Harderwijk Holland - Things to do in the city on the IJsselmeer

If you purchase through a link marked *, we will receive a commission.
Beautiful cities in Holland - Harderwijk

Harderwijk Holland – things to do in the Hanseatic city

The Hanseatic city of Harderwijk is one of the Hanseatic cities in Holland. It describes itself as a “culinary Hanseatic city”. We tested that during our visit. In fact, there are quite a few things that Harderwijk has to offer for foodies. But read for yourself.

The Old Town is a Pedestrian Zone

You should take your time for the old town of Harderwijk. But you should know beforehand that if you have booked a hotel in the old town, it is worthwhile to clarify how to get there before you arrive. The old town of Harderwijk is not accessible by car, but only on foot. Like almost all Hanseatic cities in Holland (with the exception of Hasselt). You can park your car in one of the parking lots on the edge of the old town. Or you can spend the night in Beach Hotel Monopolies * like us and park your car right next to the hotel.

 

 

 

Make a note of the phone number of the hotel. Because you can only reach the hotel by car, if you have an electronic device, which you get from the hotel. In addition you also have to know the code, that you need to sink the bollards, that block daytime vehicle access to the Old Town. We wandered through the city for a few hours, until we finally reached the hotel parking lot, because we did not know that.

 

Pavlova ice cream - Harderwijk things to do
Pavlova ice cream - Harderwijk activities are culinary

 

A stroll through Harderwijk

After we had parked our car at the planned location, we set out to explore the city. For us, Harderwijk is definitely one of Holland's beautiful cities. Harderwijk ventures should include what the gastro scene has to offer. Harderwijk owes its name as a culinary Hanseatic city to several star chefs who run their restaurants at the city's fish market. From our own experience we can make the ice cream of the Ice Cream Parlor Patrijs recommend. Rarely have I eaten such good ice cream creations as there. Strawberry ice cream and mango for me. Pavlova ice cream for Petar. But there are other ice creams like pink panther or blood orange. The ice cream was only after our city tour.

 

Belly pork with vegetables - Harderwijk activities
Pork belly with vegetables - meal at the hotel in Harderwjik

 

Hanse Cities to visit in Netherlands - Harderwijk is one of them

We start our Harderwijk activities after our dinner at the Hotel Monopole. The hotel is right on the water. We follow the city wall along the water until an entrance to the plantation park opens. We enter the old town through a private courtyard. Passing the Stadsmuseum Harderwijk we go to the Katharinen Chapel, which once belonged to the local monastery. Not far from there is that Marius van Dokkum Museum. This museum is unique in Holland as it permanently exhibits the art of a living artist. If you are visiting Harderwijk, we recommend that you include the museum in your city tour. Marius van Dokkum paints the people of his homeland with a wink. With a lot of humor he shows the weaknesses of human existence in his pictures.

 

Grote Kerk - Beautiful cities in Holland
Great Church in Harderwijk

 

The culinary side of Harderwijk beckons to do something

We continue our way through the Hortuspark and arrive at the market square of Harderwijk. In front of the town hall, cafes and restaurants invite you to dinner on this summer's day. After our good dinner at the Hotel Monopole, however, we leave the restaurants on the left and prefer to continue to the Patrijs ice cream parlor, where we treat ourselves to an ice cream for dessert. You shouldn't miss this when you visit Harderwijk. The owner always creates new ice cream variations from ingredients from the region. My mouth is already watering at the sight. Especially when I let my ice cream scoop melt on my tongue. That is pure enjoyment!

 

Avenue at the fish market - Holland's beautiful cities
Allee at the fish market - Holland's beautiful cities

 

Top restaurants in Harderwijk

From here it is only a few steps to the Harderwijk fish market. This has always been important for one of the Hanseatic cities in Holland. Once the Hanseatic merchants fetched their fish here for trade, today it is the city's foodie center. Here are the best restaurants in town under the trees that have stood here for centuries. The two-star restaurant 't Nonnetje at Vischmarkt 38 ​​serves refined dishes in a French-international style. The Basiliek restaurant, which has earned a star, is also located on the Vischmarkt.

