Deventer Holland - a city for connoisseurs

Renaissance building in Deventer - Holland's beautiful cities - Hanseatic cities in Holland

Deventer Holland - a city for connoisseurs

The city of Deventer in Holland was a Hanseatic city. It is located on the IJssel, on which the merchants set out to visit the Hanse trading cities. They brought wealth to the city. You can see this in her to this day. Wealthy merchants built trading houses in the city center. They lived there and stored the goods they brought back from their shopping trips. But the city also makes a magnificent impression from the outside. We spend the night on the other side of the river IJssel Hotel Sandton *. From there we can admire the cityscape from our room.

 

 

Breakfast with a view of Deventer Holland

Overlooking the IJssel and the Deventer skyline, we enjoy our morning breakfast as we like it. We get some fruit and bread from the buffet. Eggs on request, yoghurt and cereal, orange juice and coffee are served. That's how we start our last day in the Hanseatic cities. While munching on great food we watch the small ferry that connects the two banks of the IJssel. It departs just a few meters from our hotel. The ferryman is obviously a master at his job. He has to give right of way to big container ships, which pass us en route to inland destinations on the river. This lively river traffic lends the city a maritime flair.

 

View on Deventer
View of Deventer Holland

 

A stroll through Deventer in Holland

After breakfast we meet with Patrick and Krijna von Hanzetour. The two accompany us with their bicycles in the city. You can rent your bicycles in the hanseatic cities of Holland in the near future for cycling tours. Today we leave our car and go by ferry, the pontje , to the old town of Deventer. We can go there and back for € 1,70 (as of August 2021). It is only a few steps from the landing stage and we are in the middle of the historical part of the city. Our route takes us past the Lebuinuskerk, a Gothic building that is impressive in its size alone. However, we do not have the time for a tour, as we have arranged to meet with the tour guide Jan with our city guide.

Bike tours in the area of ​​Deventer are there many.

 

Downtown Deventer - Holland's beautiful cities - Hanseatic cities in Holland
Downtown Deventer in Holland

 

What does Albert Schweitzer have to do with Deventer in Holland?

The statue of Albert Schweitzer in the market square is a reminder of the visits of the doctor in the Dutch city. Deventer had set up a fund to support his hospital in Lambarene, Gabon. For this reason, Schweitzer visited the city several times. He was a good organist and gave several organ concerts in the Lebuinuskerk to raise money for his hospital.

 

On the banks of the IJssel - Holland's beautiful cities - Hanseatic cities in Holland
On the banks of the IJssel in Deventer in Holland

 

Deventer even has a "mountain"

For us Bavaria, the term "mountain" for the Bergkwartier in Deventer may be a little exaggerated. Because we don't go uphill on our walk through the district. I wouldn't even call it a hill. However, if you compare it with the otherwise flat surrounding area, the Bergkwartier protrudes beyond it. There is even a mountain church. The St. Nicholas Church stands at the end of the Bergstraat on the Bergkerkplein.

 

Traveling with - Holland's beautiful cities - Hanseatic cities in Holland
On the way with a Hanzetour through the Bergkwartier of Deventer in Holland

 

The Bergkwartier of Deventer

On the way there we pass houses, that stand out because of their appearance. Magnificent entrance doors, brick buildings with historic freight lifts, window decorations, which depict what is going on behind the façade and pretty plant decorations turn a stroll through the Menstraat and Bergstraat into a feast for the eyes. Jan tells us, that was not always the case. Many of these houses were to be demolished. However, protests from the population prevented this. What luck! Because the Bergkwartier today is the attractive figurehead of Deventer.

 

With Hanzetour in Bergkwartier - Holland's beautiful cities - Hanseatic cities in Holland
With Hanzetour in the Bergkwartier in Deventer in Holland

 

The Charles Dickens Festival in Deventer in Holland

The Charles Dickens Festival takes place in the Bergkwartier of Deventer Holland in mid-December. More than 950 figures from the works of Charles Dickens then animate the Bergkwartier. Scrooge, Oliver Twist, orphans, drunks, the poor and the rich turn the historic streets into an English city of the 19th century. The festival is very popular. Therefore, when visiting, you have to expect a long waiting time before you get access to the Bergkwartier. We can well imagine how impressive the backdrop of the Bergkwartier must be for this festival.

 

This was eaten at the time of the Hanseatic League
This was eaten at the time of the Hanseatic League

 

A "Hanseatic" Lunch

In the Proeflokaal 'tOer in Deventer Holland, food is served as it was in the days of the Hanseatic League - with a touch of modernity. I like the interior of this restaurant. Drinks are served at a long bar. You eat at rustic wooden tables. The exposed brick walls of the historic building help us feel transported back in time. We feel comfortable in this restaurant.

