Karlstadt am Main

City gate in Karlstadt

We get to know the city of Karlstadt am Main on a trip with the motorhome through the Wine region in Franconia know. It is one of the Wine towns on the Main, in which the wines of the region are celebrated at wine festivals. Camping in Karlstadt means spending the night on the banks of the Main. The old town is a short walk from the riverside campsite. The campsite is outside the city walls at the gates of the city. This is still entered through the city gates. We take a stroll through the city center and let us Franconian cuisine taste in one of the restaurants. But there is more to discover in the city and its surroundings.

 

 

Discover the idyllic Karlstadt am Main in peace and quiet, from there explore the varied surroundings and follow the Main again and again: The triad of city, country and river makes up the special charm of the Franconian wine country.

Karlstadt am Main djd / City of Karlstadt
View from Karlsburg on the other side of the Main to the old town of Karlstadt am Main Photo: djd / Stadt Karlstadt

The city of Karlstadt am Main

The best way to get to know Karlstadt am Main itself is to take a guided tour. The highlights include the Romanesque-Gothic parish church, the historic town hall, the gates and towers of the city fortifications and the town houses with their half-timbered facades. There are many points of contact for Franconian cuisine, which offer both fine dishes and hearty dishes, to be tested. And one or two glasses of good Franconian wine should not be missing.

"Eleven fifty-five!"
There is an open city tour for everyone

from May to October
every Saturday
Start: 11.55 a.m. in front of the Karlstadt Tourist Information, Hauptstrasse 56
Price: € 4,00 per person, children up to 14 years free
Duration: approx. 60 min.
suitable for wheelchair users
A popular meeting point is the “Lügenmäuerle” located behind the main gate, which can tell many stories right on the river. In the Karlstadt Museum, which is located in a building steeped in history from the 14th century, original wall paintings from the 2022th century can be seen from 16, including sayings and coats of arms of Franconian noble families.

Karlsburg near Karlstadt am Main
Karlsburg near Karlstadt am Main

The country around Karlstadt am Main

Although Stetten is a district of Karlstadt am Main, you still have to drive a few kilometers south from the old town to visit it. The “terroir f” vantage point is located 130 meters above the Main in the Stettener Stein vineyard. The panoramic view extends to after Würzburg and far into the Spessart. The region is good for one Hiking holiday on the Main. There is a network of paths that can be combined with hikes.

For many, a short vacation also includes a detour to a larger city with culture and shopping - no problem from Karlstadt am Main: The city of Würzburg with the UNESCO World Heritage Residence and the Marienberg Fortress is only 25 kilometers south. In the west one is quickly in Aschaffenburg with its castle Johannisburg, in the east in Schweinfurt, shaped by industry and art.

 

Wild geese on the Main
Wild geese near Karlstadt am Main

The river near Karlstadt

Karlstadt is also connected to the three cities by the Main. The river shapes the entire Franconian wine country. Around 3.500 winegrowers grow the famous Franconian wine, mainly along the Main, on an area of ​​around 6.000 hectares. Anyone who follows the river from Karlstadt am Main - no matter in which direction - can stop off in many historic cities and romantic villages.

 

The Maintor and the ruins of the Karlsburg
The Main Gate and the ruins of Karlsburg Castle Photo: djd/Stadt Karlstadt