Through one of the gates in the city wall we finally get back to the promenade by the water. Here, too, we find one restaurant next to the other. The tourism authority recommends the Chez Brochard restaurant at Havendijk 1, which serves French cuisine. It's a little easier there than in the restaurants at the fish market. In the evening sun, people enjoy their food in front of the fireplace by the open fire. Harderwijk definitely deserves its reputation as a culinary Hanseatic city.

 

That has to be in your suitcase for your trip to Harderwijk Holland

  • Comfortable Shoes, because you will definitely be on foot in Harderwijk. The old town is a pedestrian zone.
  • If you are planning an elegant evening, then you should comfortable pumps .
  • They are also suitable for a stroll on the promenade or on the beach Sandals.
  • A  backpackwhere you can put all the utensils for a day
  • If you want to go swimming in Harderwijk, then ours will definitely help packing list for the beach vacation while packing.

 

 

Restaurants on the water - Hanseatic city for gourmets
Waterfront restaurants in Harderwijk

 

Harderwijk Holland is a destination for everyone who loves the maritime

The next morning we take a little time to look at the marina. In the port of Harderwijk we meet Holland, as it can hardly be more clichéd. One of the drawbridges connects Harderwijk to the other side of the harbor entrance. A windmill watches over the harbor while in the docks House boats and yachts bob in the water.

If you still have a day, you can visit the Dolphinarium on the beach boulevard Oost 1 on the other side of the harbor entrance. This is a marine mammal zoo that should be great fun especially for kids. You can watch dolphins, sharks, sea lions, seals and walruses up close.

 

 

Windmill - Hanseatic Netherlands
windmill

 

Conclusion on Harderwijk Holland

Harderwijk is a city that is well worth a visit for anyone who loves to enjoy. You should definitely try the city's restaurants. We also really liked the port and the city center. You can explore the cute places on a tour. Preferably with an ice cream in hand. Or you can take a break in one of the open-air restaurants at the harbor or at the town hall square.

Questions and answers about Harderwijk Holland

What is there to see in Harderwijk?

There are many sights to discover in Harderwijk, such as the Dolfinarium, the Marienmuseum and the picturesque old town.

What is the best way to get to Harderwijk in Holland?

Harderwijk is easily accessible by car and public transport. By train it takes about 1,5 hours from Amsterdam or Utrecht.

What activities can you do around Lake Veluwemeer?

There are many activities around Lake Veluwe, such as boat trips, fishing, cycling and nature walks.

Where is the best place to eat in Harderwijk Holland?

Harderwijk is known for its excellent fish restaurants. Visit Restaurant 't Nonnetje for a special culinary experience or try the fresh fish at the harbour.

Which nearby cities are worth a day trip from Harderwijk?

The nearby Hanseatic cities Elburg and Zwolle are definitely worth a visit. They offer historical buildings, charming cafes and shops and a relaxed atmosphere.

 


Travel Arrangements

Parking at the airport

Here you can reserve your parking space at the airport.

How to get there

Compare and book flights here*. KLM and Lufthansa will follow Amsterdam. From there you then take a car, because this is the only way to be flexible enough to get to know the towns in the region better. Or you can travel by train from Amsterdam or Utrecht to Harderwijk.

Rental car

Cheap car hire - quick and easy booking here *

Accommodation in Harderwjik Holland

Book your accommodation here *

holiday parks

Holiday parks are an ideal choice for travelers who are looking for a quiet and relaxing atmosphere while still having the opportunity to explore nearby towns and attractions.

Landgoed 't Loo by Landal* offers a wide range of holiday homes for groups of 4 to 12 people during the Holiday park De Vlinderhoeve* Bungalows for groups from 2 to 8 people. Both holiday parks are located between different Hanseatic cities and therefore offer a convenient location for exploring the area.

If you are planning a holiday in a holiday home or apartment, do not forget ours Packing list for holiday apartment and holiday home to check in order to be perfectly prepared.

Travel Guides

Order yours Travel guide for Holland* here.