Fish and meat - the main dishes of the Hanseatic League

For lunch, we order a plate with appetizers, which shows us, what people ate at the time of the Hanseatic League. There is a lot of meat and seafood. I discover meatballs in gravy, roasted pork belly and meat skewers. In a bowl is a kind of shrimp cocktail on salad. The sausage salad comes with small sandwiches filled with tomatoes. Two glasses contain soup. Meatloaf is served in a roll. Whether the Hanse merchants really ate all these dishes, I do not know. Tomatoes certainly did not exist in Europe before the last decades of the Hanseatic era. The selection on our tasting plate, however, is extensive and good.

 

That has to be in the in your suitcase for your visit to Deventer Holland

  • Comfortable Shoes, because in Deventer you will mainly be on foot. The old town is a pedestrian zone.
  • If you are planning an elegant evening, then you should comfortable pumps .
  • A  backpackwhere you can put all the utensils for a day

 

The cogs of the Hanseatic League
The cogs of the Hanseatic League in Museum De Waag in Deventer Holland

 

In the Museum De Waag

Freshly strengthened, we are ready to take a closer look at the history of the Hanseatic League in the Museum de Waag. The museum in Deventer Holland itself dates from that time. It originally served as a scale and calibration inspection for the goods that merchants brought across the IJssel to the markets in Deventer. From 1386 there were five annual fairs in the city. So that the merchants traded fairly with one another, inspectors checked the dimensions and contents of the goods. This was the only way to guarantee fair trade. This was a profitable business for the city, making money on every ounce that was put on the market.

 

 

Things worth knowing about the Hanseatic League

Today, the Museum de Waag deals with the history of the city. This offers changing exhibitions and an exhibition about the Hanseatic period. On a map we see the trading area of ​​the Hanseatic League. This extended from the Dutch and German Hanseatic cities up to Bergen in Norway, Birka in Sweden and the eastern regions of the Baltic Sea. A trade association that offered secure trade relations. In showcases we can see which goods the merchant ships transported. A model of a cog shows how stable these merchant ships were. They weren't big. But they distributed goods over a large trading floor. Cities along the North and Baltic Seas owe their wealth to the merchants of the Hanseatic League.

 

The coffee is served in a Dröppelmina
The coffee is served in a Dröppelmina

 

Honey cake as in the Middle Ages

After so much history we deserve a break. At the market square of Deventer Holland is the Koekwinkel. There is a cake specialty here that the Hanse merchants already knew: honey cake. The Deventer honey cake was even protected by the guild. Nobody outside the city was allowed to bake it in the Middle Ages. You know the ingredients: honey, rye flour, water and spices. The secret, however, lay in the spice mixture. Not even the baker knew what spices were in it. I can't say if that's still the case today. In any case, the honey cake tastes like Christmas. It is spread with butter and tastes very spicy.

From our table in the café, we watch as the queue in the shop grows longer and longer. Apparently we are not the only ones, who like this cake. In the Deventer Koekwinkel, many people stock up their cake supplies.

 

At Charles Dickens Museum - Holland's Beautiful Cities - Hanseatic Cities in Holland
At the Charles Dickens Museum

 

What happens in the market square of Deventer?

While we drink our coffee, we notice that more and more young people gather in the marketplace. They come from all corners and side streets. It looks like an event is taking place. However, we had not seen any announcements. And indeed! Suddenly all teenagers start to dance and sing. We are witnessing a flash mob in the center of Deventer! In good spirits, the millenials move to the Wilhelmina fountain and immediately put us in a good mood. We forget the shopping spree through Deventer, we had planned and rather listen to the young people celebrating summer. That is pure joy of life!

What a delicious end to a great trip through the Hanseatic cities in Holland! Thank you for that.

 

 

Do you like to travel by motorhome?


Travel Arrangements

Getting there

Book yours here Arrival by plane, bus or train*. KLM and Lufthansa will follow Amsterdam. It's best to take a car from there, because that's the only way you'll be flexible enough to get to know the localities in the region better.

Rental car

Cheap rental cars and e-cars - book quickly and easily here

apartments

Book your accommodation here *

Camping site

There are a number of campsites around Deventer Holland. A beautifully located campsite in Deventer is Stadscamping Deventer in Worp 12, 7419 AD Deventer. What you need for motorhome trips, you can find here.


Deventer Holland
Click on the photo and make a note of “Deventer Holland” on Pinterest

 

Do you already know:

Source for Deventer Holland: On-site research. We would like to thank Das Andere Holland for supporting this trip. However, our opinion remains our own.