Eight reasons to visit Karlstadt am Main

  1. The Cityscape: The silhouette of the town and many historical building ensembles make guests love at first sight. The highlights include the Romanesque-Gothic town parish church, the historic town hall, the gates and towers of the town fortifications and the half-timbered houses.
  2. The "Lying Wall": Right behind the Maintor you can enjoy a pint or two of Franconian wine directly on the river on a small wall and with a view of the Karlsburg. Why lying walls? The best thing to do is to find out for yourself during a visit.
  3. The vistas: A beautiful view of Karlstadt is offered by the ruins of Karlsburg Castle, located high above the river on the other side of the Main. And in the Stettener Stein vineyard, the “terroir f” vantage point is 130 meters above the Main. The panoramic view extends to Würzburg and far into the Spessart. In 2020, the vantage point was awarded the "Most beautiful wine view in Franconia".
  4. The nature: Around Karlstadt there are numerous nature reserves, the vegetation offers plants and animals a good habitat. One of the nature reserves borders on the "Saupurzel", the local mountain of Karlstadt, which towers over the town.
  5. The culture: The event calendar is packed to the brim all year round. "Music in historic houses and courtyards", "Culinary Mile" and "Karlstadter Kultur-Häppli" are the names of a series of events that are scheduled to take place again in 2022 in their tried and tested form. In the spring of 2022, the Karlstadt Museum will also reopen after loving restoration. The historic building dates back to the 14th century.
  6. The culinary: Franconian cuisine has both fine dishes and hearty dishes to offer. In Karlstadt there are numerous opportunities to enjoy them.
  7. The wine: The landscape of the Franconian wine country produces unmistakable wines like the Silvaner.
  8. Main: Coming from Würzburg, it flows directly past Karlstadt and is the lifeline of the region. You can experience it on a boat trip or a tour on the Main Cycle Path.

 

Do you want to go camping in Karlstadt?

  • Do you want to rent a motorhome? Then you will find information and a selection in these  booking options. Or would you prefer to stay overnight in a  roof tent on the car? Also the overnight stay in camping tent is possible.
  • Check our packing list for campersto see whether you have packed everything for your motorhome tour.
  • Karlstadt Camping is possible here: Camping site Karlstadt am Main, Baggertsweg 6, 97753 Karlstadt. There you can after a day trip in a Dutch Oven on the portable grill or maybe on that Campfire prepare your dinner. From here it is only a few steps to the old town.
  • You want to know where to go with a motorhome stay overnight in Germany can and are you looking for parking spaces and campsites? You can find information about this under this link.

 

You need that for a hike near Karlstadt am Main

 


Travel Arrangements

Arrival by plane, car, bus and train

Arrival by plane, bus or train*. The nearest airport is Frankfurt.

Car Rentals:

Cheap car hire - book quickly and easily!

Rent mobile homes for camping in Karlstadt am Main:

Book Motorhomes in Europe here! * There is a campsite on the banks of the Main where you can go on holiday in Karlstadt Camping. With our Motorhome packing list You'll never forget anything again.

Accommodation in Karlstadt am Main:

Accommodation for online booking is also available in Karlstadt am Main * via Booking.com.


remember on Pinterest

Click on the photo and make a note of Karlstadt am Main on Pinterest

Do you already know:

Source: On-site research and djd / Karlstadt

Text Karlstadt am Main: © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline and djd
Photos Karlstadt © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline and djd / Stadt Karlstadt

Karlstadt am Main
Nach oben scrollen

Karlstadt am Main

Stadttor in Karlstadt

Die Stadt Karlstadt am Main lernen wir auf einer Reise mit dem Wohnmobil durch die Weinregion in Franken kennen. Es ist einer der Weinorte am Main, in denen man die Weine der Region auf Weinfesten zelebriert. In Karlstadt Camping machen heißt, am Ufer des Mains zu übernachten. Vom Campingplatz am Flussufer erreicht man nach einem kurzen Spaziergang die Altstadt. Der Campingplatz liegt außerhalb der Stadtmauer vor den Toren der Stadt. Diese betritt man bis heute durch Stadttore. Wir machen einen Bummel durchs Stadtzentrum und lassen uns die fränkische Küche in einem der Restaurants schmecken. Aber es gibt noch mehr in der Stadt und ihrer Umgebung zu entdecken.

 

 

Das idyllische Karlstadt am Main in aller Ruhe entdecken, von dort aus die abwechslungsreiche Umgebung erkunden und dabei immer wieder dem Main folgen: Der Dreiklang aus Stadt, Land und Fluss macht den besonderen Reiz des Fränkischen Weinlandes aus.