If you purchase via a link marked *, we receive a commission, which we use to run this blog.

Do you like traveling to Harderwijk Holland by motorhome?


Harderwijk activities
Click on the photo and then save "Harderwijk Holland" on Pinterest

 

Do you know this?

 

Source for Harderwijk Holland: research on site. We would definitely like to thank Das Andere Holland for supporting this trip. However, our opinions remain our own.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Photos © Copyright Monika Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline
Video: © Copyright Petar Fuchs and TravelWorldOnline

Harderwijk Holland - Things to do in the city on the IJsselmeer

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs and Petar Fuchs are the authors and publishers of the Slow Travel and Enjoyment travel blog TravelWorldOnline Traveller. You have been publishing this blog since 2005. TravelWorldOnline has been online since 2001. Your topics are Trips to Savor and wine tourism worldwide and Slow Travel. During her studies, Monika Fuchs spent some time in North America, where she traveled to the USA and Canada - sometimes together with Petar Fuchs - and spent a research year in British Columbia. This strengthened her thirst for knowledge, which she pursued for 6 years Adventure Guide for Rotel Tours and then for 11 years as Study tour guide for Studiosus Reisen tried to breastfeed all over the world. She constantly expanded her travel regions, but curiosity still gnawed at her: “What is beyond the horizon? What else is there to discover in this city? Which people are interesting here? What do you eat in this region?” These are the questions she is now trying to answer as a freelance travel journalist (her articles have appeared in DIE ZEIT, 360° Canada, 360° USA, etc.), among others. travel writer and travel blogger answers in many countries around the world. Petar Fuchs produces the videos on this blog as well as on YouTube. Monika Fuchs from TravelWorldOnline is below Germany's top 50 bloggers in 2021 Other Information about Monika and Petar Fuchs. Recommendations on LinkedIn from tourism experts Further recommendations from cooperation partners and tourism experts Professional experience Monika on LinkedIn

Harderwijk Holland – Unternehmungen in der Stadt am Ijsselmeer

Schöne Städte in Holland - Harderwijk

Harderwijk Holland – Unternehmungen in der Hansestadt

Die Hansestadt Harderwijk ist eine der Hansestädte in Holland. Sie bezeichnet sich selbst als „kulinarische Hansestadt“. Das haben wir bei unserem Besuch getestet. Tatsächlich gibt es einiges, was Harderwijk an Unternehmungen für Foodies zu bieten hat. Aber lest selbst.

Die Altstadt ist Fußgängerzone

Für die Altstadt von Harderwijk solltest Du Dir Zeit nehmen. Aber vorher solltest Du wissen, hast Du ein Hotel in der Altstadt gebucht, lohnt es sich, vor der Anreise zu klären, wie Du es erreichst. Die Altstadt von Harderwijk ist nicht mit dem Auto zugänglich, sondern nur zu Fuß. Wie übrigens fast alle Hansestädte in Holland (mit Ausnahme von Hasselt). Sein Auto kann man auf einem der Parkplätze am Rand der Altstadt parken. Oder Du übernachtest im Beach Hotel Monopole* wie wir und parkst Dein Auto direkt neben dem Hotel.

 

 

 

Notiere Dir dafür am besten schon vorher die Telefonnummer des Hotels. Denn Du erreichst das Hotel nur mit dem Auto, wenn Du eine elektronische Karte besitzt, Außerdem musst Du den Code kennen, mit dem Du die Boller versenken kannst, die tagsüber die Zufahrt für Fahrzeuge zur Altstadt blockieren. Wir irrten erst ein paar Stunden durch die Stadt, bis wir schließlich den Hotel Parkplatz erreichten, weil wir dies nicht wussten.