Text DeventerHolland: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Photos Deventer Holland © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Deventer Holland - a city for connoisseurs
Nach oben scrollen

Deventer Holland – eine Stadt für Genießer

Renaissancebau in Deventer - Hollands schöne Städte - Hansestädte in Holland
Renaissancebau in Deventer - Hollands schöne Städte - Hansestädte in Holland
Renaissancebau in Deventer Holland

Deventer Holland – eine Stadt für Genießer

Die Stadt Deventer in Holland war Hansestadt. Sie liegt an der Ijssel, auf der die Kaufleute aufbrachen zu den Handelsstädten der Hanse. Sie brachten der Stadt Reichtum. Dies sieht man ihr bis heute an. Wohlhabende Handelsherren errichteten im Stadtzentrum Handelshäuser. In diesen wohnten sie und lagerten darin die Waren, die sie von ihren Kauffahrten mitbrachten. Aber auch von außen macht die Stadt einen prächtigen Eindruck. Wir übernachten auf der anderen Seite des Flusses im Ijsselhotel Sandton *. Von dort können wir bereits von unserem Zimmer aus die Kulisse der Stadt bewundern.

 

 

Ein Frühstück mit Aussicht auf Deventer Holland

Mit Blick auf die Ijssel und die Skyline von Deventer genießen wir unseren Morgen bei einem Frühstück, wie es uns gefällt. Wir holen uns etwas Obst und Brot vom Buffet. Eier nach Wunsch, Joghurt und Müsli, Orangensaft und Kaffee werden serviert. So können wir in Ruhe unseren letzten Tag in den Hansestädten beginnen. Wir schauen der kleinen Fähre zu, die nur wenige Meter von unserem Hotel entfernt die beiden Ijsselufer miteinander verbindet. Der Fährmann ist ein Könner. Muss er doch immer wieder großen Containerschiffen die Vorfahrt lassen, die auf dem Fluss ins Landesinnere fahren. Dieser rege Schiffsverkehr verleiht der Stadt etwas Maritimes.

 

Ausblick auf Deventer
Ausblick auf Deventer Holland

 

Ein Spaziergang durch Deventer in Holland

Nach dem Frühstück treffen wir uns mit Patrick und Krijna von Hanzetour. Die beiden begleiten uns mit ihren Fahrrädern in die Stadt. Ihre Fahrräder könnt Ihr demnächst in den Hansestädten in Holland für Radtouren mieten. Wir lassen heute unser Auto stehen und fahren mit der Fähre, der Pontje , in die Altstadt von Deventer. Für € 1,70 (Stand: August 2021) können wir hin- und zurückfahren. Von der Anlegestelle sind es nur wenige Schritte, und wir sind mitten im historischen Teil der Stadt Unser Weg führt uns vorbei an der Lebuinuskerk, einem gotischen Bauwerk, das schon allein durch seine Größe beeindruckt. Für eine Besichtigung fehlt uns jedoch die Zeit, sind wir doch an der Tourismusbehörde mit unserem Stadtführer Jan verabredet.

Radtouren in der Umgebung von Deventer gibt es viele.

 

Innenstadt von Deventer - Hollands schöne Städte - Hansestädte in Holland
Innenstadt von Deventer in Holland

 

Was hat Albert Schweitzer mit Deventer in Holland zu tun?

Die Statue von Albert Schweitzer auf dem Marktplatz erinnert an die Besuche des Arztes in der holländischen Stadt. Deventer hatte einen Fond zur Unterstützung seines Krankenhauses in Lambarene in Gabun eingerichtet. Aus diesem Grunde besuchte Schweitzer die Stadt öfter. Er war ein guter Orgelspieler und gab mehrere Orgelkonzerte in der Lebuinuskerk, um Geld für sein Krankenhaus zu sammeln. Daran erinnert die Statue am Marktplatz.

 

Am Ufer der Ijssel - Hollands schöne Städte - Hansestädte in Holland
Am Ufer der Ijssel in Deventer in Holland

 

Deventer hat sogar einen „Berg“

Für uns Bayern ist die Bezeichnung „Berg“ für das Bergkwartier in Deventer vielleicht etwas übertrieben. Denn stark bergauf gehen wir nicht auf unserem Spaziergang durch das Viertel. Nicht einmal als Hügel würde ich es bezeichnen. Vergleicht man es jedoch mit dem sonst so flachen Umland, ragt das Bergkwartier doch darüber hinaus. Sogar eine Bergkirche gibt es. Die St. Nicholas Kirche steht am Ende der Bergstraat auf dem Bergkerkplein.