Karlstadt am Main djd/Stadt Karlstadt
Blick von der Karlsburg auf der anderen Seite des Mains auf die Altstadt von Karlstadt am Main Foto: djd/Stadt Karlstadt

Die Stadt Karlstadt am Main

Karlstadt am Main selbst lernt man am besten bei einer Führung kennen. Zu den Highlights gehören die romanisch-gotische Stadtpfarrkirche, das historische Rathaus, die Tore und Türme der Stadtbefestigung sowie die Bürgerhäuser mit ihren Fachwerkfassaden. Auszutesten gilt es die vielen Anlaufstellen für die fränkische Küche, die sowohl feine Speisen als auch deftige Gerichte zu bieten hat. Und dabei dürfen ein oder zwei Schoppen guten Frankenweins nicht fehlen.

„Fünf vor zwölf!“
Die offene Stadtführung für Jedermann gibt es

von Mai bis Oktober
jeden Samstag
Beginn: 11.55 Uhr vor der Tourist-Information Karlstadt, Hauptstraße 56
Preis: 4,00 € pro Person, Kinder bis 14 Jahre frei
Dauer: ca. 60 Min.
für Rollstuhlfahrer geeignet
Beliebter Treffpunkt ist das hinter dem Maintor gelegene „Lügenmäuerle“, das direkt am Fluss viele Geschichten erzählen kann. Im Museum Karlstadt, das sich in einem aus dem 14. Jahrhundert stammenden, geschichtsträchtigen Gebäude befindet, gibt es ab 2022 originale Wandmalereien aus dem 16. Jahrhundert zu sehen, darunter Sinnsprüche und Wappen fränkischer Adelsfamilien.

Karlsburg bei Karlstadt am Main
Karlsburg bei Karlstadt am Main

Das Land um Karlstadt am Main

Stetten ist zwar ein Ortsteil von Karlstadt am Main, für einen Besuch muss man aus der Altstadt dennoch ein paar Kilometer südlich fahren. In der Weinlage Stettener Stein befindet sich 130 Meter über dem Main der Aussichtspunkt „terroir f“. Der Panoramablick reicht bis nach Würzburg und weit in den Spessart hinein. Die Region eignet sich gut für einen Wanderurlaub am Main. Es gibt ein Wegenetz, das man zu Wanderungen kombinieren kann.

Für viele gehört zu einem Kurzurlaub auch der Abstecher in eine größere Stadt mit Kultur und Shopping – von Karlstadt am Main aus kein Problem: Nur 25 Kilometer südlich liegt die Großstadt Würzburg mit dem Unesco-Welterbe Residenz und der Festung Marienberg. Im Westen ist man schnell in Aschaffenburg mit seinem Schloss Johannisburg, im Osten in Schweinfurt, geprägt von Industrie und Kunst.

 

Wildgänse am Main
Wildgänse bei Karlstadt am Main

Der Fluss bei Karlstadt

Karlstadt ist mit den drei Städten auch durch den Main verbunden. Der Fluss prägt das gesamte Fränkische Weinland. Etwa 3.500 Winzer bauen vorwiegend entlang des Mains auf rund 6.000 Hektar Fläche den berühmten Frankenwein an. Wer – egal in welche Richtung – von Karlstadt am Main aus dem Fluss folgt, kann in vielen historischen Städten und romantischen Dörfern Station machen.

 

Das Maintor und die Ruine der Karlsburg
Das Maintor und die Ruine der Karlsburg Foto: djd/Stadt Karlstadt