 

Pavlova-Eis - Harderwijk Unternehmungen
Pavlova-Eis – Harderwijk Unternehmungen sind kulinarisch

 

Ein Bummel durch Harderwijk

Nachdem wir unser Auto am geplanten Ort abgestellt hatten, machten wir uns auf den Weg, die Stadt zu erkunden. Harderwijk gehört für uns auf jeden Fall unter Hollands schöne Städte. Harderwijk Unternehmungen sollten das Angebot der Gastroszene einschließen. Ihren Namen als kulinarische Hansestadt verdankt Harderwijk mehreren Sterneköchen, die ihre Restaurants am Fischmarkt der Stadt betreiben. Aus eigener Erfahrung können wir die Eiscreme der Eisdiele Patrijs empfehlen. Selten habe ich so gute Eiskreationen gegessen wie dort. Erdbeereis und Mango für mich. Pavlova-Eis für Petar. Aber es gibt noch andere Eissorten wie Pink Panther oder Blutorange. Das Eis gab’s allerdings erst nach unserem Stadtrundgang.

 

Schweinebauch mit Gemüse - Harderwijk Unternehmungen
Schweinebauch mit Gemüse – Essen im Hotel in Harderwjik

 

Hollands schöne Städte – Harderwijk zählt dazu

Wir beginnen unsere Harderwijk Unternehmungen nach unserem Abendessen im Hotel Monopole. Das Hotel liegt direkt am Wasser. Wir folgen der Stadtmauer am Wasser entlang, bis sich ein Zugang zum Plantagepark öffnet. Durch einen privaten Innenhof gelangen wir so in die Altstadt. Vorbei am Stadsmuseum Harderwijk gehen wir zur Katharinakapelle, die einst zum örtlichen Kloster gehörte. Unweit davon befindet sich das Marius van Dokkum Museum. Dieses Museum ist einzigartig in Holland, stellt es doch dauerhaft die Kunst eines noch lebenden Künsters aus. Solltest Du Harderwijk besuchen, empfehlen wir Dir, das Museum in Deinen Stadtrundgang mit einzuplanen. Marius van Dokkum malt die Menschen seiner Heimat mit einem Augenzwinkern. Mit viel Humor zeigt er die Schwächen menschlichen Daseins in seinen Bildern.

 

Grote Kerk - Schöne Städte in Holland
Grote Kerk in Harderwijk

 

Die kulinarische Seite von Harderwijk lockt zu Unternehmungen

Wir setzen unseren Weg fort durch den Hortuspark und gelangen zum Marktplatz von Harderwijk. Vor dem Rathaus laden Cafés und Restaurants an diesem Sommertag zu einem Abendessen ein. Nach unserem guten Abendessen im Hotel Monopole, lassen wir die Restaurants allerdings links liegen und gehen lieber weiter zur Eisdiele Patrijs, wo wir uns ein Eis als Nachspeise gönnen. Das solltest Du Dir nicht entgehen lassen, wenn Du Harderwijk besuchst. Die Besitzerin kreiert immer neue Eisvariationen aus Zutaten aus der Region. Schon beim Anblick läuft mir das Wasser im Mund zusammen. Erst recht, als ich mir meine Eiskugeln auf der Zunge zergehen lasse. Das ist purer Genuss!

 

Allee am Fischmarkt - Hollands schöne Städte
Allee am Fischmarkt – Hollands schöne Städte

 

Top Restaurants in Harderwijk

Von hier sind es nur noch wenige Schritte zum Fischmarkt von Harderwijk. Für eine der Hansestädte in Holland war dieser schon immer von Bedeutung. Hatten hier einst die Kaufleute der Hanse ihre Fische für den Handel geholt, ist er heute das Foodie Zentrum der Stadt. Hier befinden sich die besten Restaurants der Stadt unter Bäumen, die seit Jahrhunderten hier stehen. Das Zwei-Sterne-Restaurant ‘t Nonnetje am Vischmarkt 38 serviert raffinierte Speisen im französisch-internationalen Stil. Ebenfalls am Vischmarkt liegt das Restaurant Basiliek, das sich einen Stern erkocht hat.