 

Unterwegs mit - Hollands schöne Städte - Hansestädte in Holland
Unterwegs mit Hanzetour durch das Bergkwartier von Deventer in Holland

 

Das Bergkwartier von Deventer

Auf dem Weg dorthin kommen wir an Häusern vorbei, die durch ihr Äußeres auffallen. Prachtvolle Eingangstüren, Backsteinbauten mit historischen Lastenaufzügen, Fensterschmuck, der zeigt, was sich hinter der Fassade abspielt und Pflanzendekor machen einen Bummel durch die Menstraat und Bergstraat zu einer Augenweide. Jan erzählt uns, dass das nicht immer so war. Viele dieser Häuser sollten abgerissen werden. Proteste aus der Bevölkerung jedoch verhinderten dies. Ein Glück! Denn das Bergkwartier ist heute das Aushängeschild von Deventer.

 

Mit Hanzetour im Bergkwartier - Hollands schöne Städte - Hansestädte in Holland
Mit Hanzetour im Bergkwartier in Deventer in Holland

 

Das Charles Dickens Festival in Deventer in Holland

Mitte Dezember findet im Bergkwartier von Deventer Holland das Charles Dickens Festival statt. Mehr als 950 Figuren aus den Werken von Charles Dickens beleben dann das Bergkwartier. Scrooge, Oliver Twist, Waisenkinder, Betrunkene, Arme und Reiche machen aus den historischen Gassen eine englische Stadt des 19. Jahrhunderts. Das Fest ist sehr beliebt. Daher musst Du bei einem Besuch mit einer langen Wartezeit rechnen, bevor Du Zugang zum Bergkwartier bekommst. Wir können uns gut vorstellen, wie eindrucksvoll die Kulisse des Bergkwartiers für dieses Fest wirken muss.

 

Das aß man zur Zeit der Hanse
Das aß man zur Zeit der Hanse

 

Ein Mittagessen wie zu Zeiten der Hanse

Im Proeflokaal ‚tOer in Deventer Holland (Karte) serviert man Speisen, wie sie schon zu Zeiten der Hanse auf den Tisch kamen – mit einem Touch Moderne. Mir gefällt das Interieur in diesem Restaurant. An einer langen Theke werden die Getränke ausgeschenkt. Gegessen wird an rustikalen Holztischen. Die freigelegten Backsteinwände des historischen Gebäudes tragen dazu bei, dass wir uns in die Vergangenheit versetzt fühlen. In diesem Restaurant fühlen wir uns wohl.

Fisch und Fleisch – die Hauptspeisen der Hanse

Zum Essen haben wir uns eine Platte mit Häppchen bestellt, die uns zeigt, was man zu Zeiten der Hanse aß. Es gibt sehr viel Fleisch und Meeresfrüchte. Ich entdecke Hackbällchen in Soße, gebratenen Schweinebauch und Fleischspieße. In einer Schale befindet sich eine Art Shrimpcocktail auf Salat. Zum Wurstsalat gibt’s kleine Sandwiches gefüllt mit Tomaten. Zwei Gläser enthalten Suppe. Und in einem Brötchen serviert man Hackbraten. Ob die Hanse-Kaufleute wirklich all diese Speisen aßen, kann ich nicht beurteilen. Tomaten gab es sicher erst gegen Ende der Hansezeit. Die Auswahl auf unserer Verkostungsplatte ist jedenfalls umfangreich und gut.

 

Das muss in den Koffer für Deinen Besuch in Deventer Holland

  • Bequeme Schuhe, denn Du wirst in Deventer vor allem zu Fuß unterwegs sein. Die Altstadt ist Fußgängerzone.
  • Planst Du einen eleganten Abend, dann solltest Du bequeme Pumps nicht vergessen.
  • Einen Rucksack, in dem Du alle Utensilien für einen Tag unterbringen kannst

 

Die Koggen der Hanse
Die Koggen der Hanse im Museum De Waag in Deventer Holland

 

Im Museum De Waag

Frisch gestärkt sind wir bereit, uns im Museum de Waag näher mit der Geschichte der Hanse zu befassen. Das Museum in Deventer Holland stammt selbst aus jener Zeit. Es diente ursprünglich als Waage und Eich-Inspektion für die Waren, die Kaufleute über die Ijssel zu den Märkten in Deventer brachten. Ab 1386 gab es fünf Jahrmärkte in der Stadt verteilt übers ganze Jahr. Damit die Kaufleute fair miteinander handelten, kontrollierten Inspektoren die Maße und Inhalte der Handelswaren. Nur so konnte ein fairer Handel garantiert werden. Für die Stadt war dies ein profitables Geschäft, verdiente sie doch an jeder Unze, die auf den Markt gebracht wurde.

