere Reise wieder zurück zum Flughafen in Lissabon. Uns bleibt noch ein wenig Zeit für den Besuch eines Weinguts. Die Herdade do Cebolal in Vale das Éguas ist nicht leicht zu finden. Sogar Google tut sich schwer damit. Aber nach einigem Nachfragen entdecken wir die Schotterstraße, die zu diesem Weingut führt. Umso überraschter sind wir von dem modernen Weinkeller, der uns erwartet. Der Wein der Herdade do Cebolal schmeckt fruchtig-frisch. Nach Aussage der Winzerin kommt das durch die Nähe des Meeres. Auf jeden Fall ist er eine perfekte Ergänzung zu den Fischgerichten, die wir auf unserer Genuss Reise entlang der Rota do Peixe kennen lernen durften.

 

Weinprobe in der Herdade do Cebolal
Weinprobe in der Herdade do Cebolal

 

Weitere Tipps fürs Alentejo

Du kannst entlang der Rota Vicentina auch an Sandstränden baden. Diese Badesachen solltest Du nicht vergessen, in den Koffer zu packen.

 


Reiseorganisation:

Anreise zum Fischerpfad Portugal:

Der nächstgelegene Flughafen ist Lissabon. Von dort könnt Ihr außerdem einen Mietwagen mieten.

Mietwagen:

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!*

Ausflug ab Lissabon:

Buche hier einen Ausflug ab Lissabon an die Südwestküste Portugals*.

Unterkünfte nahe der Küste des Alentejo

Hotels und Unterkünfte nahe der Küste des Alentejo* könnt Ihr außerdem über unseren Partner booking.com buchen. Wir haben jedoch im Hotel Vila Park in Santo André* und in einer Ferienwohnung in Monte do Zambujeiro* übernachtet.

Weitere Informationen über das Alentejo und den Fischerpfad Portugal gibt’s hier:

Reiseführer über das Alentejo* kannst Du bei Amazon kaufen.

Ausflüge und Führungen in Evora

Buche hier Ausflüge und Führungen in Evora *


Fischerpfad Portugal
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir den „Fischerpfad Portugal“ auf Pinterest

 

Hier findest Du weitere Genuss Reise Tipps. Entdecke weitere Urlaubsziele für einen Strandurlaub hier.

Wir beteiligen uns mit diesem Beitrag an der Europa Blogparade von Trip to the Planet.

Quelle: eigene Recherchen vor Ort zum Fischerpfad Portugal. Zu dieser Reise wurden wir eingeladen von Aptece, Visit Alentejo und der Rota do Peixe. Unsere Meinung bleibt unsere eigene.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

 

4 Responses

  1. Anja
    |

    Ich finde diese geriffelten Klippen so wunderbar einzigartig und das Essen sieht super lecker aus. Sehr tolle Eindrücke in deinen Fotos. Meine Fernweh ist geweckt!

    • Monika & Petar Fuchs
      |

      Hallo Anja,

      mich hat diese Stelle besonders fasziniert mit den gezackten Felsspitzen. Die Region ist etwas für alle, die Natur mögen. Und das Essen erst …

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika

  2. Sabine
    |

    Die Gegend scheint sich sehr gut für eine Genussreise zu eignen. Gut gefällt mir auch die Einbindeung des Twitter-Moments in den Blogpost!

    • Monika & Petar Fuchs
      |

      Auf jeden Fall, Sabine. Wir haben wahre Schlemmermahle dort erlebt mit frischem Fisch aus dem Meer.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Monika