Durch eines der Tore in der Stadtmauer gelangen wir schließlich zurück zur Promenade am Wasser. Auch hier finden wir ein Restaurant neben dem anderen. Die Tourismusbehörde empfiehlt das Restaurant Chez Brochard am Havendijk 1, das französische Küche auftischt. Dort geht es etwas einfacher zu als in den Restaurants am Fischmarkt. In der Abendsonne genießen die Menschen ihr Essen vor dem Kamin am offenen Feuer. Harderwijk verdient seinen Ruf als kulinarische Hansestadt durchaus.

 

Das muss in den Koffer für Deine Reise nach Harderwijk Holland

  • Bequeme Schuhe, denn Du wirst in Harderwijk auf jeden Fall zu Fuß unterwegs sein. Die Altstadt ist Fußgängerzone.
  • Planst Du einen eleganten Abend, dann solltest Du überdies bequeme Pumps nicht vergessen.
  • Für einen Bummel an der Promenade oder am Strand passen außerdem Sandalen.
  • Einen Rucksack, in dem Du alle Utensilien für einen Tag unterbringen kannst
  • Willst Du in Harderwijk Baden, dann hilft auf jeden Fall unsere Packliste für den Strandurlaub beim Packen.

 

 

Restaurants am Wasser - Hansestadt für Feinschmecker
Restaurants am Wasser in Harderwijk

 

Harderwijk Holland ist ein Reiseziel für alle, die das Maritime lieben

Am nächsten Morgen nehmen wir uns noch ein wenig Zeit, um uns den Yachthafen anzuschauen. Im Hafen von Harderwijk treffen wir auf Holland, wie es klischeehafter kaum sein kann. Eine der Ziehbrücken verbindet Harderwijk mit dem anderen Ufer der Hafeneinfahrt. Über den Hafen wacht eine Windmühle, während im Hafenbecken Hausboote und Yachten im Wasser dümpeln.

Wer noch einen Tag Zeit hat, kann auf der anderen Seite der Hafeneinfahrt das Dolphinarium am Strandboulevard Oost 1 besuchen. Dies ist ein Zoo für Meeressäugetiere, der vor allem Kindern großen Spaß machen dürfte. Delfine, Haie, Seelöwen, Seehunde und Walrosse können sie hier aus nächster Nähe beobachten.

 

 

Windmühle - Hansestädte Niederlande
Windmühle

 

Fazit zu Harderwijk Holland

Harderwijk ist eine Stadt, die einen Besuch lohnt für alle, die gerne genießen. Die Restaurants der Stadt solltet Ihr auf jeden Fall testen. Gut gefallen hat uns außerdem der Hafen und die Innenstadt. Auf einem Rundgang kann man die schnuckeligen Plätze erkunden. Am besten mit einem Eis in der Hand. Oder Du machst Pause in einem der Freiluft-Restaurants am Hafen oder am Rathausplatz.

Fragen und Antworten zu Harderwijk Holland

Welche Sehenswürdigkeiten gibt es in Harderwijk zu entdecken?

In Harderwijk gibt es viele Sehenswürdigkeiten zu entdecken, wie das Dolfinarium, das Marienmuseum und die malerische Altstadt.

Wie komme ich am besten nach Harderwijk in Holland?

Harderwijk ist gut mit dem Auto und öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln erreichbar. Mit dem Zug* brauchst du etwa 1,5 Stunden von Amsterdam oder Utrecht.

Welche Aktivitäten kann man rund um den Veluwemeer-See unternehmen?

Es gibt viele Aktivitäten rund um den Veluwemeer-See, wie Bootsfahrten, Angeln, Radfahren und Wandern in der Natur.

Wo kann ich in Harderwijk Holland am besten essen?

Harderwijk ist bekannt für seine exzellenten Fischrestaurants. Besuche das Restaurant ‚t Nonnetje für ein besonderes kulinarisches Erlebnis oder probiere den frischen Fisch am Hafen.

Welche nahegelegenen Städte lohnen sich für einen Tagesausflug von Harderwijk aus?

Die nahegelegenen Hansestädte Elburg und Zwolle sind auf jeden Fall einen Besuch wert. Sie bieten historische Gebäude, charmante Cafés und Geschäfte sowie eine entspannte Atmosphäre.