Wissenswertes über die Hanse

Heute beschäftigt sich das Museum de Waag (Karte) mit der Geschichte der Stadt. Dieses bietet Wechselausstellungen und eine Ausstellung über die Hansezeit. Auf einer Karte sehen wir den Handelsbereich der Hanse. Dieser reichte von den holländischen und deutschen Hansestädten bis hinauf nach Bergen in Norwegen, nach Birka in Schweden und in die Ostregionen der Ostsee. Ein Handelsverbund, der sichere Handelsbeziehungen bot. In Vitrinen sehen wir, welche Waren die Handelsschiffe transportierten. Ein Modell einer Kogge zeigt, wie stabil diese Handelsschiffe waren. Groß waren sie nicht. Aber sie verteilten Waren über einen großen Handelsraum. Städte entlang der Nord- und Ostsee verdanken ihren Reichtum den Kaufleuten der Hanse.

 

Der Kaffee wird in einer Dröppelmina serviert
Der Kaffee wird in einer Dröppelmina serviert

 

Honigkuchen wie im Mittelalter zum Kaffee

Nach so viel Geschichte haben wir eine Pause verdient. Am Marktplatz von Deventer Holland befindet sich der Koekwinkel (Karte). Hier gibt es eine Kuchenspezialität, die schon die Hansekaufleute kannten: Honigkuchen. Der Deventer Honigkuchen war sogar durch die Gilde geschützt. Niemand außerhalb der Stadt durfte ihn im Mittelalter backen. Man kennt zwar die Zutaten: Honig, Roggenmehl, Wasser und Gewürze. Das Geheimnis lag jedoch in der Gewürzmischung. Nicht einmal der Bäcker wusste, welche Gewürze darin enthalten waren. Ob das heute noch so ist, kann ich nicht sagen. Auf jeden Fall schmeckt der Honigkuchen nach Weihnachten. Er wird mit Butter bestrichen und schmeckt sehr würzig.

Von unserem Platz im Café aus beobachten wir, wie die Schlange im Laden immer länger wird. Offenbar sind wir nicht die Einzigen, die diesen Kuchen mögen. Im Deventer Koekwinkel holen sich viele Leute Nachschub für ihren Kuchenvorrat.

 

Am Charles Dickens Museum - Hollands schöne Städte - Hansestädte in Holland
Am Charles Dickens Museum

 

Was geschieht auf dem Marktplatz von Deventer?

Während wir unseren Tee trinken, fällt uns auf, dass sich junge Leute auf dem Marktplatz sammeln. Sie kommen aus allen Ecken und Seitenstraßen. Es sieht so aus, als ob eine Veranstaltung stattfindet. Ankündigungen hatten wir jedoch nirgendwo entdeckt. Und tatsächlich! Plötzlich fangen alle Jugendlichen an zu tanzen und zu singen. Wir sind Zeugen eines Flash Mobs mitten in Deventer! Gut gelaunt ziehen die Millenials zum Wilhelmina Brunnen und stecken uns mit ihrer guten Laune an. Unseren Einkaufsbummel durch Deventer vergessen wir. Lieber lauschen wir den jungen Holländern, wie sie den Sommer feiern. Das ist Lebensfreude pur!

Was für ein Highlight nach einer rundum gelungenen Reise durch die Hansestädte in Holland! Herzlichen Dank dafür.

 

 

 


Reiseorganisation

Anreise

KLM und Lufthansa fliegen nach Amsterdam. Von dort nimmst Du Dir am besten ein Auto, denn nur so bist Du flexibel genug, um die Ortschaften der Region näher kennen zu lernen.

Mietwagen

Günstige Mietwagen und e-Auto – schnell und einfach hier buchen

Unterkünfte

Buche Deine Unterkunft hier *

Camping

In der Umgebung von Deventer Holland gibt es eine ganze Reihe von Campingplätzen. Ein schön gelegener Campingplatz in Deventer ist Stadscamping Deventer in Worp 12, 7419 AD Deventer. Was Du für Wohnmobilreisen brauchst, findest Du hier.


Deventer Holland
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir „Deventer Holland“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du schon:

Quelle für Deventer Holland : Recherchen vor Ort. Wir bedanken uns bei Das Andere Holland für die Unterstützung dieser Reise. Unsere Meinung bleibt jedoch unsere eigene.

Text DeventerHolland: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline
Fotos Deventer Holland © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline

Deventer Holland – eine Stadt für Genießer
Nach oben scrollen