Acht Gründe für einen Besuch in Karlstadt am Main

  1. Das Stadtbild: Die Ortssilhouette und viele geschichtsträchtige Gebäudeensembles sorgen bei Gästen für Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Zu den Highlights zählen die romanisch-gotische Stadtpfarrkirche, das historische Rathaus, die Tore und Türme der Stadtbefestigung sowie die Fachwerkhäuser.
  2. Das „Lügenmäuerle“: Gleich hinter dem Maintor kann man direkt am Fluss auf einer kleinen Mauer und mit Blick auf die Karlsburg den einen oder anderen Schoppen Frankenwein genießen. Warum Lügenmäuerle? Das sollte man bei einem Besuch am besten selbst herausfinden.
  3. Die Ausblicke: Eine schöne Sicht auf Karlstadt bietet die Ruine der Karlsburg, an der anderen Mainseite hoch über dem Fluss gelegen. Und in der Weinlage Stettener Stein befindet sich 130 Meter über dem Main der Aussichtspunkt „terroir f“. Der Panoramablick reicht bis nach Würzburg und weit in den Spessart hinein. 2020 wurde der Aussichtspunkt als „Schönste Weinsicht Franken“ ausgezeichnet.
  4. Die Natur: Rund um Karlstadt findet man zahlreiche Naturschutzgebiete, die Vegetation bietet Pflanzen und Tieren einen guten Lebensraum. Eines der Naturschutzgebiete grenzt an den über dem Städtchen thronenden „Saupurzel“, den Hausberg der Karlstadter.
  5. Die Kultur: Der Eventkalender ist ganzjährig prall gefüllt. „Musik in Historischen Häusern und Höfen“, „Kulinarische Meile“ und „Karlstadter Kultur-Häppli“ heißen Veranstaltungsreihen, die 2022 in bewährter Form wieder über die Bühne gehen sollen. Im Frühjahr 2022 wird auch das Museum Karlstadt nach liebevoller Restaurierung neu eröffnet. Das geschichtsträchtige Gebäude stammt aus dem 14. Jahrhundert.
  6. Die Kulinarik: Sowohl feine Speisen als auch deftige Gerichte hat die fränkische Küche zu bieten. In Karlstadt gibt es zahlreiche Gelegenheiten, um sie zu genießen.
  7. Der Wein: Die Landschaft des Fränkischen Weinlandes bringt unverwechselbare Tropfen wie den Silvaner hervor.
  8. Der Main: Er fließt von Würzburg kommend direkt an Karlstadt vorbei und ist die Lebensader der Region. Erleben kann man ihn bei einem Schiffsausflug oder einer Tour auf dem Main-Radweg.

 

Du willst nach Karlstadt zum Camping?

  • Willst Du ein Wohnmobil mieten? Dann findest Du hier Informationen und eine Auswahl an Buchungsmöglichkeiten. Oder übernachtest Du lieber im Dachzelt auf dem Auto? Auch die Übernachtung im Camping Zelt ist möglich.
  • Überprüfe mit unserer Packliste Wohnmobil, ob Du alles für Deine Wohnmobiltour eingepackt hast.
  • Karlstadt Camping ist hier möglich: Campingplatz Karlstadt am Main, Baggertsweg 6, 97753 Karlstadt. Dort kannst Du nach einem Tagesausflug gut in einem Dutch Oven auf dem tragbaren Grill oder vielleicht auch auf dem Lagerfeuer Dein Abendessen zubereiten. Von hier sind es nur ein paar Schritte in die Altstadt.
  • Du willst wissen, wo Du mit einem Wohnmobil in Deutschland übernachten kannst und suchst Stellplätze und Campingplätze? Infos dazu findest Du unter diesem Link.

 

Das brauchst Du für eine Wanderung bei Karlstadt am Main

 


Reiseorganisation

Anreise mit Flugzeug, Auto, Bus und Bahn

Anreise per Flug, Bus oder Bahn*. Der nächstgelegene Flughafen ist Frankfurt.

Mietwagen:

Günstige Mietwagen – schnell und einfach buchen!

Wohnmobile mieten fürs Camping in Karlstadt am Main:

Wohnmobile in Europa hier buchen!* Am Mainufer gibt es einen Campingplatz, auf dem Du in Karlstadt Camping Urlaub machen kannst. Mit unserer Wohnmobil Packliste vergisst Du nie wieder etwas.

Unterkünfte in Karlstadt am Main:

Unterkünfte zum online buchen gibt es zudem in Karlstadt am Main* über Booking.com.


auf Pinterest merken

Klicke auf das Foto und merke Dir Karlstadt am Main auf Pinterest

Kennst Du schon:

Quelle: Recherchen vor Ort sowie djd / Karlstadt

Text Karlstadt am Main : © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline sowie djd
Fotos Karlstadt © Copyright Monika Fuchs, TravelWorldOnline sowie djd / Stadt Karlstadt

Karlstadt am Main
Nach oben scrollen