 


Reiseorganisation

Parken am Flughafen

Hier kannst du deinen Parkplatz am Flughafen reservieren.

Anreise

Buche zum Beispiel hier deine Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*. KLM sowie Lufthansa fliegen nach Amsterdam. Von dort nimmst Du Dir anschließend ein Auto, denn nur so bist zu flexibel genug, um die Ortschaften der Region näher kennenzulernen. Oder Du reist mit dem Zug von Amsterdam oder Utrecht nach Harderwijk.

Mietwagen

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach hier buchen*

Unterkünfte in Harderwjik Holland

Buche Deine Unterkunft hier *

Ferienparks

Ferienparks sind eine ideale Wahl für Reisende, die eine ruhige und entspannte Atmosphäre suchen und gleichzeitig die Möglichkeit haben möchten, nahe gelegene Städte und Sehenswürdigkeiten zu erkunden.

Landgoed ‚t Loo von Landal* bietet eine große Auswahl an Ferienhäusern für Gruppen von 4 bis 12 Personen, während der Ferienpark De Vlinderhoeve* Bungalows für Gruppen von 2 bis 8 Personen hat. Beide Ferienparks befinden sich zwischen verschiedenen Hansestädten und bieten somit eine günstige Lage für die Erkundung der Umgebung.

Wenn du einen Urlaub im Ferienhaus oder der Ferienwohnung planst, vergiss nicht, unsere Packliste für Ferienwohnung und Ferienhaus zu überprüfen, um perfekt vorbereitet zu sein.

Reiseführer

Bestelle Deinen Reiseführer für Holland* hier.

Kaufst du über einen mit * markierten Link, erhalten wir dafür eine Provision, mit der wir dieses Blog betreiben.

Du reist gern mit dem Wohnmobil nach Harderwijk Holland?


Harderwijk unternehmungen
Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir anschließend  „Harderwijk Holland“ auf Pinterest

 

Kennst Du überdies?

 

Quelle für Harderwijk Holland : Recherchen vor Ort. Wir bedanken uns auf jeden Fall bei Das Andere Holland für die Unterstützung dieser Reise. Unsere Meinung bleibt jedoch unsere eigene.

Text: © Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Fotos © Copyright Monika Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline
Vidoe: © Copyright Petar Fuchs sowie TravelWorldOnline

Harderwijk Holland – Unternehmungen in der Stadt am Ijsselmeer

Monika Fuchs

Monika Fuchs und Petar Fuchs sind die Verfasser und Herausgeber des Slow Travel und Genuss Reiseblogs TravelWorldOnline Traveller. Sie veröffentlichen dieses Blog seit 2005. TravelWorldOnline ist online seit 2001. Ihre Themen sind Genuss Reisen und Weintourismus in aller Welt und Slow Travel. Monika Fuchs verbrachte während ihres Studiums einige Zeit in Nordamerika, wo sie - zum Teil gemeinsam mit Petar Fuchs - die USA und Kanada bereiste und ein Forschungsjahr in British Columbia verbrachte. Das verstärkte ihren Wissensdurst, den sie 6 Jahre lang als Abenteuer-Guide für Rotel Tours und danach 11 Jahre lang als Studienreiseleiterin für Studiosus Reisen in aller Welt zu stillen versuchte. Sie erweiterte ständig ihre Reiseregionen, aber trotzdem nagte die Neugier an ihr: "Was befindet sich hinter dem Horizont? Was gibt's in dieser Stadt noch zu entdecken? Welche Menschen sind hier interessant? Was isst man in dieser Region?" Auf diese Fragen sucht sie nun als freie Reisejournalistin (ihre Artikel erschienen u.a. in DIE ZEIT, 360° Kanada, 360° USA, etc.) , Reiseautorin und Reisebloggerin Antworten in vielen Ländern der Welt. Petar Fuchs produziert die Videos auf diesem Blog sowie auf YouTube. Monika Fuchs von TravelWorldOnline Traveller ist unter Deutschlands Top 50 Bloggerinnen 2021 Weitere Informationen über Monika und Petar Fuchs.